(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Pixie, I made claypot rice with my rice cooker. Okie lar, not the authentic hawker fare but good enough for us. I usually cook the same food for all of us to make things easier. I've got a few recipes at my blog, some taken from littlegastronomy if anyone is keen http://anewpiggy.blogspot.com/search/label/Cooking.

Kam, jia you on the BF. Just do what you feel is best for HR and XY. I've got 30 over bottles of frozen EBM in the freezer now, was stocking up for my dental surgery but now I've got to do it in Mar (3 months away) cos my dentist is away whole month of Jan and I'm not keen to do it in Feb due to CNY period (want to eat the good food). Think got to start defrosting and giving it to my no. 1 liao. May be a good idea since she's still having viral fever. It started the night after Mei Mei's Man Yue. Sigh. :p

tongtong
i oso making stock now - chix bones, corn, some left over cabbage, scallop, the stump of the broccoli. just reached 2 hours :p will be the stock for rest of the week...

whats burdock in chinese? i always see this word but dunno how it looks like?
i know its good for the skin. coz i was researching for chinese tcm for my dog for his skin prob, i saw this vege many times

Went to take a nap. So tired.

Thanks to all for your support on my BFing career. I will jia you and try my best!

Superbee,
I forgot the teacher's name leh :) Now you talked about it, ya, the class we attended looked like an Indonesian. Initially didn't really like her, but after that ok leh. Don't think we will let XY join the class at such a young age, or before we know if she likes music or not. Thanks for the info anyway.

Yvonne,
Talking about milk residue in the mouth...... until now, HR still goes to bed straight after his last milk feed, without brushing or raising his teeth. Kinda worry. His teeth look healthy still.

RE: Food / cooking
Now I rarely cook a proper meal for Hao Re (and the family). You mummies are very hard working leh. We are very relax on what's Hao Re after he turned 1 yo, and even more relax after he turns 18month. I never cooked separate meal for him anymore, but then, our food is always bland anyway, so guess that's ok. If he eats, he eats, if he doesn't eat, then don't eat, be it home cook food or ta bao food. We couldn't be bother much. He has been very healthy, thanks godness. The only thing that I am strict is no junk food (those packet food with lots of MSG, eg, potato chips) at this age.

Kitsune,
You jia you too. You are doing very well. Guess that's the price I paid for not getting a confinement nanny and had Hao Re to miss his childcare for 2 months, making me can't spend more time on pumping. But well, I shouldn't complain.

tongtong,
Forgot to answer you on exersaucer. You mean the exersaucer that XY was in? It's won by Hao Re in one of the baby contest last year. We did buy an exersaucer for HR, now use at XY's nanny place. Why?

Kam, never mind, at least you had your super mum.
That beats having the best CL anyway. Both my mum and MIL can't help me with confinement so for me, CL is a must. :p

grumpus: just pop in to say thanks for the feed back abt the Jumperoo. I bought from US and it's so much cheaper, it's abt 1/3 selling price here or in S'pore. My PIL will help to bring back early next month.

Kam: for BF, i always take it as "commitment" when I did for my girl. Coz my supply was really good and my girl is such a co-operative girl so I don't have much problem. Weaning off so easy if you take it easy. When I was back to work when she was 3.5 months old, my mum took care and gave her EBM which was ok to her too.
For night feed, there was period of time she used me as pacifier too, but not that bad. My hubby can still look after at night, and then I felt it wasn't right to have her wake up at night and me & hubby both tired so I let her "cry it out" and she got over it on 3rd day.
If you r really not enjoying BF, do relax and let go. Dont stress yourself on this.

Kam: for bed time milk, I normally let Jo finishes her milk and then ask her to drink water to rinse off the milk from her mouth. I think it's better.

kitsune,
The only drawback with my super mum is she is never supportive on BFing. AFter she left Singapore till now, every time when I call her, she never fails to "persuade" me to give up on BFing :p She does that because she thinks I am too tired, and wants me to rest more/better (you know, I am always her daughter whether or not I have become a mum myself).

Blessedbaby,
Thanks. Yes, maybe I have never committed myself to BFing :p How have you been? Getting all ready for the big day?

Kam: am doing well, i think my bb is engaged already, coz feel pain in pelvic area. Do hope this bb will stay longer in tummy (till full term 38-40 weeks). Kekekke.
Just bought bb stuffs yesterday and get it washed today. ;-) Havent packed my hospital bag yet. ;-) Still got anxious abt delivery though this is my 2nd time, kekekeke.
Thanks for asking. Hope you decide whether to continue BF or not to soon otherwise it would be very tired for you to look after 2 kids and have something to fight in your mind. ;-)

Pixie, it’s a long root called niu2 bang4. it’s also good to bring down fever leh hehe.

Brush teeth: shaun also goes to bed with a bottle of milk without brushing leh… erm…

Kam, wah, HR is so clever, the exercauser is not cheap leh! I rented that for 1 month before. and I also thought you would not buy such toys one hehe. BTW, my mum never bf me and my siblings but she is supportive of bf. It was my dad who asked me to supplement with FM cuz he thinks I was too tired and look like skeleton. Anyway your mum will be glad when u tell her that you are giving FM hehe.

tongtong,
No need to be clever leh, just got on stage to act cute :p But you were wrong about me, I don't mind invest in an exersaucer as I think it's an excellent activity centres for young baby. In fact, I started to think it's the exersaucer that helped HR to develop fast physically. XY can already play with the exersaucer, as in shaking the toy, play with the rattles, turning in circle, etc. The one we bought for HR was not that ex, but it served the purpose all the same. Yes, you are right, my mum will indeed be very happy when she hears that Xi Yu starts to taking FM soon.

Dear friends, just to share this breavement news with you. My little one left us quietly at 12wks plus without me realising till 15wks plus...no more #3

Dear babe, am very sorry to hear that, i trust you are a strong n brave mummy that you are sharing with us here. Take care!

Babe: sorry to hear about your loss. Be strong in the Lord.

Kam: same thinking with me. Thats why I decided to buy the Jumperoo this time for #2 coz I can see the toy is very useful for infant around 4-5 months onward. ;-)

Babe,
So sorry to hear about it. You need to take care of yourself, ok? You still have your 2 children and you gotta be strong for them too.

Kam, understand. My mum never BF me too but she was influenced by my aunt whose daughter BF her two kids for 1-2 years plus. So, now she said BF is good and never asked me stop BF even though I had a lot of problems when BF no. 1.

Ya, babe, agree with Icy, mini confinement is a good idea. Must 'tiao' your body back.

babe,

Sorry to hear about the loss. please take good care of yourself.

luca,
I like the movie, will ask my hubby to buy the blue ray when it is produced. My hubby collects nice movies in blue ray discs.

Luca,
No, me not going, don't think HR is interested in drama, yet. Not sure about wendyg, she only sent this link in the e-mail, didn't say anything.

Kam,
i call staccato but no one pick up phone de...waited so longgggg...
Just wanna find out if they offer any free trial class? If not, how much per trial & duration? any idea? I wonder if this coming Sat got any trial classes or just join in exisitng class etc?thanks

Kam,
Avatar contains extended sequences of action violence, epic battle and war scenes. There is minimal blood and gore. You wanna bring HR to watch ah?

Steph,
For Staccato - no class this weekend due to the New Year. Class will resume on the 9th Jan. Most like they will let you join in the existing class. Yes, it was free trial that we went. Duration is 45 minutes (same as actual class). Course fee is $380 for 10 session. If sign up after the trial class, get to waive off the registration fee and an additional 10% discount of the $380.

Yes, will be on leave on the 4th Jan (HR's birthday). Want to watch Avatar. If don't bring HR along, have to leave him at the cc. But then, it's his birthday leh, if we leave him there and go for movie, like very bad hor :p

Kam,
Thanks for the info
I wanna let Z try it out since he loves music & dancing so much...he loves watching Hi5 & doing the monster dance:p

oh yea...is HR's birthday on Monday! Happy Birthday to him in advance
*kiss kiss from aunty steph* You can go for movie in the late morning & pick him up from CC after movie for a nice dinner perhaps? Have a great day!

Happy birthday to HaoRe in advance too.

My hubby's birthday also coming up on 6 Jan but he has to go to school on 6, 7 and 8 Jan. CL leaving on 8 Jan. MIL going on Malacca on holiday from 9-10 Jan. Not looking forward to next week... ;P

mei,
At The Lasik Surgery Clinic at Paragon. U still considering ah.....been a year since u ask me this hor...do lah, u wont regret, at least i didn't

Thanks to all aunties, already received so many wishes before his birthday. My hub birthday on the 8th, so can celebrate both together :)

Steph,
If you manage to call Staccato, ask to come on the 10.30am class on the 9th Jan, so Z can play with HR :)

Kam,
ok sure, timing just nice too...the existing class not full yet?
Z's birthday coming on the 7th

Happy birthday to the early Jan babies...like
lynn's Rayden, mylife's Rylee, hammies's kendrick...who else??

Babe,
Hugz and take care of yourself.

tongtong,
Yes, you can use other type of cheese a well.

Kam,
B also go to bed after his last milk feed. But he's still awake so he definitely swallowed all the milk in his mouth. It's not as bad as bf to sleep cos the baby will usually KO with milk still inside the mouth...you know what I mean?

pixie,
Another recipe is Pita Pizza. Just buy those mini wholemeal pita bread from supermarket. Spread a layer of tomata sauce (ie. pasta sauce), add toppings eg. mushrooms, chicken, tomato, green peas, bell peppers, etc and sprinkle mozarrella cheese on top and bake in oven for 10-15 mins. Quick, easy and delicious!

yeh!! chinese new year mood already? ehhe

i'm looking for CNY cookies BP. not sure whether nice or not cuz cant sample leh.

hello mummies!!
just woke up from nap heehee
bz morning leh, look after x and check my emails at the same time

yvonne
wah thanks for another recipe, but i got no microwave oven or conventional oven at home :p

i kinda know why my boy is rejecting food liao. the food is tasty, he is not picking on the food. but rather, he dont want to eat his own food. so just now during lunch, after a few spoonfuls from his own bowl, i had to transferred to an "adult" bowl + spoon, and started to eat out from it as though it was mine. then he want to snatch from "my lunch".....geesh
thats how he finished majority of the lunch.

tongtong
u'll be the guinea pig, nice then i order from the same bp again heehee

as usual my mil will make yucky pineapple tarts (read: dry, hard, tasteless). then my hb would be gobbling it up and i would be screaming in my head "nooooooo" hahahahahaaaaaaa