(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

eNemum
yes
considered standard as long as you dont fold smaller than A4 size. actually sometimes i test singpost by pasting a bit lower amount of stamps, generally go through one
must test test water mah

grumpus,
Re: Tv
my boy & your girl can shake hands..tv buddies but if watch too much also no good hor...what can we do about it huh? any idea?
Every morning prior breakfast time, he'll point to the tv & make eheheh noise...he'll say kai as in Open the tv..arggg

grumpus
add on to your conditions:- i've checked with several staff in different post offices before, as long as you keep the original shape of the envelope, it is considered standard.
once bent/fold to another unknown size, it is non-standard.
therefore cannot say as long as within these range = standard leh

steph,

Thought you went back to work already? On leave again ah?

RE:TV - To me, I would think that it's not the total amount of time that spent on tv that matters (well of course lesser is better, means he can spend more time on other activities), but it's the lenght of time spent on tv for a session that's more crucial. Meaning to say that if watch 30 min, then stop for 30min to play/eat/etc, then watch again for 30min and then stop...... so say total watch 4 hours per day, it's still ok, and much better than you let the child watch tv continuous for >1 hour straight. I try to limit to 30min in 1 session (except weekends when hubby is out of my control........)

dunno why my gal dont like to watch TV le? I play baby einstein dvd etc for her, less than one min, she dont want to watch already.
I find it very weird why she dont like TV at all. Dunno is it becos my hb n I dont watch, so she follow us or she got no interest in them.

shannonbaby, my boy also doesnt like to watch tv wor. But he will be attracted with dancing MTV where he will dance along, or some other cartoon or things that attracted him but usually, not for long, maybe watch for 5 mins only then dun want liao.

actually, my gal only watches the DVD we plays for her. ( Wheels on the Bus, Barney, and the chinese children songs)

My mil usees them to feed my gal for her meals. if neber on, difficult to feed.

shannnonbaby,

probably so. My boy watches more when someone accompanies him to watch. If leave him to watch alone, the most 10min, he will come looking for us or play his toys already. If the whole family is watching, he can watch as long as we are there.

Kam,

today on CCL cos Z having his last jab. I cleared my backlog yesterday but not WIP assignment la...u will c me chat less often here liow.

shannonbaby,
Z only focus certain portion of little einstein...when the spaceship launching...they will tap their legs & clap their hands so he loves mimic these actions & will follow along too. But after awhile when they resume conversation & no music at the background, he'll turn to do something else..distracted..until his favourite music/commercial/news is up again! For winnie the pooh, same thingy...when the music start..."now is time to think think think..." he'll auto use his finger & point to his head...very cute & funni when i saw him did that.

Finally got to speak to my maid, turns out I don't have v019 service at home. No wonder I call and call also cannot work. I use the zone1511 service that I signed up long ago and I got through to her almost immediately. Thankfully, her English is quite good, other than the time lag, I can understand her and she can understand me. She sounds quite enthusiastic to come and work for me. So far ok lar, but only when she comes then I'll know if I really made the right choice. Keep my fingers crossed lar. :p

Hi Kitsune,

Maids.
what did u ask her? my current maid also speaks quite well but her phili agent ask to lie abt her marital status? She told me she is single but turn out she is married with a 4 year old gal.

I only found out when i went to pick her from the agent?

i ask many stupid question. Like if water is boiling and baby is crying, what shall you do?

kitsune,

good luck to u

list of stupid qns
-if water is boiling and baby is crying, what should you do
-if raining and clothes are left hanging outside, and you are frying a dish, what should you do?
-if didi cry and jiejie cry at the same time, who should you attend to?
-if no more garlic to fry vege, what should you use?
-if run out of vege and didi is sleeping, what should you do?
-if sir ask you do like this and mam ask you do like that, who should you follow?

mylvera,
any hidden meaning behind ur "gd luck to u" to kitsune? hehe :p

pixie,
if i were to answer dat qns, it depends on where im near to, juz basic instinct, dun need to think so deep into it lar.

pixie,

i give u wat my maid will do/ans for yr qns haha

1. bring bb into the kitchen to off the stove.
2. sky dark already bring the clothes in, so will not happen
3. move away, incase u tink i m the one who spank both of them n made them cry
4. dun use garlic lor.
5. wait for M'am/ Sir/ Ah Mah or Ah gong to decide wat to eat
6. both say like but actually dun understand.

luca,

no meaning. i jz feel tat employing a maid is based on our luck. sometimes the maid will know how to ans u n very polite cos they desperate for jobs. once in, den u know if u gnam with her or not or will there be pattern coming out. so all these depends alot on our luck.

personally i dun think asking qns mite help cos SOP ans mah. those who are quick witted mite plan against us as time pass too. all i can say for maid is , if u can close 2 eyes, close. if u can't, close 1 eye. if 1 eye oso cannot close, kick her back.

Kellie, I thought of asking her all this 'IQ' questions too. But in the end, I decided forget it. Cannot even see her face to face, even if she score 100% per cent with the IQ questions doesn't mean that she will actually do it when she's here. I know of people who talk a lot or talk very well, but don't do work, or worse use their '口才' to find excuses for themselves. So to me, on job performance is more important.

Anyway, for me, I use those auto off electric jug so water boiling also never mind. Baby more important. Haha.

mylvera, thanks I need all the luck I can get. I know also, it's hard to get a good maid, just hope that she doesn't have the flaws that I can't stand (ie. dirty, steal, lazy, bring man to the house) and if she does have flaws, it's those that I can close 1 eye or 2 eyes type. :p

Jess, no she's Filipino. Agent recommended Filipino if looking after children cos at least my kids will grow up speaking English instead of Malay. Also, Filipino got no problem cooking or eating pork, less of a hassle for me. ILs love pork, everyday at least 2 pork dishes. :p Don't know her exact arrival date yet cos MOM need to approve first, but she did tell me 3 times that she can go to Manila this week. Think she's eager to come over bah. :p

i see.. wow... 2 pork dishes... so li hai. haha.
ya... filipino english normally not bad... only issue is they have more character....
so need to be careful. might argue back type de i feel. cos they are more vocal. unles indo.. they dun dare to say de...

Jess, I eat until sian lor. Everyweek, sure got at least 1 fried lean pork with shredded ginger (dry and hard) and a fatty meat/belly pork/pork leg stew. Soup, most of the time, it's pork ribs or pig tail. If got fish, it's always that 2 types of fish and always pan fried. That's why I don't know where to send my maid for cooking lessons cos I'm also not a good cook. :p

Ya, I also scared, that's why choosing new maid who never work in Singapore before. Then no off day for the first year. Hopefully, will be less savvy and argumentative lor. :p

ya... my ILs also always eat fatty meat... i never eat... haha.. when u go and fetch the maid, the agency will attached some brochures for u to tell u where got cooking classes for them... quite cheap

My agent said she can train the maid to cook chinese food for me but depends on how long I can afford to leave the maid there lar cos go to start paying levy after 5 days.

Jess, I used to like fatty meat (belly pork esp shao1 ruo4). After eating dinner at their place nearly every weekday after my gal is born, I'm so scared of the pork belly, pork leg and pig tail cos all fats and hardly any meat. Bo bian, my FIL is very obese with high BP but he is the cook and he always cooks such unhealthy food for himself and us. :p

hehee...
agent will only teach them how to cook fried rice etc de.... end up i ask my maid to cook for me the fried rice she learn.. not nice de...

guess its the elderly way of life

Haha, Jess, I know, but free training so mai hiam lor. Think I need to get my maid to learn from my aunt who is a good cook cos at least she understands English so I don't need to translate for the maid. :p

kitsune: hw much u need to pay the agent fee? i heard filipino maid salary is way much higher like $ 400-500 as compared to indo maid $350.

kitsune
There are cooking lessons at CCs. You can check it out.

aqua
My maid's pay is $350, no off day. Filipino. The range is abt there, depends on which agency you go to, some will tell you v high, they oso take more comm from the maids I guess.

Aqua, my agency fee is $88, yup maid salary is $330 but since no off day for the first year so $350 per month. Maid has outstanding $2100 loan. No leh, I heard that Filipino salary is about the same as Indo cos Indo also increased liao. That's why agent recommend Filipino since salary similar.

Mom2nat, yup, my nearby CC has cooking classes. Since she's Filipino, should be able to understand English. I'll probably send her for class after she settles down.

mom2nat/kitune, $350 with no off day quite reasonable, coz at least they hav basic edu level. kids at least can learn english rather than malay.

cheryl
Not feeling well cannot take jab. The jab I think wait a while is ok. Cos for my #1, I forgot she needed a jab! Hahaha... by the time i rem, was a few months liao, but it was ok.

Jess
Yah lor, I feel like napping now, but oso feel like surfing the net.

aqua
some pple prefer indo, some fil. I think their attitudes, cleaniness and blah blah got diff... depends on own requirement. For me, I can't speak malay, oso dun have the patience to teach a new maid english lor. So far my maid's english pronunciation not "zun" like us, but ok lah, at least my son learns from her and she can read and sing to him.

mylvera
You ill?

cheryl: for 2nd dose of MMR, can do it anytime as long as before turns 2 years old.

Pregnancy package: emailed to my gynea in s'pore asked her how much would she charges for package from 20th weeks onward. Feel so pain when she charges me S850. So expensive huh? ;-(

hahaha, sorry, booster. ;) In my mind, I was thinking booster, but dont know why typed like that. ;)
Sorry for confusion.

Mom2nat: yah, my gynae so ex leh. ;-( Delivery she charged me $1900 for normal and assisted. I know her charge is expensive. Somemore this time, if I see her from 20th weeks onward, she still charges me full leh. Heart pain, but hubby is ok with it, so have to convince him to change. ;-)
WHich gynea did you visit last time?

blessedbaby
I go to Paul Tseng at TMC now. I used to go to another gynae, paid $500 for half his package then decided to change!! Haha.. but I like Paul Tseng lor. so far so good.

Mom2nat: I prefer female gynae. ;-)

Kam: just in case if you didnt receive my FB messages yesterday regarding the Konfidence swimwear. Do let me know if you want me to buy from here for you. Last time I saw a spree by a mummy, she said it's 40% cheaper than buying in singapore. If you want, browse the web and let me know. I can help you to bring back no additional charge. Hahahaha.
Any mummy wants can let me know too, but can't bring too many coz at that time, my tummy is big already, plus my Johanna is probably 13 kgs by then. ;-)
I do not charge anything (just to make it clear), only help as friends.

TV
My TV also on almost whole day. But i only try to let my boy watch from 9.30am onwards till 11am. He is a fan of mickeymouse club house. He still wakes up everyday and take the remote control and pass me and asked me to switch on. I refuse to do so now, cos hb had been complaining to me that I will turn him into a coach potato. I switch on a music CD instead now. It works, he dance to familiar music. He loves the ribena advert too!

I guess toddler stayed at home watch more TV because it become a easy way to keep him busy when we need to do some housework.

kitsune
mine is $360, no off day. we offered $350 but she wanted $360

can i check with mummies with maid, if i renew her contract, must increase her pay right? and usually how much is the increment? is there a standard amount?

blessedbaby
850 is cheap. mine is 1500 (or more?), same like mom2nat and mine started from XX weeks onwards too

thanks jess

sighs my boy from saturday until now milk strike. milo, cereal, fresh milk, fm, soy bean drink...all dont want
in the end drink water to go to sleep

blessedbaby, my gynae charges me $2400 from 13th weeks onwards including normal delivery.

RE: maid
I guess the standard is $20 increase every 2 years. Currently my maid's salary is $350 with one off day per mth. But I do give her extra on and off or buy her something like clothings etc.