(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Wendy, how you warm up fresh milk ah? Heat up in pan or just warm bottle of fresh milk in hot water like EBM? I haven't given to RaeAnne before yet. :p

Wa, your kids can chew chicken drumstick liao? Mine still can't chew very well. Only mashed up chicken breast or mashed up lean pork.

kam, blessedbaby,
Juz woke up from nap, heehee ^.^
Yup, scheduled date is next wed, 1st july ;)
Few more days to go.

I experience some sharp pain at my breast now. Wonder is my "moomoo factory" trying to start up engine soon??

wendy, i also warm up the fresh milk for her, like the EBM way. but she is able to tell the difference. tried from cup, put inside milk bottle. all ways n methods but she simply refuse to drink or tell me "is hot"??
maybe i will try the meiji brand this weekend, cos i only tried the magnolia one for her.

kam,
how cum u dun nid to c your gal birth date & birth time to select name for her? Juz count stroke will do?

I find that my boy is veri SPOILT at my mum hse. He juz make noise & cry then get everything he wants. I really got no eyes to see!!! Cannot say my mum cos i didn't really help out here. But juz dun feel good cos' he dare not behave this way if he is at my own hse with me & hubby.

Re: Fresh Milk
Didn't know they can take cold fresh milk. Will they LS??

JanBB,

I am doing it the easy way mah, for fun :) And this book I am using said no need to see the birth date and time. Just the stroke alone.

Tongtong,

I give him milk right from the fridge.

Kam, JanBB, actually the conventional way is to see birth date and time cos need to see which element your kid lacks then give the name to supplement the missing element. The Shanghai Master one look at my gal's name know that we didn't get a Master to calculate for my gal cos both me and hubby lack 'tu3' but my gal's name also has no 'tu'. Actually after the Shanghai master calculated, we were quite tempted to change her name but we don't know if he is reliable so we hesitated from last Dec until now lor. Also because one of the feb mummies went to 'ce4 ming2 zi4' for her son and the Master said name only determine 5-10% of the person's fortune, sheng chen ba zi determines 90% so ask her to choose caesearean date and time instead. Faint! LOL.

kam
although i din give vernon cold drink.. lol but sometime will give abit.
even the fresh milk from mac, we oso let the milk not so cold liao den give

Kam,
Same same. My boy's name also selected by counting strokes only based on his surname and chinese zodiac sign. I don't want to get fengshui master cos may end up with a name we don't like. So I just make sure the no. of strokes is suitable for him and I flip through dictionary to find characters I like
. My boy's name is 董家熙.

RE: name
I choose my gal's name myself. never look into any books/see any shifu. We direct translate her name from english to chinse. So far so good, hope she will continue to be healthy and cheerful, thats my wish for her.

Re: Fresh milk
My boy super weird, if drinking fresh milk from bottle, must warm up otherwise he reject. But he will drink it cold from cup or straight from tetra pack eg. at MacDonalds.

Kitsune,
But if select c-sect time and date also not considered the "real sheng chen ba zi" right? It's against heaven's will isn't it to give birth when the time is not right??? Must let nature take its course then considered the real sheng chen ba zi. I remember someone told me before.

Yvonne,

Nice leh. 董家熙.

Initially I wanted to have 家 as the middle name for all my kids, I like this word, but it didn't suit the surname.

TongTong,
Thks ;)

Kam, pauline,
Yes, the fengshui master is very detailed. Will usually select a name with birth time/date plus adding the element factor that lack of in the name. True that the name may not sound that nice sometimes. But if believe in them, got to follow, no choice.

Anyway, juz select a name that u are comfortable & have special likings cos gonna call them forever ;)

shannonbb,
thanks. just wondering if i should bring my son for this test too since he always got cough and flu.

luca, my sis told me is $10 per food test. she tested abt 30 over food item, thus she paid $300 plus. she did it cos her son is always having rashes and she can't find out the reason why. nw that she avoid those food, her son doesnt have rashes anymore.

luca
yes it's $10 per poke. my brave son 4yo endure 12 poke at 1 go... it's too many already la. i think we parents more traumatised than him. sommore i wasn't there...
u call up the clinic to enquire abt minimum age lor. Maybe not all PD hv this facility... coz the Sengkang kidslink didn't even bother to suggest to me this option, only ask me to return for review every 1 or 2 wks, give same medicine, or make us pay for asthma inhaler, blah blah.

kitsune
i hv Avent food warmer, i use that to warm it up.

Janbb,

I am fine... Now i am at 23 weeks only! Still cannot 100% confirm the gender lei. 6 Jul going for check up hopefully can see the gender already. I am so eager, wanna buy those nice cute dress but gender still not confirm!!!! Argh!!!!

Jacelyn,
That's fast ;) U are half way there!! Jia you.
Hope your baby co-operate & reveal his/her gender soon, dun let u keep guessing ; )

My hubby juz came back from a short overseas trip on wed. He surprised me by buying abt 10 sets of PJ & lovely Strawberry Shortcake dresses for #2!! Really shock that he also became such an impulsive shopper when cum to gal stuff, haha ;) Maybe baby gal's stuff got too many variety for selection, that's y he also go crazy.

mylvera,
i feel that he is not that excited over #2 as compare to #1. But who knows, he can buy so many stuff for her & this time NONE for my boy.. Funny hubby ;)
I hope my gal will "glue" to him more!! Cos' my boy is very sticky to me. Like that more fair & i won't be so busy, kekeke ;p

kitsune,
went to the mind champ presentation yesterday and found hat it is not a "presentation" but like a introduction by a teacher there. Blur me, didnt realised that they are actually more of a child care centre.

They just opened in feb so everything is clean and big and organised. They have delicated bed, pigeon holes for the kid barang and even shoes. the ratio for teacher and child is low for their playgroup (1:5). Each classroom is big and have delicated stations like gormet, art, maths, logic, words for max of 2 students and of course tables for a max of 11 toddlers in their playgroup per classroom. Morning is lesson and after nap time of 1-3.30pm will be their enrichment like science, music, speeach and drama, right brain training etc etc in their gym room for 1.5hrs.. It is like 7am to 7pm for full day when actually 7-8.30am and 5.30pm to 7pm is their own free exploration time.

What i like is they are very creative and hands-on and seemed fun to whatever they do. They have outing once every mth. Every kid have a progress report made up of a scrapebook of photos and the artwork of what and how they do in each activity. Almost like a blog.. (wonder how the teachers had so much time snapping the kids where they teach).

Very interesting but the fee also woah.. full day cost 1.4K excluding givt subsidies..

Not exactly the 1-2 hr per day of playgroup that I am looking for.. lol I will look into 2 more schools next week.

JanBB
wahhhh that means by the time i get back to Sg, u'd given birth to #2 liao! Congrats in advance! Have u think of english name for her? Anyway, welcome to the world of having a baby gal! U will find that as she grows older, it's even more irresistible to buy those cute dresses, frocks and puffy sleeves for her! Hehehehehe

shannonbaby
i also give Rylee warmed up fresh milk once in the morning during her breakfast. If we're outside (for eg recent stay at Disneyland hotel), i'd give her the cold milk that the hotel serve, so far so good. The fresh milk i give to her is Pura brand, the blue colour full fat one. Dare not give those Kowloon Dairy lah, and other china brand due to the recent Melamine scare last time. Other times i still BF.

Names
Laughing away at all the names suggestion for Kam's princess. All the "rain association"...i cant give any comments/inputs cos me not good with chinese...i dun even know how to read chinese, and believe it or not, i dont even know how exactly the exact pronounciation of Hao Re. :p That's the result of a Malaysia Convent girl...Kam would understand how divided chinese and english school is in Msia. Which explains why i insisted in speaking Mandarin to Rylee since Day1 instead of English cos personally i think english easier to pickup next time.
Oops, i digress!

Yah yah, my confirmed trip back to Sg is from 3-10 July. Anyone want to meet up, let's try to coordinate again *LOL* Again, offer to buy things from HK still stands...that day went to Uniqlo in HK and got some "Room Wear" for Rylee...love it cos the pants is not long but cover knee, good for them to sleep in. And cheap too! One set, top and bottom for HK79 i think. Anyone wants it cos i know Uniqlo in Sg doesnt carry clothes for kids below 4yrs old rite?

Luca, mylvera, because when I post photos to blogspot.com, it auto rotates, I never had to do anything. Didn't know facebook software is not as clever. Anyway, by the time I found out that it didn't auto rotate when Icy told me about the wrong date. I lazy to go back one by one to edit liao. :p Esp. not when everyone is busy stealing me and my hubby's crops. Hint hint. :p

Wendy, oh ya, I can use my warmer too. Must go buy some fresh milk, I don't think and hubby drinks UHT milk so there is no fresh milk at home. :p

Icy, wow, sounds cool but you are right, the price is eye popping. :p So, you still shortlisting playgroups too? How about the one in tampines west that you mentioned? A few times a week but accompanied by 1 parent?

Luca, not much progress leh. The agencies are slow in sending bios despite my chasing. One agency didn't even email me any. I don't know if it's because they expect employers to keep going down to their agency to see new bios or what? :p Then one of my ex colleagues asked me if I want to take her ex maid who is 40 years old and helped to look after her 11+months old son last year. She changed maids cos her MIL doesn't like this maid and will deliberately starve her. Problem is this maid is $420 every month and needs to go to church every Sunday and she is also 40 years old. So, I wonder if it's a good fit. Cos Sunday is family day for us, and we are not Christians so sure got activities, end up I'll have to plan my day around the maid's schedule. Doesn't sound so ideal.

Japanese drama on Channel U is very funny.

Pauline,
It's best that u visit the agency personally. They are not very IT savvy..wouldn't email u the bio data want cos application form handwritten by maids. Where to find time to scan the application form and email u..There are hundreds of them..

That's when they will show u the bio data. Katong Mall have a lot of maid agencies there. Just spend some time to talk to the people about the procedure, agency fees, salary etc as well as info on maids from Indo, philippines, Myanmar etc. I wouldn't recommend u my agency cos it's no good..J***F***..

Must always go down personally. Always over promise, under deliver (machiam like slimming companies)50% of the time, bio data not accurate. If possible, ask people to recommend a reliable agent working at the agency.

Those maids whom u see sitting there are mostly transferred case. If u prefer brand new one, must wait one to two months. Cos they must pass medical, then English, etc etc. So start early.

I feel it's best that maid comes in a month or two before u deliver. Otherwise, very stressful to train during confinement and deal with crying baby. It was very stressful for me when I trained my maid..couldn't wait to get back to work.

blackbatz, thanks for info, I went down to Katong Mall 2 weeks ago before I went to Penang in fact. That's the agency who didn't email me the biodatas even though he promised to send the new ones to me lor. Ya, I don't want transfer maids unless recommended by friends. Was planning to get new maid in Aug when hubby goes for reservist so that got time to train and got a few months for RaeAnne to adjust to the maid. Saw the bios but didn't have anything I like (I want 25-30, married with kids or single with younger siblings).

icy
for my #1's childcare, i think it's the principal who snaps pictures and uploads on the sch website and prints out for the kids portfolio etc. They recently cut down many excursions due to H1N1. Principal said many parents very fast to point finger, so she hv to play safe.

janbb
issit coz he finds it difficult to buy clothes for boys... my husband can buy toys for the boys, but has never bought an item of clothing for either one of them.

morning mummies
kam, i like 瑜 coz thats the exact strokes of my chinese name.
i always interpret this character as happy aka 瑜 kuai

Pauline,
Never send..can strike out that agency liao. Sometimes, they are quite small, so not many for people to choose.

From my experience, even if they state 25 or 30 on their biodata and they appear old in their photos, it is also not accurate. Wait till u see them standing alive in front of u..u will notice they are a lot younger ha..ha..

Mine also said she took care of her younger sibling..But my mum said she does not even know how to hold the broom when she first came. Mine took almost a year to be able to play with kids naturally.

Try to avoid those married with young kids..They tend to be more homesick. All mummies behave the same way, even us. Then all the additional problems will come, must call home very often..If homesick or worried about baby, they will be distracted and cannot take care of ur kids.

If Christian maid, must pay extra in terms of salary and must grant them Sunday off.

If Myanmar maid, must be prepared to tolerate their inexperience with our modern lifestyle for 6 months or more..(prepare more pails to contain ur blood). They take longer to adjust / understand us than Indonesian.

Another thing..both u and hubby must settle on maid management. Cannot be one very kind, one very fussy. Then u will look like an "evil" employer. I think ur hubby is a "kind" man. My galfriend had the same problem cos no one ever employed maid in her husband family. Really treats maid like king. so in the end, they had to do away with the maid.

On 2nd thoughts, I was thinking of suggesting a date for meetup cos if not, no one would hv suggest anything cos all too busy liao. How about on Sunday 5July? Anyone interested? Would like to meet all babies!

Date : 5july, Sunday
Time : 2-5pm?
Venue : to be confirmed
attendees
1) mylife

mylife,
Aiya, sundays are family day for me...always spend it at my mum's place. You can go ahead with the rest and maybe we meet up with a few other SAHMs on another weekday (except friday)??? I'm at Hougang so I can easily pop over to Tampines or Ikea for a gathering

Yvonne
oh! I put Sunday simple becos I tot it'd be better for everyone who are not SAHMs. I'm actually ok with any day. Let's see the response lo.

kam,

saw ur post that u thking names for ur little gal :p
hehe this one cm to my mind :p
思瑜

hee my gal also this yu 瑜 in her name. her name is 心瑜

mylife
i think if you got time to spare, should have a weekday meetup with mummies and babies who are mostly sahms
weekends are for mummies and babies ftwms coz mummies like us are bz working, no time to meet weekdays

mom2nat, pixie
haha, yah i know. But like i said, i am open for all dates (except maybe the date that we're supp to go back hubby's house). Anyway, not many SAHMs leh. Pixie, can be SAHM on one day? Lots of babies i want to meet leh...