(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

<font color="0000ff">Naming of baby girl</font>

In the process of thinking a name for our baby girl. The two below are the one we like most, so far.

1. 甘婷瑜
2. 甘皓瑜

婷 - graceful
皓 - white, bright, luminous
瑜 - fine jade; gem; virtues; good points

Personally I like the first one, but when we pronounce it - 婷瑜 - it sounds like the rain has stopped = no water = no money, hehe....

So we thought of using the same middle name as Hao Re, becomes 皓瑜. I quite like it too, but not feminine enough. And hubby wants to have a different middle name for girl-girl (unless we can think of any at the end).

I told my dad, and he LOVES the 瑜, and asked us to stick to it. Because it's the name of a famous historical hero, 周瑜.

What do you all think?

Hi Kam,

I love your first selection. sound very girly n graceful for a baby gal..

hmm..my name also have the word "ting", but i am not graceful at all..:p

Hi Kam, how abt "huan"? as in "yu huan"? cuz "yu ting" really sounds like stopping the rain and ppl may tease her in future..

dunno la.. just my own views..no offence

Kam, Mylvera.

Yes, I called my gynae. He said there is no concern since I have no pain and no bleeding. This means my womb is not damaged. Also baby is protected by the waterbag so the fall won't fractured the baby. Then he said my placenta is located at the inner side of the womb so also ok. No worries. Thanks for your advice. I can also tell my family safely that baby is ok.

Mylvera,

You fell down the drain? Sounds more serious than my fall. How come the GP never checked you? So bad. Last Friday I went to GP for diarrhea. The GP checked my tummy for 10 mins and can tell he is concerned about it loh. But luckily detailed scan shows baby is ok.

Thanks mummies.

Cadaly,
Because we count the "bi hua" (the number of strokes of the words), so the 瑜 must be at the end. Ya lor, really sounds like rain stopping hor, though it looks nice.....

Kam,

Choice#1 sounds better for girl. If you want to use 皓 as middle character, it would be tough to match a girly name. Coz that character quite man. It depends if you want #2 to follow Gor Gor's name or not.

For me, have not really decide #2's name yet. Coz #1's name is calculated by 游龙子. Then her name is 怡萱. 怡 is definitely a no-no for boy's name too. So got to look for another character with the "Yi" sound. And yet for #2, we plan to seek 游龙子's advice. So still quite a question mark. I scared "Yi" cannot use as middle character then how? Hubby and I badly want it leh.

kam, i see.. din know u lookin at the bi hua..

I was a lazy mum, just pick up the phone and let you long zi suggest..haha... but even then, I was having a difficult time choosing from the list of characters provided by him. In the end my #1'a name was chosen by my mum, #2 by my hubby.

You may want to consider engaging the fengshui master ..

krystle,

if u really want Yi as middle character, dun bother to consult you long zi lor. erm..tt's my thinking lah. all my 3 darlings we din consult anyone, except my FIL. tis time i wun even let them decide cos i already decided long ago when i preg with #2 (n if #2 is a gal, would have called the name tat i hv chosen liao)

krystle: my daughter name same as ur girl! but it is another chinese word 'yixuan'! mine i went to 'jin zi long', hw come all the master gav similar names, jzu diff chinese strokes???

Mylvera,

But since got seek 游龙子 for #1, then #2 don't seek advice like not 安心. Haiz...

Like my nephews loh, both seeked for 游龙子 advice and turned out names completely different. Got to discuss further with hubby... But if ILs insisted to get advice, maybe will do so loh.

Aqua,

Our girls shared same names! Hahahah. Actually, also got many friends feedbacked that these fengshui masters gave around the similar names. Those quite common ones. I got one colleague and her name is Yi Xuan too. But totally different characters from mine. Hahaha.

Who is 游龙子? Fengsui master?

We counted the bi hua the DIY way, is more for fun, not really believe in it. So won't go for Fengsui master. Hao Re's name also DIY in counting the bihua one :)

krystle,

One of the famous male HK artist named 林保怡 . So the 怡 is not really a no-no for boy.

Previously before pregnant with #2, we (and many other relatives and friends) thought it's going to be easy to name a girl, cos gorgor 皓日,then meimei can be named 皓月 lor. But after we found out #2 is girl, hubby got very excited, and said 皓月 is too simple/common and wanted something more unique for his girl.

krystle: ya, i tink they quite uncreative, they shld try to giv us more 'options' n uniques names!
nex time go school, the teacher called yixuan, prob got 5 girls the same name???

ya nowadays lotsa xuan. i like traditional chinese chars for girls' name.. eg JUAN or JUN. like theresa teng type. hahahaha.

i think many boys born within these few weeks/ months will be named Michael? Or Jackson? Or Jacko?

mylvera
we thought abt it.. every 1 or 2 wks go back to Kidslink also spend $200 a pop.. and she can't seem to resolve it. So bite the bullet, priority is to cure his cough once and for all, dowan to keep taking leave to bring him to Kidslink keep review review still no progress. And husband got fedup of the 2 counter ladies' attitude.

aqua
eat onions!!

Cad&amp;aly,

Ya loh, I think You Long Zi likes "Xuan" for girls. Anyway, mine was by his son, not by him. They said quite hard to get his advice coz he takes on bigger cases. Such normal cases, he left for his son to do.

Kam,

Yong Long Zi quite a famous fengshui master and been around for years. Got his name appearing on newspapers too. And I find his rates reasonable. But I can say that the service is not that personalised and the name list is like pre-calculated already and used many times. I was served by the son and the son did not review much details too. Just said that overall my girl's life is ok, not much worries. She has no problems in studying and will travel alot later. Only thing is that she will need to avoid places with "water" until 5 years old. Actually what he said, I also heard the same thing applies to one of my nephew and hubby's niece.

I know about 林保怡. The name sounds girl too. But would prefer a manly name for my boy.

hey kam

甘梅瑜

serious drought. lol

yaya, the JUAN and the JUN. nowadays little girls dun hv these kind of names anymore. the usual Peiling, Meiling.. all ended with our generation.

Alice is name of my aunt.. =) If i hv a girl, she will be Rosie =) u know Phua Chu Kang's wifey? hee hee hee hee

krystle,

Yi - how about 毅 = firm, resolute. This name very the man :)

Yes, I think the Fengsui master already have all bi hua pre-calculated and the words pre-selected. As I learned from the book, it depends on the surname, say it your surname is 10 stroke, then he will just pick the names accordingly. Because if you really want to consider everything, the combination of the bi hua, the 5 elements, the meaning of the word itself, etc etc, really can only nail down to a few words to choose from only.

wendy,

Haha, funny one, yes, totally drought! My dad would immediately reject it :)

Rosie pretty nice. But we won't give my kids English name lor. So I just think only, for fun.

mylvera,

Honestly, 娟瑜 not bad woh. But the 娟 didn't match the bi hua that we want, the middle one must be 12 stroke. Good try, indeed :)

Wendy, oh Isaac is allergy with egg yolk, so he cant take MMR? Aiyo, normal FM cant, you might want to try oatmilk?

H1N1: cases increasing everyday. Even my sister’s colleague caught the virus. Now they were all given mask and I asked her to wear !!

Update: H1N1 case spotted at raffles place! My ex-colleague in another part of raffles place all on BCP mode already, they work from home cuz one of the colleague caught the virus. I think I better go buy mask later and wear in MRT, don’t care how ppl see me la! better play safe

wonder if the ops can do smtg abt spamming. haha tink my mood is bad today cos headache still here .. but i hate seeing spamming in threads.

Kam,

Considered 毅 before but quite a bit of strokes. Then hubby does not like the character. So got to keep thinking. So the naming is still hanging in the air. Hahaha..

You are right about the strokes to match surname, elements, 八字etc.. I don't mind about using Xuan for my girl coz I like the characters myself too.

How about 湘瑜?

wendyg
Yah man, be SAHM really stuck to kids in a way. Emotionally more oso. THinking of gg hol with hb, but i fang bu xia leh.

Itz been a long time since i last posted...

Kitsune: hav u collect ur piano? i juz collected mine last night.. i tink Rayden still prefer his lamborg car instead of e piano. Boys still like car.

My niece also got "Xuan" her K class all e girls got xuan... my sis was tinking next yr she gg to pri1 dont kw if her class's girls most wif xuan anot. Xuan sounds very nice so everybody is using it..

anybody pregnant?

mylvera, is 晰 read as "Xin"? If ti is, I think it's a very nice name ie "Xin Yu"

wendyg - LOL at ur suggestion..

Mom2nat, I totally understand hw u feel.. I am very attached to my girls..so I practically have no life.. cuz it's straight home after work everyday..my friends dun bother to call me for any outings anymore cuz I always reject them..

wendy,

Trying to have fun, eh? But I have to say, it's damn funny :)

Krystle,

湘瑜 really not bad leh. But the 湘 has 13 stroke..... cos the "水字部" counted as 4 stroke, not 3 stroke.

mylvera,

My hubby suggested this before, but he choose the 淅 not the 晰 you suggested.

淅瑜 - ok or not? xi yu = a bit of rain, haha, still rain, better than no rain or drought :)

oh bi yu is nice.

i was thinking of Hao Yu.. u know, torrential rain. but i think "hao" is not girly enuf.

Kam's boy is sunshine and her girl is rain.
#3 will be WINDY... hey someone already named Windy so hv to choose another.

wendy,

Yes, I like 甘晓瑜, but the stroke is not 12 leh. Maybe should recalculate tonight, see if I can use 晓 or not.

1. 甘婷瑜
2. 甘皓瑜
3. 甘淅瑜
4. 甘晓瑜

More???

cadaly,

Haha, 碧瑜 = avoid rain..... I don't like 碧....

wendy,

Yes, 皓瑜 = torrential rain, that's why my dad loves this name - lots of "water" = money!!! I told him not girly enough, he said no need to be girly lah, more unique mah.