(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

if i m not wrong superbee gynae is adrian woodworth rite??

Yvonne,

Like we always said, there is no right and wrong, and there is no one method that fits all when it comes to parenting. We as a parent choose whatever way that we are comfortable with and we think is suitable for the kids. You have done a fantastic job making your son listen to you, it makes things easier at times, sometime I wish I could do the same. But I just can't (and hubby said I shouldn't). I have even bought the Supernanny book (cos I quite like the show), thought of learning how to discipline my boy, but I haven't even read 1 single page of it, cos hubby not supportive of disciplining our boy at this age, though sometime my boy fuss and made hubby mad, but once he cooled down, he quickly said to me, see, it's all right now, NO diciplining needed. I have learnt to keep my cool and be patient, patient and patient!

Kam,
i also bought the supernanny book but the one from birth to 1yr old one.
actually u'll be surprised that although supernanny seems to be very big on discipline, she is not unreasonable. i dunno abt the toddler book but for the bb book she does encourage feeding on demand for newborns up to abt 3 mths then start a routine and for babies to sleep in the same room as parents but in their own cot up until abt 4 mths...that's as far as i got in the book :p
but sounds reasonable lor

Pixie, your poor dog, did it appear normal during this period when the bandage was on? Did the clinic accept blame and waive off some fees? You spoke to the vet? Should complain to him lar.

pixie,her bb v poor things, lucky he recovered. mummies cant be stubborn, mus let bb choose hw they wanna come out to this world ;p

grumpus,

I do think the supernanny method seems to work very well (in the shows anyway). I got her book for the toddler one, but haven't read, so didn't know what she is talking there, maybe I should one day. But I don't like reading English book leh, hehe.

I also enjoyed supernanny shows but have not watched for a long long time since I delivered my girl. I still remembered that she will use "naughty corner" to reprimand the children when they did wrong and the daily "sticker chart" to reward them. Not forgetting how to be firm when comes to putting your children to sleep by themselves.

But so far, I have not tried any of the methods on my girl yet. Hahahaha.

<font color="ff0000">re: Jurong Bird Park</font>
anyone wants to go in mth of july09? me got 50% off. A$9. C$4.50
collection from me after 6-july.

grumpus, kam
i borrowed the supernanny book from lib before....after reading, i just think she is very logical in her ways of disciplining kids/babies. just lots of hugs, love, praise, and time out. explanations, sorries, charts, encouragement, and schedules.
very the common sense but sometimes adults just dont follow.
i try the praise, hugs, love, and time out method. review: my boy relish praise and will be more guai. must always have the sing-song voice like supernanny said. time out, let him cool down liao, then slowly explain.
works sort of - not all the time coz our kids still young and headstrong, esp my boy

kitsune
yes i complained to the vet. coz he unwrapped the bandage, and after 1 hr, my dog still havent come out of treatment room, then ask me go in. i saw my dog's ear and almost fainted.
evidently, my dog was in lots of discomfort when his head/ears were in bandage but dog with my parents, not with me so i didnt know. my parents bz with my sis's newborn too...maybe didnt notice my dog's discomfort...haizz...
treatment of the ear was free. charged me consultation, blood test (180+), bandages ($$!!), medication, jabs to the infected area...300$ lor. sianz

aqua
my sis under govt, so kk say wait lah wait lah. then still never come out. baby poo liao then c-sect. she waited for 2days. low class ward, not much care one

thanks mummies for your compliments!
i was also surprised that #1 &amp; #2 look so alike... every visitor who came, say #2 is photocopy version of #1 when she was born too. ;) think they can fake off as twin sister when they grow older bah? :p

kam,
ya loh #1 still a little puzzled abt who is this bb... hopefully she can learn to b a big sister and love her meimei... do take some shots to share with us of haore and his bb sister when ur turn comes!

pixie,
ya the nose &amp; mouth same cos they inherit from me... :p the eyes r same cos inherit from hubby. oh so bb stress during the labour process ah?

aqua,
my gynae is adrian woodworth same as mylvera gynae.

kitsune,
ya loh if anything happen to bb, i think i will do her injustice becos of my own selfishness... anyway just gotta managed the pain on my wound n this time round, i can walk better than my 1st c-sect operation. my 1st c-sect took me a long time to recover and cant walk on 2nd day at all.

Today PD came and say #2 maybe a little jaundice so ask to start the phototherapy now b4 i discharge tmr. hopefully, #2 will be fine to dischage tmr as well. cos i always tot full term bb wont get jaundice as my #1 didnt get leh....
as for breastfeeding, my #2 r more alert and enjoy sucking mama milk for >30 mins...

pixie,
yup actually everytime i watch supernanny show also think it's a lot of common sense but somehow parents find it hard to follow....hehe

eh wat vet is that ah? can let me know cos i have a dog too..

mei: can i ask u hw u find the SM classeS? my huby wana send my girl for enrichment, wana gather some info. do they hav any trial class? i heard waiting list v long

c-section can't walk the 2nd day at ahhhhhhhhhHHHhhh!!! *shudder* cos i wanted to c-sect out #2 (IF ANY!!) natural is way too tedious n painful, for me lah. i couldnt poo for 1 week despite the 10 million laxatives i took. zzz

anyway! SUPERBEE!!! CONGRATS!!!!! awww so sweet the photo
rest well and enjoy your babies!!

Superbee, can walk next day with c section, very good. Last time, I natural delivery but so swollen until need catheter, can't walk the next day. :p Baby 2 is a good suckler, good good, then you'll have even better BM supply.

Did you tell no. 1 about no. 2 before your delivery? She still don't know that's her mei mei? Everyday, I ask RaeAnne to sayang baby and she'll kiss baby on her own. Now, I'm teaching her to say bye bye to baby when she goes out with Daddy. I also hope she'll know when the day comes. :p

pixie
maybe next time u wanna give Animal Recovery Centre at 288 Balestier. We only bring Raisin (our mutt) to Dr Jean Paul Ly, cos he's the best!!! big problems he can solve, small problems also no problem.. 6463-7100. hope ur doggy feels better soon

WINDY:dun be scare, i also c-section on day 1 afternoon, day 2morning, already start walking.gynae says the earlier u walk, the faster ur recovery!
why u dunwan natural? ur first delivery v long?

windy
i also didnt poo for 1 week even though i c-sect

btw, my vet is a very very good vet. just that this time round, he was on leave and another vet was in charges....so...
my vet is quite famous for treating skin problems in animals so i always go look for him. my dog has super allergy to many and too many stuff

grumpus
eh so tmr liulian both of us only, you onz or not? no one else keen ler

my vet is dr casey tan from mount pleasant

windy,
^5, muffin goes to ARVC too...it's like just outside our house..hehe...
i could walk on the 2nd day after my c-sect...or rather i was forced to get out on the 2nd day

pixie,
i'm ok either way leh...i super gian durians...if u dun want to go i will still go and tabao home and eat cos this wk i'm at my mum's place at potong pasir so very near...hehe

oh, i had very bad experience at mt pleasant before leh...my mum's dog also very bad skin and allergy probs, once his face swelled up on one side with pus and all, went in and out so many times they couldn't find the root cause and he underwent so many times investigative surgery....in the end my mom complain then the boss personally examine him and found the prob...

aqua
my delivery was like 16hrs.. not say whole 16hrs i was in pain lah.. hahaha.. cos i was on epidural the min i went in. i think i know liao.. i shall get my gynea to induce in the evening, check into hospital for epidural, sleep den deliver in the morning. to start inducing at 9am was a bad move for me!!! first 6 hrs me n hubby can still joke n laugh n play games on laptop! next 10hrs, i was so immobilised and uncomfy that i wanted to kill anyone who walked in! hahaha so i dunwan natural liao. loooong hrs and not say recovery process daaaaaat blissful either.

pixie
as long as u're happy with your vet

grumpus
yes ^5!! hehe.. i love dr ly.

wahlao i say until like i'm preggers.. wahahahahhaa.. would love to have another one though but the hubby says 1 is enough. so i'm juz planning all these imaginary #2s in my mind. haha

AHDOI! I was waiting in front of my computer for my hubby's pumpkins to ripen BUT MYLVERA still managed to steal 3 pumpkins from him when I was checking my sms. :p

SAHM, wat do you kids do when you busy cooking in the kitchen or you do very simple one dish meal? I find like I spend a hr in kitchen like that though no fancy dish. Erm...wat do u eat for lunch? I very sian cook for myself and bored eating my son's porridge.

Babe, I can't cook unless hubby is around and watches over her. Otherwise, I can only cook when she is asleep. Kenna gastric attack lik that cos sometimes she refuses to sleep or nap for only 1 hr. Can cook but no time to eat. :p

kitsune, can throw her to watch tv while you cook? coz i always do that when im alone at home with my boy. he watches pooh/mickey mouse clubhouse/richard scary/dora while i cook his meals

babe,
lunch is one dish meal or hb will tabao or i will order fast food :p
dinner i will cook and my girl will run around the hse by her self lor...sometimes she will look for me in the kitchen and i will find things to entertain her or carry her little while then after awhile she will run off again...

for one dish meal i do alot of batch cooking and freezing. E.g.
1) boil one big pot of stock and freeze in ziplock bags, can use for bee hoon soup, mee sua soup, macaroni soup etc etc
just throw in some slice chicken, veg and done..
2) wrap wantons in batches and freeze, just take out frozen and boil together with the soup, good for lunch or dinner
3) make burger patties and freeze, take out thaw and fry, kiap in bread can eat already
4) pasta sauce also make in batch and freeze. boil pasta throw in the sauce some sausages and cheese can already.
or i use bottled black pepper sauce to make black pepper pasta with crab sticks, prawn etc.

and of cos there's always fried rice, fried bee hoon and porridge...

Pixie, can't, even when I'm cooking in the kitchen and hubby is accompanying her in the living room (playing with toys or watching tv). She'll come to the kitchen and hug my legs and whine and whine until me or hubby carries her cos she is curious and wants to see what I'm doing. Then she'll say 'um um um' and wants me to feed her whatever I'm cooking. When I told her "hot, hot, cannot eat. You see the bubbles?" (when I was cooking chicken stock), she went 'hoo hoo hoo' blowing at the stock. LOL! ;)

kitsune
yup sometimes my boy walk to kitchen, i will hold him and cook the other hand. then he will hoo hoo hoo too. grab my legs but i let him explore the kitchen cabinets, or just ride on his toy car...after a while porridge done liao leh. sometimes no need jagah the stove, i accompany him. jagah time then i let him wander ard the hse lor

grumpus
i must call pt cleaner first to see if shes coming at 6 or 7
6pm: then i meet u 630 thereabouts
7pm: then i meet u 730 thereabouts
too late? too early?

kitsune,
what i sometimes do is put my girl in the high chair quite near the stove but not near enuff for her to touch lah so she can see what's going on....like u said she's just curious and wants to see what i'm doing...fortunately for me my girl will lose interest in awhile and want to get down and run off...
the other thing i do sometimes is let her sit on the kitchen counter and watch...she will only touch 'her stuff' i.e. her bowl, spoon, cup etc thats on the counter...or stuff that i've given her to play before like tupperware...other than that she won't touch the other stuff like plates and pots and pans, sometimes she does try and i just tell her no and she will go back to playing the 'allowed' stuff

same as grumpus
another one is...while he is due to wake half an hr b4, i will boil the grain and water, so by the time he wakes up, the porridge is half done...then no need to let him demand my attention for the whole length of cooking...
usually i just throw him in high chair and he watches the dvds

grumpus, u bring ur gal to durians? looks like you cook and freeze alot of stuff. Din noe can use ziplocks to freeze stock..what kind of containers do you use? u mean fried rice, beehoon can also freeze

pauline, then where u find time to cook her lunch since she naps only in afternoon?

Pixie, grumpus, actually I don't have much problem cooking RaeAnne's porridge cos I use a slow cooker and everything is precut. It's cooking our own food that takes up time cos I don't cook all the time. Sometimes, buy ingredients only in the morning itself (if we go to Tampines Mall for breakfast) so I need more time to prepare the ingredients then cook. And RaeAnne still has the bad habit of picking up crumbs and food bits from the kitchen floor and eating it so I can't be back facing her. Hiaz. :p

I think I tried the high chair in kitchen method once, it was good but that time I had my mum to release her and carry her out when she got bored.

babe,
yes my girl coming along to durians, must train her to eat :p haha

yah i found that freezing stuff makes life easier later on. but of cos i don't cook freeze everything i've listed at the same time lah...so at any one time i have about 2 frozen ready to eat stuff in my freezer.
yup i use small ziplock and ladle individual portions of soup, lay them flat in the freezer to freeze, very compact and convenient.
for stuff like wantons and burger patties i lay them on a baking tray first and freeze, when they're frozen then i pack them into a container, otherwise they freeze all stuck together. i use just those tupperware type of container. if no container, ziplock also can.

fried rice and bee hoon cannot freeze lah...but i do freeze cooked white rice so i can easily make fried rice when i feel like it lor...
bee hoon can soak first and keep in the fridge for abt 2-3 days. so u can soak a batch and use for today bee hoon soup and tom fried bee hoon. save time like tat and less washing up

cheryl: what is a gd reason for no.2?
keeke, so that no.1 can share the cda funds with no.2 and nt lugi the $6k?
to make full use of tax rebate for working mum?

Babe, RaeAnne has her porridige usually at 11+am, then play a bit, then bathe her, then give her milk and let her sleep. That's when I get some time to cook my lunch but her naps very short lor when I'm not on the bed with her. :p

kitsune,
yah actually it takes some planning lor. like my marketing i usually plan for one wk's meals in advance. One time buy everything and prepare and freeze. i only go to the market everyday 2 days or so to buy green veges cos those cannot keep long..

Grumpus, there isn't any wet market near my house. The nearest one is 6-7 bus stops away so I only get to buy fresh produce when we go to TM NTUC. I throw away so much spoilt veg until i scared liao. Then again, sometimes I don't feel like cooking esp when MS is bad, don't feel like eating, so I don't dare to plan even 1 day advance, let alone 1 week lor. :p

kitsune,
hehe i dun always go wet market, sometimes i just go ntuc and buy my green veges too...but for me wet market and ntuc all within walking distance, if i'm lazy then i just drive :p

actually for meats and fish can keep in the freezer for up to 3 months mah so can always stock up. sometimes i plan for one weeks food but end up cooking them over 2 weeks. only the veg is the one lah, that's why i go to ntuc every 2-3 days and just buy a bit. anyway i still hv to go whether i cook my own meals or not cos my girl needs to eat too mah..

pixie: i heard freezing veg stocks nt gd, will cause wind and 'jelly' legs. i tink if it is those chicken/meat stock, it is fine.