(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wendy,

we wan our kids to mix ard with ppl of their own age. my hb reluctant to go out one. i duno if he will mind bor cos sch re-opening soon n he mite be bz n pek chek haah but if this weekend (since nothing onz n still sch holi n i m on leave next mon-wed) he mite agree haha

Haha, disappeared for a while cos the mummy who promised to buy my PIS advanced really came and rang my doorbell! Got a surprise cos kenna played out so many times that I didn't expect this one to really turn up. ;P But now, I feel sad to abandon my trusty war comrade who went through thick and thin with me throughout my 13 or was it 14 episodes of blocked ducts/mastitis for a new pump.

Haha, Wendy, I'll take long long time to master my skills lor. By then, you mummy of 3 liao?
Even my playdate with the Feb mummies, I don't dare to cook, scared I poison them. Cos my cooking 'chu1 bu4 liao3 ting1 tang1'. If got gathering, I only offer to make salad or buy food, very boring one lor.

I see, pixie, I improvised then, cos I use chicken stock to boil the veg (some bigger cubes of carrot still a bit hard :p) then I keep the stock, add back to my leftover chicken stock then added to rice. I always thought must add chicken stock cos my hubby fry bee hoon also use some chicken stock. But he long long time, never fry liao, I also forgot his steps. :p

enemum
alamak u so skinny lose what.
i only eat the lean meat.. nvrmind right? wow that's why i quite enjoy my confinement lor. the food!!!

pixie
give u some time to improve, so we go elsewhere first. mylvera???? chking with old man? hahaha. howsabout Saturday lunch, enuf time for u to prepare?

eNemum
the A1 brand always been a popular choice leh
if you really want a nice paste/pre mix, go to the wet market->sundry area, ask the muslim or indian stall to give you their pre-mix. they will ask you cook for what? mutton, chicken, or fish? then sell you the right paste
that one is shiokzzzzzzzzz one

eNemum,
oic, sounds yummy. i like the one at crystal jade la mian xiao long bao..

wendy,
i lurvvve vinegar pig trotters too...tat time confinement can eat everyday...shiok..
tat day i told my mother i got craving for vinegar pig trotters she ask me pregnant ah..i say no lah then she dun cook for me...hmmpf

pixie, when do you put in the stock? won't the rice be wet then?

Lots of cooks here recently...

Where are you all having durians again?

wendy,

he still trainee haha

sat lunch wun hv pig's trotters .. not enuf time to really cook it till soft haha

curry no issue

old man..hvn check .. tonite den check haha

kitsune
your method works oso but boil carrots to soften hor, add water can liao. the flavour/sweetness of the carrot will seep into the water, then the water will officially become "stock", right?
then can add into the rice. if add too much stock, the rice become mushy.
so the ratio of water to boil the carrots is - just enuff to cover the carrots, boil for a good 4-5mins, water dried up partially, left a bit nia.

last weekend i realised i put too much water, so i seperate the carrots and the stock. add carrots in liao, slowly add the stock scoop by scoop. so that rice wont turn out sticky

I got no more chicken stock left. Will boil somemore after I come back from my Penang trip. Super look forward to eating the good food, even signed up for gourmet food tour. Hope my MS will totally disappear by Thurs. hehe.

pixel...i seldom cook curry cos no one eat except me...then recently i dun care...just cook and ask hubby eat in air-con room.....the second time i cooked...i tried A1...oh yes, i like it =)

mylvera
ahhhh i want pig trotters, i will pay u for the pork!! my husband sore throat, he might not want to go if the only dish is curry wor... but knowing him, he will sure grab some bread to dipdip a bit.

eReMum,

My way of pure chicken soup - just de-skin kampung chicken plus red dates, boil for at least 3-4 hours on low heat. Don't need to add salt or anything else. Yummy too!

Curry - my favourite curry paste is the "Brahim" brand. Try it, very nice!

Wendyg,

I don't mind do the cooking if you want to come to the west side. But my hubby sure says I am so 38, though don't think he would object. I can do chili crab, but my own version lah, not as nice as the restaurant one, but then I don't know and don't dare to cut the crabs :)

kam...add red dates...it will be sweet right?

cantonese soup usually sweet...

i never really like my MIL's soup...cos i find it sweet...me teo chew....like my soup to be simple.

Babe, yup, I did it like pixie said too.

Pixie, ya, I only added very little chicken stock to cook the vegetables, only left with half a sharkfin bowl after I took out the veg. Like that enough to fry rice mah?

But I think I'll still add stock instead of using water cos my veg consisted of diced carrots, chopped long bean (which I don't really like) and frozen peas. At least the chicken stock got rid of the 'green green smell' of long beans. :p

wendy,

pig's trotters.. can i suggest sun lunch? i cant be asking my MIL to buy trotters on fri leh ..den u know lah .. Y DO U WANA BUY? Y COOK FOR OTHERS? hhaha so if u really wan.. i buy on sat .. cook sat nite .. sun lunch can eat :p

u go tabao some other food lah :p but seems like only u n me leh ahhaa

eReMum,

Not too sweet though, just nice to me. Cantonese soup not always sweet, but we do use red dates often.

My curry received many good comment one, but that's when I was in England, when everyone like hungry ghost cos seldom got to eat homecook Malaysian style curry mah. Whenever I asked Malaysian/Singaporean friends over for dinner, sure got curry, and those guys really eat bowl after bowl after bowl of rice, and my tiny rice cooker had to work so hard to cook and cook and cook rice for them, but that made me happy :)

rE: soup
>> my MIL sometimes adds dried oysters/ cuttlefish/ scallop to her soups. oh yummmmmmm

Kam
maybe supermkt sells crabs already cut into serving portions? i dun really know coz i dun buy crab except @ coffeeshop - those ready cooked type haha.

jess
should be same place kovan
unless we can find a better place to gather

eNemum
A1 is damn popular and nice. glad youlike it

kitsune
last weekend i made vege stock oso, googled it. but i added too much water. i boiled for 3 hrs, from 9pm-12midnight. cool liao oredi 1am, store in fridge, wash up, 1am+ liao aiyoh
havent used it yet though haha
but i got good idea for the leftover

-after you puree the vege, those bits cannot get thru the sieve, store in a lousy plate, put in fridge as deodorizer
-those cannot get thru sieve but is still fine (aka not lumpy ones), i put in heinz glass jar as a cool yoghurt for my boy. super sweet and yummy
-all the peeled vege skin, i put them in a jars and do the DIY enzyme

recycle recycle!

Kam,

same here... i duno how to kill crab .. how to cut crab .. my frds were telling me .. got frozen crab! i looked at them n asked "u mean u wana eat frozen crabs?" den they quiet haha i used to tink tat crab mz b killed n fried immed to preserve the freshness wor ...

mylvera
ahhh, sunday lunch for us quite rushed affair.. coz it's between church service and husband's afternoon classes, so we usually settle chop chop. eh if only u and me then dowan la. i thought at least pixie sure will chap in...

wendyg,

Only fresh (live) crab! those pre-cut ones not nice leh. Last time when my brother was living with me, he helped me to kill and cut the crab. After he left, never cook crab anymore, cos hubby also doesn't dare to kill the crab, very cruel.

kitsune
ahhhhh, i only eat, i dun bother with the buying and the cooking if i can help it hahahaha.

pixie
shall i save some fruit peel for u to DIY enzyme? kiwi, mango, papaya...

wendy,

den sat dinner? but will b 6pm? ahah

i nv try the pig trotters over stove leh .. unless u wana b my guinea pig? haha <--tis mite b possible for lunch ahah

haha, wendy, ask your hubby to make his "to die for" fried rice lar. ;)

My mum everytime cook crab will grumble that we make her be the bad guy to kill the crabs. ;P

this is my mum's 'humane' way of killing crabs.
when buy home from market live, soak them in a pail of salt water. this is to let them breathe, drink, pee poo etc....crab happy flesh nice and juicy
after tat put them in the freezer to freeze to death and then cook

without fail the flesh nice and sweet and juicy

mylvera
ahhh, every saturday we hv dinner @ ILs place. =P

kitsune
sigh.. i still waiting u know. my bday coming, i hv some hope...

Grumpus, wa, good way to make them happy hor, your mum very smart, mercy killing. Kam, you should try it. ;)

Wendy, did you blatantly tell him that you want that for your bd present or not? Like that, he can't reject you right? Then that day, bring your boys to your parents, let him cook in peace. Tell him your parents also want to try his fried rice so never cook so that he cannot 'shiam'. hoho.

Pixie, yea now I have tried the CIO method liao when I put him into sarong. When he was still with my mum, he never need to be in the sarong and could sleep on his own. Dunno why when he came back to me he became like dat. I have to smack him and scolded him loud loud only he will cry cry cry and slowly dozed off to zz. I hope after a few try he will get the message that it’s really time to sleep and be guai.

Pixie, teach me how to DIY enzyme from the fruit/.veggie skin leh. I threw away so much such skins every weekend when I made soup stock leh. so wasted . then what can the enzyme do? For cleaning the floor?

wendy
Do you mean this wkend? I not free ley.
The fruit peel you can do your own enzyme diy. Very ez to do and it saves the earth if every1 does that.can use to mop floor or clean the house, can ward off insects and flies. Btw, I dun like pig trotters so if mylvera is doing that then i skip this meetup. Crab then i join haha.

wa liao, mylvera hv to cook diffrnt menu for diffrnt tastes... this weekend out la! see when the chef is free.. maybe next wkend?

kitsune
oh yes i already told him dunno how long ago that his fried rice will be my christmas/anniversary/ bday/ whatever present, he say "forget it". I can't make my folks take care of my kids during weekends.. they hv their own things to do also.. and need to rest. they're already taking care of them 5 days a week, i think weekends i very paiseh to ask them to do OT.

tongtong
The ratio i go home and check and let you know. Its juz the peels, water, brown sugar. Can use to clean the hse, as disinfectant, insecticide. Can keep for 10, 20, years oso can. Right now cc got conduct classes for these stuff. Grease oso can turn into soap. The enzyme will kill the green gas so its good for environment

tongtong,

Be patient. Until our boys grow old enough and able to tell what they want, should really be more patient with them.

My boy is also unwilling to sleep at the usual 9-930pm. Sunday night dragged to 11pm. Yesterday night struggled for half and hour. And these few nights want me to carry and pat him to sleep, previously can just put him on the bed. I didn't scold him, but I showed him I was not happy and told him it's time to sleep. Cannot expect them to follow the routine everyday, there might be something happening in them - teething, too cool, too hot, over stimulate, still want to play, etc etc. Just remind yourself to keep your cool. Just for a few more months then he can tell you exactly what he wants. I am very tired, and backache as a result of carrying him to sleep (and also woke up in the middle of the night, also must carry him to soothe him, previously no need, and he doesn't allow daddy to even touch him in the middle of the night), but then, it's my choice to be the mum, so no complain, just hoping this phase will pass sooooooon.

Pixie, yea I also want to learn to DIY enzymes, because I purposely went to organic shop to buy the enzyme floor cleaner detergent leh. $8 for 1 bottle, not cheap. I hpe it can be insecticide also, because my house so many ants lor!! So terrible. It even crawls on the bed.

Kam, thanks, you are right, I have to keep cool. Hehe. Yesterdfy night he coulnt sleep well, so I turned on the aircond for him. I just wonder why does he feel so hot leh? cuz I din feel warm also . yea my son doesn’t wnt the daddy too. When he woke up in the middle of night and couldn’t see me, he will cry for me, even daddy is besides him. I hope there will be stage where he prefers daddy, then I will have so much time to do my house chore LOL

wendyg,

Okay lah, drive via SLE, 30 min only lah. For your FREEDOM on weekend leh!!!

Tongtong,

Good luck! Yes, I wish he could be closer to daddy, but fat hope, cos hubby is very busy that my boy didn't even get to see him on weekday nights :-(

kam
your husband is architect?
i hv a friend who married an architect, but he quit his job @ Far East Org to teach piano. gosh.

Kam, I think I’m a bad wife, because I will show him black face whenever he has late nights. I tried to be understanding but I was just too tired lor – after working whole day, still need to do housechore and take care of the kid, I just wish that he could be home to help me a little.