(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

it's been ages since i last visit this forum. On and off got read a bit. But that's using my iphone so a bit difficult to type and reply

How's everyone doing so far?

Yvonne
My deepest condolences to u for your loss. I can fully understand cos my own dad passed away with a heart attack when i was 5mths preggie. I can understand the shock and the sadness very well.

Wahhh u all banter to and fro about food so much that i truly lost touch with this thread liao. :p

*Yawn* Good morning too!
Knocked out with RaeAnne again after she took 1 hour to fall asleep. Getting more tired for this pregnancy. :p

Yesterday went for my detail scanning. Everything was fine. Baby slightly smaller. But baby not coperative, keep the legs parallel and crossed! Asked to open, only open a bit. Didn't managed to see the KKB so sonographer say only 80% gal! i tot after the scanning can go and stock up pink clothings.... But baby didn't coperate!!!!!!

tongtong
heres the simple recipe for fruits&vege enzyme (水果酵素):
*ratio of water:brown sugar:fruits=10:1:3
-mix the brown sugar with water. stir
-add in the fruits, vege peels
make sure the contents is 3/4 filled. they need the remaining space (air) to ferment.
use a air tight jar. can be the CNY goodies plastic container, with red lid kind.

ferment for 3 mths. occasionally stir/shake once a long while to air it. close tightly after that

you will see the fermatation progress. there will be insects in it but dont worry, after the fermentation progress is further, they will be killed and dissolved. the gooky stuff on top will turned white, eventually disappearing

if you see that the fermentation is not progressing, add in more brown sugar. sugar is the main ingredient to break down the fruits&vege

no shelf life; you can keep it as long as you want.

why is the enzyme good for the environment?
excerpt from net:
"The production of garbage enzyme generates ground-level Ozone (O3). The O3 helps to maintain the earth’s temperature by releasing the heat trapped by the heavy metal in the clouds. If every household turns its garbage into enzyme, we can protect our ozone, live in a smog-free environment and eat food free from toxins"

so if we have more O3, then we will have less CO2.
O3 is the purer (or puriest?) version of O2. i think lampeberger generates O3, if you ever get their lamps.

finally, you may choose to strain and store the distilled liquid. i put them in spray bottles. spray the corridor, wipe windows

uses:
mop floor
wash/soak vege, rice
clean drains, toilets

if you want to consume them (good for liver & diabetic ppl), use real fruits, cut into rings, ferment with only sugar and fruits (no water). distill as usual. can use to scrub body, wash hair

enzyme diy for consumption:
# Clean and dry all fruits, utensils and containers to inhibit mould growth at the latter stage.
# Arrange layers of cut fruits, sliced lemons and brown sugar starting from the bottom of the container.
# Repeat till the content is around 50% full as the fermentation process later will release gases and the juices may overflow if the content is too full.
# Brown sugar being the top layer.
# Close the container tightly and leave it in a dry and cool place.
# Remember to shake the container lightly everyday to ensure that the fruits and top part of the bottle are immersed in liquid to prevent mold growth. If required, add more brown sugar to create a more concentrated extract with high sugar content.
# If mould is seen, remove the affected fruits and add more brown sugar. If else failed, everything has to be disposed.
# The enzyme should be ready to be consumed in 2-3 weeks.
# Sieve the fruits and pour the juices into a new glass bottle.
# Keep the enzyme drink in refrigerator because cool temperature will slow down the fermentation process that will turn the enzyme into alcohol.
# The leftover fruits can be used as body exfoliater and fertilizer for the soil.

why consume enzymes?
1) Maintain a high alkaline blood ph.
2) Improve immune system
3) Improve digestive system and aids constipation
4) Antioxidant power
5) Protect our cells from free radical damage.
6) Lower cholesterol level

Good morning mummies,

Steph - Sorry, forget to drop by your hse to collect stuff over the weekend. Are you taking maternity leave next week? I will be on leave this fri onwards, maybe we can meet or go for lunch, heehee ;)

Sleepy Wed Morning!!! Counting down to my long break...

wendyg,

Yes, my hubby is an architect. Very demanding job, long hours and never ending work! And yet he is not earning big bucks cos still early in his career, haven't even got accredited yet.

tongtong,

Don't say that, you are surely a good wife and a good mum. I have gone through the same phase also. Used to be so unhappy and quarrel with hubby because of him coming home late. But after a while, I cleared up my mind and accepted the fact that he is indeed working hard and not going out to play. Once I have accpeted the fact that it's unavoidable and hubby can't change his work schedule, then it's left to me to change my mindset and expectation. First, plan you time nicely, if you can multi-task, the do multi-tasking, save you lots of time. Also go through the housechore to see which are die-die must do one, and which are not really have to do one. Only do that must-do, and leave sometime for yourself to relax everyday. Don't expect your house to be perfect everyday, it's okay to be a bit messy here and there, now and then, and if you don't do laundry for one day, for example, it's okay, just leave it to the next day. Gonna be relax on the housechore. Like wendy suggested, get a part time helper, we just started one, and find that really helpful. Or if you are not against getting a maid, then can try this also. Have a good chat with your hubby when you have a cool and calm mind, ask if it's possible at all for him to come home on time, etc, and if he really can't, tell him why you are unhappy, and tell him that you need help etc, then work out the best for your family. You gonna enjoy the motherhood and don't feel that it's a burden for you. Motherhood certainly changes your life, but has to be in a good way! Be positive!

luca,
Short term TaiTai life before #2 pop, heehee ; )Wonder i will go crazy with 2 babies in the near future or not. SWEAT ^.^

Going to check out my farm now... Aiyo, u all always steal my crops...sob sob..

I din manage to log in for 3 days and there are so many posts already!~

My younger girl had very bad fall on Monday and she dislocated her right elbow. Think the term used is "popped elbow". My PD managed to twist the bone back but my poor girl was screaming and wincing in pain. Nightmarish experience..

So mummies, do be careful when u lift ur kids up, must always support at the shoulder as they are still quite fragile. And also be careful to monitor after they fall. Cuz we never know how they have landed and where they have hurt themselves, esp if they can't really verbalise yet..

Missed this thread for a few days coz busy at work. Especially y'day was a very unproductive day! Spent the whole day just solving 1 issue!! Sian.

JanBB,

All the best for your delivery. I don't think I can get to meet you again @ clinic coz my next appt is 4 Jul and by then you already gave birth liao. Smooth delivery ahead. Enjoy your short term taitai life!

morning. Been so tired and busy lately. No time to read up old posts yet..

Just to check with all experience mummies here, if we have no vaginal bleeding during early pregnancy does it mean baby is ok? I wanna save some money on u/s. Dun want to go to see a sonographer until next month so I can have it for free ;) Just want to assure myself that everything is alright.
Hubby has been asking me to fly back early to see a gynae in sg, otherwise he may bring my maid over here to help me for couple of months.

Janbb,

no prob...anyday drop by just give me a call
I am clearing my balance 1mth ML starting next Monday. yeah we can meet up...sms to arrange ya

Last night i was so mad at Z cos he is making hell lots of noise & throwing tantrums. He started by whining in the car on our way back home from my PIL hse. When we reached home, he wanna open the fridge of the lower compartment but i forbid & he start to whine again so i ask him to say kai if he wants me to open the fridge instead of whining, he did that & refuse to let me close the fridge door, wanna take out all the things (fruits/can drinks etc...) in the fridge. So i close the fridge door & he started to whine loudly again, i took out a cool teether from the fridge to see if i am to ward off his outbursts at that moment. Instead he throw the teether on the floor & start to whine again! I carry him up & distract him by switching on the tv for his favourite disney channel. This only managed to keep him down for few mins & he started to whine non-stop again. When things don't get his way, he'll throw tantrums on/off...gosh i cannot imagine when it's #2 turn or rather 2 of them at the same time throwing tantrums!

krystle,
Yeah, i may discharge on 4 jul if everything goes accordingly to plan, hee ;) That will be the first day of my confinement nitemare..

pixie,
i feel cold in my office leh, maybe "zou bo" that's why feel cold, haha ;p

Have handed over my job to the covering & my job now is "Farming", hohohoho...

Steph,
Oh great!! Maybe we go Jurong Point for lunch next week?? I will stay at my mum's place cos' hubby maybe going for a short overseas trip. U let me know oki.

Maybe Z trying to catch your attention? Will he get jealous if you keep carrying #2?

blessedbaby,
u mean u still haven go for gynae checkup since tested +ve? For me, i visit my gynae monthly to do a scan & ensure baby is ok every mth. At the same time to take supplement.

JanBB, blessedbaby in Australia now, the gynaes there only do ultrasound scan at 12 weeks and 20 weeks I think. ;P

blessedbaby, yes, should be fine. Touch wood if anything happen, the most obvious sign should be spotting bah. Also since your MS is still bad, means that HCG levels are rising so pregnancy should be stable.

Janbb: yes, I havent been to see any gynae yet. Stupid different practice rules here they dun receive any patient until she is 12 months (private clinic) or 16-20 weeks at public hospital. All private clinic (I called from yellow pages and referral) are fully booked for delivery in Jan next year. So no one receive me even just for ad-hoc visit!!! I am only left with private hospital or just go to sonographer to see baby' growth. What can i do?

But i think my bb is growing well. ;) Maybe I am too kan cheong over it coz I went for scan my #1 when she was 6 weeks in my womb. This time I am coming to 9 weeks and still haven't seen anyone yet.

Pauline: I am even more anxious by testing the strip again. ;) It's really dark and thick line this time. I read on website, if anything wrong with your pregnancy, the line will disappear or thinner. ;) So my hubby was teasing me that I tested to see if I am preggie still? ;) Just to comfort myself only since I have not much choice over here.

blessedbaby,
OIC, so strict!! Can understand how anxious you are cos' we are so KS over here. U got MS rite? If so, at least it shows that your baby is growing well ;) No bleeding or any major stomach cramp/pain means ok too!! Dun worri ah.

Cadaly, can understand how u feel as my gal has a fracture toe and was put on cast for one whole mth. so tough to handle a walking baby who is not allowed to walk then.

steph, my gal also whine alot these days. These days she loves to wake up in the middle of night to whine and is super demanding with all her requests, like must sleep on my stomach, must face her when i sleep, must lie on my hand / leg. And if I dont give in to her, she will whine very loudly in the middle of night which disturb my husband from sleeping. Feel my #2 so poor thing, always being bang by #1 head or being sleep on top by my #1.

blessedbaby, you are not kiasu, I understand perfectly. I tested my pregnancy using strips over 1 week cos I tested early so the line was really faint. So, I tested everyday and see the line get darker and darker so feel more assured.

blessedbaby,

I agree. Since you have MS, should be all right. I also didn't see my gynae until I was about 9 weeks for my #2. If you wanna fly back to SIN, think it's better when you are in your 2nd trimester, esp now with the H1N1, not a wise thing to be at the airport.

Shannonbaby,

Yes, my boy did the same during the middle of the night also, I must follow his requests, just like what you mentioned, must be exactly the position that he asked for, if not, whole family can't sleep. Luckily last night was improved, so hope this phase is over, again.

Icy answered your question about PHOTOBOOK. You read the message?

cheryl
thanks for the info

btw, any mummies got the wet wipes empty box to foc gibe me? any brand... thanks!

blessedbaby
you mean 12weeks, not 12mths neh

kam, shannonbaby
talking about precise sleeping position, i think all our bb have their own requirements. unless they super tired.
my boy likes to lie onto flat pillows or no pillows. else he'd roll his head left/right and keep nodding off at the ends of the pillow and be jerked awake. so the position of the pillow oso very precise

shannonbaby, oh dear, it must be tough for you! Plus all the heartache..

blessedbaby, hi. Congrats to your pregnancy. My gynae used to tell me that if the MS is real bad, it means the baby is growing very well. So if you do encounter MS, plus no spotting, it should be ok.

Just like to check if your child started to throw tantrums if they dun get their way? From the previous posts, I knw steph's boy does.. cuz mine will pick her toys up and throw it away just to show her anger. And if I take the toy away from her, she will go to find some other things to throw..

Not sure if this is normal as my elder girl wasn't like that. In fact, my 2 girls have very different characters..

CaD

mine does throw tantrums if we dun give him wat he want or get thing his way..

and all his pattern now start coming out.. tell him wont listen 1... but he does understand wat we say loh.

when we say gai gai, he will take his shoe and oso will take his water bottle to put inside his bottle holder...

and nowaday vernon have been falling down alot.. slipping down and knock his head. bend down oso knock head.. how sia.... so heart pain... duno will become more dumber anot. scare!!!!!

cheryl
i saw the bp thread. i saw this wet wipes before selling in stores, should be more exp than the listed $7 in bp. have you gotten the wipes? reviews? big pc? watery or not? smell?

thanks mummies for your assurance. ;) Just when I need it, you guys can give to me.. Make my heart feel light now. ;)

I think everything is ok.. just that I haven't seen a piece of scan pix therefore I am KS.
I still have no appetite. One moment I like to cook next moment, I am so scared of food. I only like to eat fruits and drink alot of water and juice.
so everything should be fine huh.

CaD, cheryl, steph, mine has been throwing tantrums since 1-2 months ago. Depends on my mood, sometimes I tell her "Mummy don't like, Mummy angry" and ignore her for a while. Other times, esp when she is throwing tantrums at other people then I pull her over, talk nicely to her, see what it is she really wants. If can compromise, then let her have it, if not then give her something else and make her pick up the thing that she threw away. ;)

blessedbaby,

Have you start obimin or any other pregnancy multivit? That's pretty important, I think, and drink milk regularly.

Pixie/cheryl,

You still use so much wet wipes meh? one pack of those 80pc wet wipes can last me like 2-3 months leh. At home and at school, we rinse off his butt when he poos, don't use wet wipes already, only going out use wet wipes.

RE: throw tantrums

My boy usually able to "talk" to us and tell us or point to us what he wants. If we can't meet his requirement, he will whine, but only for a short while, cos we immediately distract him to something else.

For the fridge, oh yes, he loves to open the fridge. But I lock it with the IKEA lock. Sometime he die-die must open to fridge, so I always standby fruits/biscuits/yogurt in the fridge. Once offers something to him, he forgets about the fridge already and guai guai eats his food.

touchwood, My girl is still very manageable. ;) She has been really good.

At night if she wakes up, we choose to ignore her. if she pulls my shirt for milk, I will tell her: no more milk, better you go back to sleep. she seems understand everything- always go back to sleep. ;)

I and my hubby always make rules among us when it comes to discipline my little girl.We let her know things that she can touch/do and things she can do/touch. Praise God that she listen to us very well and she knows her limit when she is in the house or outside the house. It doesn't mean that we strict her form playing/ imagination, we explain to her very well and like wat wendyg said, always teach her cause and effect. Also we NEVER throw things in front of my girl so she won't do the same to us.

Just to share my own experience. ;)