(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

tired mama...
must give credit to my dad also.. main playmate while i'm @ work. He's the one who expands Tobey's vocab & who teaches him to sing.

steph/JanBB,

I agree that after #2 is born, the priority has to be given to #2 esp if breastfeeding, etc. But then I think at the same time we cannot ignore the feeling of #1.

For steph, when #2 was born, #1 was still quite young, about 14 months? Though he understood a lot of things already, but he was still young.

For you (JanBB), when #2 is born, your #1 will be about 18 months already. Within these 4 months, they have learnt even more things and definitely have developed the feeling and have certain expectation from parents. It's therefore equally important to not to "hurt" his feeling. A friend shared with me that what she did was she made sure she continued to do whatever she did for #1 before #2 was born, like, reading a book before bedtime, etc. If you stop the routine, he might sense it immediately and think to himself why mummy doesn't do the same thing for me anymore, does she not love me anymore, etc. You know your son best, and so you will sooner or later find the balance between #1 and #2.

steph,
Ya also planning to sleep in separate room next time. Think #1 & #2 cannot stay in the same room, sure make us more busy or crazy if one cries out loud.
u muz ask your MIL put mattress below the bed, take precaution ah. Oh no, baluku!!!

wendy, aqua,
Thks. Will check it out!!

kam,
Agree. i also hope to see #1 everyday. Hope can find a perfect solution too ;)

aqua,
did u try mosquito patches? mosquito patches works wonders for my girl. if no patch confirm get bitten, she's never been bitten once with a patch on.

wendy,
wah yr gynae so pro painkillers one ah? i remember when i discharge i didn't even get painkillers. when i went for checkup i told my gynae i need he said by now i should be off painkillers already...wah piang i was still traveling to and fro hospital to visit my girl in nicu and he tell me no need painkillers liao...eventually he grudgingly prescribed me some...bleh...

Went to the zoo today, whole day out and afterwards at ILs place. Can see everyone having a field's day stealing my crops. ;P But I don't mind cos we had a great day at the zoo today. STEAL ALL YOU WANT! Hopefully, I'll be able to afford a dog soon.

Mozzie bites
RaeAnne has 4 bites on her left foot, 1 bite on her right foot. We apply J&J solution every night, don't know why still kenna, maybe cos apply too lightly on the feet (thought skin thick, mozzie don't like mah :p) All the bites are swollen, broken skin (cos she keeps scratching esp at night)
What I can share is what DOES NOT WORK
1) Calendula cream
2) Eczeman cream
3) Mopiko (stop her from scratching, instant relief for short while but she'll start scratching again and does not help with swelling)
What we are trying now:
4) Qing1 Cao3 You2 (cos it worked for my hubby's, his feet got same reaction to mozzie bites :p)

steph & kam,
actually my gynae told me to go on diet also leh cos now #2 is est 3.1kg during last thu checkup. Haiz... cos i wanna try natural so he told me bb must be kept small size else no chance for me.

aqua,
yup my edd is nxt weekend but i cant wait to get #2 to come out leh... after me shd b janbb.

grumpus
i think the docs shld just give coz every patient's pain threshold is diffrnt, and can't expect all patients to hv helpers scurrying around them... it shld be up to the patient to take the painkillers. For my #1 c-sect, i was stubborn and didn't want to take anymore after Day 2. So i had a large packet leftover, which i used for my #2 c-sect & saved some $$ on that part =)

wendy,

u still can continue to take the painkillers when yr migraine gets too much for u to handle. i kept my synflex for headache purposes so i did not really take it aft c-sec. only 1st 2 days i took, thereaft i reduce dosage myself till kena scolded by hb haha but gynae was shocked tat i can tahan the pain.

kitsune,

jz realised yr post... erm .. how u expect to get a dog? his feed must b purchased by REAL $ leh. nvm lah ..jz steal back fr others lor ;)

So many people on Happy Farm ah. I just sabotaged someone's farm, then the next minutes someone else cleared it already!

Superbee,

If you have got the green light from your gynae to go on diet, then it's okay lor, I suppose, but then must still be careful to get enough carbo and nutrient to support the growth of your baby, k!

Yeah, so many people in Happy Farm now. I used to be able to earn exp points by helping out, nowadays, I log on to Happy Farm, nothing for me to do!!!!!!

Pauline,
My mum uses Qing Cao Yu / Zambat for mozzie bites on my girl. Heh. Dunno how effective but the bites don't stay long.

superbee, ur no.1 is also natural? if so, then most likely no.2 also can go natural, 1 week is very short, quickly enjoy more b4 bb arrival.

wendyg/grumpus: u gals are superb! i took painkillers till day 3 or 4, i super low threshold n without those painkillers, i tink i wouldnt dare to move !

morning mummies

kitsune
qing cao you is very "hot", if raeanne scratches and break the skin, wouldnt it hurt her? i oso try zambak like mcfluffy. it works at my side...

I got a big worm. Someone helps me to kill it, pleaseeeeee........ My crop is maturing soon also, come steal if you want, haha!

mozzie bites
I tried the Koala Bear mozzie patch, it works for my boy. But I also spray the califonia baby bug repellent spray too in the rooms. the spray also seemed to be able to relieve the itchy sensation of mozzie bite. My tried spraying on my legs, it works well.. a girl with us who didnt use the patch and spray, got a big mozzie bite instead. :p

Kam,
i killed the giant worm liow

u all so fast reach level 7!! how u all move so fast? at most each day only can get max 300 exp pts...

Steph,
I have juz called Jurong CC near my mum's hse to find out more abt playgroup. Thinking to enrol Jayden next yr. Is a 2 hr sessions from mon to fri. Sch fee is only $145/mth. Rem u told me your MIL's hse at jurong rite? u may want to take a look & see got any branch near her.

http://www.talentplusgroup.net/

Thinking to start playgroup first instead finding a half-day childcare.

Getting a bit stressed. Cos' my boy is dec 2007 baby & seem that they are supposed to be in Nursary 1 in yr 2010. Hmm, too young to start or not?
Jan mummies are so fortunate at least your babies are the "oldest batch" in the class next time, dun nid to worri ; )

hey janBB
thanksssssssssssssss for the post you mean for steph
i am looking for a playgroup for my boy too for a 2hr session and realised got 1 place opp my mil place @ jurong east..yahhoo!!!!!!

Pixie,
Oh that's great!! U can call them up for more info. Can share with you that parents are allow to stay with babies for the 1st 3days. $145/mth. $75/half yr for materials fee. $40 for 2 sets of uniform & 1 sch bag.

Juz came back fr lunch@vivo, realised i got no more energy to shop around. Better be good tabao lunch from tmr onwards. And somehow feel nausea this few day ;(

JanBB,

You are very near to your EDD already, right? So excited!

So quiet today. I am stuck at work. Come here to relax, but no post to "entertain" me :)

Janbb,

Talent Plus also very near our estate at Blk274B. My colleague put her daughter to playgp (18 to 36mths) for $135monthly (exclude uniform $40 + material fees $75) but she told me the indian teacher no good cos her daughter learn to bite other students in school leh. The teacher to student ratio is 2:10.

We are thinking to enrol Z at little skool hse for full day childcare at Safra Jurong. We went during the open hse & hubby like the enviroment very much & had register a place for Sept09 (their Jun/Jul & Aug slot all fully taken) but me yet to pay deposit...still wanna look ard b4 i decide by next week.

mylvera,

Frequent happy farm many times already liao. Sabo till I can't sabo, steal till I can't steal anymore. The other game I am playing the Happy Farm is down, and somemore that game is banned in our office. Other games, no thanks, don't want to start anymore.

kam
you can start the posts rolling wat
today so quiet oso...i oso very bored...and fedup with so many small things to do. suddenly everything and everyone needed my attention

janbb
i am considering too. for just 2 hours to relieve my mil off her duties, i have to pay so much extra. (playgroup + maid + mil's allowance for caring for our boy). the best solution is to put my boy in full day childcare near my place. then no need rush east-west-northeast everyday, as well as no need to pay so much extra.
the only prob is my hb is not keen to put our boy in childcare; he thinks my mil is superwoman can take care of our child. sighs...i think i'll be dropping the idea of playgroup. let my exhausted mil cry out for help one day. then i'll have green light to proceed for childcare fullday hiak hiak

i wanna ask a very dumb qn
if our bolster and all etc etc got stuffed with those synthetic wool, those sturdy springy wool (not real cotton), where can buy them to stuff more into my existing bolster? craft shop? textile shop? chinatown?
where ah? and what do you call these? synthetic wool?

mylvera
wait long long lor. now me and my hb salary is the same. if i sahm, means 50% down. i doubt we have any $$ left after paying car, bills.

who wants my L size diaperssssssssssss???????

pixie,
why so cham, just buy new bolster lah...u so attached to yr bolster ah...i think i see before at spotlight, or like u say those textile shop at chinatown

kam,
Yup, few weeks to go. Me thinking to take leave from next fri (my b'day) onwards. My friend juz remind me that i shld have some "ME" time before #2 pop. Advise me to watch korean drama & pamper myself with lots of junk food (chips, chocolate & icecream) before the 1 mth of confinement torture, kekeke ;)

steph,
Oh didn't know their fees is slightly diff from the CC. U wanna place Zander at childcare so soon ah. But think he look very brave not sticky type like Jayden. Shld be able to adapt soon. For me, 2hrs session will be a great challenge, not to say full day. How to make him more brave huh, haha?? Somemore both of them are "well-trained" under the noisy Jet neighbourhood. Why 1 so brave, 1 so timid?? Hahaha ; )

Pixie,
Your MIL will appreciate that 2hrs break or not? If yes, will be good cos your boy can also learn something in that 2hrs session.

Sometimes if i think too much over what my boy's "activity" at my mum's hse, i will be very "gek xin". Simply watching BARNEY BARNEY BARNEY, faint!! Think TV is the best help for babysitter. But i can't blame my mum cos' she still need to cook & do hse work, what else can she do. On the other hand, the good thing i know my boy is well protected & love by her. So me got to "Zip" my mouth.

Hmm, any topic of the day to PERK us up ??

Janbb,
this is another one called My First Skool at JW St 52 near my MIL's place. http://www.myfirstskool.com/loation-west.html
me yet to survey this CC...will do so when i am on ML end of this month.

pixie,
your hubby is opposite of mine. My hubby don't wan to tire my mil so wanna put Z in CC when he turn 18mths but mil feel Z still too young & she bu she de. She said she got no problem taking care of 2. She is really superwoman...sometimes i really take my hat off her. For me, i can't handle #1 & #2 all by myself.

Janbb,

ya diff outlet charge differently i think. So u confirmed putting J to taman jurong outlet talent plus? I want to delay CC for Z if possible cos i feel he is still so young...can wait till 2yrs old better cos by then he is able to communicate & express himself more. i am not afraid he'll have stranger anxiety cos i don't think he scare of anyone leh. He is not even sticky to me or hubby. Z very funny la...there was once he saw on tv the monkey god Sun Wu Kong, he very scare...run to hid & whine & point his finger to the tv...haha. As for the jet, when they flew pass, he'll use his hand & cover his ears.

oh, we're not considering 2hrs playgp or some call it flexi-care cos of the time travel to & fro (after MIL go market then gotta pick them up & not much rest oso...too rush) unless the CC is just downstairs the block where my MIL stay.

ya any thing to perk us up??

having a bad day...
kanna a mad person complain. talked to him for 1/2 hour. in the end realised some of the ppl in the company oso kana from this mad man...

steph,
i will go & take a look at the CC during my ML. If everything is ok, i hope to start him in yr 2010 when the new term starts.
Z so cute, still went to hide ; )
J will pat his chest telling me he is scare when jet pass by or see something he is afraid. Whenever he is naughty, i will scare him "aeroplane is coming", he will quickly U-Turn & run towards me, haha.. naughty mummy ;p