(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

blessedbaby,

You have to try it out. See if you like the handling of it, the ease to use the control buttons etc. And see how's the outcome of the still image picture, though they claim it's 12Mb, but usually not as nice as those digital camera. And definitely check the battery, how long it can record with fully charged battery, battery is the most important factors to look into. Ask for free battery if possible, even if it's not free, you may want to consider getting a spare one.

Fern,

Playschool / childcare - you gonna spend some times to do the research yourself. That way works best for you and Elias. What is the main factors you look at - curriculum, the cleaniness, the teachers, etc. Shortlist some and pay them a visit. No shortcut, I am afraid :) Good luck!

Hi Kam,

I am not looking for one so early.. Maybe playscool abt 2 and half or 3 years old.

Yes yes.. cleaneness and hygine is my top factor so is the intake of food and enviroment. Teacher and syallas also as impotant.. I am looking into a Moterrsori syallabus .. I unerstand is pretty ex.. so must really take some time to right the right place hoping the best for Elias and ourselves

Kam,

Thanks again. This recorder is over my budget. Hubby only give 1.5-1.8K to buy coz I also buy new Canon Ixus Camera 110 is too so I can't have this expensive cam recorder. ;) I have to search for some more models. Praying hard that this year end sales in June will have some good sales.

Fern,

I went to a Montessori school near my place (Yew Tee/CCK). Surprising the fees is okay, only $650 per month for full day program (for my boy, he needs full day childcare). It's definitely clean (just renovated), the meal schedule looks good (though can't really until I tasted it :p), and the teaching also can't tell, but it's montessori, the prinicple and some teachers are montesorri trained, other teachers are not. Maybe it's at HDB void deck, thus the fees not as high.

So you may want to look around and may find some good ones! And for some popular ones, you need to make advance booking, else no vacancy, so not too soon to start looking now, actually. I am still looking around, but this one is definitely shortlisted for now.

lynn, u going be SAHM next yr? what is ur occupation now? so envious, i wish my hubby will allow me be SAHM...

Kam,
actually what is the difference between a Montessori & normal playschool ? Why Montessori is always more ex as compare to non-Montessori school?

Mummies...ask u all ah...
Do you prefer or want your child to be in boys/girls school than mix school? And why?

aqua,

Honestly, even if my hubby begs me to be SAHM, I won't do it. I am just not meant to be one. It really drives me crazy thinking of to be at home with him 365-24-7. I think I am a better mum for him if I am working, now I seldom (almost never in months) lost my temper on him, and I still have all the patience to play and take care of him. Definitely not now. Not that I am not enjoying being with home with him this whole week, I absolutely enjoy it, but that's because I know I will only do it for 1 week, and next week, I will be back to work again, short term SAHM, yes, I am always ready, but not long term :p

My sincere salute to all SAHMssss!!!!!!!!!

steph,

I am new to Montessori concept also. Google and read more :) It's about different way of teaching. Not necessary, this one I found near my place is actually the CHEAPEST among all childcare I have been to. Maybe just me being lucky :)

Mix school for sure. More fun!!!

Wendy, you mean my hubby's restaurant is it? Okie, got it, will assign one more waiter to be cook then. So angry, yesterday, I bought apples (8000 coins x 2), then today it's only selling for 6000 coins. So unfair.

Luckily, I found out that my hubby has another FB account so I added the other account as well. Now, I got noodles and more beef. BUT I need onions and bananas more. :p

Those playing RC who are keen to get more free ingredients, please add Teo Aik Cher (he has two accounts, one with caricature cartoon as photo and the other without any photo). As long as you see me as mutual friend then correct liao lar. ;)

Grumpus, can Pm me your masseur contact again? I can do weekday massages.

Alamak! forgot about the mangosteen my mum gave me on Sunday, don't know spoil already or not? :p

I'm going to T3 later to meet a friend for lunch (it's his birthday), what's good to eat there? I never been to T3 before. So suaku. :p

kam, if can be SAHMs , financially ok and hav someone to help u, i would prf to take care n educate r child. i cant tahan 24 hrs a day with my ger too, bt if got mum to help, i dunmind. or can at least send her for few hrs playgroup.
SAHMs also need some freedom and personal time

pixie,
i have some nuk latex teats, both from hospital and those buy outside one. i go back and check let u know tom.
u want S size one right?

aqua,
take half day leave for massage
or get pregnant that can do her post natal massage :p

steph,
montessori is a teaching method and philosophy. it's 'branded' lah that's why more ex.
from what i understand, in montessori preschools they dun divide the kids into nursery, k1, k2.
all the kids are in one big class they learn the same stuff but at their own pace.
so for eg. if they play stacking cups, the more dexterous kids get smaller cups and then less dexterous kids get bigger cups regardless of age.
same with like reading etc. if yr kid is more advanced he get more complicated books if less advance than simpler books lor...not dependent on age

icy,
tks, i rec'd yr mail
Will try to install again...

Janbb,
working mum subsidy is $350 for full-day CC & half-day is $150. Ya...must consider other factors...their curriculum/prog, food, enviro (cleanliness...hygiene) etc...most imp is whether our child is happy to be place there. I will survey the class rm enviro during the open hse. Intend to put Zander at CC when he turn 2.

Grumpus, u hav a gd suggestion! haha, i was wondering if i shld get preggie n then do postnatal! more worth it rite? but mebe instead of 10 sessions, i need 20 liao coz the fats all turn stubborn

so many preggie mummies, make me excited to join the club. kekee

Steph,

Haha. Boys school for me cos me from all girls school all my life! But Hubby want put ELias at Henry Park pri which is supposedly a good school and his pri school so easier get in.. and the sad thig is that its a mixed school too and at Clementi so we may need move house whem time comes lor.

steph: I will choose mix school for all my kids. ;)

Kam: how is Hao Re today? Is he recovered?
Just thinking, I do not need a cam recorder (only hubby want). Since I buy good camera that will serve the purpose. Dun want to spend so much money on it. ;) Really can't decide now. ;(

aqua,
$300 ah...cherie hearts told me is $350.Mm...
hey wanna ask u long ago but keep forgetting...why yr FB & multiply no upload photo?? curious to know how u look leh... & also yr baby pix?

grumpus,
i see...gd & bad also la...but age gap too wide in same classrm dunno gd idea anot. If the child is in Montessori school...don't need attend any additional enrichment classes liow otherwise pocket burn BIG hole!

Fern,
i can understand where u coming from. For me, i am from mix school so i don't mind my child in mix school. Only recently my colleagues were talking abt placing their child in boys school as they reckon they'll excel better academically & physically in sports etc...cos all boys mah so tend to be more competitive. True or not dunno la...

i prefer my boys to go to all boys sch, but i dun think it's possible. so will be mixed sch lor.

yes there are people who plan ahead and move nearer to the pri sch of their choice & start clocking volunteer hours. Most of u dun feel it yet coz your kids only 1yr+. My #1 is 4yo this yr and i'm paying more attn to this crap liao. i think same as enemum and mei.

re: montessori
i think mylife prefers another method of teaching which i forgot what..
some parents also send their kids for weekend enrichment even tho weekdays going to monte sch.

pixie
i change to heels in the offc.

eh which liulian place we going again ah? trying to figure out how to drive there...got place to park or not ah?

Hi Auqua,

yes la.. cos that is a good school and has remain the standard this now. So need shift lor.. and my hubby from that school so easier get in. Anyhow, I wana shift soon too as my house rooms are too small and can never accmodate my no 2 in fture .. haha. big halls but small rooms for what.. maybe all new 5 rm exec are like that now lor

Wanted ACS Barker but feel standard dropped of late and also kids there are so damm aloof and proud.. dun like the feel.

Hi Steph,

yes, pple concpet is like that. Being from an old girls school all my life I felt the same.. But I guess not really true la.. depends on individaul thinking BUT to both me and hubby nursery, and Pri school are as important cos that is where the basic foundation is built up..
To me I still want a all boys school but since Henry park is a good school. though mixed I bobian.

Fern,
My hubby is also from Henry Park. Which batch is your hubby in? My hubby is born in the yr 1978. Maybe they are classmates, hahaha ; )We are also considering to enrol my boy in Henry Park next time. How cum u say easy to get in? Thot is quite a good school unless stay nearby got higher chance. We did a check before. Ex-student is dunno under which category, seem that chances of getting in the sch is still lower than those staying nearby. Where are u staying now??

Steph,
I will prefer mix school. Hee, so that next time he will not get too shy towards gal mah ;) And u won't worri abt "GAYS" problem in boys school??

Liulian party!! Wah, so happening..i m drooling liao...

Btw, Goodwood park having a Durian Dessert Buffet for dinner from 1 jun onwards, $19.80++

Kam,

Can share with me which are the playgroups that you had visited in Yew Tee area? I also have intention to put Javin to playgroup when he is 18 mths.

Janbb,
u & hubby same age? i thot yr hubby older leh...keke...he looked more mature. Wah...seem like most of u (daddy & mummy) been to gd pri school huh...my pri school (Pandan primary)closed down liow & my hubby from Jurong Primary. I am looking at Rulang primary but oso need to do volunteer work ah...gotta ballot also...maybe will consider move hse too for the gd of the kids to enter a gd pri sch.
GAYS??...errr hope not...they shld be desperate for gals instead of boys right??yes/no...right now i see zander so active & not shy towards strangers...& he love mixing ard with gals leh...yr gal next time intro to him or my #2 ah!haha...

Hi Jan BB.

Yes , what I meant is easier to get in if I shift near by... ANd since hubby old boy easier too lah

My hubby born 1975 so much older.. his senoir lah.hahaha.. yes, its a good school. I prefer a boys school. But since Henry Park good school bo bian even its mixed.. haha

Wah.. talking about Good wood hotel, we book a mother day dinner. up to now havnt go.. hahaha. need a belated one cos I was sick then lor

Share with me more cos we may go there for a belated one for me. USuually hubby clebrate for me on Mother day.. haha. COs me now mummy liao.. Keke! Just a pity missed this year one

JanBB, no la, if ex student, chances higher than stay nearby

I also prefer my girls to go to an all girl school. Good thing, my hubbie and me both from either boy or girl school. I move house not to get nearer to good school le, but end up now I stay opp St Nic's, but guess rather than try, I may now have to travel back to my old place to send my girls back to school. Before we knew #2 was a girl, we were still thinking next time how to manage if 1 boy and 1 girl, since both my old school and hubbie's old school not near each other. So now both girls, save us the trouble, just have to put in more time and effort in travelling.

Angelseky,

Ya agree, I think they will give piorty to those who father is an old boy more then those staying nearby but by shifting nearby is for convience sake or my poor boy will travel up and down by schoolbus, even if got car is quite a distance from where I am staying in sembawang now.

Good thing Herry park, boy and girl can go one.. so not bad.lor

mylvera
shucks leh. that means you and wendy gone, left me and jess, since yvonne is show face/show boy. grumpus havent cfm
sobs sobs

grumpus
thanks ah. you help me check if got, then tell me

wendyg,
the 1st link i attached is gd for myself cos i've lost touch how many primary schools around my estate or in singapore so it's a gd link to search for primary school of our choice for our kids
My hair starts to drop more after give birth to #2 & now thinking of all these...later drop even more...sigh...

grumpus, got parking. at the junction of upp serangoon and simon road, turn left into simon road there, immediately will see some parking lots (limited lots) on your right. parallel parking. else, zoom further up, got a bigger public carpark. tear coupon type

pixie
why u hv to repeat what i say ah.

steph
ahhhhh, where i live, not many to choose from. We want something within walking distance. So only narrow to 2 choices. And 1 of them still under construction. By 2012 i think they shld be functional liao.

Wah, Steph, you are good men

Dispilining kids

my Elias has displayed a lot of stuboorn and strong willed natured.

This morning he wants to seat on a chair and climb and shake it and want eat my food and when not allowed do all these he actullay beat me when i beat his hands saying no...and pull my hair.. got me so mad! realised mil never dispiline him.. pull hair can, once cry give whatever he wants since young so does my maid..

Luckily he is more scared of me.. once i say no.. beat beat he will beat himself and looks down.. ALso got him me at times.. but more toward mil and hubby!

When know wrong he will control tears and come and pat pat sayang me.. Hope he wun grow up to nay how hit pple.. Isit normal for bb boys to be like that? NOt for bb gals?

I also prefer mix sch lei, cos i'm fr mix sch too... i hav a few gays and lesbians frz so a bit scared. but they r real nice ppl. hehehee!

Montessori:
Dont kw much abt Montessori too..i also lookin for cc for my boy. Nearest montessori is Eton house which is at katong but very exp i called them is $1,300 full day. i asked hb abt it, he said up to mi wor! told him if no.1 send to eton then no.2 also lei.. his reply was "No lah!".
so bad...

mylvera
durians sit down slowly relish and savour, then chit chat a bit
cannot be 6.30 sure eat 1st seed. must pick n choose n bargain with stall owner. unless yvonne can go there early to pre-select liulians