(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Wendy, haha, I was promoted in Jan 09 too then I quit. hoho. It's like that lar, but look at the bright side, at least your pay remained the same. For those who did not get promoted, they really got a cut lor, may have to make adjustments to their monthly expenses whereas you no need mah. ;)

blessedbaby, I think you are better off going to the smaller pharmacies in the neighhourhood. Maybe those still got stock cos the aunties and uncles are busy avoiding buying and eating pork so not buying masks yet. Hee.

wendyg,

my hubby also the same. Got salary increment early of the year. Then got cut few months later because of the downturn. And the salary now is even less than the salary before increment, bad, right?

Our board will announce salary increment and performance bonus tomorrow. Wonder how petty it will be, esp to compare with last year's.

shucks, I'm hungry again. Already ate 2 slices of bread and 1 fruit/nut bar since 6am when RaeAnne woke up crying for milk. No food in the house, think might as well take a nap liao, wake up then go get lunch. Hee. ;)

QUESTION: our jan-08 bb turing 18m soon, the age to enter playgroup.
1. have u started looking?
2. shortlist any?
3. joined the waitlist? selected?
4. when u intend to start?

mei
tks

i'm not intending to send tobey to cc @ 18m. Maybe will try half day when he's 2+ or 3yo. Gorgor's medical bills quite hefty, gotto save up some before didi's medical bills strike us down!!

1. yes
2. yes, either young talents or ntuc at my hse
3. no
4. either 20 or 24 mths
my ger cant reali talk well and v fussy eaters. she refuse porridge and onli drink some milk. intend to put her on cc till she can eat solids better

xray shows some infection in the lungs, some streaky things which Dr Ang says it's... mucous?! His lungs producing excessive mucous, smthg like that. 2 wks rental nebuliser, 3 times a day. Oral medication also.. we (husband, me and the childcare teachers) become expert can be clinic assistants liao. Dr Ang's bills... 1st time $350, 2nd time $250...
Haven't considered the HUNDREDS that we spent @ Kidslink Sengkang.

here's smthg very odd... my husband asked Dr Ang whether it could be the milk that he drinks. Dr Ang said "maybe, i thought he would've been off milk since 1yo, that's why i didn't suggest he could be allergic to milk."
How come a PD thinks that a child should stop intake of milk @ 1yr old?!?!?! I'm 30+ yr old liao i'm still drinking milk!!

wendyg,

Dr Ang as in the male PD right? Same clinic as Dr Keoy? Wah, the bills were really ex leh! Hope the nebuliser helps him to clear the lung, and that's most important.

ya, it's weird, how can he think that 1 year old has stopped thinking milk? My PD gave me free sample just 2 weeks ago. I brought Hao Re to see Dr Ang once (cos that time not comfortable with Dr K sleepy look :)) and the female Dr Ang once. Don't like both of them, so stick to Dr K.

Dr Ang PL.. the male doc same clinic as Dr K. First visit 23/4/09, 2nd visit 28/4/09. Doc used stethescope to listen to Isaac's chest and says there's improvement in the condition of the lungs, but how do we know right?! To me, his cough still phlegmy, still lots of thick mucous in his nose. Maybe he says it's better so that we have the hope that his treatment works and continue to pour our $$ week after week?!
3rd visit this Sunday. $$$$$$$.

wendyg
Elliot's assigned PD was APL. but I dun like, so change. He can't even answer my qn on something. Some pple told me he low EQ. I dunno how true

Wendyg,

Wow, very shiong indeed. All those medical bills. But since doc said that Issac is improving, that is the most important. Jiayou! Hope Issac will get better and better!!!

mom2nat
u changed to who?
My boys were both assigned Dr K, but with Tobey, i requested change to EK Ong.

His EQ ok ley. started off commenting on Isaac's t-shirt. talked non-stop, wish i brought a recorder.

wendy, oh so dr ang said 1yo dont need milk? in fact i already graduated my son from formula to plant-based milk already.

aiyo, you mean isaac has been coughing for 1 year? do you believe in chinese tcm? there's one at yishun which is good in curing cough

stop bf: i just stopped pumping for 2 days, tonight will try to pump see what is the output. last week i pumped once every 2 days and got 60ml. does that mean that if my yield if 20ml per day, i can stop pumping? I find a small lump yesterday since i did not pump for 2 days. if i dont pump today, what will happen to the milk? will it vanish?

wendyg,

You have to trust a doctor. If you think you can't/don't trust him, change to another doctor. Esp that you don't feel that Isaac's cough is improving.

Last time when Hao Re was on nebuliser (< 6 months old, phlemgy cough also), think was 4-5 days of med, then went back for review. But luckily for Hao Re, the phlegm cleared and didn't even see Dr K for the review cos super long queue that day (Saturday).

Been to another PD at Jurong (ad-hoc kind, just happened to see the clinic and popped in). That PD took almost 30min to listen to Hao Re's lung! And finally he said it's a bit phlemgy, and the med he prescriebd is ex and didn't work for my boy, and the bill also $$$$$!!!

wendyg
I changed to Dr Ee at Kinderclinic. Din realise my sil oso bring her boys there. last month my PD bills for my 2 kids $600. Only 1 vaccine, the rest is flu, cough kind.

tongtong
your bm will get reabsorbed into your body.

TCM... long waiting time, dun think me and husband keen on 3hr wait per visit.

i dun understand why he said 1yr old dun drink milk.. my boy is on fresh milk, the type that adults drink!!

Talking about the medical bills, if I buy some sort of medical and hospital insurance (those that can pay via medisave) for my gal, will it cover such expenses ah, like visiting the PD for certain conditions? Or must hospitalised then can claim?

Swine Flu
Now my company started asking everyone to take and report temperature daily. Hope this thing doesn't start in SGP, worry for our babies!

Kitsune,
Wah, ur 2 slices of bread can last you since 6am. I had breakfast at 8am, 10am got hungry went to eat 'bao'. Now hungry again! So scared I put on too much weight during the pregnancy. Btw, if you deliver at TMC, we might meet each other
And yes, i agree TMC got rather yummy food, I quite enjoyed it the last time round.

Kam
30min or 30sec?!

if i keep changing docs, then where does Patient History come in..

mom2nat
u mean during your stay @ TMC, u changed to this Dr Ee? I thought your kids PD is indian man?

wendyg
Nope, it is always Dr Ee. indian man is tat time Dr ee not ard. I din change during the stay. I change after I left hosp. Nat has been seeing Doc Ee. Last time see the one at rivervale mall. I dun find tat good. Long queue, makes me feel rushed.
You still bf? I wanna give fm, but elliot dun wan! chia lat!

wendy,
there are some PD who are not pro-milk one..dunno why. my PD also like that, everytime i complain that my girl dun drink much milk she always tell me "we always move forward, that means more solids less milk, we dun regress to trying to get them to drink more milk"
i also like u 30+ already still drink one or two glass of milk a day..duh..

grumpus
no la i'm not trying to replace my boy's meals with milk, but at least 1 drink of milk per day ma. Growing boy, needs calcium, needs the fats! I'd rather he drink fresh milk than milo.

mom2nat
after i discharged i also went to Sengkang PD. But now Sengkang PD not effective anymore, so hv to find another!!!
Tobey is drinking 1 feed of fresh milk, mainly coz sometimes i can't produce enuf for him. he's ok with that.

wendyg,

It's 30 MINTUES!!! He turned my boy up, down, right, left, then turned back again and again, and my boy already started to cry, how to listen?

Can you not ask for a copy of the medical history for the clinic? Don't know how confidentail it is.

Precious_moments,

Yes, some insuarance does covers outpatient medical bills also. My company's one does. It's from AVIVA. I asked the nurse before. For children below 2 (I think, but can't remember clearly the cut-off age), you can bring your child to see PD straight away without a GP referral (cos PD is specialist mah). But above age of 2 (or whatever cut-off age), you have to get referral from GP to see PD, otherwise the insurance won't cover.

The normal hospitalisationl bill doesn't cover outpatient bills.

wendyg,

We were the last patient for that day. And after that, he talked and talked and talked. Alamak, I just wanted to leave and go home.

QQ
eiiiiiiii, my hand so itchy, really feel like buying SB+ by donating!!!! how how how how..
i hv enuf potions now, i need 248 SB+ but i only hv 11 pcs... and the current trading price very high ley.
it's a trick hor! make us donate coz we're so caught up in the game liao. grrr

hullo president..
sorry i been MIA.. i was trying to work. muahahahaha.
been staring at computer screen whole morning, eyes v tired. i think i hv some lunch &amp; return to FORGE AHEAD!!

i think i want to destress by going for pumping session... waiting for the snoozers to exit the room so that i can pump in the light!

tongtong

How much are you paying for the nanny?

Hao Re's teacher recommend a nanny to me (used to work in that child care also, so she is certified carer). She said market rate is $650 and +$70 when baby starts to eat porridge. Think very reasonable, right? Will try to visit her place these 2 days.

wendy, so you only give fresh milk and no more formula milk? I hope i'm not the only odd one who doesnt give formula.

re: bellamy organic step 3 formula

i wanna sell this as myson no longer drinking, anyone interested?

Hi Pauline

I am from Mar 08 thread. Decided to engage De Hygienique after reading your post here. As a referral, I think you will get a sanitizer spray and a $10 voucher. If you are interested, please pm me your full name and either your address or contact no. Thanks.

PMbabe, no lar, I ate 2 slices of bed at 7am, then hungry so ate a fruit/nut bar at 9am. Then hungry again, went to sleep. Slept until 230pm, my hubby came back then I wake up. Too late to go buy lunch so just eat cup noodles lar. Think can go KK and eat later if still hungry.

Chewwy, gee, thanks for remembering me. Will PM you.

Hi Kam,

I paid $600, but i will provide the ingredients for her to cook, If she buys the ingredient, will be $650. do you still prefer nanny eventhough HaoRe enjoys infant care alot?

Hi, mummies.

I am now facing this problem. With #2 coming, my MIL cannot handle 2 babies at the same time. So her idea is to get maid to stay with her and to do the chores while she takes care of the babies. My hubby also agreed.

But my idea is to send Issyen to CC. Because I don't have good impressions of maids and so far hear not much good things about them. Very worried that she will bully my kids or even hurt them. Also @ CC, Issyen can learn to be independent and study. But on -ve side, very "bu she de" coz she is so young and has to be by herself in school.

But if getting maid, my MIL will also have difficulties communicating with her. My MIL knows 0 English.

I really don't know which is the best solution. There doesn't seem to have one....

Now feel very torn apart and trouble by this. Somehow also affecting my pregnancy mood a bit. Not as carefree when pregnant with Issyen with nothing much to worry about.

krystle

1) if your MIL is taking care of the kids while the maid does housechores, i think the maid may not hv the chance to abuse the kids. Anyway not all maids are kids abusers..

2) your #1 study? how old is she?

3) not all maids know english. does your MIL know malay? then she can communicate with indon maid. O'wise burmese/ viet maid can spk some mandarin? i'm really not sure, but if u present your concerns to maid agencies, i'm sure they hv a solution for u. U're not the first family where the MIL dunno how to spk english..

krystle,
i can't help u decide which is a better option.
but i just wanted to comment that if yr MIL is going to take care of the kids, then a maid may not be a bad idea. not likely the maid will bully yr kids or hurt them if yr MIL is there.
just don't leave them alone with the maid.

if u hv concern abt communication, can consider burmese chinese maids that can speak mandarin, or indonesian maids if yr MIL can speak malay.

of cos maids also come with a lot of other problems so u'll hv to weight the pros and cons and discuss with yr hb

wendy,
i think all maids tend to 'bully' their charges to some extent...depends on what u can tolerate lor..
one of my maids used to pull my bro &amp; sis ears and pinch them when they were young

Wendyg,

I understand not all maids are bad. But heard that they can be dishonest at times too. My hubby also assured me that since PIL around, so maids don't dare to do funny things.. I am just worried and think too much.

My MIL does not know Malay too. Only chinese and hokkien loh. So I believe there bound to be some communication breakdown. Really to have stress the agencies to get a chinese speaking maid for us loh.

It is just that the whole idea of another outsider in our family and whatever additional problems which might arise, some how stressed me out.

BTW, my #1 like all other babies here loh. Now only 15 mths. Thought she can learn to read and write @ CC... Or CC don't teach stuff, only let the children play???

tongtong,

Thanks for the info. Ya, consider nanny because of $$$ issue. For us as PR, it is $650 vs $1200, a different of $550 every month, =$6600 per year!!! Hao Re will continue to be at the cc, cos he will graduate to toddler class soon, which costs less (probably ~$700-800). Nanny is for #2. We decided to try out nanny. If we think that baby #2 is not developing as well as his gorgor, then switch her to infant care lor.

read &amp; write? they'll do that at 3yo, pre-nursery level.

at 18m, it's just sing songs, play time indoors, play time outdoors..

wendyg,
You should try holding off fresh milk for the time being. Maybe give Isaac formula or other substitute? My hubby saw a GP recently for his persistent cough...it's on and off and a little phlegmy. GP said he has sensitive nose and asked about his diet. My hubby is huge on diary products especially fresh milk cos he needs it for his oats. So GP ask him to cut down on fresh milk cos it causes phlegm. Perhaps Isaac is not allergic to milk but his daily glass of milk is creating for phlegm and aggravating his cough?

tongtong,
I'm also giving my boy fresh milk during the day. Formula given only for his last feed...which he usually doesn't finish.

krystle,

there are pros n cons in employing maid. if u got someone to "jagar" her, den shouldn't be an issue to abusing yr kids.

communication will always be a prob even if yr MIL knows english. cos, the maid tends to "hear" different things. some maids tends to act blur too. further to that, their pronounciation differs from ours.

Theft- this can be managed again. keep all valuables out of sight from maid. have a record book to record her salary, expenditure (if thro u) etc etc. get her to sign on a letter of "indemnity" too stating that at the end of the contract or day of termination, her $$ should not be more than your record book (cos she can go out n spend on her own when u not ard). anything more consider theft n subject to police investigation.

having said all those, there are other stress that comes along with "employing maids"