(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

joyce,
dun despair lah...hfmd is like chickenpox, very contagious and the contagious period is even before the blisters/ulcers appear. so highly likely that u and the kids were already exposed to the virus from yr hb even before he showed any symptoms.
think yr #2 not feeling well that's why not drinking much? even though u latch him whole day he may not actually be drinking just comfort latch only. no choice just keep offering him yr breast and fm lor.
ask hb take few days off to help u with the kids, otherwise u one person how to handle 2 sick kids?

Cheryl, you should not take chances, should go out and buy for your hubby and buy those hand santizers, his clothes must add bleach and wash to disinfect. I bought lots of Sureclean products to disinfect the house when my gal has HFMD. But having said that, he is also the sick person now. Maybe he wants you to 'sayang' him a bit too instead of treating him like an 'outcast'. Maybe he feels a bit hurt, that's why acting stubborn? Of course, we want the best for our children, but must also consider his feelings lar. ;)

Joyce, don't blame yourself, there is an outbreak of HFMD since last month. It's not your fault. Try to rest more. If baby is willing suckle, let him suckle as much as he wants. No appetite so he's looking for comfort, can't blame him for not wanting FM now. Yi bu yi bu lai. :p

Morning all!

kitsune,

I have compared my #1 and #2 weight at 20 weeks detail scan. Both of them about the same size comparing each of the measurements, weight also the same, #1 was 376gm, #2 is 375gm. So not much different for my baby boy and baby girl at this stage. So my theory that a baby boy is bigger than a baby gal may be wrong. But then again, Hao Re was born small, 2.9kg at birth at 37.5 weeks.

pauline

i m rather disappointed that he dun treat it seriously.. if we dun have vernon, i cant be bother too much. but we have a small baby at home, we shd at least prevent it from happen to the baby.. haiz... plus his nieces will come everyday after sch...

whole nite we nvr talk... haiz

Kitsune, I think I missed your thread. Where are you going? Tickets so cheap?

Wendyg, no cracks, just replaced neck before had #2 and was a spare pump as I was using medela pis. Crystal clear with no yellow stains. Ke ke ke...Erm...think #3 is shelved aside unless God shows me that I can cope with another. You planning for that?

JOyce, take it easy. They will get over it in a week. Just nurse him and as you get well, he will also get well.

cheryl
i a lot of times, whole nite never tok leh with my hb....silent wars
dont let it affect you. in times like this, you must be strong and be the woman of the household liao, if he is not up to it. with this fighting spirit then you can overcome difficulties and he will see that he is wrong...eventually
jia you

pixelpixel

i usually dun silent war with him.. but i m too tired liao.. i dun have the energy to quarrel with him. moreover i m staying with mil.. it wont do any good if i quarrel with him.. so i just keep quiet.. he talk to me i also dun wanna see or ans him...

i think later on in the nite his mum ask him whether he wan slipper anot. den he took the slipper.. but still... i m angry

Oh dear, so many babies and adults are down with HFMD.

Cheryl,
Is Vernon sleeping in the same room as you? Maybe you can consider sending him to stay with your mum for a couple of days? Should explain to your hubby that HFMD is a contagious disease just like SARS and Swine flu. He should do the right thing by not spreading the disease. If he's feeling unwell ask him to imagine how Vernon would feel if he caught the virus from him?

Nowadays I also don't dare to bring my boy to the playground downstairs. There's so many kids around and with all the HFMD and swine flu virus, don't dare to take any risk. I even dig out the bottle of hand sanitiser from the drawer! We're going to Tokyo next week so a bit worried about having to be in the airport for a few hours....hahaha.

morning mummies, my #2 refuse my breast as well as bottle. keep crying non-stop since 6am so no choice have to use syring to feed him. can see a lot of ulcers in his mouth. so heartache. if he still not drinking then have to admit him for drip. as for #1 so far so good, still drinking and still very active. hoping for the best for 2 of them.

grumpus, i'm glad i still have a helper but it will be good if my hubby ard too so that he can take turn carry #2 while my helper look after #1.

the whole night i wasn't sleeping, looking after the 2. #1 sleep #2 wake up. #2 sleep #1 wake up. hubby try to help but #1 still want me. lucky #2 still allow my hubby to carry. if not i don't know how. helper sleep like pig...faint...

Cheryl, pls take note 5-7 days is the most dangerous period as he is on the way of recovering virus will look for new target.

cheryl,

your hubby goes to work today???

Joyce,

How about yourself? Are you recovering? You must take care of yourself also leh, remember to drink lots and lots of fluid. If you boy doesn't drink well, please monitor his urine closely. Don't wait till too late, when you see the urine turn dark yellow, best to bring him to see PD just to play safe.

joyce,

dun wori too much. all will be fine. if helper sleeps like a log in the nite, make her look aft the kids during the day while u nap lor. take turns mah. cannot 24 hr shift = yrself.

now not only HFMD on the rise. even if u got flu, go see doc, u will be "screened" too n doc have to submit to MOH.

i told him liao.
if he dun wan to listen i also duno how lah. so stubborn 1...

told him to buy slipper n glove, he din...
can u imagine how angry i m when i go home yest.

Mom2nat,
thanks for the info. Im tempted to do lasik, but afraid that i might nt be able to take care of my eyes well after dat since im always looking at the computer and playin games on my ipod.

grumpus,
u r saying after do lasik, cant wear contacts again, hw come har?

cheryl, keep ur cool, u must take care of ur sick hubby and young boy. pple tend to get frustrated and angry when they r sick, u prob need to giv them more patience and concern.

i m sure if u buy the slipper n gloves for him, he will use it. prob he juz too lazy to get them himself.

luca,
i remember long time ago ppl say after lasik cannot wear contacts anymore due to the surgery has changed the shape of the cornea to irregular shape.
but i just googled and seems like still can wear contacts after lasik provided sufficient time is allowed for the eyes to recover.
maybe technology has changed...

i also spend alot of time on the computer, tv and reading under dim light...but i still went to do...hahaha
i did have some trouble staying on the computer for long hrs after my lasik though..my eyes just got tired very fast and i found it very hard to focus...but now ok liao

mandy,

no, I think the price is for the whole blog.

Actually I tried using the website once. But the outcome I don't like very much, maybe need to do some formatting, etc. I am very tempted to print it into PDF, so at least I have a soft copy of my blog to be kept safely, prepare for the "what if".....e.g., blogspot no longer exists.....

Actually one can also modify the html code so that the blog can be formatted into printer friendly version. I tried reading some info, but too "chim" for me, as I am totally know nothing about html.

luca
Doc say can watch tv, use computer, just in moderation lor. I realised so many pple do liao.. I was afraid, tats why waited until now! You quick go and do!

Babe, yup, Airasia and Jetstar asia both launched free airtickets to Penang yesterday. But airasia's service starts on 1 June (school hols) whereas Jetstar ones stars on 1 July (after school hols).

Cheryl, understand, I will be angry too. Maybe find a time when both cooled down and talk. Find out why he is so resistant to protecting Vernon from the virus bah.

Kam, haha, ok I'll wait and see too. Wow, RaeAnne is almost 400g heavier than Hao Re. But I gained only 10kg for my first pregnancy so most of the weight was on her thankfully. For no. 2, I'll be happy as long as hit 3kg cos smaller easier to push lar.

kitsune,

I also didn't gained much for my first pregnancy, less than 10kg. BUT, after gave birth, most of the kg still remains till now, grrrrr! Ya, you are exactly right, the good thing to have a smaller-ish baby is easy to push. When I delivered Hao Re, aiyoh, so easy, think less than 10 min already out, and my hubby was like, huh, like that only huh, you didn't scream and din't pinch me or bite me leh :)

Haha, Kam, this time try to BF and you'll find all the extra weight melting away. BF burns extra 500 calories a day leh, I lost 5kg of my pre preggie weight lor after 6 months of BF. But provided you don't eat too much when BF lar. Can eat more nutritious food rich in iron, calcium etc but not more than 500 calories per day or else will end up gaining weight instead. :p

Hehe, when I delivered RaeAnne, she was so tough to push that nearly everyone came into my line of fire including hubby, gynae and the poor male MO/Reg who came in to check if BB is in distress. ;P

Oh ya, forgot who was asking for professional cleaning of mattress. I tried out De Hygienique service yesterday. And look what they suck out from my 4.5 years Sealy mattress after just 1 minute of demo.

In the end, I paid $65 to clean 1 Queen size mattres and my baby cot mattress. The cleaner said regular maintenance should be once every 6 months.
2397056.jpg

kam,
smallish baby good, but not too small hor. too small will kenna c-section one :p
yup, try bf and the extra weight will literally melt away. same as kitsune, i was 5kg less than pre-preggie weight after my bf career. in fact at one pt i lost so much weight my mum was trying to fatten me back up :p

luca,
go do lasik! u won't regret...can swim and not be blind, can wake up at night to settle fussy kids and not have to grope for glasses..

my dr said by the time my eyes detoriate so much that i need glasses again i'll prob have 'lao hua yan' already..hehe

Grumpus, ya lor, I was quite skeptical initially so ask them to do the demo. End up the mattress so dirty that I didn't hesitate to pay the money. Anyway, $60+ every 6 months ok lar. Better than got to buy a professional system that costs a few k and I still got to clean it myself. :p

then I must be one of the super no stamina one, I gained about 12kg, baby 2.8kg, but I push until doc also gave up on me lo. I think about this second time, I hope it will be easier, coz I dont wanna try pushing for 1 hour again.

But second time, my stomach bigger le. Until I dont dare to weigh myself at home. Now my stomach sama size as 10 months for 1st. cham.

Angelsky, I pushed for 2 hours, I was on epi but no use cos low dose and they upped the oxytoxin (induction drug). Hope for no. 2, I no need to be induced. Can do it naturally. :p

Kitsune, the feeling is horrid right, tell you by the time I started pushing after all the trial and practise, I super duper hungry, esp after starving for so long. I could literally see macdonalds floating around
. In the end, they also reduced the epi so that I could feel the contractions and push. The nurse say she never see someone use so much epi before, no wonder baby come up, she so alert, must be high on all the drugs.

Yup super heavy rain and thunderstorm at AMK.

Angelsky, ya me too, some people say being induced drags the labour process but I'm not sure. Waiting for more than 12 hours to dilate to 10cm was definitely no fun. :p

Hehe, my gal also very alert when born, only cry once, then open 1 eye to explore the world liao. How fast time flies, now she's 15 months old and looks so different.
2397378.jpg

kitsune/grumpus,

Will definitely try bf again this time round. With the previous experience, hope it will be smoother this time. Hope can be successful this time round.

Hopefully #2 is about the same size as Hao Re, so can hope for a smooth delivery again. I was aware of each and every of the contractions after being administered epi leh. That's why I can push better? I was also induced one, cos water bag broke without any contraction.

Kitsune, your little one so cute, with 1 eye opened. And that was 15 months ago already........

Mandy,

Wah, you powerful leh, 4.14kg by natural birth!!!

Langkawi, pretty nice place. But my last time there was about 10 years ago! The main island was not as nice as it started to get pollution and also a bit too commercialise. Have to go to the smaller islands (but the boat trip can be quite scarey, and not sure if suitable for young toddler). Been to one small island, oh, it's perfect, white sand, crsytal clear water, quiet, so nice!

A relative of mine runs a resort at Pulau Perhentian (east coast), supposed to go this weekend, but they are fully booked, duh, have to wait 1 more year. East coast beach is always nicer than west coast beach. West coach too much pollution!

kam, my son is getting worse, when i go toilet, i cant shut the door or he will keep banging the door. so sometimes i din close the door and he will see me pee :p now at night ( because weather too hot), he will wake up few times and if din see me he will ngek. so i got to sleep with him now. so yesterday i ran to his room 3 times when he wailed for me. after he sees me he will continue to zz. as for TV, he doesnt seem to like watching TV. his favourite pastime is to play with everything in my house, like broom, vacuum, kitchen stuff. But he is so sticky to me, i find it very hard to do my own things, how you managed ah?

kam, your labour so easy ! no pain?

kitsune, yea time flies, R got so much hair already when born!

tongtong,

When I go toilet, I also don't shut the door. Even if I shut, he will push it open. Sometimes he even comes in to the toilet and stand next to me to see me pee/poo and poke my belly button :) But when we are in the living room or kitchen, he is okay, as long as he sees me around, he can play on his own while I do my own things.

Just be patient, since your boy only stays with you for a few weeks only, maybe he is still adjusting to the new environment? How's he at the nanny's? Also sticky to nanny?

Ya, it's so hot nowadays. Hao Re sleeps pretty well at night despite the heat. Even if he co-sleep with us, he would wake up 1-2 times per night, sometime to drink water, sometime for comfort, sometime nightmare? or uncomfortable? or just pee? Just put him back to his cot 2 days ago. 1st night was not quite successful, but yesterday already okay, he slept well in his cot, which is just next to me.

Your son doesn't like tv ah, good leh, don't have to worry he gets addicted to tv next time. Hao Re likes tv (just like his daddy), sometimes he would laugh out when seeing the funny cartoon, he esp like Tom & Jerry :)