(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

cheryl,

Haha....... don't know, hope so

Hey!

Thanks for those who replied me....

My boy is 14 months and he doesnt really like abc pasta. He is only taking ceral, porriage and that so far.. OF cos with bottled desserts jar foor and fruits.

I would like to increase of variety of food.

ANd need more recipes. can mumies please provide.. eg: mee suah etc?

HOw to cook that? Need simpe receipes for my maid and mil to follow?

Fern

wendyg
You wanna buy thermal pot ah? OG have good sales on it. BUt now dunno still have or not. tat time my mom bought 5L for $49 only.

Pixie
So wat med your PD gave? I giving panadol and brufen now. I think I see PD oso give same thing. So prob tmrw or fri see how.
Elliot can't sleep well, kept crying and din take dinner oso.

kam, thanks for the clinic contact. Maybe i will just go to one of the clinic near my house first. ;)

the myth about #1 & #2, i dont think so. I have seen many parents with happy and good children. ;)
i believe i have many good children. Hahaha.

mylife,
good suggestion about the fresh milk. thanks!
but lexie has mild lactose intolerance, dunno whether fresh milk will push her to the other extreme and cause diarrhea.
no harm trying i guess

mei
i want! How to get and wat other attraction places the seller have?

grumpus
yah no harm trying.

If the myth is true, then my next baby will be very guai. Then again, Rylee was only a fussy and cranky baby during her 1st babyhood year. I reckon it was due to her colic and reflux. Now, i think she's quite ok, ie listen to me, guai guai sit in strollers, etc. Or perhaps it's jus me having went thru the "difficult" period, expectations not that high liao. LOL

blessedbaby,
there are lactose free fresh cow's milk?? ok i will go supermarket and check out. thanks!

windy,
thanks! heehee we also laugh at her rabbit poo. but quite poor thing lor see her strain and strain then when check diaper only 3 or 4 rabbit poo.
western book will tell u above one yr old can drink fresh milk liao...not necessary to drink FM. but kiasu singaporean mummies worry abt the added vitamins and minerals, pre/probiotics blah blah

grumpus
I agree. In Europe, wanna find milk powder for children above 1 yr old not easy, cos all take fresh milk. And their milk selection v little. IN sg, the parents really easy to con, wat DHA, blah blah... a huge shelf to choose from.

Last time when I in france, I give my girl liquid milk, put in microwave to heat up one hor!

hihi, today looking after RaeAnne on my own so no time to post. Can only check forum on and off.

A lot of people thinks my gal is difficult (CL, MIL, Mum) cos difficult to fall asleep, nap only for short while and bad tempered so I guess if I have no. 2, he or she will be guai. Hope so lar.

Theory behind #1 difficult, #2 easy & vice versa
i think this (again) is a no brainer. Coz, if #1 is difficult, mummy would've learnt from the error of her ways & modified her methods for #2. Or, mummy would've learnt how to cope with the difficulty & when #2 presents the same issues, she would find it easier to handle coz "been there, done that".
And if #1 were easy, mummy may be thrown off guard if #2 were different a bit, coz nvr been in that situation before. And so thinks that #2 is more difficult than #1.

However, i believe that mummies who are in tune with their kids would find that handling them would be easy. As it's all about communication... baby cries to tell mummy he's uncomfortable, mummy strikes the items off her checklist and knows what are the possible reasons & seeks to make baby comfortable (more milk, burp, change diaper, bored, reflux, too hot/cold etc).

So mylife, i believe u'd find #2 a breeze to handle, coz u had to single-handedly tahan Rylee's reflux. And Kam & Yvonne & QQ, i believe u'd find #2 easy as well, coz u know your way around babies!! and u're not the easily flustered type.

mylvera
yes i think those with #3 and onwards would be experts already, assuming #3 dun present any major health problems that the first 2 dun hv.
i dunno how i'm going to handle #2 when he reaches 2yo... but for now, no no no i'm not having #3 anymore.
actually if i hv 3rd baby, i'd still prefer a boy =) then they can all share 1 room in future =))

wendyg,
It's probably becos of the different temperament and gender between #1 and #2? From the examples I've seen, they all have a boy for #1 who's easy-going & soft-natured and a gal for #2 who's fussy & fiery-tempered...a little chilli padi.

You have 2 boys, so probably won't feel such a great difference between #1 and #2?

wendyg,
If you have a gal for #3, probably she'll throw you off-guard too! Gals "operate" differently from boys

hmmmm i think our 1st child will be a bit jealous if they know we have no.2 coming along ... my SIL is gg to gave birth in June her boy very nottie now ... want attention so very nottie

mylvera
i prefer SAHM lei... keke.. everyday just worry about what to cook for hubby and Javier for their meals, what to buy when i go to the market. hahahaa.... but i just dun like to do housework.. if can outsource this, it will be great!

Mom2nat,
When you give your kids fresh milk, do you warm it up all the time or just give straight from the fridge?

fern, u can get mee suah from organic shop/health store as they use sea salt which is healthier, and not so saltish. just put in whatever ingredients u want la, like cooking normal meesuah soup.

tongtong
i think she & her MIL & maid dunno how to cook normal meesuah soup, that's why she keeps asking for recipes.

yvonne
yeah my boys hv my husband's temperament i think. So if #3 has my temperament, then lagi i shld know how to handle coz it's like i'm handling myself right. kekekekeke. but no la, i'm not taking the chance. no #3 thank u.

Question:
any recommendation of nice swanky hotel in Malacca?
Under S$100 (triple share) per night can get nice swanky hotel? *hiak*

wendy, oh issit? ok fern, the meesuah (if buy normal one) soak in water first /cook in boiling water to get rid of the saltishness. Then you should also have soup stock + ingredient, and can also cook one hard boil egg too la like we eat mee suah during birthday hehe.

wendyg,
How long does it take for you to warm up milk from fridge? You're using pigeon bottle warmer? Just a thought - we're suppose to keep fresh milk below 3-4 degrees to prevent bacteria growth, aren't we encouraging it by warming up the milk to 40 degrees???

I have some baby/chidlren books to give away:

1. The bedtime treasury
2. Giant Ogres & Trolls
3. Sunny day fairies
4. 365 bedtime stories
5. Gimm's fairy tales

all books is in good condition. Can collect from my place in the East area.

;)

Jess Yew

hehhe, i have many books already.. so i want to clear some.. must say all are good. i dont give bad things to others. ;)
do you want them?

yvonne
it takes abt 3min on high heat, then my boy will drink it up in 5min.

if u think warming up milk will encourage bacteria growth, what abt when u thaw & cook food?
what abt warming up ebm? what abt preparing FM with warm water?

yvonne
Aft warming up milk, of cos need to serve immediately before any bacteria can grow lah.

Wendy
Hmmm...ur theory may be true but I have got friends who swore the myth is true. One is super easy going (like Kam and QQ), #1 super easy going baby too. But #2 is hell to her, despite doing everything she knows the baby cried all the time, colicky, poor sleeper, and even to toddler years was difficult to handle, picky eater, and very sensitve kid. The other friend who is a former colleague had a difficult #1, much like Rylee, colicky, reflux. Cried a lot, very fierce aggressive type, but her #2 was an angel. And she doesn't think it's becos she knows what to do now cos she did nothing but the baby just eat and sleep without any coaxing. I certainly hope the same will be for me.

wendyg/mylife,

Wendyg, I agree, handling a child is all about communication (just like any other type of relationship, etc husband-wife, friends, colleagues), the more you understand your child, the easier to handle him. Many a time, I know what my boy wants, what he is happy about and what he is not happy about, etc. And yes, like mylife said, my super easy-going type of personality helps. I take things easily. My boy wants to take nap, he takes nap, he doesn't want to, then he doesn't have to. He feels like eating, he eats, he is not interested in eating, he doesn't have to. But having said this, this only works now till maybe he is 2 years old or so, after that, my parenting philosophy gonna be adjusted and changed as needed. Also, the fact that he attends infant care centre does make a lot of different, sociable and easily adaptable to different environment and people. And also the fact that we bring him out to get near to the nature or the open air, does help him to some extend.

Though I also believe the myth - #1 guai then #2 naughty, and vice versa, I actually believe that my #2 will be as easy to handle as Hao Re, unless she has a strong personality or has reflux/colicky problem from birth. If #2 guai guai, then can consider #3 and #4....... :)

Mandy
i think it shld be alrite. I also let Javier take white radish soup. he likes it....

i think by nw, they shld be ready to take the food prepared at home as long as it is not too much seasoning... soup is gd 4 them....

wendyg/mylife,
Ok, thanks. Wendyg, your bottle warmer so powerful ah, all done in 3 mins? My pigeon one very slow to warm things up.

Jess,

I am still keeping Jayden away from salt and sugar....My mom thinks i am too stict....keeps saying he is like a vegetarian.....he doesnt like fish chunks too.....WHen i put fish in porridge, if the fish is a bit too big, he will spit it out.....

hee... maybe let go abit... i used to be quite strict with Javier.. but now let go abit liao. also starting to give abit of Ribena so that he drinks more water(he dun like to drink water).

salt and sugar is of cos as minimum as possible. all natural food is still the best. but can widen the variety of food.