(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Mummies, fyi ;)

From 14 Feb - 1 Mar 2009, STB will run a "2009 Reasons to enjoy
Singapore" campaign in which they are offering FREE admission to the first 2009 visitors per weekend (Saturday & Sunday) at selected Singapore attractions.
JBP is one of the 5 attractions participating in this island-wide promotion. To enjoy this offer, visitors just need to flash an SMS at the Ticketing Counter and write down their name & IC. Each SMS admits up to 4 pax. The SMS can be obtained via mobile phone from STB. The press ad is attached for your reference.

Do send this ad to your friends and family and remind them to come early to redeem the offer as it is restricted to the first 2009 customers per weekend, not per day. FYI, depending on response, the free tickets might be all snapped up on Saturday.

Please check out the STB 2009 Reasons website for more information
http://www.visitsingapore.com/publish/stbportal/en/home/about_singapore/2009reasons.html

hmmm my mil have Myammer ...she dunno how to speak .... but overall still ok better than Indonesia ... now indo one like not so much ppl want liao.

pixiepixel,
You bringing Xandall back to the same PD? Better check with the PD how come the fever keeps coming back. Viral fever shouldn't be recurring right?? Keep having high fever for 3 weeks is really a concern, quite unusual leh.

Jacelyn,
CONGRATS!

pixel,
Me as SAHM get fatter lol. Cos when my mil not ard (she cooks) during school holiday for 1-2mths. I had no choice but always order fastfood for lunch or eat instant noodle

JanBB,
Now our kid is older, teaching him the "rights" & "wrong", they really pick things up fast. That is where SAHM can do more. But he also make me crazy with his new trick everyday.

I am actually so tempted to go and work part time, to get some fresh air! Think u can get ur mum to help once a while so that u can have your own time once a while.

pixel,

no need to buy the DVD for me....cos the lady from the shop called.....the stock has arrived....Maybe u can give me the title so that i can see if it is the right one.....thanks.

SAHM vs FTWM

Once in a while, this topic keeps coming back...... I know my own limits, I know what I can and cannot do. So I am very clear that I will never be a SAHM. I don't mind to stay at home when my kids have grown up, but at this stage, when they still need so much attention, I think I would certainly go crazy sooner or later if have to be with them 365/24/7. Even if my hubby can support the whole family, I still won't be SAHM. As long as my kids are well taken care of, and my kids are healthy and happy, I will stay as FTWM. All 3 of us are happy as of now :)

kam

which center are u putting Hao Re at?
got any branches in the east?

Kam,
You always seem like the "xian qi liang mu" type leh...didn't expect you will go crazy looking after Hao Re 24/7...haha. At least you sound like very patient and soft-tempered. Unlike me, super impatient and hot-tempered...still want to become SAHM...siao liao...dunno I will go cray first or my boy go crazy first if I really decide to be SAHM. LOL

Yvonne,

Thanks for the compliment! That's what my friends said I am - the "xian qi liang mu" type :) Yes, I am usually patient and soft-tempered (my hubby even more patient and softer temper - so he should stay at home instead :p). For now, if only the weekends and occasioanally long holidays (like the CNY), I have no problem at all, in fact I enjoy very very much being with him. But if I have to be "locked" with him in the house 365/24/7, without any help, no holiday, no mc, no leave...... oh no, maybe 3 months, after that I would go crazy, Hao Re still be the happy little man.

But no leh, I feel (from your posts) that you are a very calm mum, knowing exactly what to do with your boy. You didn't sound hot-tempered, so far :)

Jess,

The infant care has no branch. Only 1 centre at CCK.

I am bringing TT to Batam leh this is her 1st trip i wanna try very very short trip first dunno how will it be ... hahaha

Kam
As SAHM, u can still bring HaoRe for classes, shopping, outings etc. Have some "me" time when husband can take over the boy for some father-son bonding. It's not that bad la. But i need the $$ so i will con't to work =)

Kam,
Maybe becos I'm a Leo, very strong-headed and stubborn plus a bit of a perfectionist...I don't like to be caught unprepared so I always read up to make sure I know how to react when a certain situation pops up, it applies both for work and my boy. So when you say calm...maybe 50% of the time becos I know what to expect but it's bad cos too stressful this way, no wonder I got thyroid problem. But I'm still impatient and hot-tempered...haha. I don't blow my temper frequently but when I do get angry, I won't cool down so easily lor.

wendyg,

I won't send Hao Re to any of the classes. And I don't go shopping and outings without hubby :) Of course if I ever be a SAHM, I can make neccessary adjustment. But for now, I also need $$$$$....... so we both continue to work lah!

QQ,

Haha, thanks for the kind words.... my hubby handsome boh :) I was planning for a short trip to Bintan, but now cancelled :-(

<font color="aa00aa">Anyone know if there's any service for temp helper/nanny not?? Cos I need some fresh air at times man! Esp whn hb not in town, can kill with me and bb alone!

nez,
I thought of doing this IF i become SAHM...part-time nanny, help to look after for a few days type. My hubby say wait all the babies get "tortured" by me...hahaha...I help to sleep-train all your babies at a fee lah *evil grin*.

nez
yes i think some maid agencies have part-time babysitter. Some childcare centres also have "emergency care". U can enquire with them.

<font color="aa00aa">Yvonne, i also got think of it! But after being a SAHM looking after one bb ALONE is already turning me crazy, so better to drop that idea..haha</font>

wendyg,
Those emergency care by cc, will they just accept any child...as in do we have to pre-register with them, etc??

wendyg,

:) But without hubby, I also won't go for the contest, as I see it a family thing.

Yvonne,

Good idea leh. Last time when I was in Sydney, there was a group of mummies set up this kind of business - SOS nanny, to take care of kids part-timely or for emergency cases. They are making BIG money.... even better than the child care centre, cos can charge more.

QQ,

Yeap. Your hubby very charming :)

<font color="aa00aa">wendyg</font>
Oh, so there's a svs for that ah. Ok, will try to go thru some maid agencies

<font color="aa00aa">violetlec</font>
I stay SK ley

kam,
Good idea right? Maybe can gather some SAHM or going-to-be SAHM from the forum to set up our own SOS nanny. Business should be good since most of us will be more "fang xin" if the baby is left with someone we "know" and we are all mummies ourseleves!

yvonne
i think need to pre-register first... what if someone deposits their kid &amp; doesn't come to retrieve? Treat it as orphanage.. *hiak*

nez
SK which part? Some of us are at SK/ Pg also. I think pixie is at home today.. she's near RV Mall.

<font color="aa00aa">nez,</font>

Ian's babysitter sometimes looked after her previous 3-4 yr old who have grown up and is now in childcare over weekend or at night.

I don't know how much she charged, probably by hour? She stays at Khatib.

<font color="aa00aa">wendyg</font>

yeah, i know there's a no. of mommies here staying in sk/pg
Mine is next to buangkok mrt

nez
ohya was it u - the other time almost had a play-date. Or was it elmo_78..... my memory is no good la...
If i weren't working, i could help to sit on your baby a bit while u go out for shopping. Babysitting i can do it. haha.

<font color="aa00aa">violetlec</font>

so the babysitter still can look after another toodler? I need someone that can help me sometimes in the day or overnight at times ley.

<font color="aa00aa">wendy</font>

Not me la...think elmo ba. I also wish i can go shopping, rest n relax abit...haha.

Jess,
I suspected my first Burmese maid could understand Hokkien/Teochew but she denied. When I was in Cambodia, I met natives there who can speak Teochews. So i won't be surprised if some burmese really can...

Pixie,
Yah. i think kids can tell old or young and they certainly prefers young ones! Prior to my current one, I had a 32yo for 2mths. Both my boys don't like her. I had a hard time then cos everyday I was dealing with crying kids!

Luca,
I prefer young and inexperience so i can train them my way. And they are more submissive. Older ones with experience can be very scheming and stubborn. The 32yo i had was in fact quite smart. She was good with house chores and requires little supervision. She's very fast and has good memory. But she doesn't meet my top priority which is childcare and she tends to wayang in front of me.. so off she goes... my agency is JLK. The one servicing me is also a Burmese but this agency is not run by Burmese. Do you want the number and name?

Mandy,
I have a tiger food jug that can cook porridge. meaning put in rice, pour in hot boiling water, after 1.5hours porridge done. Then i'll mix in some not-so-salty adult food or baby food jar. Or i'll dip adult food in hot water/soup to wash away the salty sauce and feed bb too.

Nez,
My aunt is a babysitter for many years in Yishun. If you keen pm me yah. Dont think her rate is expensive cos she used to take care of a bro and sis of a broken family. charge them lower than market rate. Just that, if it's an adhoc thing, your son must be stranger friendly before you can put him with someone. Else nanny will be in a difficult position. Imagine you havig your time-out and your son wailing away for mummy? I suggest you may want to think thru like 2 or 3 days a week at nanny's place?

harlo all *big wave*

wah Janbb, u very fast huh...u can take over to help update the 2009/2010 mummies preggie with #2/#3 list

1) Yunbb - #3boy (Rat yr - 12Dec08)
2) Steph - #2boy (8th Feb09)
3) Joyce - #2boy (11th Feb09)
4) superbee - #2? (EDD Jun09)
5) janbb - #2girl (EDD Jul09)
6) Angelsky - #2 ? (EDD Jul09)
7) Kam - #2? (EDD Sep?)
8) Jacelyn - #2? (EDD Oct?)

weather is so HOT for confinement now

Busy pumping n pumping n pumping...

ask all 2nd time mummies...
the ebm that i pump now, can i give the excess to #1 (mixed into his FM step 2/3) ? Anybody tried that b4? Now, i can get about 200ml from both breast combined
*Happy Cow* but #2 only drinking 30 to 40ml at 2-3hourly leh. Today is the 9th day since i delivered #2.
EMB can only store for 48hrs ? then need to be frozen izit?

fishia
ya ya *slurp*

steph
yes u can give #1 mix into his FM. Gradually i increased the proportion of ebm vs fresh milk, until he was drinking 100% ebm, &amp; he was none the wiser hee hee. wow, u hv so much milk ley!! very good cow *pat on your back*

my suggestion is... let baby latch on, after he's done with his feed, then pump out the excess. No need to be too obsessed about looking at how many ml he's drinking. If u can hear him swallow &amp; feel your letdown, means he's drinking fine.

Fishia,

ya lor.. u seems to know quite abit about maids.
can i really send her back to the agency just becos she say she is not happy? i mean i did ask her if she wants to go back home izit, but she say no lei.... based on this, can i return her to agency?

wendyg,
most of the time, he is latch on but i see excess emb in fridge so wanna let hubby/mil have a chance to bottle feed bb too. Maybe he is born preemie so that's why most of the time he is sleepy...suckle few mins then stop &amp; Zzz...even if i tickle his body or under his chin, he also ignore me. When i feel letdown, he will choke on my breastmilk..meaning my flow too fast for him? PD say daytime have to wake him up for milk every 3 hourly while nite time is feed on demand.

steph
yeah likely he choke bcoz too fast flow. There are articles on internet showing how to manage that. eg pump first &amp; latch on after the letdown. Ya u need to work hard to wake him up.. exercise his arms &amp; legs to keep him awake, talk to him (loudly?)

try give your #1 the excess ebm. Start with 20ml per feed, then increase another 20ml.. bit by bit, hope he can't tell the difference, then u will hv a fulfilling time pumping coz u're providing for both of them =)

Jacelyn
Congrats

Kam
Congrats too on Hao Re's win. Aiyoh, how come never win No.1? The No.1 won him by what leh?

Fishia
Paiseh forgot to answer u previously. I'm using the video monitor sold at Kiddy Palace, the one that looks like a flower one? Find it pretty good. But i dont rely on the sound cos static here very bad (they still building ICC here) so i switch off the sound and used the visual only

SAHM
Kam, aiyah, not necessarily be SAHM = lock in four walls with baby. Like u said this topic always came up every now and then. The pros and cons are very different.

Last time being a first time mommy, i also tot i will go crazy cos felt confined and i've always been the type who likes to go out, travel, work, meet people. I am totally NOT a xian qi liang mu at all. Sometimes when i'm cooking in the kitchen, my sis will laugh and said she never imagine me doing this one day, out of ALL the sisters, i'm the least to be expected to be a SAHM...so if I CAN be SAHM, i think ANYONE can be SAHM. But i agree it's really a personal thing. I have to combat with my personal wants (freedom/adult time) vs the idea of letting someone else take care of my child. A mommy told me to stop thinking why why why am i confined at home. It's our time, our schedule, our life mah...so take charge and u can still enjoy being a SAHM. Once i get around to the idea that a baby is like this and i'm not giving up my life BUT simply putting it on hold for the time being while waiting for her to grow up, then i'm more at peace and not pulling my hairs out and thinking that i'm going crazy. Having said that, i have not attained "SAHM Nirvana" yet lah...there are STILL times i'm feeling bored, and when i do, i'll definitely pack and take Rylee go out for a walk or something.

JanBB
Aiyoh, no need to wait until both kids reach secondary school before u go out to work again lah, so kua cheong. Primary can oredi lah. Haha. U always challenge me "gan gan lai" to try #2, how come u so scared to take the leap of being a SAHM, i also jio u, gan gan lai join the SAHM club lah....kekekeke