(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Fern:

Can see that you are very caution when feeding your boy.

Cos if you have the time to cook twice a day, then it's of course better, can use different ingredient also, better vits and minerals intake. Just don't make yourself too tired..... you should enjoy the process and not to stress out. But suppose you have your maid to help in cooking, no stress for you :)

Egg can be whole egg already. If you haven't introduce egg white, can start introducing slowly. My boy has been taking whole egg for 2+ months now.

When we go out, we let our boy eat adult food, as long as it's not too sweet or salty. Of course will bring cereal and milk and biscuits to stand by.

How do you judge your boy is overeat? What is his weight now?

mandy,

I have tried given my boy the supermarket type of tofu, and the wet market type of tofu, even those so-call home-made tofu at restaurant. All okay :)

Pixel Pixel,

Ya, I guess different parents have differnce liking and dislikes in caring for their kids. I am not offended. Will take your comments in mind too

Kam,

Being a first time mummy, I am pretty concerened over my son's diet as its very important to me.
My pedetric prefers cooking twice the meal even if its in the conventional slow cooker as he personally feels its fresher that way unless we do not have time then of cos we dont have a choice yeah? Re eggs, he recommened that ELias takes only egg yolk for now till he is three then can give whole egg yah.. He recommedned hard boil and not half boil only. As Elias doesnt like hard boil egg, I was thinking of putting the eff yolk to porriage lor. I presume its ok?

Egg in porridge??

WOndering if i can break an egg into the porridge and cook it throughly and feed it to baby??? ANyone tried that??

Cereal for Baby...
Any brands to recommend???

Frying for Baby...
have to use oil to fry eg. scrambled eggs....would it be too oily for baby??

Fern,

Why your PD recommend whole egg after 3 yr? Elias has allergy issue?

Yes, just the egg yolk is as good as whole egg. All the goodness of an egg is in the yolk.

Mandy,

I tried breaking an egg into soup and give to my boy. Haven't tried the porridge though (cos I seldom cook porridge :p)

Cereal - I only bought from Nestle. No particular reason.

Frying for baby - use just a little bit of olive oil. Or use unsalted butter.

Mummies who have travel with toddlers...
Maybe bring baby to China in June. I am scratching my head on what to let baby eat in CHina. Do i really need to bring rice and cook with a portable cooker in the hotel??? What about the ingredients then??

mei,
I only can think of cruise or bintan, simple place just stay and chalet or something like that.

Genting also not bad idea, like malaysia airline have good promotion for tix to KL, just $49 per trip, air asia $39.

1 way is to get friends then drives together. Quite fun.

Fern,

Oh I see. No wonder. Yes, in that case, you want to play safe than to be sorry.

Is he okay with all other food you have given him so far? If he is okay, then can try on more different types of vegetables.

just to check,
if i wan to add potato in vernon porridge, i just the potato into small small pieces den put inside his porridge or mash it den put inside?

sometime i tot vernon overeat his porridge leh, he really can eat alot of porridge loh.. his intake of porridge per meal is like 2 of a rice bowl, is it alot??

cheryl,

I didn't try potato before. But I tried sweet potato. For sweet potato, it's okay to cut into small piece and cook together with the porridge. You can try it out. Or if you want, boil the potato until soft, then cook together with the porridge. No need to mash already lor.

Monitor by his weight gain. If he maintains at the same percentile, then it's okay. Unless he gained too much weight = overeat.

Cheryl,

Then he is not over-eat?!?!! It's okay to feed as him as much as he is willing to take, as long as you make sure you are not force-feeding him. Every baby is different, your boy may need to eat more?

Mei,

Carribean Cruise?

Kam,
Ur Hao Re very good le..This is not the first time he won something already right..Photoshoot la..baby show, now 1st runner up..

<font color="0000ff">Cheryl,</font>

I've tried potaotes, pumpkins, sweet potatoes for mine. Use either one of the above to cook with porridge. In additional, I added broccoli, fish, pork etc.

congrats to Kam &amp; Hao Re.

Re: LNT
Javier enjoys the singing and the flash cards when the music are played. But I find the other flash cards are too fast as well. Hubby says finish all 3 trial lessons then decide on registration.

<font color="0000ff">Verene,</font>

Nice meeting you yesterday! My hubby also commented on the fast flash cards but then he said it was alright since our little ones have short attention span.

Have been MIA for a few days...so much to catch up. My younger brother had his wedding solemnization on sunday night so took leave today. Brought my boy to botanic gardens and walked all the way to Jacobs Ballas Children Garden only to find it closed on Mondays....arrrgggghhhh!

Re: Valentine's Day
Nothing special but I cooked bah kwa fried rice for dinner...tried out pixiepixel's recipe. Good leh...cooked again today.

Fern,
Our bbs are over 1 year old already, should try to increase their solids to 3 meals a day. Milk is no longer sufficient for their growing needs so they need more nutrients from solids. Besides porridge, can also give oats, pasta, mee sua, etc. They can have whole eggs by now unless there's an allergy issue. In fact should try to introduce a range of food (healthy ones) to them so they will not become picky eaters.

Re: Cereal
I like the Heinz Apple &amp; Museli cereal. It has more texture due to the museli...I will also add chopped rasins to it. My boy prefers to have texture in his food so he doesn't like very smooth/watery cereal.

Re: LNT
The trial class seems like fun. I wanted to let my boy attend the class at the Hougang Branch but can't fit into his schedule since he'll be going to chicken pox jab next month and MMR the month after.

Kam,
Congrats to you and Hao Re for win!!

hi, yvonne, received the pigeon breast pads. Thanks. ü

fern, what yvonne shared is right. I asked pd recently how much should a 1 year old eat cos raeanne is only 8.7kg. Her weight increased super slowly cos she reached 8kg at 8 mths. Pd said should have 3 solids n 2 milk feeds. Each Solid serving should have 6 ounces or 180ml. From there i realise raeanne gets enough porridge for lunch n dinner but not enough for breakfast cereal cos dun have 180ml.

gd morning everyone...

had a happening day yesterday. went down to HDB, supposed to sign the agreement of lease. but end up cos we wanted to appeal for the additional housing grant, we did not sign. so next time got to go down again.

end up went home, i heard that my MIL asked my maid to wash the toilet cos it was very dirty. so end up when i talked to my maid, she cried. cos she say Sunday, my SIL's maid washed the toilet for her. She is the maid in our house but end up another maid got to do her work. and she also say she very bored at our house. hiyo... i really dun understand lei. bored also can complain ah. i never pick on her on she take care of Javier, so housework i close one eye. end up i am so tired, i told my hubby duno y i hired someone to add on to my problems when she is supposed to lighten my load. at work gt to entertain boss, at home have to entertain my maid ah? siao.....

all these issues really dun make me wana have #2. if #2 really comes, i duno wat to do man. our plan is to send Javier to CC once no more maid.. but if #2 comes, got to hire one again?

Kam,
check with you, how much is Hao Re's CC per month? when #2 comes, are u going to put him/her in also?

sorry ah.. so early in the morning complain so much....

Eh what class you all attending ah? Can someone email me the details? Got no time AT ALL to surf the net. Now, eating snake in office.

Blackbatz,

No lah, only this baby contest won a prize. The photoshot not selected to be featured for their magazine cover. The baby show also won nothing. Rather than doing the same activities every week, we try to let Hao Re try something different.

Oh, actually went to the Hort Park after the contest on Saturday. The park is actually very nice, esp has a big nice patch of green allowing your kids to run/play on it. We will definitely go back to Hort Park one day.

Jess,

I am paying $1000 per month now for the infant care (PR has $0 subsidy from 2009 onwards). But the centre is charging the other parents $1200 per month (they have $600 subsidy). Yes, no doubt, my #2 will be sent to the same place.

Yvonne: we also went botanic gardens for lunch but itz on sat aft e LNT trial.. didnt go to Jacobs Balla becos hb got a late afternoon flight.. itz a nice place, we went there wen he was 6mths old.

mei: hk is not a bb friendly place but they will immediately giv up their seat to u in e mtr.. we went last mth, i was carrying bb and hb was taking those shopping bags. some of them not only giv up their seat to mi and to my hb too..

i'm gg bangkok dis sat, any idea whr can i find bb clothing?

I am tested +ve yseterday.....
Does anyone suffered from bad gastric pain during pregnancy? #1 dun have this problem. I have been taking gastric pills for the past 2 weeks. only yesterday got a weird feeling got missed menses for 5 days to just buy test kit to test. Breast also feel a bit painful and the wole chest is like got some thing compress on it.

cheryl
baby's milk bottles hv markings... u can try using that to measure. Or some plastic containers also hv such markings.

kitsune,
No problem, hopefully the breast pads will come to good use after sitting in my boy's drawer for such a long time...hehe.

Jess,
Aiyo, headache right? Hiring maid really depends alot on luck lor. Sometimes hire already only create more problems instead of solving the problem which is the reason why you hired one in the first place. Gotta close one eye and one ear lah.

Lynn,
I will go again next time...but will go straight to the entrance near the Jacob Ballas Garden...haha. But overall the place is really nice. Shall try Hort Park soon.

Jacelyn
Congrats!!!!

Kam,
very expensive to send both over hor. dun think financially me and my hubby can cope lei.... must really think of something.... so sianz....

Lynn
enjoy ur holiday!!!
Envy envy.. keke

Kam

I am staying at MIL house at verde view. Near to the CCK swimming complex. By the way u at how many weeks now?

I am feeling super not all rite today!!!!

yvonne
ya lor.. i really very sianz. she has been around for a year already. but i think recently she is either playing stunt or watever ba. if she really says she wants to go back home, i will gladly send her back and send Javier to a CC.....

Jacelyn,

I also got problems with my maid, but fortunately her contract is ending soon in may. Duno whether to get a single n indo maid again, anybody with maids got good suggestions for me?

Jess,
But if you really need someone to do the housework and help out in-laws with Javier then no choice, maybe let her go back and change another maid? If can do without then better lah although you'll have to find time to clear the housework yourself.

Since giving birth until now, I've been contemplating to get some part-time help but still no action...haha. Hubby reminded me that I've been talking about it for over a year liao. But actually it's getting easier now that our kiddos are older, although I have to say the initial months were really stressful without help. But it can be done.

yvonne
ah, i thought initial months when they're immobile &amp; only drinking liquids... that's the easiest time to get chores done.

jacelyn: congrats! is this pregnancy planned? keekee.. so many mummies are preggie, mus take gd care during this bad weather

Jacelyn,
Just in time for a "Ox" baby!!

TESTING TIME:
Who knows the "Ox" baby queue order??
Pls edit if u know oki??

i) Yunbb - boy (Rat yr - dec08)
ii) Steph - boy (Feb09)
iii)Joyce - boy (Feb 09)
iv) janbb - girl (EDD July)
v) Angelsky - ? (EDD July)
vi) Kam - ? (EDD sept?)
vii) Jacelyn - ? (EDD ?)

This is actually a planned pregnancy. But hor, I only use the home test kit to test then it shows positive. Now, scare the kit dunno got error or not. Should i buy one more to test?

Janbb,
My EDD sholud be in Oct. Will go to gynea this sat for a scan. Do u have breast soreness? I can feel a bit of tenderness at the side of my right breast. All the symptoms like different from #1.

yvonne
can just send her back like tat meh? need to have reasons de rite? she has been with me for a year, so contract will end next year March like that.
if nw can send her back, i seriously dun mind. can put Javier in CC. household chore can either weekend do ourselves or hire a part time hourly maid...

wendyg,
Maybe I'm 1st time mum so being all alone at home with a little helpless fellow who's crying for milk every 2hrs was pretty stressful for me....hahaha! But I prefer it now, at least my boy can play and "communicate" with me more rather than just crying and dunno what he wants! Of course chasing after him and preventing him from doing dangerous things can drive me crazy but I enjoy it more.

Jess,
I seriously have no idea??? But if she wants to quit and go back on her own accord??? Hee...I also never employ maid before so dunno anything...all just hearsay from friends and colleagues.

Jacelyn
No for the breast soreness &amp; gastric pain that u mention earlier. Only find that tum tum revealed in 2nd mth (so much earlier) which is diff from #1. The rest like MS &amp; appetite lost in 1st tri is exactly the same. Btw, do check with your gynae on the gastric pain pill that u took for the past 2 weeks. Your #1 is call Javin is it huh?

I think i miss out SUPERBEE:
#2/#3 "OX" Baby:
i) Yunbb - boy (Rat yr - dec08)
ii) Steph - boy (Feb09)
iii)Joyce - boy (Feb 09)
iv) Superbee - ? (EDD Jun 09)
v) janbb - girl (EDD July 09)
vi) Angelsky - ? (EDD July 09)
vii) Kam - ? (EDD sept 09)
viii) Jacelyn - ? (EDD Oct 09)

Wow we got 8 liao.... more to come... spreading baby dusts ; )