(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

icy
i was expressing disbelief @ the sticker in the poo. I will see how re Jap trial class.

Kam
oh wow, congrats to u!! Did he show off his beer belly to the judges, i think that would've stole the show.. haha.

i prefer baby contests where there's a panel of judges, not those that are determined by SMS voting.

Kam,
Congrats!! Woah, Hao Re don't have stage fright at all. Cool.

wendy,
haha I realised it now. It was like a small 5 cents size sticker. I wonder if it is the cause of his extreme drooling for that day. Maybe the glue stuck in his tongue or what. So careless of me.

Kam
Congrats!! Can train HaoRe to be "future little star" ;)

violetice
got your email but can't open in offce. Will go home & download. Nice pix taken by your hubby ;)Me didn't take much pix cos' HP camera memory is faulty. Thanks.

Mandy
Re: LNT
My hubby agreed with what your hubby described, the teacher seem to "give away" the materials very fast. Perhaps their prog is quite packed, can't slow down. And he said that her flashcards is flashing very fast, faster than BJG. My hubby finds my boy is not very attentive when comes to flashcards, he easily got distracted & kpo at other babies rather focus at the teacher. Hai, faint!! Wonder is it over stimulated him during BJG classes, he always look away even we tried to do flashcards at home ourselves. But when come to songs & activity, he enjoyed it.

kam,
congrats. what a nice experience!!!!

Icy
wah, lucky it came out in the poopoo.heehee.. when we were attending the briefing, my hubby took care of Javier. he also saw the sticker missing. then he realised it was in his mouth... he managed to 'retrieve' it out in time. haha....
conclusion: sticker is not suitable for them at all!!!! tooo Smalll!!!!

Icy: thks for organising e trial, we gg overseas for a short trip next sat so cant make it. see ya on e 28feb. Is e branch of LNT at parkway e same as Pomo branch? becos parkway was nearer to us...
e pasta and sticker all so small i was so afraid Rayden will put it into his mouth.. is there some discount if we sign up together?

QQ: agreed TT is so cute. whenever TT make a noise my bb Rayden will follow.. Is it their way of communication?! hehehee!

Kam: congrats!

lynn: parkway br got no free trial. u need to pay $150 for the trial. i called them before.

janbb: ya, they flashed the cards realli fast, i myself cant catch up.. and dunno understand a thing in jap!
anyone here decide to sign up with them?

Thanks! We are still thinking whether to keep the exersaucer for Hao Re's little bro/sis, or to sell it (cos we already have an exersaucer at home). How nice if this is a cash prize :)

Wendyg,

Ya-lor, I also like those competetion judged by judges and not through voting. This one is a very well organized event. They made the contest short (1 hour each day only) so that babies/toddlers and parents won't get too tired. Much much much better than the one we went at the kembangan cc.

Lynn,
Actually they are all franchises I suppose the class is all the same as they under the same HQ. But each branch have different boss - so definately they wont encourage us o go another branch. Each one have different promotion, have to call and ask. Actually I also prefer the parkway cos nearer, was asking hb abt his opinion.. he says attend the 2 more then decide, see if we like the teacher there.

jess,
I learn my lesson.. was laughing quite hard cs the sticker was like brand new.. He must have just simply swallow it.

Japanese was contact by this Japanese Native teacher who had a british hb. So she speak Japanese and simple english.. her engish a bit "japanese style".

sorry, i wanna ask something
should i go back to the same PD i went last week, or get 2nd opinion abt my son's marathon fever? what should i do?

wendy
harnah, my bm are all frozen and thawed so got fishy smell...he reject...dunno coz he is sick now and is picky about food...or permanently rejecting bm...he even gagged when i stuffed him the bottle yest...so now all fm liao. hopefully he takes my bm after he recovers, else i need to donate my bm...
eh, bm can sell off or not huh? muahahaha

Wow! Seems you guys really enjoyed the trial class a lot! I always seems to miss most stuff! Havent met up many of you! haha! As I seldom check up these thread nowadays. lol

Really like join you guys someday and also with my ELias... Hehe. Do drop me a note in my blog next time yah? Heh! Wana meet up with you and your babes too! So does Elias
Heh!

I really at a lost now.

My Elias been hungry really often. WE been giving him three hourly milk feed in a 3 hour duration and his daily schedule goes these way:

Morning 7 am- 8 oz mik feed
10am- Cereal with fruit puree or Gerber banana and strawberry yougurt.
1pm- 8 oz milk feed with some fruit puree at times.
4pm- 8 oz milk feed
6.15 pm- Porriage with fish and veg.
and the three hourly milk feed continues till last milk feed at 9.30/10PM.

However, he always gets hungry b4 his three hourly time, SO i am rather concerned if he is eating enough? I also give him in between snacks like cheese and Gerber biscuits.

Now, I am wondering if I should give him 3 solids instead . like Nestle cereal must mix with brown rice as he refuses yesterday and the other solid food his usual frisocream cereal or what should I do huh? I feel three solid food might be too much for him Hiaz. So wondering your darlings now taking 2 or three solid food.

If its 3, what else can we give him instead of 2 cereal and one porriage? SInce I buy the nestle, I will alternate for him. But wondering what other nourishing solid good for them at this age?

Can I have some guide here?

Fern

pixie
give fresh ebm la, why need to freeze. My frozen stock only used for emergencies, & when going to "expire".

U try to sell lor... some desparate mums may buy (?!) but i see more people give away than sell. Only that time in China, due to melamine scare, one enterprising mum was selling her ebm. Wonder if she made her fortune...

i used to give to someone who lives in Punggol Blk 205.. but i lost her tel when my hp died. sianz.

fern, why dont you subsitute your 1pm milk feed to porridge? meaning you have porridge for lunch and dinner. i think 2 solids are the standard amongst us mummies here...

imho, snack is subjective. a small banana is a snack but filling enough. if its puree, yogurt, biscuits etc - my boy gets hungry before his 3 hourly feed too. so i give more substantial snacks like wholemeal bread, or half of a fruit, small cup of oat cereal, or a small bottle of self made pudding. maybe my boy is big eater. but if your boy wants food before his scheduled feed, can give him more lah. wont get fat if the food are all healthy, yes?

wendy, i have 50pkts, some are long time ago. need to freeze them or else will expire! my output is way more than what my boy consumes ley
most prob give away if my boy doesnt wants bm anymore...sob sob...so sad...attached to pumping liao hoho

mylvera
cannot leh, i waiting for my boss to have her #1, she TCC-ing now. so she have her #1 liao then i will have #2, and close shop forever....yay!!!!!!!!!!

pixie
my boy takes fresh ones as far as i can help it. I will give him thawed febm if fresh ones not enuf. I gave away lots of febm last year, nearing expiry. Win win win situation for all... helped me to clear my freezer space for newly frozen ebm, helped her boy to poo easier, save her some $$ on FM. Her boy older than Tobey abt 6 months, her bm supply couldn't match his demand.

Fern:

For your reference:

My boy feeding schedule at infant care:

8am - rice/brown rice/wheat/oak cereal
10am - milk (7oz)
12.30pm - porridge + fruit
3pm - milk
5pm - porridge
7pm - snack (yogurt, fruit, biscuit)
9pm - milk - bedtime
If still haven't go to bed, another milk feeding at 11pm. Then bedtime.

My boy's feeding schedule during weekend (at home):

8am - cereal or bread + egg
10-11am - milk
2-3pm - porridge/rice (if didn't cook anything, will be cereal)
5pm - milk if he wants to take a nap. If no nap, no milk.
6-7pm - rice
9pm - milk
(when at home, he snacks a lot of fruits, yogurt and biscuits).

What to give our boys - ANYTHING!!!

Saturday, I cooked the lotus root soup. Then use the soup to cook mee-sua for my boy, plus 1 boiled egg, and let him take some of the pork also.

Sunday, I cooked the "lao huang gua" soup. Let Hao Re took rice with the soup, plus 1 boiled egg, and also gave him the lao huang gua and pork.

Cereal and porridge are semi-solid, to be precise.

If there is only 1 thing I can choose to give to my boy at this stage - I would say egg. I aim to give him 1 egg per day.

pixie,
Heard from my fnd that her colleague used her brm to make eggtarts!!! And even distributed to them, haha. Some even commented VERY NICE, not sure whether they are aware of the REAL solid ingredient. You can try to make yogurts??

violetice
Office blocked certain access. Even the chatbox in some of your blogs also kana blocked.

Fern
Long time no see, last read u asking me abt Fisherprice sale... juz wanna tell u it will be a yearly dec sale at Lok Yang. Perhaps keep a lookout in our thread end of this yr, if i know the info of the sale, will sure post here ;)
Btw, i saw you, your hubby & your boy some months ago at suntec city. Hee, recognise your boy cos' been reading your blogs ;) But paiseh to "say hi"!! Join us for trial next time oki!!

Re: meals schedule
Maybe u can consider this:
9am: B'fast - Cereal
12noon Lunch - Porridge
3pm - Milk or bread/biscuit & fruits
6pm Dinner - Porridge
8 or 9pm - Milk
Last milk feed at 12pm or 1am
Earliest milk feed at 6 or 7am

jess,

belated valentine's day celebrations?? Hehhehe

Janbb,
So what are ur thoughts about signing up??? TOld hubby that i will sit in for the next lesson and see how...My hubby also commented that the flash cards were too fast. He cannot even catch a thing :p Teacher was more preoccuped in dishing out materials rather than the teacher with student interaction. I think if there are too many activites, probably should cut down cos i rather have a few done successfully rather than doing so many skimpily and rushing through them. Just my thoughts, probably an occupational hazard too.. ehheheh

violetice,
Nice meeting you yesterday....

Other mommies in yesterday LNT trial,
Nice meeting u too, maybe can identify yourself....??

Fern,
Here's X's meal schedules

9am - Milk & some bread/Biscuit
12 - porriage
3pm - milk
4-5pm - Fruits
7pm - porriage
10pm - Milk

Other than that, we kind of give him everything except food which is too salty or sweet.

Kam,
I am also thinking of giving hard boil egg every morning to X. I think my boy a bit on the skinny side, wanna build up his fat. I let him eat some mince meat for lunch and dinner, end up his poo got very hard.

mandy
ah, we're on facebook, many hv blogs.. i think can easily match face to name/ nick right? Only 5-6 mums per class.

Fern,

This is my girl's schedule.

8am - Milk (5oz)
10am - Brunch (rice, pasta etc)
12pm - Milk, nap (5-6oz)
2-3pm - bread, cheese, biscuit, fruit
4pm - Milk (5oz)
6pm - Dinner (same as brunch)
8-9pm - Milk, sleep (5oz)

just went for Lexie's 13mth chickenpox jab today.
She's 8.5kg and 74cm tall. Zhun Zhun 50th percentile.
Happy Mummy =D

Mandy,
Next lesson will be Jap class. Think sure catch no ball, haha. I will con't to let my hubby attend next lesson too & hope TCC open soon. Craving for cheesecake again ;)
We hv not decided to sign up or not. Will decide after 3 trial classes. How abt u? Your hubby find BJG better ah?

here is my gal's schedule:
8-9am - Milk (240ml)
12-1pm - porridge/pasta/mee sua/ rice
5pm - brown rice porridge
9pm - milk (240ml)

in between of the meals, have biscuit/banana to eat

Hubby cooked a valentine's dinner for me on Saturday. He also did the wash up which he knows i hate ehhehe...and i got to play with Jayden the whole day while he busied himself in the kitchen ehheheh
2163707.jpg
2163708.jpg

Thanks for those who replied.

It seems there's no hard and fast rule kind. haha! Everyone seems to be so different Oh dear! Ha!

I guess I will continue with two soli meals first lor.

I thought of changing mine as follows :

8/8.30am- Cereal with brown rice mixed together.
12PM - Porriage?
3PM- 8 OZ milk
6.15- Porriage again?

Instead of his current schedule as follows:

7am- 8 oz milk
10am- Cereal
1Pm- Milk with fruit puree
4pm- Milk
6.15- Porriage.

And in between Gerber bisuits and laughing cow cheese .

Breakfast- Once a week only Hard boil egg yolk? How come he doesnt like huh? and bread dipped in milk?

Can I check if he takes porriage twice a day? Wouldnt it be sian? Same ingrdiants for lunch and dinner. Usually, my maid put pork for taste not to eat, threadfin fish, potato, sometimes carrots and cauliflower.. Yah. like that. DOes it mean lunch same old thing?

Need new inputs and ideas for me please?

Also if porriage lunch and dinner twice, does it mean cook twice or can just put in slow cooker. Lets say 11 start cooking his porriage and then cook extra leave in slow cooker till dinner at 6.15? My mil says ok but I dont like the idea cos I feel its so not fresh? Keeping porriage left over for 6 whole hours? WOnt it be bad for Elias?

Kindly reply me? thanks!

Jan BB- Wow! You can recognise Elias and me? Oh dear! Thats so paiseh! Imagine people recognising me. Haha! yea, I really look forward to Fisherpirce sale as I am sure we can get many good buys yeah? How's your no 2 pregnancy going along? Hehe!

Sure, hope to be able to make time for next trial if time permits! You take care too!

Fern

Fern,

As long as you make sure the slow cooker cover is put on nicely (so that no microorganism can go in), should be still consider "fresh" even after 6 hours. If you are concern, reboil the porridge until bubbling hot.

If your boy doesn't like boil egg, can try fried egg, scramble egg, omelette, etc. Or can mix the egg into the porridge. Or make french toast (dip bread in egg and fried).

Try mee-sua or noodle or pasta or rice, instead of just porridge?

As long as your boy doesn't reject the food, then it's still consider okay, he still hasn't find the "sian". But you may want to try on more variety rather than waiting for him to "complain".

<font color="0000ff">Fern,</font>

I think you should replaced lunch with porridge too. More filling. Normally when giving porridge, my boy can stretched to 4 hours.

<font color="0000ff">JanBB,</font>

Ok, you go back and try to download tonight. If still cannot, I have to send via msn or one by one photo through email?

<font color="0000ff">Mandy_G</font>

Nice meeting you too!!!

fern
my baby has same flavour of porridge on the same day, regardless how many times he eats porridge for that day. So far my mum didn't say he get "sian". Weekends i give him cereal instd of porridge.. most times also same flavour for the whole weekend. He still eats ley.

re: porridge ingredients
- replace pork with chicken?
- add sweetcorn for the flavour?
- brocolli?
- pumpkin?
- add egg?
- add tofu?

try give your boy a larger serving of porridge?

Maybe I will add egg once a week only the yolk to the porriage right? Accroding to ped he cant take whites yet. And maybe see how, if he can tahan will stretch 4 hourly then give milk in case he overeats.

Kam,
I still do not like the idea of leaving porrigae in slow cooker 6 hours lei. I thought of lunch prepare 10 plus morning leave there till 1Pm serve - Can add egg yolk only for lunchie and dinner ask maid re cook all again this time without egg yolk just some new ingrediants like lunch spinach and dinner, caluliflower, something like that and for dinner preapre at 3.30 and leave it to cook in slow cooker and serve dinner at 6.15? Does this sounds better, fresher huh?

And there are days when I bring him out that I find cooking porriage very troblesome as smelly sia, Can i supplement that solid with cereal or those gerber bottled straberry bananana yougurt with some milk istead as an alternative huh?

Kindly revert.

fern

Kam congrats! wow great experience!

Xavier swollow the sticker keke oops TT stick on her water bottle ....

ai yo mummies in the trial class thanks for that .... hahah cos I feel so pai sei tat TT making so much noise i am so afraid she will end up like my frd's son got chase out LOL

Lynn ya I notice Rayden follow TT when she make a noise hahahaha
+

fern, my boy oso takes same porridge for lunch and dinner. he doesnt complain.
i think they dont/wont complain. its just food to them anyway. only adults will thinks its not right/fresh/good enuff. do you think that the quality of food would be compromised if stewed for too long? slow cooker brings out the flavour of the food if stewed for a long time.

if you dont like, then you can try this. cook 2 portions of rice. halfway thru when the rice starts to get mushy, scoop up 1 portion. leave it aside. cover. continue cooking the remaining for lunch. when its time for dinner, cook the portion that has been left aside. add fresh ingredients. boil more till rice turns porridge

my 2cents worth, dont be offended