(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Mei
Yes yes! Plan group trip to HK hehehehehe. HK weather in Mar is relatively hotter liao...altho of cos not as hot as Spore, but potentially quite humid too. Maybe around 22-25?

Joyce
Congrats and gambatte!!

Fern
So long never see u around too. My answers

1) Rylee still wear those overalls (covered feet) PJs from Mothercare cos here still quite cold at night. Once it's not cold anymore, i plan to let her wear normal 2 piece PJs without socks. Must let them get use to sleeping "normally" cos she not "baby" anymore.
2)She's oredi taking 3 solid meals plus snacks. Bfast, lunch, dinner
3) Yes, Rylee loves cheese
4) Gerber biscuits too!

grumpus
thanks for your suggestions. To be frank, all your suggestions, i tried with Rylee liao. Giving her own spoon, plate, but she will want the ONE that I AM holding. Last time i also trick her by pretending to eat her food, she's not buying it. I also tried to put the food into her mouth while she opened it to bite her own spoon, kena "scolded" by her, angrily refused to open anymore. Sigh.

For those interested in the Kate Spade bag...here it is

2146556.jpg

I love the padded exterior, very comfy to carry

2146557.jpg

Internal view - roomy and got zip compartment to keep valuables while keeping the 2 sides open for easy access

2146558.jpg

Short hook on each side for u to hang onto stroller - the yellow folded is the changing pad (comes with it)

Mylife,
That's one of the popular range of baby bag fom KS. Japs love them..How much did u pay ah? It retails for about $800 to $900 in S'pore

Blackbatz
Oh! I didnt know leh cos me not big fan of KS bags. Like i said, i was there to check prices, then the salesgirl (who knows i stay above Elements cos always see me pushing Rylee around) say got good deal for diaper bag, ask whether i want or not cos last piece. Anyway, i paid HKD1960 for it. Hohoho, seems like more than 50% wor. No wonder the girl said the Japs housewife ran down to get it. Literally.

mei, add me to the email list. U got my details right? Been missing out quite a bit due to work. Hope I can on track soon and catch up with all of you.

WEar socks to sleep
I still put on for Abel coz sleep aircon room unless I forget.

Mylife, have u tried to put dried scallop in your food? Make it tastier? If ur gal likes cheese, can try cheese macaroni.

hihi, mummies who were breastfeeding and latching babies to sleep. How did you manage to wean baby off? I'm going to stop BF liao. Saw gynae at KKH today and he advise to stop if I want to plan for no 2 cos no menses means no ovulation. Plus I have blocked duct again, first day away from work, go and report to KK LC. Sian. Latched RaeAnne to sleep just now, cannot suddenly stop also. After sleeping for about 1hr, she suddenly sat up and cry. Hubby try to pat but she cry even louder. I try to pat her, she continue to wail. Had to latch her before she stop crying and fall asleep again. See her like so kelian, but I really don't know what is the best way to stop BF.

Hi. Have been following this thread but this is the FIRST time I am writing something. Heh.

Pauline: I knew I wanted to stop BF after 1 year so I stopped latching my girl to sleep sometime in the 2nd half of last year. If she fall asleep, I will gently make more actions so she is at least half awake, if not open eyes and quickly carry her to sleep. Thing is to replace latching with something else. At least my hubby can also make her sleep.

Now I don't carry her to sleep. I am still partial latching the last feed (daytime feeds formula, finally after her refusing formula for 2 months, everyday straight). By that time, she will always fall asleep at my breast. Same thing, wake her up gently carry her a while, while she is still drowsy, I put her in her cot and hold her hand until she falls asleep. If she really cannot wake up at the breast no choice la. Faster put her down, run out. :p

Hi, in2grace. Welcome, welcome. When is your baby born? Jan 08 too? Are you at FTWM or SAHM?

Thanks for sharing your experience. So, you still latch the last feed, but don't let her fall asleep at your breast. Carry, pat and put her in cot? My baby been falling asleep on our bed, then we transfer her to cot when we want to sleep. Plus my baby is still not sleep through. Think it'll be even harder for me to transition her. Is yours sleeping through? :p

Pualine: Ya my girl 08/01/08 one.

SAHM so latch on whole year, she never took to the bottle until Nov and when I try to wean her. That's why only until mid Jan did she get used to the bottle. For 2 months, she did not want to drink from the bottle so either I fed her via syringe or no milk for that feed. No choice.

Once my girl started drinking formula on her own she slept through the night. Ya very tiring, tahan 1 year waking up at night. My girl used to wake up at night and play for 1-2 hours. Sooo frustrating!! You are still tahaning the night wakings, kudos to you.

The main thing is to replace the latching with something else. I heart soft so for half year carry and shake her to sleep until my knees pain. If not I patted her for sometimes up to an hour plus. Now just hold her hand and she can sleep. I won't do the Feber technique again. Did that 1st half of the year and IT WORKED! (cry 4 hours 1st night, 45 mins 2nd and 3rd night, few mins next few nights and few secs for some weeks) But she started to stand up at night to play, I couldn't leave her to cry for her safety. Now I just can't stand the 1-2 hour crying. I would be too angry at her for not giving up. Hahaha.

in2grace, serious? So if she dont take from bottle or stringe no milk for that feed? Hmmmm, wonder if I can try to get my girl to eat her solids that way. Your girl's birthday very lucky le, you chose the date?

omg how u tahan 4hr of crying... for my elder boy, we gave up after abt 45min crying and promised ourselves that we would never do it again. Recently husband forgot that promise and trying to make me do CIO with Tobey. I'm still resisting!

yday i jz let my ILs look after my #2 for the nite. I did not hear him screaming in the middle of the nite. wonder if it is a good idea to put him there permanently. haiz. like my elder son, he slept with my ILs till now he doesnt want to sleep with me.

morning mummies
bought my boy back home, let my mil rest. xandall still running slight fever, no high fever (yet) yest night. today work from home. dunno how to cope. alot of work to do leyyyyy

4 hours of crying?! is that in one shot or like cry one hr sleep one hr wake up cry again etc...
your girl got stamina man...

angelsky,
actually cold turkey is what one of my friends did. Literally the you don't want to drink then no milk for you until the next feeding time. Eventually her baby hungry enough will drink lor

angelsky,
sorry forgot to add..but hor u use that method must be very hard hearted one..and also strong enough to put up with ppls grumbling. My friend had to listen to her inlaws everyday say "aiyo so poor thing losing weight, so skinny already dunno what the mother doing also blah blah"

good morning....

My baby is 4.14kg by natural.....hehehe

Yvonne,
Yesterday i tried the cry out method.....he cried until very sad....my heart pain....after 15 mins took him out of the cot.....Jayden even tried to climb out of the cot....

I tahan lor. Actually more upset at my girl for not giving up. After so many months, cannot do Feber already. My girl lagi won't give up.

Haha. Just when I proudly announce my girl finally been sleeping thru the night she woke up last night to play for 2 plus hours. I was so angry man. Hope this won't carry on. It could be cos she was hungry cos she has been refusing food for some time, only like to drink the delicious Pediasure.....

actually no good to let baby cry for too long....might lead to 'asthma'...also they might really attempt to climb out of cot and they can be capable lor

up to certain point of age, they will just wanna sleep on their own.

only my view huh

Re: Cry It Out Method
Liked I've said, must be hard-hearted if you want to carry out this method. It's difficult to see them cry until so poor thing but it will get better with each day. Leave the room if you prefer not to watch/hear them cry. I just kept telling myself it's for his own good and have to persist no matter what. The 45 mins to 1 hr of crying is usually for the 1st and/or 2nd attempt. They kinda get the message after the 3rd day so they won't cry so hard after that. The results are really worth it! When they've learnt to sleep on their own, there'll be far less crying/crankiness during naps or bedtime in the years to come. Do the maths...it's worth the effort!

pauline, i am still latching on my boy to sleep....sometimes latch on liao, he dun sleep then i will pat him....at night, i still wake up 3-4 times a night....and latch him...he is more into comfort than milk

now that you are a SAHM, dun latch her on all the time. My friend also resigned from her work....her girl initially can drink from bottle...then with mummy, she just wanna latch on and now she reject bottle totally again...she is 1.5 yo now.

eNemum,
No lah, crying doesn't lead to asthma. Is that a myth? If you can see my boy now you'll understand...he's actually glad to go to his cot to sleep on his own. No more rocking or patting after his last bottle of milk. Even if he's still awake, he'll nudge me to put him in his cot and he'll go to sleep on his own.

Grumpus,
I agree, got to put up with all kinds of comments from people. That's why I sleep train my boy myself and my in-laws were surprised that it worked...the results shut them up! But no matter what we do, other people will have things to say so it's part and parcel of a mother's life! As long as we are doing our best for our kids, heck care what other have to say.

Ya. CIO actually works. The results can be amazing. But only if the parents are willing. It is very very painful in the beg. Now I no longer train my girl after we side track from training but everytime I want her to sleep, I say "Sleep" and she understands must lie down and try to sleep. So also got cooperation from her.

Mandy
Did u co-sleep with your boy? Or you used to carry him & pat him to sleep then put in the cot?

We hv been co-sleeping with my boy since 4mths+. But since 8mths+ onwards, he's able to sleep on his own. What i did was:
i) Set a sleeping time (i.e 8.30pm)
ii)Give him milk follow by his pillow & pacifier
iii)Lie beside him and watch him until he sleep
iv) Give him a few pat to tell him time to sleep.
v)He will start with flipping here & there and playing with pillow or pacifier but after awhile he will juz fall alseep. (Sometime can sleep within 10mins, sometimes take as long as 30mins,)
vi) Maybe when he has slept, u can move him into the cot? For me, i juz left him there & Zzz.

You may want to try instead to let him cry until u heartpain?

qq,

definitely not easy for mummy.....the doctor said try for natural so went for natural lor....

yvonne,

i will try again tonight.....

janbb,

he co-sleeps with us. Usually i will latch him on for the last feed and we both off to sleep....
But thought of trying to make him sleep on his own...The results from Yvonne seemed very good!!!

Mandy good leh u ... hehehe my gynae oso surprise TT is 3.7 hahaha ....

JanBB I oso let TT sleep on his own as in i put her on bed and tell her lie down ... she lie down and zzzzzzz sometime she still wanna play she will play with her piglet and sometime is I sleep first cos my husband say he can hear her singing still LOL

luca
Ya, me got this plan. May need to sleep in separate room, one adult take care of one baby first until #2 is big enuff to sleep with #1 & us. Cos' my fnd told me that if #2 cry for milk in the middle of the nite, the whole family will sure wake up. Heng, my bed is king size & hubby & me not veri big size, so still can put 2 babies in bet. Of cos' when they get older, muz shift them to their own room. Think i will sure get problem doing that, anyway, next time then think ba. Solve the current problem first, hee ;)

Yvonne,

For my boy, when he is at infant care, when teachers put him on rocker (I don't have one at home), rocks a few minutes, he falls asleep. No need harsh training :) While for night time, used to be very easy, between 8-9pm, when he felt like sleeping, he came look for me, I made milk and went to bedroom, he lie down finished the milk, and fall asleep.

But starting last Saturday till yesterday night, wah-lau, don't know what happened. He refused to sleep at 9pm. Even refused went to the bedroom. He is already so tired, until even can fall when walking/standing. And worst thing is he is not willing to play on his own, like he usually did, kept wanting me to CARRY. We are so tired ourselves after full day of work. Now we resorted to let him watch cartoon which is the only thing can make him sit guai guai, calm down and fall asleep. And that's not all. After sleeping through without waking up for close to 3 months, he now wakes up 2-3 times! Not for food, not to play. Don't know why, just made noise, hard to soothe him, take close to 1 hr to soothe him, maybe had nightmare? Just want me to carry and don't let me sit down. Until my back pain like hell...... Yesterday night is the worst, he woke up 3 times, last time at around 5.30am, and he did actually cry until sooooo poor thing, like kena beaten by someone like that. Aiyoh, hope this phase will go real fast.

For me, I will never do any hard-training on him. Can never be hard-hearted.

Janbb,

Better dun put #2 in between. Put her in a baby cot beside u la. Bb still so small, wad if #1 fliped or either of you flipped hit her? Better play safe.

janbb
Wah, you can put 2 babies inbetween ah!! My #1 got "wu ying jiao"(shadow legs kick). Let her kick you really see stars! We gana a few times when she always wanna sleep with us. Now we dun wan to sleep with her. Even when travelling, I ask hb to sleep with her! hahaha... If put 2 kids tog, I think my #2 will wake up with blue black from #1!

luca, jacelyn, mom2nat
i mean put #2 in bet with us when older & alternate the babies position with an adult. Of cos' cannot put infant beside by #1, heehee. My plan is to separate the 2 babies in diff room when #2 is born so that if either one make noise will not affect the other one.

Btw, how did you all manage with #1 & #2?

Kam,
Being hard-hearted does not mean we don't love them. Many of us would have read up on books about sleep training. It actually teaches the child to soothe themselves back to sleep if they wake up. That's why most bf mummies have difficulties becos their child would have associated nursing with sleeping or they need comfort sucking to help them go back to sleep. Even adults will wake up in the middle of the night but we know how to go back to sleep whereas for them, they don't know how to sleep without help in the form of breast/bottle/carrying/rocking/patting/pacifier/etc. By teaching them to sleep on their own, they become more calm and relax becos they no longer panic or struggle to find help to return to sleep.

Of course I'm also guilty of giving my boy the pacifier but that's on my "To Do List" as well…haha.

grumpus, my girl is not dont wanna drink milk, she dont wanna eat her solids, see milk she will grab. I tot I heard my PD say last time if she dont take solids then that feed also no milk, milk give at next feeding time. Coz now she still takes in more milk at each feed and its many milk feed. Headache. I also agree with you man, I told my mum, she stare at me and say how can starve my girl like that, must be I heard wrongly.

Mandy, salute you! Wow, your stamina very good le. I tried to let her cry out also, but she will also attempt to climb out of the cot and then in the end, the grand parents will come sayang and then she dont want me leow.

JanBB, for me when #2 comes, #1 going to upgrade to grandparents room, since now she also more or less grandpa and grandma's darling already.

pixie
hope your boy is feeling much better now.

Re: CIO Method
i am also trying to use this method. I am rather hard hearted. but my hubby just heartpain to see Javier cry so hard. so after 10mins, he will carry him. Nw Javier falls aslp by watching tv. we will put him to watch tv with us on the bed. after he falls aslp then we put him into his mattress on the floor. heehee

Yvonne,

Of course we always love our kids. But I just can't do it. Even reading the CIO method from the books, my heart already sinks. Before my boy slept through a few months back, I was too tired waking up in the nights. So I told my hubby I wanted to try the CIO method. Hubby didn't agree but he asked me to try out (he knew I can't do it anyway). So that night put him in his cot and I walked out of the room, he cried after 1 minute or so, I let him cry for like 3 minutes, then I cannot tahan already, went him and sayang him :p It's great you successfully did it!!! It's just not for me.

Talking about pacifier. Hao Re quit pacifier on his own when he was about 4 months old. So I am convinced one day he will be able to sleep on him own also without any training.

JanBB,

I think I will be the same as you. When my #2 is out, hubby and Hao Re will move to another room (pray hard Hao Re won't be as sticky as he is now). Me and #2 in 1 room. Till #2 can sleep through the night, then make another arrangement.

back from PD
PD told me its 2 virus back to back since xandall has high fever twice within 2 weeks.

they gave me so much milk/diaper samples that it was 3 big bags hohoho
30 sachets of enfagrow, 2 tins of similac, 8 pcs of huggies pullups *faint*