(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

yvonne
wat is rolled oats? Need to cook? which brand you buy? My son picky eater leh, everyday eat same thing... so boring.

wendyg
I find it boring cooking the same thing for him everyday, not he tell me. I wish he could. He oso not adventurous. Make me lazy to think oso. And he will refuse to open his mouth to eat. My girl easier when she younger, in this aspect.

for #1, i used to cook porridge for him, loaded with all sorts of yummilicious stuff, and he downed 1.5 bowls every meal.
now, the slow cooker is with my mum since she uses it Mon-Fri. Weekends either i stand over a pot on the stove for 1hr, stirring & making sure it doesn't overboil.. or i make instant 3min porridge which he doesn't like (maybe not watery enuf), or i give him cereal with fruit. The last option is the fastest and easiest on everyone. Husband busy with #1, or busy resting and can't help me watch #2 while he screams for me thru the kitchen gate... sometimes we go out on short notice, and i can't just leave the porridge half cooked etc...

surely, there are solutions - buy another mini-slow cooker, invest in those Thermos thingies that can continue cooking even after removal fr stove... maybe i'll be forced to do that if he gets sick of his weekend cereal feeds. Hopefully by then he can already take soupy rice.

Gd morning everyone... monday bluezzzz.....
and worst still, month end closing -_-"

Re: food for baby
i still give him porridge everyday cos really have nt much idea on what to give. so its just different ingredients in the porridge lor. if not it will be macaroni soup or cereal. heheeee.

Re: CNY
my hubby brought us to his sister's place during the weekend. end up she gave Javier crackers to eat. end up my hubby and me not happy. but as it is not my sis, i canot say anything. he told his sis: no wonder ur kids always sick.... hahahaaa

Mom2nat,
Rolled oats is oats lor...hehehe. Need to cook for about 20 mins...still faster than porridge. You can add chopped raisins or fruits after it's cooked. Oats helps in passing motion too

wendyg,
Actually you don't need to buy another mini slow cooker. Do you one of those thermos/Tiger/etc food jar or those thermal flask for hot water? It does the same trick. Just boil rice with ingredients over stove for 15-20 mins then transfer to the food jar or thermal flask. The porridge will "continue to cook" and turn into porridge texture in about 1-2 hours. The temperature is maintained in the food jar/thermal flask which helps to "cook" the porridge since the rice will continue to absorb the water and soften. So you can still cook porridge for your son even on short notice. I do that all the time.

Mom2nat,
I bought the Loewen (not sure if it's correct spelling) brand...but there's lots of brands in the supermarket.

Yesterday my cousin came visiting with her 2 kids. When I carried her 9 mths old daughter, my boy's face turned red immediately and he cried big time...haha. Didn't expect him to be so jealous since he likes looking at babies and playing with my nieces, etc. Jealousy is really an instinct for them...hehe.

Anyway, carrying her daughter was a breeze...so light. I think only about 6-7kg as compared to my little giant who was already 10kg when he was 9 mths. But she really can scream...hehe...just as loud as my boy.

yvonne
nopey i dun own any other food jar.. and my thermos hot water flask is in use. isn't it a bit icky to use water jar to cook porridge.. hard to wash ley.

wendyg,
Actually quite ok since porridge is not oily. I have a food jar but my in-laws also gave me an extra 350ml thermal flask which I use the bring out porridge sometimes. Just rinse with some soapy water and it's clean. The porridge won't stick in the flask ley.

wendyg,
Actually you can buy a small food jar, Thermos brand quite cheap ley...around $20 I remember but that's the small one which is just nice for 1 portion of porridge. You can consider buying one?

morning mummies

Maybe you want to consider buying those 2.5L magic cooker. I bought them during Dec Isetan Sales and it really helps. Just need to boil the porridge for 10 mins and put the pot into the thermal. It will be cooked in an hr or so. Best is that you can also steam your fish with the porridge as it comes with a small pot.

In doing so, It gives me more time to manage the little one and also if we are going out I can take the whole thermal out :p

Serene,
Those magic cooked are very big right? I ever saw it in Taka and even the smallest one is way too bulky...unless I have a maid to carry it for me...hehehe. I prefer to use food jar which I can conveniently dump into the diaper bag...already have too many things to bring out so can't afford to carry bulky & heavy things.

I have the Tiger Porridge thermal, that day which scooping the porridge inside, saw a lot of tiny ants, came oozing out from a corner of the container, outside the flask, near the handle, so scary, like whole army!

violetlce

Less than $40 dollars. Bigger than our thermo but not really very bulky. I like it because I don't hv to stand on the stove stirring the porridge and I will just transfer the porridge to the food jar if I am going out.

I will only bring the magic cooker out if I need to be out before lunch.

there's another way for me... to bring home the slow cooker every Fri evening. ooooh, means i gotto stock up the ingredients for the porridge.. meat/ fish/ sweetcorn/ tofu etc.. thinking about it.. *yawn*

I dun think i can manage another food jar/ magic cooker when i go out. Coz already many things to carry.. husband complaining. Anyways, we hardly go out whole day shopping... mostly it's to ILs place or my granny's place. So praying that baby can take soupy rice soon, then his menu can be expanded & i dun hv to bother with cooking porridge for him.

morning mummies
back from loooonng break, no mood to work too

wendy, u cook porridge, need 1 hr ah? i oso stand over stove, ard half hr leh....
if i need to go out, i cook porridge liao then dump into the thermos cup. lazy lah...you know those cups ppl use to take coffee in the office kind...can keep warm for ard 4 hrs...i cook liao then dump in, just nice to store the quantity i need for my boy...cup not too small, not too big...wash liao still can use to heat up milk outside too...dual use
sometimes i super lazy, i make porridge within 20mins....oso over stove kind...shorten your cooking time lah

pixie
i can't afford the time to stand over stove la. I'm cooking brown rice porridge, maybe takes longer. I dun buy special porridge rice grains ley. And my this boy, easy to gag... we give him soft food, less heart-attack.

macaroni... hv to try it. cook 10min? if want very soft cook 15min?

<font color="0000ff">wendgy,</font>

Washed off the ants under the running tap and more ants came out from under the handle! Wanted to dump the whole thing away but Hubby came over and washed it off, knocking here and there for the ants to come out from their hiding place. Yucks. I don't dare to use it but he said now ok liao and also it's outside, not inside the flask.. Still doubtful, won't be using it for these few days...

same thing happened with a plastic picnic tub.. meant to keep food warm, or for ice bucket.. the difference was that this tub was around for... 20 YEARS?!?! and my mum didn't know what to do with it, so plonked in my home. Alamak, i traced the ant trail from my dustbin to the tub and i freaked out... there was no food in the tub, has been disused.. and even a strong plastic smell, but the ants make a nest in there?!?! I threw it out immediately. Piece of junk that brought ants to my home. arggghh

wendyg, u ask ur hubbie whether he feel lonely with no sons lo? I think once in a while my dad would wish that he had a son that he can play golf and talk with him instead of his 2 daughters who always side with their mummy
. But well, when hes got son in laws they are also his sons lo? But if I dont have a daughter I would feel lonely lo, coz my hubbie already telling me if #2 is a daughter AGAIN, he would be so lonely.

JanBB, GOOD for you
. Now just nice, you got both son and daughter. Hopefully my #2 is a boy, a lot of pressure man. All my relatives, or rather my hubbie relatives ask me to go for #3 if its a girl. But raising a child in SG is darn ex man.

I think the richest in my family is my girl now, shes got the most red packet this year. At least help us cover the amount of red packet we gave out this year, only did not managed to cover the catering cost for her birthday which is super ex, since we had it during CNY. Will post her pictures up shortly if I managed to. Stay tuned.

angelsky
ah, i hv 2 sons, my husband will not be lonely ley?
my dad has 2 daughters- me and my sis. he hangs out with his frens, talks to my mum.. sometimes he talks to me abt family stuff.. from young he sort of treated me like a boy.. wanted to teach me how to change car tyre (but i dunno la), change light bulb, repair leaking tap etc. Thank God i married a man who knows how to do all these, o'wise really i gotto roll up my sleeves wor. hahahaha.

lasttime no ultrasound scan, my dad thought i was a boy &amp; prepared boy's english &amp; chinese name for me. And auspicious year sommore. Alas, i'm a girl, and they guai guai stopped at 2... very pro govt.

haiz, is really a son so impt? really dun understand lei. i think health is most impt. though mine is a son, but when he was born, he had to undergo operation liao. i was super sad then. so nw, i strongly believe health is super duper impt. gender doesnt matter ba.

but of cos i knw if it is a boy, can minimize alot of pressure. my in laws waited for 10 years than got this grandson cos my hubby's bro got 2 daughters...

jess
yes i'm of the same opinion... boy or girl, still 1 mouth to feed, 1 bum to diaper...
How come your boy needed op when he was born?

haha, i wanna sell.....but how we know how many litre leh

i look here and there also never say leh

that mean we will have to lugi a lot hor...but keep also dun drink

he was diagnosed with hernia. Thats y need operation lor.... tat time he was only 2 weeks old. so initially is stay in hospital is due to jaundice, then after tat is cos of this op. thus, i subsequently gave up breastfeeding cos i was too stressed up.

cheryl: my girl is on friso2.

angelsky: i feel ur pressure.. cny period, all those relatives also ask me to quickly try no.2 for a boy since i am over 30 liao...
conceiving beri stress like hw to choose the gender!....

ernmum
i think standard size.. the big huge bottle la. i think forum market rate is $30?
u dun drink then give away to your friends.. new mums etc. some old folks also drink ley. your parents/ ILs ?

jess
oh hernia. need to followup anything?

wendyg
nw every year have to go and follow up to check lor.

tat PD very stupid de. during the 1st week need to go back for review then he say: i am very disappointed to see this cos i didnt realised it during his 1st few days in the hospital.
i was like wat the shit lor. then he immediately refer me to a senior PD and Javier was out of his hands already.

wendy, mine rice grain is the normal rice, NTUC brand leh, not special rice oso...but chop chop 20mins can turn into porridge liao...maybe my definition of porridge and yours is different hoho...
macaroni, can try, abc pasta can try oso...just plonk over the soup as jess says lor

violetice, which show on ch8? what did you do there?? tell us leh!

LOL, very pro. my parents as well

My girl's birthday celebration part I. Cake from pine's. not bad but small, but we had joint celebrations that day with my sis, so not too bad, got 2 cakes. Mummy very lazy so did not want to scout around for toys, so I got the designs that came with the toys from pine's

2121969.jpg

jess, wendyg, well, my hubbie and his brother only sons of the only son in the whole big family. The rest lost hope that his brother will ever wanna settle down. So all the hope on my hubbie, so the burden on me lo. Coz his parents no longer ard, so all the other aunties feel they have the responsibility to see them do well in life and also make the family proud lo. Traditional thinking, but I do understand la. Me and hubbie or rather my hubbie wanna stop at #2 coz he feels too many we cant managed. But I will feel guilty la, since his relatives have been so nice to me since we got married. So even if we stop at #2, its like a responsibility that you have not fulfilled lo. But I did tell his aunties very frankly, what if we have #3 and its still a girl, its really never ending lo