(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

hammies,
if you really dun want to go with them then just say no lor. you are yr son's mother after all, u know best.

last yr my in laws planned a trip for us to sydney to visit my SIL assuming I'll definitely be ok with it. Somemore can say, oh by then bb will be 10mths old already, eat solid food already etc etc. I just told them NO, I dun think I can handle a 10mth old bb on such a long trip, plus at that time she still could not sleep by herself, need me to carry her to sleep. I told my hubby outright, easy for them to plan and go show off grandkid to relatives, but who is the one who have to suffer if she fall sick, cannot adapt to weather change, time difference etc

<font color="0000ff">Hammies,</font>

I don’t think I will want to go traveling with my in laws. Think my MIL will nag me until I turned deaf or I’ll probably die young.

<font color="0000ff">Mom2Nat,</font>

They don’t have carpets but they aren’t exactly very hygienic conscious, if you know what I mean. Whenever I go my mum’s place, she will definitely clean the house before we come. Whereas, sometimes when I go my in laws’ place, I can smell the “pet” kinda smell, you say lah……………..=(

violetice
Well... old pple are like tat lor, wat to do... Imagine next time you grow old then your children dun wan to visit you, saying your place dirty blah blah.. you'd prob say last time i oso bring you up like tat ah! ahhahaha... cos tats wat I always hear. Thank God my mil super clean kind... except for the boo boo tat my son ate poo.
Bring wipes, watever you wan your boy to touch, clean it first! hahaha... use some dettol anti bacteria thingy first. Come to think of it, your mil clean the place first means she tries and looks forward to you guys coming, but old habits die hard, they more "lum nuah" lor.

RE: Milk Bottles

Mummies, do you change milk bottles every 6 months or yearly? I realized some of his bottles are getting a little "blurry."

violetice
Opps, read wrongly. Sigh... in laws are touchy issues, oso can't help you.

Gotta change bottles every 6 months??? Very costly leh!!

Mcfluffy,
Today...worked from 6.55 am till 6.20 pm..almost 12 hours in school. Really swamped till I cannot see in front...

Pixel,
U got the downstairs advantage..very good what! No need to cross over the expressway la...Let me guess, u are staying within 1 km radius for both schools...

Hi, mummies. Was on leave today but seems busier than ever. Took care of my gal in the morning so that ILs can go CNY marketing. MIL has been hinting that she got no time to buy the meat and fish, spring clean the house etc so in hindsight, it's good that I took leave before CNY. Hee. Tiring work to look after a baby alone with no helper.

Angelsky, I empathise with you trying to convince your friend. But on the other hand, think RaeAnne is happy to see more of Mummy, she kissed me twice on the mouth today. Haha. And she even cried when I left ILs place at 12+pm to go grab my lunch. First time she did this too.

Blackbatz, haha, your idea of getting pregnant after NIE is a good idea. But no lar, I'll only oonsider relief teaching for now cos adhoc basis. Full time teaching is hard work and super time consuming, come back home also cannot rest one. I don't want to jump from one fire pit to another fire pit so soon. I'm thinking of sending my girl to Poi Ching primary school next time cos it's a stone throw away. Don't know whether need to ballot. Will aim to relief teach there. Kiasu mum. Hee. ;P

talking abt ba kwa. I havent got any yet. cos the family including bb sick last week and recovering only now. Hubby is coughing his lungs out.

RE: MIL issue
I am glad that I had moved out. Though my mil is those nasty kind, I still feel staying under the same roof will pissed me off. cos I dont feel at ease at times. still remember how she blamed me on bb jandice that time, think I will not forget that incident. this yr i invite her and bil + future wife over for reunion dinner with my parents. no need to eat 2 times. but she somehow prefer we eat at her place.

Morning mummies, I wonder if there is any pill to give to baby to "force" them to eat huh?? Hahhha. My bb just not interested in food anymore. She only drinks milk (breastmilk, freshmilk), water, all kind of fruits, snack, bef juice, salmon fish, egg yolk. Sometimes, a bit of rice, and bread (very little).

I am very afraid that she doesn't eat enough. But then, look at her, still sleep well, active, blah blah..

Is it normal? Or can I buy any pill for her to take so that she can crave for more solid food??

Lynn
Where do u buy frog huh?? I wanna to try on my gal too.

blackbatz
i am super near the rivervale pri sch, which is just next to me (somewhat), mee toh sch, dunno within 1km or not coz my pl very near tpe exit/entrance so meetoh sch is near the exit/entrance, i think more than 1km lah...
yah, no need cross over, very convenient. but would prefer mee toh over rivervale...aiyah our babies still young, wait few more yrs then say lah! like i said, im just day dreaming only

kitsune, my mil oso, keep hinting hinting, so i took leave tmr, and today work from home

ok xandall eee eee aaa aaa liao, i think bored, check back thread later

which is worse..beef or mutton??

i used to tink that beef is better .. but my MIL thinks otherwise .. she insisted that my sons can eat mutton n wana cook mutton for them few weeks ago. I fed up go tell my hb to INSTRUCT her not to give beef or mutton to my sons. both my hb n me are prone to allergies and i seriously wana start my sons on these food as late as possible. my hb's aunt already given PEANUT to my #1 when he was ard 1 yr old! n now e moment he take peanut, he will develop rashes.

blessedbaby

dun worry, my bb also dun eat cereal, porridge. Porridge the most is one small bowl. So i just feed her lots of rice and noodles lor.

Porridge and rice is the same ma, just that rice takes longer to digest thats all.

seems like some of you feed your kids rice already. So its like really really soft rice is it? They are able to swallow ah? Then when u feed rice, how do you give the sides? Seperately or still mix in the rice like porridge like that?

mylvera,
Aiyo, that's the problem. Everyone tries to stuff food into them once they start eating. What's the hurry? They have a lifetime to try out all kinds of food, let them have the healthy stuff 1st lah. If you are prone to allergies then better play safe and introduce those "allergy-prone" food later...once the allergy is triggered it may never go away.

hammies,
It all depends on your kid. If he doesn't like lumpy food then he may reject the rice, etc. Some kids simply love lumpy and chewy food as compared to watery stuff like porridge. Try and see how he takes it lor...his reaction is your best answer.

hammies,
my girl has been eating rice since about 8 months cos she reject porridge. It's just the normal rice that we eat, not soft rice. But it really depends on your individual bb lor. Why dun u try giving yr bb a few grains when u eat yr own dinner and see how?
As for sides, I steam a chunk of fish and vege separately then feed her like how we eat "chai fun" some mouthfuls rice with a bit of "liao", some mouthfuls just "liao" etc.

yup, probably sakae is a good choice then. Can't think of anything else.

Side track a bit - my dad will be absolutely mad if we eat Japanese food for CNY!!! You know lah, he is the generation who went through 2nd world war (when he was a kid). He hates everything about Jap, though over the years, his hatred started to fade year by year.......

<font size="+1">REVISED QUESTIONS</font>

which cny movie(s) would you watch, IF you can watch:
(A) the always-talking-about-Chris and Fann Reel Wedding
(B) Hui-Ge love matters (by Jack Neo)
(C) Sandy and Huang Bai Ming show
(D) Red Cliff II

Sorry one more thing, what about quantity? For those feeding rice, what's your child's intake like? U know how they have those kids bowl..is it abt half a bowl or more ?
For porridge I feed my son 1 full bowl...

hammies,
Probably around there but your son will let you know when he's full

My boy will usually finish 1 bowl of porridge as well but if I give him pasta, he takes less becos it's more filling...same thing applies for rice, I guess.

re: beef
oh yes beef is very nutritious... red meat, lots iron. But again... everything in moderation.

yes my boy took chicken liao.. started off with Gerber's Veg Chicken jar food.. until now he still likes it coz makes his fish porridge fragrant. Added taste. When i hv my meals and he crawls over begging for food (he'd made a clicking sound with his tongue), i'll bite some meat (usu chicken) &amp; stuff into his mouth to keep him quiet.

Wendyg,

Forgot to say yesterday - you said it beautifully "love is multiplied, not divided". It makes me reflect on myself, and you are absolutely right. So I am now not worry I don't have enough love for my hubby and Hao Re and #2, cos it'll be multiplied and multiplied (or be a bit greedy, hope it grows exponentially!!!

Thanks for the kind words!

Voted for Ian (Little Elmo) &amp; Javier liao.
Nice pix!!! Wow Ian is in top 5 photos ah.. Jia You &amp; Win prize!!

Mylvera,
Peanuts will cause allergy. My hubby also can't take peanuts, he will get rashes or ezcema. So better avoid since your #1 got rashes after eating peanuts.

Mei
U shiok ah, 3rd day still family lunch!! Me feel like taking lve on the 3rd day CNY too. Now already semi-switch off, CNY mood. Anybody got half day tmr?? Xian men, this yr lugi "half day", CNY eve on sun!!

hihi, mummies. Today's RaeAnne's actual first birthday! Sigh, a bit sad leh. My gal is no longer a baby but officially a toddler liao.

verene, I think cos your MIL traditional, she feels that since you married into their house, you should be having reunion dinner at her side if you are only having a combined one. My MIL also like that one, last time get married, I said tea ceremony at our new house instead of their place but they insist must do at their place. But then, if only having reunion dinner at ILs side and she's cooking for so many people, maybe she'll be even more stressed. Can hint hint to her the cons so that she feels pacified? Hee.

mei, i sure choose red cliff II, watched that liao and will watch it again if i have the choice...i like war movies...

sighs, WAHM really very jialat...my boy is super clingy, i wonder how those WAHM cope...cant even pom pom, let alone finish some work...xandall just sleep, after almost 5 hrs...now im trying to clear up as much work as possible, while glupping down my cai png asap...
i rather not work at home...maybe let him grow up bigger liao, older liao then work more at home...

super serious seperation anxiety!
yest brought my boy home, and asked hb to coax him to sleep. stepped out of the room to express (coz more than 12 hrs liao, bae tahan), he just kept crying. my hb tried to soothe him. then got pek chek. keep saying "dont cry ah, you dont cry ah!" wtf??!
anyway xandall got more and more agitated, started to throw up some of his milk...kena my hb whole body (obi good)

i just hope this phase can pass soon...

pixie
You are right. I dunno how those pple cope oso. I tried working part time, well, need to coordinate and use the phone at home if I not at office. But how to?? Bb cry, distracted, not professional oso. So end up, I back to SAHM status.

grumpus
Wah, your girl v advance leh, eat rice like tat, I tot add soup. My son v picky leh. new stuffs hardly wan to try.

mon2nat
harnor, later i got a training conference call to take, from 4.30 to 7.30...shitz...sure cannot make it one...maybe hold onto my boy and listen....can i ask nokia fone, HOW TO MUTE during a call?? i NEED to know, or else the trainer will have xandall's screaming in the background all the time LOL