(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

just had pedi.ok. at least the polish was not scratched by the clumpsy me. aiyo the salesperson kept pushing me package. buay tahan. heng i got "ding li"! all push back to her. haha.

wendyg,
yr bro or sis also give mthly allowance to yr aunt too? Since yr aunt not working & taking care of grandma, where she get the $ to buy food? subsidise abit is gd unless she decline.

pixie,
me too, Zzz & walking like a penguin! just went Clementi hawker & had pork porridge & bought 64pcs of freshly baked & soft crust butter milk pineapple tarts
can't wait to eat them b4 CNY!

pixie,
hmm...i think it's $38 per bah.
but it was package which i signed up 2 years ago. so i dun know how much. my opic area lor. good ah? ok lor. same same. but i dun like the place. feels very cramped. lacking!?! drinks!

steph,
b r e a d lor. i had bread for bf. so just now while do pedi, i eat my bread. i was thinking of buying roast meat rice and eat in front of them. haha.

i want buy kueh "baolu" (dun know how to spell) but i dun want in containers cos' i've containers. any idea where to buy nice soft ones?

yest my corlick bot bak kwa on my behalf (no time to buy bak kwa this yr), and i had a few bites...now willing time to move faster so that i can go home and chmop more of it!
i am a bak kwa fan, 1kg can finish within a day kind heehee

mei, confectioneries should have but can try b4 u buy coz some very hard (the confectionery opp my place sells hard n dry kueh bauhlu

pixie,
i also had bak kwa last nite. from 双富源 (i think this is the brand).

ya. i tried a few. all hard and dry. dun like. i want soft soft ones.

Yvonne,

I am on the same frequency as you - those same "bei fen" one, if older, we don't have to give. But if it's younger, we might still give even if he/she is already married (per case basis) just for the yi si yi si.

steph
my sis in toronto, so she's out of the picture. I think my aunt's bros & sis (incl my dad) will give her the $$ for monthly allowance, and she will use that to buy food.

pixie
1kg by yourself?! *nose bleed*

mei
ei how u can eat with all the toxic nail polish smell ahhhhhhh

pixie,
i enjoy eating bak kwa too but too much i will sure sore throat. I saw long Q at Clementi for bak kwa - http://sg.88db.com/sg/Services/Post_Detail.page/food_entertainment/hawker_food/?PostID=198576
i tasted b4, not bad 7.5/10 for soft soft type - pick the mince pork instead of sliced.
Now CNY price is $39/kg for mince pork & $41/kg for sliced pork. Definitely taste better than bee cheng hiang (BCH = cannot make it cos meat is dry & hard!)
i wonder how much is Lim Chee Guan selling per kg now? any idea?

wendy,
good thing is my nose are stuffed. haha.

steph,
Lim Chee Guan, yday was $48.
hey! that clementi satay stall was good! i like the satay! always long queue and a few times i went, sold out.

mei, 双富源 is my usual bak kwa stall for the past few yrs but this yr never buy from them...
how is their quality this time? i like soft bak kwa too. theirs was super soft few years ago and gradually became harder and harder over the years LOL
hey u should try their chilli one. did you? super hottttttttttttttttttt and shiok...

wendy, 1kg is sup sup water. last sat, i had 6 whole slices in a single shot...thats like 1/4 gone liao haha. in 15mins perhaps?

steph, BCH suz big time. the hardest bak kwa i ever had. sorry to those BCH fans...
lets tok abt bak kwa now *excited*
mei, throw us some bak kwa....qns

mei/ pixelpixel
shuang fu yuan last wk selling at $45/kg.
2wks ago i bought at $44/kg. now dunno how much for this week liao.

find it quite hard this yr. last yr was good lei.

LCG how long is the queue?

last time i queued @ BCH 45min-1hr... coz i wanted to use voucher that i redeemed fr credit card points. Now I not so dumb liao.. i just combine order with my colleagues & enjoy free delivery to my offc. hah! saves my time.

I dunno how to eat bak kwa one.. any brand i also eat. to me, LCG & BCH taste same.. dun see why hv to take leave & queue in hot sun for 2hr. Maybe to impress MIL?! haha

me too never heard shuang fu yuen b4?
Anyone tasted Kim Hock Guan Bak Kwa - 金福源肉干?Nice anot? Any idea how much?

wendy, i think got mentioned before...in AMK, opp a CC, forgot ave number liao...

crystal, last yr good hor...but did you realised every yr getting harder and harder?

in the end i got hokee at east coast rd. sliced pork, not minced. so a tad bit tough. but gosh! the meat sort of melts in your mouth within 5 seconds you savour that. then you slowly chew, got juices one leh, and u get the smoky smell of the charcoal...then the meat gets softer and softer...but a bit too salty for me liking...but all in all, good job! the marinate was not distributed evenly at some places, but that was only like 20% of it, so negligible bah

just back from HK. conclusion? TIRING!
my comments:
1) Hotel - stayed at Langham place, 2nd time staying there, a bit pricey but it's worth it!! Very baby friendly - baby cot, baby toiletries(johnsons baby shampoo, bath, powder, lotion) provided for free
AND THEY EVEN HAVE A BABY MENU ON THE ROOM SERVICE MENU!!! (for children under 3)

2) if you're going HK make sure yr baby can either walk or willing to sit stroller. Mine can't do both and I was stuck carrying her all day.

3) We went to Disneyland and Ocean park. Personally prefered Disneyland. Ocean park is wayyy to spread out and time consuming. plus a lot of nonsense non ocean related stuff, quite waste of time

4) Food - had some trouble finding appropriate food for my bb cos find the food in HK all very oily and salty. Unless u eat those chinese restaurant type everyday where can order plain porridge and steamed fish. Otherwise, bring slow cooker and just stop at the supermarket for fresh food on the 1st day.

5) Flight - took the morning flight both on the way there and back so that it coincides with my bb nap time. She slept on the plane one and half hr so the flight was over in no time.

mom2nat,
i just started a nail salon. pixie went to try so some of the mummies just talking about it. it's at siglap area =)

pixie
wah, u can be food critic liao.. send in your food journal to Sunday Lifestyle.

So many shops selling bak kwa... i only know the famous ones like LCG, BCH, Fragrant.

pixie,
ya i also like their softness but this year quality not as good as last year. my coll gave me tried Lim Chee Guan, a small piece to try. still the number 1.

why u stop the 双富源? i no try chilli. hb dun like chilli. my girl cant take chilli.

wendy,
shuang fu yuan at amk. i eating that for years. haha. no heard before? = their advertising not gd enuff.

BCH, i ordered once and it was hard. we also did a bulk order to office.

hey, topic for today: tell us your fav joke, or share with us a joke...time will pass faster this way.

here's mine:
The new monk is assigned to copy the old texts by hand. Noticing that he'll be copying from copies and not from original manuscripts, he tells the elderly monk "if there was an error in the first copy, that error will be continued in the subsequent copies."
The elderly monk agrees and decide to go to the cellar with a copy to check against the original. Hours goes by and nobody sees him. Concerned, the other monks went in search of the elderly and found him in a corner of the cellar, leaning over one of the original books, wailing. Looking up, he sobs "the word is celebrate"

steph,
where is this 金福源肉干?

wendy,
fragrant = not fragrant.
so many not so nice bak kwa, maybe it's still better to queue for the Lim Chee Guan. but hor, where got time to queue? i rather buy eat during non-peak time.

mei
maybe i didn't pay attn.. or maybe coz they didn't employ Zoe Tay/ Sharon Ou to model their bak kwa.... haha. They are the type with only 1 outlet, like LCG? Not like BCH, so many outlets all over the island, more convenient to buy.

LCG... i hv no business @ Chinatown also... no point go all the way there to buy. Anyway for me, i dunno how to appreciate (like pixie), so i eat any type also the same la. If the meat very tough, at most i dun eat lor.

mei, i stopped coz their bak kwa getting tougher and tougher every years for the past 5 years leh...so i decided to try another brand this year...chilli is super shiokz, must buy half kg to try, got chilli type, more tender. the boss oso say...

wendy, i only bak kwa critic...i ate a LOT of bak kwa every CNY. nice oso eat, not nice oso eat. got bak kwa can liao..
when i die, pls offer bak kwa to my altar pls haha

no one likes fragrant hor? but they're cheap ley... 3 companies that my dept order from, fragrant is cheapest & hv a plastic BOX for the bak kwa. I'm so auntie... very worth it ley.

wendy, SFY is old skool bak kwa brand/shop, no advert one lor hor...all thru word of mouth bah...

but i find fragrance BK is soft and thin...like a bit bluff ppl, if you get my drift

bak kwa questions?
hmm

which brand(s) u tried?
which brand u always buy?
which best brand that u had tried? reason?
which worst brand that u had tried? reason?
which type u like (eg. sliced? minced?)
which type ur family like?
do u buy bak kwa during non-cny days?
do u buy bak kwa to give for cny?
do u give bak kwa to ur PILs?
do u receive free bak kwa?

KHG(金福源) is the one voted best bak kwa in the straits times article a yr+ ago...after that, every1 flocked to the shop. i tell u, that time i work very near fook hai bldg, they swatting flies one...after the article, super long queue. i had that 2 yrs ago, super tough meat. the author did warned only for those who love the ole skool bak kwa, i.e. sliced pork, tough, chewy...
i still dont like...

subjective lah
non CNY season, bak kwa shops sure swat flies one mah. when it was nearing CNY, still not much queue, totally opp LCG kind of queue...then after the article on the SUNDAY papers, Monday it was LONGGGGG queue...

ok i finally found my bak kwa brand this yr: Kim Hock Choon (Ho Kee). so it should be Jin Foo Chun in chinese

ABALONE questions
Which brand u always buy?
Which brand is the best that u had tried?
Who buy?
Where buy?
Do u give?
How many u take at one time?

ABALONE ans

Which brand u always buy?
> used to be new moon but changed to golden chef these few years.

Which brand is the best that u had tried?
> golden chef. wanna try the what wheels one but no try before.

Who buy?
> me buy, hb buy, my dad buys, my inlaws buy.

Where buy?
> we buy from ntuc or petro stn.

Do u give?
> yes to parents and PILs.

How many u take at one time?
> how many? as long as there is on table. haha.

Re:ABALONE
calmex is horrendously expensive!! seriously I find abalone mostly taste the same...no pt spending so much on it..the normal $38-48 skylight or new moon is gd enuff. Oh btw, which country make is better? Aust or NZ? or sama sama?

no problem wendy heehee

agreed with mcfluffy, i loveee the chilli bak kwa from SFY

today govt not in opic...so i run a bit earlier lor