(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Celeste says "HI!" to everyone! Been a long time since I read the thread... so busy with work... here's Celeste from birth to now...

2084041.jpg

me no coffee no tea leh. ;) Only drink green tea, water, and camomile tea. ;) I dont like soft drink either. Sometimes want to drink soft drink but cant take it. ;))

Wa, Kam, so exciting, hope it's good news for you.

Mcfluffy, Celeste's eyes still so big, shui wang wang. Next time, will 'dian' a lot of boys.

Coffee/tea, I 'ren' for about 7-8 months during preggie, towards the end start to slack and drink liao. Hee.

mommies

read this from the HK website. Happened in June 08..so scary...

To All Parents: this can occur after swimming or bathing an infant or child
Boy's death highlights a hidden danger: Dry drowning

10-year-old died more than an hour after getting out of swimming pool

Boy dies 1 hour after swimming
June 5: Ten-year-old Johnny Jackson drowned about an hour after swimming in a pool. NBC's Savannah Guthrie reports on the dangers of dry drowning, and TODAY's Meredith Vieira talks to pediatrician Dr. Daniel Rauch about hazards children face in the water.

By Mike Celizic
TODAYShow.com contributor
updated 6:58 a.m. PT, Thurs., June. 5, 2008
The tragic death of a South Carolina 10-year-old more than an hour after he had gone swimming has focused a spotlight on the little-known phenomenon called "dry drowning" - and warning signs that every parent should be aware of.
"I've never known a child could walk around, talk, speak and their lungs be filled with water," Cassandra Jackson told NBC News in a story broadcast Thursday on TODAY.
On Sunday, Jackson had taken her son, Johnny, to a pool near their home in Goose Creek, S.C. It was the first time he'd ever gone swimming - and, tragically, it would be his last.

At some point during his swim, Johnny got some water in his lungs. He didn't show any immediate signs of respiratory distress, but the boy had an accident in the pool and soiled himself. Still, Johnny, his sister and their mother walked home together.
"We physically walked home. He walked with me," Jackson said, still trying to understand how her son could have died. "I bathed him, and he told me that he was sleepy."
Spongy material
Later, she went into his room to check on him. "I walked over to the bed, and his face was literally covered with this spongy white material," she said. "And I screamed."
A family friend, Christine Meekins, was visiting and went to see what was wrong. "I pulled his arm and said, 'Johnny! Johnny!' " Meekins told NBC. "There was no response. I opened one of his eyes and I just knew inside my heart that it was something really bad."
Johnny was rushed to a local hospital, but it was too late. Johnny had drowned, long after he got out of the swimming pool.
According to the Centers for Disease Control, some 3,600 people drowned in 2005, the most recent year for which there are statistics. Some 10 to 15 percent of those deaths was classified as "dry drowning," which can occur up to 24 hours after a small amount of water gets into the lungs. In children, that can happen during a bath.

Today
Pediatrician Dr. Daniel Rauch

Dr. Daniel Rauch, a pediatrician from New York University Langone Medical Center, told TODAY's Meredith Vieira that there are warning signs that every parent should be aware of. Johnny Jackson exhibited some of them, but unless a parent knows what to look for, they are easily overlooked or misinterpreted.
The three important signs, he said, are difficulty breathing, extreme tiredness and changes in behavior. All are the result of reduced oxygen flow to the brain.
Johnny had two of those signs - he was very tired when he got home, and he had had the accident in the pool. But like most parents, Cassandra Jackson had no idea this could be related to water in his lungs.
Delayed reaction
Rauch said that the phenomenon of dry drowning is not completely understood. But medical researchers say that in some people, a small amount of inhaled water can have a delayed-reaction effect.
"It can take a while for the process to occur and to set in and cause difficulties," Rauch said. "Because it is a lung process, difficulty breathing is the first sign that you would be worried about."
The second sign is extreme fatigue, which isn't always easy to spot. "It's very difficult to tell when your child is abnormally tired versus normal tired after a hot day and running around in the pool," Rauch said. "The job of the lungs is to get oxygen into the blood and your brain needs oxygen to keep working, so when your brain isn't getting oxygen, it can start doing funny things. One of them is becoming excessively tired, losing consciousness and the inability to be aroused appropriately."

Finally, there are changes in behavior, Rauch said - another tough call when dealing with very small children, whose moods and behavior can change from one minute to the next.
"Another response of the brain to not getting oxygen is to do different things," Rauch explained, saying parents should be concerned "if your child's abnormally cranky, abnormally combative - any dramatic change from their normal pattern."
He admitted, "It is very difficult to pick this up sometimes." But spotting the warning signs and getting a suspected victim to an emergency room can save a life, he added.
Victims of dry drowning are treated by having a breathing tube inserted so that oxygen can be supplied under pressure to the lungs. "Then we just wait for the lung to heal itself," he said.
But for Cassandra Jackson, it's knowledge gained too late. She and Meekins sat in her home, looking at pictures of the bright and happy son who was no more.
"He was very loving, full of life," the grieving mother said. "That was my little man."

harlow ladies

been soo bz. kitsune, jiayou! btw cook porridge can just put water + white rice to boil den turn off the fire and cover the lid and using tanyu (claypot) no need watch flame. nice and ready after half hour and turn on flame add ingredients for another 5 mins ready to serve.

kam, muz share news ah... quite miss preggy days but no $$ to have another...

any mummy has backdrop to sell? tinking of doing a mini celeb. falls on actual chu1. neogarden no discount. sianz...

bfg this one week has been very painful. he bites but i reckon is him wanting to help to unblock my blocked ducts. worse when he bites back onto the open cut. gotta clench fists when he feeds somemore. dunno whether my negative feelings will affect him or not hor. trying to endure this period cos really dun feel like weaning yet. and he's not ready. gave him the bottle of ebm, he's upset, suckle to sleep... tough times ahead...

helium balloon inflation
to add to the list given by another mummy earlier,
Jurong point has a party shop, near the 24hr NTUC Xtra, inflating at $1 per balloon. but if you bring your own balloons, if burst still charge you as one balloon cost.

wahhhh Kam...next Mommy-to-be! So kancheong wor.

Me too want to plan for tiger baby. If possible. But definitely not now, not before Rylee weans. I really really am heart torn over a #2. I want to give my full love and attention to Rylee while she is jus starting to comm with me
Bu she de to leave her with maid and busy with newborn leh...i'm STILL thinking too much...hahaha

Kam, share good news tom huh!
My period is not regular, so now my MIL is making dung gui for me to eat and drink leh. ;) We want number 2 asap. ;) My hubby wants 4 -6 babies.. hahahaha.

Mylife, hows ur menses huh? is it regular or only me got this kind of problem leh..

;)

Blessedbaby,
Diaper creams for baby should be alright. Must bring Desitin...Other brands boh lak want..

remember to change diaper frequently..While on holidays,we tend to be engross with sight seeing and travelling, so neglect the cleanliness part. Fatigue also play a part..

When are u flying?

Evening, thanks, maybe can put my tiger food jar to good use too. Boil already can put inside to continue cooking, no need to watch the fire. Hee.

Blessedbaby, wah, your MIL so good ah. My menses not even back yet also no one 'guan xin'. Nobody kancheong about no. 2 when no. 1 is already such a handful. haha.

<font color="0000ff">Kam,</font>

Tomorrow, 16th Jan 2009, Friday is the last day for CNY walk in. I believe there will be a crowd, being Friday and people can take leave for long weekend. Since your Hubby said no, you can just bring him yourself? In fact, that’s what I would have done if my Hubby don’t want to go. Haha!

<font color="0000ff">wendyg,</font>

Ask him if he saw it lor. Go lah!

<font color="0000ff">JanBB,</font>

1 cup a day should be fine. But be aware that coffee causes low birth weight.

My cousin gave birth to a baby boy yesterday! Was there and carried my nephew! He's so small, can't seemed to remember Ian being so small and fragile. Haha! Missed him when he was such a tiny baby... *muses*

hello mummies......

Yes, done the test!!!

And the result is.........

POSITIVE!!!

My hubby said yeah, can have an ox baby, then STILL plan for a tiger baby **faint**

<font color="0077aa">violetice</font>
I'm holding on to my cup of coffee now &amp; reading your post "Coffee cause low birth weight?". Now dunno shld drink or not, haha ;) Cos' Jayden really born very light leh, (2.4kg at 36wks+). Oh dear, u mean coffee can reduce baby weight ah??

<font color="0077aa">blessedbaby</font>
Made #2 in your Australia Holiday trip ah ;)

<font color="0077aa">Kam</font>
How's the result?? We all awaiting for u to break the news, heehee ;)

<font color="0077aa">Mcflurry</font>
Celeste has a pair of beautiful eyes!! So sweet ;p Next time intro to my boy hor, heehee ^.^

<font color="0077aa">mylife</font>
Tiger baby also muz start TTC soon leh, cos' my friend wanna a OX's baby &amp; she said must hit jackpot by this Mar/Apr the latest. Dun scare of #2 lah, i give u mental support, heehee!! Rem my "GAN GAN" try!!! Hahaha *.*

<font color="0000ff">JanBB,</font>

Yes, a real example is my cousin. For her 1st pregnancy, my nephew is lighter because she drinks coffee. For her 2nd pregnancy, she cut down a lot and thus baby has better birth weight in comparison.

News
2nd November 2008

Very low birthweight risk linked to two cups of coffee a day
Pregnant women will be warned this week not to drink more than two cups of coffee a day to cut their risk of giving birth to dangerously underweight babies.

Safety watchdogs say the recommended daily caffeine limit is too high, with too great a risk of low birth weight.

Underweight babies are more likely to die early or suffer developmental problems.

Too much caffeine in pregnancy also increases the danger of miscarriage.

The Food Standards Agency will lower the limit from 300milligrams a day to 200mg a day.

They say this equates to two mugs of instant coffee, two cups of brewed coffee, four cups of tea, five cans of cola, three energy drinks or five bars of chocolate.

But some coffee shops have much higher levels of caffeine in their drinks - such as a small cafe latte in Starbucks which contains 240mg.

A single cup would exceed the new daily limit.

It comes a week after scientists said light drinking during pregnancy can make a child more intelligent and better behaved - despite Government advice saying mothers to be should not drink at all.

Britain has the second worst rate for low birth weight babies in western Europe.

In 2006, 78 out of every 10000 babies were born at less than 5lb 8oz, compared to 67 in 1989.

This is 40,000 babies in England alone.

The FSA said it was acting after following advice from the independent committee on toxicity, which suggested that the advice should be changed after looking at new research from Leeds and Leicester universities.

Scientists gave questionnaires to 2,500 pregnant women asking them about their daily caffeine intake, and then compared this with the birth weight of the baby, taking into account the weight and ethnic background of the mother.

The study, which will be published in the British Medical Journal on Wednesday, found that women with a caffeine intake of more than 200mg a day were more likely to give birth to smaller babies.

A member of the toxicity committee said: 'The body of research shows we get an adverse effect at a slightly lower caffeine intake than we previously thought, in terms of both reduced birth weight and increased instance of spontaneous abortion.

'The final decision mainly went on the birth weight with babies born at a weight appropriate for a baby a few weeks younger.

'If you're small for gestational age, you're more likely to have intellectual impairment and hyperactivity in later life.'

It follows US research earlier this year which found that drinking more than 200mg of coffee a day doubled the risk of miscarriage.

Pat O'Brien, of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists, said women should abstain from caffeine in the first 12 weeks of pregnancy.

He said: 'This is a very vulnerable time for the baby, and it's when most miscarriages occur.'

Andrew Wadge, chief scientist at the FSA, said: 'This is new advice but these are not new risks. 'I want to reassure women that if you're pregnant and have been following the previous advice, the risk is likely to be tiny.'

janBB,

hehe i tink i saw the tall gal in our tour grp on Wednesday during lunch hr. But she doesn't seems to recognise me
i put on too much weight liao n look so "aunty" haha

violetice/myvelra/janbb,

Thanks, you guys you very fast leh!

Yes, we are happy! But if it's a girl, my hubby will be super extremely happy. I still want a boy though. But gender doesn't matter that much, really. Most important thing is Hao Re will have a playmate soon! I was busy at the kitchen yesterday and he was playing alone in the living room. I looked at him and told myself, oh, so poor thing, so lonley, how nice if someone can accompany him..... Now I "make" someone to accompany him, hehe :)

JanBB, I still drank coffee just now for my breakfast. But that will be my last cup already. When go back to Ipoh next week, can't have the very authentic and nice Ipoh White Coffee, oh no! But for the sake of baby, no more coffee and no more coke for the rest of the months.

I am not sure how many weeks now. Cos when I tested last month when I missed my period, it's negative. Last menses was on the 20th Nov. So could be 1 or 2 months now.

Hmmmm, my life is going to be changed, again.........

Question:-

Do you have a good gynae to recommend?
> Must be FEMALE and can deliver at TMC, and that you are VERY SATISFY with her during pregnancy and delivery.

I like my gynay, Dr WK Tan at TMC. But she is very popular gynae leh, shortest waiting time is 1 hour with appointment. Longest waiting time, close to 3 hours. As much as I would love going back to her, I would also keep my option open, if someone can recommend a good one.

Going for a long meeting soon. Talk to you all later.

And it's FRIDAY!!!!! Yahooooooo!

<font color="0000ff">Kam,</font>

Happy for you. Am glad you and your Hubby are delighted about the pending arrival of your bundle of joy!

violetice
Ok, I'm pouring away my half cup of coffee now. Thot 1 cup a day still oki. But better dun risk liao. Cos' i really hope #2 grow well. Hmm, what can i drink next??

kam,
Maybe last mth when u test is too early, that's y -ve. Wow, think u shld be in your 8wks now if u count from 20 nov. Another 1 mth, your first tri will be over, so fast.

mylvera
Heehee, actually if i meet them outside, i dun tink i can recognise them too. Plus, forget their name too, dunno how to call them ;) Only rem we happened to bump into the "Botak" guy who wants to go after a gal during our trip few years ago. And he still exchanged contact with my hubby.

Mei,

The cake is nice. Cost me $112. Overall my guest likes the cake.

Icy,

I opt for pick up cos their delivery is always late. Got a bad experience for my wedding cake now i pick up myself. Collected tha cake at 10am and cut the cake at 3pm, as long as dun put the cake in a hot environment the cream won't melt.

Kam,

Congrats.... By the way can i check with you when Hao Re first go to infant care does he fall sick easily? Where is his infant care located?

Cheryl,

I got the same experience like you. After #1 menses was haywire for almost 6 months. Took medicine also nv helps so just let it be now ok liao. But after 3rd month of delivery of #1 my face got very bad break out. Now is slightly better but still ugly!!!

<font size="+2">Kam!!</font>

super congrats to u ley!! will u tell your relatives when u go back to Ipoh?

My recommendation - Dr Joycelyn Wong @ TMC. Her clinic is there. ACJ Clinic, #03-03 TMC, Tel: 6353 2033
Yes I (and my husband also, and my colleague also, and MANY forumers also) am VERY SATISFIED with her and her clinic and everything. Super nice &amp; gentle &amp; patient doc. Good price too! U can tell her u're recommended by Wendy, the mom of the 4.5kg boy... my baby was her 'record baby'.. heaviest baby that she delivered as at last year. Dunno if since then anyone overtake Tobey..

jacelyn

when vernon 1st go to infant care, after 1 month he get sick, running nose, cough and den bronchitis... den after that for the 2-3 month. he almost has it everyday.

den i bought him multivit n colostrum... it has been 2-3 month he is free from coughing n all....
even if i saw him running nose, it got well quite fast.. *touch wood*

VioletIce/JanBB/Kam,
I still drank one cup of coffee everyday when I was preggy...gynae said ok but he said no to soft drinks, etc. My boy was 3.63kg at birth leh. My mum also say one cup a day is alright. I will DIE without my coffee in the morning. Now back to 2-3 cups a day...kekeke.

Kam,
Congrats!!! So Hao Re will have a 2 years age gap with his little bro/sis...perfect leh.

I love my gynae too, but he's male, very experienced and has super long waiting time since he has so many patients. But I will still go back to him IF I have #2. Just stick to your gynae lor, good ones are worth waiting for...those with little/no patients, you dare to go meh???

Wow...so many post to catch up...<font color="ff6000">hey Kam, CONGRATS!!! So happy for u...welcome another baby Ox
So...did u manage to try the Shettles Method...gender selection?hee...

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Congrats! Kam!!!</font></font>

So happy for you and little Hao Re, going to be gor gor soon liao.

kam

i anyhow also can compile a list of threads complimenting Dr Joycelyn Wong. If u see any negative comments abt her, pls let me know! So far haven't found any.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/244603.html?1232014520
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/37862.html?1225848158
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/237743.html?1232013971

She also made it to the Top 10 Most Commented Gynaes in this website.
http://sggynae.blogspot.com/

my colleague's gynae also under Dr Joycelyn Wong. She said she is GOOD!

ok, here's the updated list of Jan08mummies pregnant with #2/#3:-
1. Yunbb #3 boy 12Dec08
2. Joyce #2 boy EDD Feb09
3. steph77 #2 boy EDD Mar09
4. superbee #2 ? EDD Jun09
5. Janbb #2 ? EDD Jul09
6. angelsky #2 ? EDD Jul09
7. Kam #2 ? EDD (TBA) So, #7 is KAM!
8. Who gonna be #8 ?

cheryl, crystal, jacelyn, wnendyg, yvonne, steph, kitsune, mei,

Thank you all for your well wishes!!! Think will have to wait till after CNY to see a gynae, and confirm how many months I am now.

And yes, wendgy, I think I won't hold the good news. We will inform our parents and relatives and friends when we go back for CNY. CNY is supposed a good time to share good news, isn't it! Probably will call my mum today and tell her, can't keep secret one :)

Aiyoh, this #2 is kind of "unplan" one. So didn't take folic acid, didn't take multi-vit, and didn't have balance and good diet, and was drinking lots of coffee and coke (luckily recently weather not that hot, so have cut down many cans of coke already). Said bye-bye to my beloved coffee and coke already. Later will go to Guradian over lunch time to get a bottle of multi-vit.

Wendyg,

Thank you so much for the info. I heard about her also. How's the waiting time like? Has Saturday clinic? you still remember the charges?

I still consider my previous gynae, and my hubby asked me to go back to my previous one, cos he said she is very good. My gynae Dr WK Tan is an amazing old lady, think about 70 years-old now, but when you look at her face, still wrinkle-free and forever so radiant! The point is she is so experienced, and I felt really safe under her care.... just the waiting time, and it's a bit ex (cos she is the famous one who delivered Channel 8 Ah Jie's sons and for other celebrities').

KAM, I am super super happy for you.
Big congrats
Take care huh.

Janbb, I'd love to strike another baby in AU too. We want an Australian baby! Hahhahahaa.