(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kitsune
wahhh...CONGRATS for making the decision to join the SAHM club. Like everyone here said, it's not easy BUT it's VERY rewarding. U have been blogging about missing RaeAnne's many firsts...there're many more to come, so u can enjoy those. In times of frustrations, come in here and vent lo. Also can start planning for #2? kekekeke Or perhaps, already "tio" liao, but dont want to say ah? hehehehe

Actually, last time when i first quit, i also "not used to it" cos worked for so long liao...but aft awhile, it's precisely becos worked for so long that i felt i needed to have a change. Altho SAHM is not a walk in the park, but it's a different "setting" so u can rediscover different set of challenges. I rem last time when Rylee was very fussy, i also tell myself same thing, just that the boss is her now lo, and my job challenges are revolving around her! hahahaha

Janbb
oooo, another mommy joining SAHM ah! Welcome, welcome! But why year end leh? Tot after giving birth can quit liao ma...hehe...hey, must share share ur #2 gender ah. U want boy or ger ?

mei
sorry not that i dont wan to answer ur question, but "bo pa keh" for me leh...cos me in HK. Lonely CNY. Here si beh sian, no laosheng, no change new notes, nada.

steph
dont be scared of labour lah...last time ur #1 also super fast come out rite? So #2 shud be even faster?
Jiayou!

Thanks, mylife, no lar, still not ovulating leh, how to tio? Maybe must see dr liao. Haha. Ya, that's my motivation. I hope to be able to witness seeing her stand and walk when I'm a SAHM.

kitsune
SO currently your in laws help you take care ah? Well, then you say since you not working, you will take care on your own. But on days you go out, they help you. So make it a point, like 1 or 2 days a week you leave her there. So tat she dun just stick to you. You can get a breather and oso got pple on standby. But in a way you are still the main caregiver. Do you live near your in laws? Or else you tell your mil come over your place some afternoons to help you look see while you take a rest. Hee...

Welcome to SAHM club Kitsune and Janbb
It's tiring yet fulfilling but could be lost at times, but most importantly...stay positive!!

Ok now answering the CNY questions,

have your changed new dollar notes for your child first/second CNY?
Not yet, some leftovers from last yr, got to change more

do you buy season red packets, eg cow?
Bought, i don't get any free ones cos never shop.

where you buy cny goodies?
not yet, most prob will get them from bengawan solo, any lobangs anyone?

do you stay up on cny eve to shou shui?
not specially to but always stay up late to pray pray.

do you go down chinatown after 12midnight on cny eve to grab cheap stuff?
Never done that before

do you go bai nian or stay at home and hope people dun come?
Go visiting most of the time

do you celebrate this year cny?
yes every single year, love the reunions!!

Mom2nat, yup, heng, I stay very near to ILs, just need to cross a road, 5 mins walk away. I don't know how I'll have time to cook porridge for her if I'm alone at home though. But guess I can only try. At least she's bigger now. Anyway, think ILs will be glad to have a breather once I stop work. MIL can go jalan jalan with her friends again while FIL can potter about at home. :p

morning mummies

wendy, make porridge for my boy's lunch, dinner mah.
no time also must make time for it...let him hang around in the kitchen while i make porridge lor...he will play with the chairs, and i try to keep him occupied...

kitsune, it can be done. i do this all the time when im alone with my boy. my boy staggers around the kitchen, exploring stuff while i stir the porridge. else, slow cooker lor. b4 she wakes up for the day you wakie first and throw in all the ingredients, by noon, can eat liao rite...
a bit mah fan, so i stopped doing that. hates washing up the sticky slow cooker. so i make a 20 mins porridge. lucky my boy likes to play with chairs...

The thread is going very fast...I wish I could cope like all of u. I'm so tired these days that i fall asleep with my kids. I hardly even talk to my hb...getting really sian and want to be SAHM..I know I have been talking about it again and again...

Angelsky, yes the class is quite fun..heehee...so now see anyone gonna join me for 9 am class. Otherwise, abel very lonely..ke ke ke...

Everyone getting ready for CNY?

gd morning everyone....

babe
ya, i agree with you. sometimes really so tired until just want to SAHM. but guess it isn't a easy job as well, but definitely fulfilling. i also always talk about it. but not as lucky as kitsune, cos my hubby nt supportive of this decision. hahaha....

agreed. sometimes so tired until wanna be SAHM. but once im home for several days, taking care of my boy all by myself, i cant wait to get back to work haha

Back from Bintan Club Med on Sun afternoon but so much chores to catch up on and half dead from the ferry ride. I always tell my hubby to remind me never to go to Bintan again becos of the ferry trip...can die on the ferry from the seasickness!

OK, back to the trip. My boy enjoyed it very much...loved the sand and beach. He crawled non-stop on the beach and really loved playing with the sand. Swimming was also fun for him and he kept crawling up the water slide. But me and hubby really shack! We didn't get to try out most of the activities since we have to go back to the room to zzzz with my boy when he's tired. Overall, Club Med is really worth the $$. Food & drinks provided all day long and the hostess in the restaurant is really thoughtful, will ask you what food you want the kitchen to prepare for the baby and they will do it once they spot you walking into the restaurant. Baby cot, bath, steriliser, bottler warmer and stroller are provided FOC. Probably will be more appropriate when kids are above 2 years old since they can join the Petite Club Med or Mini Club Med by then which leaves the parents time to participate in other activities eg. yoga, aqua-aerobics, archery, trapeze, swimming, etc...

I might consider going back again when my boy is older and when I finally forget about the horrible ferry ride!! haha...

Any of your babies started to have one of those "meltdown sessions"??? My boy had an episode last night. He started screaming non-stop after dinner which really got me very frustrated. Decided to ignore him so that he doesn't get the attention he wants from the screaming but he continued until I scolded him and put him inside his cot for a time-out session. Then he started to cry hysterically and was screaming and crying and the same time. So I told him to stop his nonsense and carried him. He was so tired by then so I made milk then he drank and fell asleep....sigh! He, or rather motherhood, can really drive me crazy somtimes.

<font size="+2">MORE cny questions....</font>

any reunion meal for you?
reunion lunch or dinner or supper or high-tea?
do you enjoy reunion meal?
dine in or out?
dine in where? dine out where?
who pay for reunion meal?
what u have/had/having for reunion meal?
do you help in preparing?
do you help in washing?
which side eat first? your family side or your hubby side?
do u have your own family reunion meal (i.e u, ur hb and ur prince/princess)?
what do u do after reunion meal?

..<font size="+2">start answering...hee...</font>

Kitsune,
Got the CL contact!! Thanks ;) Hope she is available.

Mylife &amp; Luvv
Me not yet going to be SAHM. Muz wait until #2 pop in endjun/early jul &amp; enjoy the 4 mths maternity. Heehee, my plan is to go back to work for the last mth of the yr so that got yr end bonus mah.. then if happy with the job, i stay. if not happy, juz quit cos i'm not sure whether i will be transfer to other dept or cont' same job or not. Anyway, my hubby is veri supportive &amp; willing to employ me as SAHM, haha. So I will decide later of the yr ;)

CNY Gathering:
Would you mummies wanna meet up during CNY?? Mei, Lynn - do a potluck again??
Shld we organise one since dun hv x'mas/b'day bash last yr??

mei, we should have a meet-and-share red packets sessions one of these days. i cant believe that im so aunty...

last year this timing, i am also working hard in the office.
i worked till the last day. half day go to work, half day see gynae, then check in to hosp at nite. really till last minute...

mylife
Miss out your question. To me, healthy more impt, ger or boy also can. But hubby still want another boy. If both boys then i can save $$, dun nid to buy extra infant clothing, can recycle. If ger, i also happy cos' i can doll up her ;p

re: cny gathering
this mth busy mth for me. this wkend, #2 bday. next wkend HB not free. next next wkend, family commitments.

pixie,
meet and share red pkts? i dun think i have a lot. haha.

<font color="aa00aa">JanBB,</font>

Maybe you might like to consider my CL. I highly recommended her. I recommended her to a friend and my friend adores her. She's pro breastfeeding, helps to teach and guide breastfeeding and takes care of baby and me well.
Sms me if you want her contact number.

ok let me start the ball rolling:-

<font color="#FF8C00">yes at my mil place</font>
<font color="#FF8C00">dinner, not steamboat, its a duck/chicken/fish aka "big fish big meat" meal</font>
<font color="#FF8C00">can say so, if i like the dishes</font>
dine in or out?
<font color="#FF8C00">usually dine in, only once dine out, ever since i was young till now</font>
<font color="#FF8C00">b4 married with my family, after married at my il place lor</font>
<font color="#FF8C00">up till now hor, i havent paid for a single reunion dinner before leh hehe</font>
<font color="#FF8C00">actually i prefer steamboat but this year i heard got braised duck, roast chicken</font>
<font color="#FF8C00">yes every year but dont think so this year. coz got maid, and got bb to look after</font>
do you help in washing?
<font color="#FF8C00">yes every year but this year no too, refer to above</font>
<font color="#FF8C00">29th eat at my family side, 30th eat at my il side, standard rite?</font>
<font color="#FF8C00">3 of us??! most prob i cook porridge haha</font>
<font color="#FF8C00">rest after gorging too much rich food. at my il place, i'll drink chinese tea. at my family place, i'll drink vitagen - 2 bottles at least</font>

mei, dont have nevermind. some people got spare packets for the same design, can pass ard mah...i must do a scrapbook of nice angbao designs liao...when i got time hah...this will be my 4th "to do" scrapbook....1st, 2nd, 3rd, all never do!! haha
all ideas but never materialize...

wah, i would love to attend the gathering if someone is organising.. hee... canot offer my place cos staying with in laws.... not convenient. but count me in if you all are organising...

okie.. answers to mei questions

yes, my mum's place, grandma's place, and in laws place
dinnersssss
not too bad
but we gathering almost every fortnite.. so about the same.
dine in or out?
dine in
save $$ and more convenient
dine in at home lor..steamboats and more steamboats
the one who does groceries...

steamboatsssss
yupz... for those food tat i wana eat.. keekeke
do you help in washing?
nopz.... cos got maids
my side eat first .... cos hubby side is new year's eve.. my side will eat earlier
no.. how i wish....
ooh.. my family will start the gambling session

kitsune
welcome to the SAHM club, porriage can be cooked alone, I leave it to low fire and check it out once a while. just make sure ur ger play with his toys etc, must train her to be alone in playpen or etc for some time, else u wont be able to have time go even go toilet. lol.

anglesky and babe,
Like I mention, I interested but after CNY.. cos now near CNY, me and mil have to take turns to do things hahaha. Like cut hair and do CNY shopping, and someone stay behind to take care of Xavier Next week, fil back, he will be using the car alot.

Anglesky, will call u to check more details abt the class.

pixie,
yes i worked for the co printed on the envelope. U PM me yr Q

Answering mei's Q:-
<font color="0000ff">of course, every year incl last yr cos i pop early Jan08, in time to eat steamboat..hee
<font color="0000ff">reunion dinner, supper also ON during par tor days with hubby &amp; frds</font>
<font color="0000ff">steamboat, usual stuff loh &amp; i love abalone
dine in or out?
<font color="0000ff">dine in</font>
<font color="0000ff">dine in at grandparents place with other relatives loh, take turns to eat cos too many pple liow:p</font>
<font color="0000ff">pay? i think our parents gave allowance to grandparents bah so we didn't pay any but will give red packet to grandparents.</font>
<font color="0000ff">Steamboat buffet</font>
do you help in preparing? <font color="0000ff">Nope</font>
do you help in washing? <font color="0000ff">I wash my own but got maid over at grandparents place so normally the washing we leave it to maid.</font>
which side eat first? your family side or your hubby side? <font color="0000ff">my family side on 24thJan &amp; hubby side on 25thJan.</font>
do u have your own family reunion meal (i.e u, ur hb and ur prince/princess)? <font color="0000ff">Nope</font>
what do u do after reunion meal? <font color="0000ff">Last time no baby, will go frds hse to gamble/play MJ or go chinatown walk walk. But now with baby &amp; pregnant, aft reunion, go back home watch TV then Zzzz with baby loh.</font>

MORE cny questions....

<font color="0077aa">Yes, my mum place and my inlaws</font>
<font color="0077aa">lunch and dinner</font>
<font color="0077aa">I suppose its ok, the same every year, just that this year is different, dunno can enjoy or not or busy feeding Xavier instead</font>
dine in or out?
<font color="0077aa">Should be dining in, I prefer dining out tho, no need to tidy up after that</font>
<font color="0077aa">Dine in would be at home</font>
<font color="0077aa">Father in Law</font>
<font color="0077aa">The stream chicken, prawns, abalone, sea cucumber, Yu Sheng etc etc</font>
<font color="0077aa">Not much, cos I am normally out for the afternoon.</font>
do you help in washing?
<font color="0077aa">Yes, I am the one who is in charge of washing the plates.</font>
<font color="0077aa">my mum side first for reunion lunch then back home for reunion dinner with inlaws and relatives</font>
<font color="0077aa">No</font>
<font color="0077aa">Watch TV, take stock of Angbao for the next day</font>

steph, no need to pm, its nothing secretive.
i just wanna ask issit you have a colleague, maybe in another dept, her name is ailin, or aileen, or irene or something? she has a colleague, called richard?
tell me more abt her?

i never knew u work there. i always had dealings with your company in my 2 previous jobs...

Triple birth weight: only apply for babies who was 3kg and below at birth. :0)
The average weight for our bbies as at 1 year is 9kgs. In fact, the dr said that all babies who was born big size should adjust back to the "normal" when they reach one year old. Hope this help. I just asked my dr yesterday.

Janbb, if any of the 2 CL you not engaging let me know k, then I will call them
. I will call only after my OSCAR this friday.

icy, sure no prob, i already started my class. if you sms me and I ask who are u, dont get angry. Gwyneth ate my phone, saliva went in, the phone beyond repair, so I got to buy a new one, some of my contacts gone.

yes, plenty of rounds, will eat my house first coz my parents and us staying together now. my inlaws all gone, so the external family very protective of my hubbie, so every year, will eat at least 4 or 5 rounds at aunties or uncles place.
lunch, dinner mainly, and its steamboat
love it, i love steam boat and abalone. :p
dine in or out?
usually dine in
at home and relatives house lo
just this year started staying perm with my parents, so need to co share, already bought abalone though. :p. if at my hubbie that side, no need, bring empty stomach can already.
steam boat
actually no le
do you help in washing?
yes, except last year, confinement so nua only
depends, this year already ate at my hubbie's aunt's place, so eve lunch will be home and dinner will be another aunt's place.
no la. so ma fun. 3 of us, means only 1 eat, the other got to entertain her.
my hubbie will play mj, i will watch him play. :p. Thus year got wii, so maybe will play wii.

That day, went out dinner with my mum, I saw this family really solid. The parents were eating, the maid also eating, the baby girl sat at the high chair, you know what was she doing, she was watching dora on a portable dvd player and she was like only slight over 1 years old.

blessedbaby, serious? only those under 3kg. Hmmm, my girl needs to hit 8kg, which she is still under. But well.....

pixie, you are just like my hubbie, he also dont like, so I eat his share.

i better ans my own ques. haha...

<font color="119911">yes. in fact we've reunion meals every day at parents and wkends at inlaws place.</font>

<font color="119911">high-tea at inlaws place. parents place is early dinner</font>

<font color="119911">depending on crowd. with parents yes of coz.</font>

dine in or out?
<font color="119911">dine in, though very tempted and trying to brainwash parents to dine out</font>

<font color="119911">parents house, in laws house. if reunion meals with friends, at own house.</font>

<font color="119911">ingredients the parents/inlaws. side-dishes eg yu sheng, abalone, by us/shared with siblings</font>

<font color="119911">steamboat. we only save steamboat for cny/15th day lunar mth</font>

<font color="119911">parents side yes. inlaws side no</font>

do you help in washing?
<font color="119911">parents yes. inlaws side yes for my own and hb.</font>

<font color="119911">my parents side then hubby side on eve. this year different. hubby side first on eve. parents side eat after chu 2</font>

<font color="119911">before #2 pop, yes. we have our own small-scale steamboat. now with #2, no time.</font>

<font color="119911">pick lucky numbers for toto!!</font>

pixie,
no colleague by the name of richard or ailin, or aileen, or irene leh?? we've got several entities (incl regional &amp; distribution unit) in SIN office. Which particular dept? cos i asked ard my colleagues, no old/new colleagues by that names u've given?... yr previous jobs...u buy engine from us?

steph, i used to work in shipping line, and in forwarding line...
there is this very nasty lady by this name. she drove me crazy. super bad attitude, super aunty. nag in the fone non stop for 10mins and slam down fone kind *shakes head* screams and ask 10 thousand and 1 questions.
pm me the names of the rudest colleagues you have in your company haha

pixie,
my colleagues deal with KC Dat, Panalpina or EGL Eagle Global Logistics but other dept/entity, me not very sure cos never KPO as it's not under my scope la. My colleagues are not rude so i guess it's not them...hee

yes

dinner

yes

dine in or out?
out

this yr at crystal jade Woodland

erm. i think share among hb n his bro n sis

i duno wor haha

no

do you help in washing?
no

only hb side

nope

haha. watch tv??? with a bb very hard to go squueze with ppl lah

steph, i used to work in one of the forwarding companies you have quoted.
in my previous previous job, its a shipping line, so your company would deal directly with the carrier(us) instead of dealing with a forwarder. i got my nasty encounter from that time...
anyway, all i remember was that even with my previous job, 1 or 2 of your colleague very grumpy one...maybe not your dept...but you guys sure looked like you deal with loads of paper. your file is always thick thick...

kitsune,
like what icy mention, there're time for you to cook porridge, else you can use a slow cooker so you don't have to jagar the fire. On top of that for dinner, when bb reach 1 yr old, can start to take adult food but serve. Adult take less salt, seasoning also good..haha

luca, got full keyboard leh, like PDA.
but my best fren always tells me got bb, very diff to fiddle with PDA fones, best is a normal fone with normal keypads...
big...i like big fones, never liked small fones...dunno why?
omnia overrated, every1 is having it leh...then no value liao now...coz too common...

i really dunno wat fone to buy. dont buy but currect hp spoilt...spoil further then cannot trade in liao lor...