(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mei,
Only ask abt heated pool @Tanglin Village. Very funny, i thot the lady is saying "Changi Village" juz now.. hahaha & i repeated "Huh, Changi Village??" & she laughed ; )
U mean suntec got heated pool also? So good business ah!! Such long waiting list queue, very "Kua Zhang" rite!

Btw, wat's the final venue of our Birthday Bash?

Would u like to check out the CSC @ Bukit Batok?
http://www.csc.gov.sg/HTML/Bukitbatok/bb_seminar.html
Not very ex, quite reasonable.

They got beautiful outdoor venue (i.e Tree Hse or Poolside reception) too but only thing is no aircon.

Indoor venue will be seminar room which is like condo's function room.

janbb,
no lah. suntec no heated pool

re: bday bash
aiyo...i dun wan think abt venue le.
pines - $40 may be too ex (though i like) and i scared wait last-min no show.
globetrotters - $30 (but it may be too small for all of us, and some have to spill out to the public area due to space constrains.

so hard to think of venue. have to be gd location, price ok.

hi luvv
dont have leh, only paracetamol, which is not working. brings the fever down, and the it spikes up again. later seeing my own PD and asked for something else...

mei,
I agree that glovetroters a bit too small, just went over with some friends on tuesday.. if due to limited highchairs and no space, I doubt our babies can really enjoy themselves.. then we parent also shugged.

pixel,
my boy also sick, flu and cough. His nose keep running and kanna block.. he cant sleep properly at night. Keep flipping for a good sleeping position at night with his eyes close and cry in frastrations. sigh.. Mummy also follow no sleep.

icy,
ya. i also think so. that's what i worry. baby not happy, parents also not happy. then all not happy then i also not happy then sian half liao.

so we drop globetrotters. and go back Pines!?! mummies can? ok? hao bu hao? at least with a proper space, babies can move ard freely. but...price price price...aiyo headache.

btw, i just sent a quotation request to Suntec. wait for their reply.

Hi mei

so we still have not finalised on where to have our birthday bash ah ? I tot that time u mentioned Pines then what happened ?

Anyone watched the program by Evelyn Tan on Channel U last nite around 10pm ? I feel so stress after watching that prog...
I feel that my #1 now 5 yr old has missed out a lot of enrichment class... *sigh*...

I try not to be a KS parent but in this high demand environment... it' really very difficult not to... moreover my #1 grasp of language is not very strong... argh..

chaye,
cos' some feedback on the price. but i thot the price was ok compared to the rest but on 2nd thot, if paying for 2 adults, wah $80...so have to think again.
actually maj ok with pines before i switch to globetrotters. but mummies feedback it's too small so think will drop globetrotters. luckily i haven place deposit yet.
hope pines can reduce price further....

no watch evelyn tan show. 10pm? i was bonding with my younger. haha...

wah pines not cheap wor... but if u ask me abt the food at Globetrotters it really sucks lor ! :p

I also want to get some flash cards. Janbb mentioned the flashcards at Popular. are they good ? I cant see the contents leh all sealed up de.

Mei,
I am fine with pines but also need to see the rest of the mummies. More space maybe we can hold small contests like fastest crawling baby.. or most like-daddy or mummy contest.. lol me siao liao..

me had been busy with the little one since only can jargar Xavier myself and he had been very very active.

My piano class just like only 7-8 sessions.. still 1/2 bucket lah.. i think there should be mummies here with better skills.

chaye,

re: flashcards
dun know abt popular but my fren got hers at only 1.50 per box. though limited topics.

re: bday bash
bo bian lor. want space nid pay more. no nid space, can pay lesser. so want space or no want space? haha...headache.

wah icy, idea leh. contests. i nid a mummy/daddy to volunteer to organise the contest.

Hi Luca

Last nite's topic was on developing gifted child. They interviewed some parents who found out their child's capabilities. Some are in Maths, some in Arts etc. Some parents show flash cards to their child as early as 3mths old... Send them for abacus learning as early as 3 yr old lor... So some may wonder whether a gifted child is Tian Xian Xing or Hao Tian Xing.

The show is on every Thurs 10pm at Channel U. Next week will be another topic cannot rem wat le...

Wa Icy ! contests ! hahaha who wanna organise that when everybody will be busy taking care of their own kiddo ... HAHAAHA but good idea if not whole event can be quite boring hor...

Flashcards
I think I will look around SMH for some BP or something ...

chaye
too bad, i hv no $$ to send my kids to this kind of enrichment... how?!?!?!?
it's not as though i'm using the $$ to spend on myself for holidays, spa treatment, buy branded bags/ shoes/ clothes etc
Money is used for monthly expenses, and savings for their future. No more budget for enrichment. Then how?!?!

Chaye,
not a bad show, too bad i miss it.

They should show ard 8-9pm, 10pm usually is sleeping time for children, parents where got time to watch. hehe

mei,

maybe wait 42 terms also cannot get in ah!! Cos Nurun said the classes are ongoing one, most bb will keeping going for class, unlikely just join one term then stop right?

so unless there are bb that drop out or hit the age limit and 'graduate' to the next level, the classes will remain full!

Wendyg

Then u have to coach them yourself lor.. I'm sure you are at home coaching them rite ? I'm those no patient one leh... I will scream and it will make things worst !

wah icy, hope you bb recovers asap.
u taking piano lessons? i wish oso leh! but so old liao, still flexible enough to make it ah?

they show 9.30 to 10
and repeat at 11.30 (or 11? cant remember)
i think quite informative, always got show ms wong in the serial

Re: Gifted Child / Flashcards / Enrichment classes
There's an article about this in this month's Mother & Baby. As usual, 2 schools of thought...1 says flashcards, etc must start early and helps develop the brain, etc...another one says let children learn through play, no need to pressure them or send for all these classes. The article is about the latter and the author wrote a book called "Enstein never used flashcards"...haha...very appropriate.

I quite like the idea of letting them learn through play and let nature take its course. A bit of flashcards is probably harmless but if too much also very stressful for them. I just "ren ming"...if my boy is gifted then good for me...if just normal also nothing wrong about that...more importanly must be happy and healthy.

pixel....spike again cos it is viral fever and can last a few days...

if fever above 38.5, you are to give brufen....then continue paracetamol....

Yvonne,

Me too! I am a big supportor of learn through play. I will DEFINITELY not sending my child to any enrichment class, if it's not what he wants/likes. If he himself has interest in music, for example, then yes, I will let him to have exposure with music. But I won't send him to any classes for the sake of training up a "gifted" baby. I only want a normal and happy and healthy baby :)

pixiepixel,
I went to learn Yamaha adult piano class, slowly slowly one.. since it is adult class then no so bad, got classmate older than me. Anyway I also find myself not so "flexible", I think especially when not working, brain freeze already.. piano good at left and right brain training.

Mei,
Give some moral support lah, I see you so poor thing organising the event all by yourself. Very difficult to find a place with the right price, size, location, etc...just settle on the best one will do.

mei,

ai pi ai ho (want cheap n good) erm ..really difficult leh ... unless u can manage to book chalet? else CC? Grassroots? Civil Defence Clubs? den each family to pot luck food? (hence only pay for location?) else ...really bor bian ...

*gives mei a zui jia qing lao jiang"

Actually we should also organise some of our own playdates...I always see the other threads doing it. Can let our kids mingle and play and mummies can also chit-chat a bit...but need people to volunteer their house lah....anyone interested????

Let me start the ball rolling...I'm at Hougang and I know quite a few of us are in SK or Punggol area right? Anyone want to volunteer their place for playdate for the North-east mummies/babies??

mylvera,
"谢谢, 谢谢大家. 我要感谢大家的支持.谢谢..."

ylim,
tks.

re: birthday bash - <font color="ff0000">need volunteers to take care of:</font>
1. xmas gift exchange
2. birthday cake
3. contest eg. fastest baby crawling? best dressed birthday baby? (if got time)

ernmum
but dunno whether tasty or not la..

chaye
at home?! i at work most of the time ley.
at home is just to make sure they're fed &amp; clothed etc..

Kam
the diffrnce is... u WON'T, but i CAN'T....

yvonne
gifted means need to spend more $$ to send them to expensive schools etc...?

ernmum
yah, tell me about that. docs says viral fever, but only gave paracetamol. when i was in clinic, they took my boy's temp, already 38.7. dunno why never gave bufen....sighs...later make another trip again lor...paracetamol no use at all...

wendyg,

I won't and I can't. Living cost is really high..... plus I don't enjoy the benefits that you guys are enjoying. Already got to pay $1k for the infant care every month....... Now I decided to not to join the birthday bash, $80 is good for a lot of things, like you mentioned. Recently spent a lot unplanned expenditure, as relatives visited us in Singapore...... now gonna save save save!!!

wendyg,
To me "real" gifted means get scholarship all the way and put themselevs through school...haha, save parents' money, that's the best!

yvonne, i dont mind having open house at my place but mine is 4rm and its small. i think 3 or 4 mummies and babies is already jam packed liao

pixel,

viral fever is like. cant do much...can only bring the fever down.

it can last for 5-7 days.

crucial thing is to bring fever.

paracetamol will work....like you say came down and later went up again...so it work.

Wendyg
u working mum too ah? me too lor.. sigh... by the time I come back from work already very tired...

Kamzhu
Me too did not send for enrichment classes thinking that they learn thru play... but I think must really work very hard thru play ...

yvonne
u see, like those gifted young musicians, their parents spend lots $$ to groom their talent, go to good music teachers, buy good piano.. then when they win a scholarship to study in a prestigious music school in Europe, the mother gotto quit her job to accompany her young daughter, split up the family... if accomodation and tuition covered for the talented daughter, what abt the mom's living expenses, and family arrangement back here?
anyways, i think scholarship only starts in tertiary sch right? Pri &amp; sec we still hv to come out our own $$.. just a rough calculation.. the dollar for dollar matching that govt gives to 2nd born child, all the $$ in that account will be depleted by the time my elder son finishes kindergarten, nothing left for my #2. crap crap crap!!!

Janbb: i'm keen in e Aquaduck too..

Mei: my hb out station on e 20Dec so we cant make it.. u guys enjoy and tak more pic

wat type of fruits do u giv ur bb?
so far i only giv apple, papaya, pear, melon, banana..

wendyg,
No need to be soooooo gifted lah. Primary and secondary average can already...tertiary work harder and if can get scholarship then go further studies some more lor...by then no need to accompany anymore.

At least you still got something from govt. Most of us only #1 so only $3k baby bonus, no CDAC. No choice lah, our kids will have to be contented with whatever their parents can afford. Now considered good already if compared to our parents' time... so no complains.

Yvonne,

Haha, thank you! By your definition, I was one of the "gifted" kiddo. I never attended any enrichment class leh, didn't even attend tuition class, just play play and play :)

Playgroup

I was thinking of doing that. Don't mind to open my messy house for a few mummies/babies. But will have to wait till mid Dec as my parents are with me now. I am staying in the west, CCK. Any mummies interested???

Lynn - Fruit

Apart from what you mentioned, like Icy, I also gave baby avocado, and also just gave him to try a bit of orange yesterday and he loves it (PD said don't give citrus fruit if you baby is coughing or allergic). If your baby can already take many types of fruit without any problem, most likely he/she is going to be okay with most fruits, as fruits are very rare to cause allergy. So in principle, can give baby any fruit, except grape (can give in pieces, but not whole fruit because of the risk of choking), strawberries and some other berries (may cause allergy). I now give baby to try whatever we are eating.

Lynn &amp; Mei
For sat class only 2 slots for our babies age group. (i.e 9am - left 3 more pax or 4.30pm - hv yet to start.) I will check with my hubby tonite, not sure he wants to sign up Pines cos' he prefer heated pool at Tanglin.

Which slots are you all taking?? Or shld we get a new class of 6 babies here &amp; request a good time?

Mei,
Anything abt the venue. Chop Chop confirm ba &amp; we can move on to brainstorm on "contest" (Good idea-Icy), cakes &amp; any other stuff. Guess we can't please everyone ; )

Let do a vote if u want. If not, since u are the "Chairwoman" for this event, U CALL THE SHOTS!! Quick Shoot Us!!! Hahaha ;p

janbb,
haha. tks. i just emailed to all jan08 mummies that i have in my contact list. let me post the email later.

shall we include dec07 babies to make it a bigger event?? what u think?

janbb,
aquaducks, sat i can only make it after 3.30pm (offpeak car) or sun am. but pines more exp due to guest fee. have to consider and discuss with hb.