(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hello Mylife! Long time no hear.

Shoes
went to mothercare today, saw a pair of nice shoes on offer and my mum refuzed to let me buy them because of the myth. Sigh. Bo bian, bought a pair of soft shoes instead, convinced my mum that I need to buy them cos HK may be cold. She relented cos she think soft shoes more like booties. Aiyoh, don't know how they rationlise such things also. :p

I'm going on 6 Dec, and staying at Metropark Mongkok hotel, looking forward to meeting you again. Can celebrate Rylee's birthday early? Haha.

Update me on the weather ya? Bought this for RaeAnne, was going to bring her to Shanghai which is even colder but changed my mind, wondering if she can wear it to Hong Kong instead so that I don't waste money. Hee. http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=37220&pid=594027&scid=594027012 What do you think?

dear east side mummies

I can volunteer my house for a playgroup for east side mummies. I stay Tampines.
However, what things do I need to prepare for a playgroup?

mylife!
I will try to update soon! hahah. but not much things to update coz my camera spoil

kitsune

Finally got my son to take his morning nap. He is pretty cranky today. =( He got a bit of lau-sai leh. Will give him plain stuff to eat. N still continue to give him fruit juice diluted with water.

mylife

I gave my son those ABC pasta. Here is a pic:

1844566.jpg

It's from a recipe I got from Annabel Karmel's book. Her books are quite popular. For this recipe, the ABC pasta I cooked until soft. So it's like u put into your mouth, 1 bite or 2, the pasta will broken up.

For the sauce, it's 1 cup of diced tomato (seeds removed) cooked in a little of butter till soft and mushy. Boil 1 cup of diced carrots in 1 cup of water till soft. Mix the carrots and cooked juiced into the tomato, add 1/3 cup of cheddar cheese. Blend.

Mix the sauce with the pasta and serve. My son likes this pasta. The tangy and sour taste of the tomato is even out by the sweet taste of the carrots (according to the book). Quite a good recipe I think. =) But pls note cheddar cheese has salt added in, so don't put too much.

I also use the same kind of ABC pasta n serve with chinese mushroom stock + veg + carrot. Also ok.

As to the udon, I have yet to try it. In the jap baby cook book, we are supposed to cut the udon into small small bites, boil it until very soft. Serve with stock and veg. But pls note that there is added salt in the udon. So the book reminds to boil the udon separately to remove the salt before adding into the stock. I might still hold back on the udon for now as I am a bit concern about the salt content.

Hi Mrs Kam,

Thanks for organizing the AquaDucks trial at The Pines. Its our first time bring bb to the swimming pool and i'm glad my son enjoyed it. Towards the end, he drank some water and got a bit cranky. Overall, it's okay.

RE: Egg yolk

I gave my bb half and egg yolk mixed in porridge and he seems okay with it. Thanks mummies for the tips on how to cook.

Joeey / mcfluffy / Dawn:

Hope your baby enjoyed the trial. For my baby, he was hungry and tired (didn't nap since the morning), and obviously he was not happy towards the end of the trial..... He drank his milk and slept for 1.5 hours. Now sleeping again.... a very tired baby :-(

Also, I don't think my baby enjoyed the trial anyway. He prefers the "free-sytle" way my hubby does for him, i.e., let him play with the water whichever way he wants. And I don't think by joining this lesson will teach him how to swim any faster. So I will not sign up Hao Re for the classes, but will continue to bring him to the pool for more fun. And oh, the CSC swimming pool at Butik Batok is for more impressive than the on at The Pines.

BTW, I have taken a lot of photos. I have uploaded it onto MULTIPLY. I have invited you to be my contact. If you are new to Multiply - you need to sign up for an account, to view and download the publish photos. Enjoy!

Kam,
Thanks very much for organising the trial! I think my gal was in an extremely good mood today. Despite having a late lunch, I think she enjoyed herself thoroughly in the pool. Usually when we brought her to the pool at our condo, she'll cry coz the water was too cool. Today's weather was hot and thus, she preferred the warmer water.

I'm still considering if I should sign up for Aqua ducks coz... the motive of me signing up is acutally for Celeste to gain some social skills and get to know other people around her and not swimming. She can learn to swim next time.

Do we need to be a member at CSC swimming pool @ BB? A lot of people or not?

Btw, sorry to the rest who attended the trial. Didn't say hello to you all :p I was a little too excited to get into the water and let Celeste play. Keke..

Anyway, I thought Celeste would take a longer nap after the swim but apparently not. She took her usual 30min nap.. sigh. how to make her sleep longer?

mylife

An update about the udon. I tried giving it to my son just now. I cooked the udon long long time also doesn't go soft. =( So I have to cut it into small small pieces for him. I think he likes ABC pasta better because the udon a bit chewy.

No go for udon for now till my son is much older =)

hi everyone...

long time never log on to forum liaoz, hope all are well.

mei

pls remove me from the list as im travelling during tat period. thanks for putting in the effort to organise.

food for baby

so far i only feed danelle cereal for breakfast and porridge for lunch and dinner. have not tried ABC pasta nor udon.

ECA

any mommies here started to send your babies for classes??? recently i isgned up for kindermuzik class for danelle, just went for her 2nd lesson today. my hubby is thinking of sending danelle for shichida method lessons but i told him to hang on first. wanna check with exp. mommies here if this is neccessary?? TIA

mylife

wah... i read that rylee's got 8 teeth alrdy. tatz really fast!!

Kam, thanks for organizing...hee hee..and being the official photographer...tiring for u running here n there in the hot sun taking photographs! ur boy really active...n very used to swimming pool liow, so prob dun like the structured way they teach...may betoo basic for him liow? CSC swimming pools....teachers can go in? cos we also got CSC card?

mcfluffy, my kids also not tired after swimming leh. nowadays they sleep so much less, prefer to play....very tiring for us adults.

pasta:
I used normal spaghetti cooked till v soft. use boiling water to pour over the tomato to remove the skin before i dice it, cos from previous experience...my kids din like the texture of tomato skin. i used small amt olive oil to fry abit of small onions then throw in the diced tomato. when soft n mushy then add carrot puree and cheese, then throw in pasta. ;)nice n yummy.
oh one thing though...try to make the sauce more liquidy...cos the pasta will continue to soak up the water so when feeding the babies towards the end, like last few spoonfuls, the whole dish is abit "dry", so the babies started complaining cos difficult to swallow liow.

Seems lie all of you are putting in a lot of effort to create delicious food for your babies. I'm still at a novice level. Sigh..Zach is still taking porridge. I must jia you, jia you already.

AhCapp/Dawn

wow your recipe is making me drool le cos I'm very hungry now.. munching nuts at this late hour...

I have wanted to try ABC pasta on Tate but he only has 2 top and 2 bottom teeth sprouting out slowly... can eat pasta ma ? If I cook until v v v soft can he eat ah ?

I realise he doesn't chew his food de.. he just swallow only. I worry he may have indigestion from eating ABC pasta wor..

blackbatz
Ay, same here, my boy still eating boring food. I v lazy oso lah. hahah... I think 2nd time mothers lazier leh.

itok
Keep me informed if you have a PG, I live in Pasir ris.

Sassy
Enrichments ah.... nothing is TAT necessary one lah... but singaporean KS attitude, cannot no enrichments, the more the merrier(cannot lose out). Hahaha... My fren was saying, last time we din eat organic food, no take wat DHA milk, fish oil blah blah... we oso din turn out stupid wat, still made it to the Uni.

Chaye
I just ate a sausage bun! I better diet liao.

Hi, Ah Capp, that's good. Wa, with you cooking all kinds of yummy stuff for him, he should be ok in no time. I haven't even try pasta yet. :p

Maybe will try egg yolk since I have eggs.

Itok, I just attended a Feb MTB playdate. Just need to state a convenient day/time, organise the food (can potluck or consider catering if got big group), get out the toys and most importantly, bumper mats cos babies love to crawl around and explore. If you organise, I'll sure go.

egg yolk: good to try...and if child has no allergy can take more..cos got high level of choline, good for brain development! plus it is really yummy leh...(hee he...and it is so easy to cook, just boil in water, so good for lazy mummy)

Chaye n kitsune, usually oni cereal, porridge n puree, but weekends got time will try something interesting for them. this evening i tried to dice kiwi fruit into tiny cubes and mixed into their pear puree...they like it! tomorrow will try to mix the kiwi cubes into yoghurt.

<font color="aa00aa">Egg Yolk</font>

Gave 1/2 egg yolk to Baby Ian today too. He seemed to like it. =) Hopefully, no allergies. Actually, what kind of allergies are we supposed to be watching out for? Red spots, rashes etc?

me can also open house for playgroup @ west area. Jurong. if mummies okie with messy 5-room.

ABC pasta... yeah he likes to chew em (2 teeth onli)... but yet to put in homemade tomato sauce.

yah red spots/ rashes can be around mouth area or whole face persisting more than a day, according to the polyclinic nurse

kitsune
ah, i think the jacket more for snowy weather ley, since the name of it is "frost free"... anyways, if u clothe her with lots of clothing, may not even need the jacket, except for chilly nights. My trip is 1.5 months away, i also planning what my boys gonna wear, thinking thru the logistics etc. Really looking forward!

mylife
yes it was me, i said HK in Dec is like aircon weather... daytime sunny, i only wore a thicker T-shirt to Disneyland, and 3/4 track pants. Only felt cold towards evening, then put on a cardi. Made the mistake of wearing track shoes.. thought the weather so cold that my toes would fall off. Hah, this time round i'm wearing my crocs.
And i cannot overpack.. poor husband gotto tahan the luggage. We dun like to bring so many things when we go out... esp since need to carry the stroller up/down steps of MTR.

re: HK weather
http://hk.weather.yahoo.com/
i saw before, websites that list 1 week advance weather forecast.

re: Crocs Warehouse Sale
>> was i the only one who went?! Rushed there on Saturday after baby woke fr nap, reached 5.40pm. There was a crude signboard blocking the carpark entrance that said "Crocs sale SOLD OUT, pls come back tmr". Huh... make the trip fr Punggol to Redhill to be disappointed like this, still want to go back tmr?! siao. And today my SIL said her fren feedback inside the sale was a mess, hard to find the shoes that she wants. But i guess warehouse sale is lidat one la...

re: pasta sauce
>> wow u guys are really hardworking. I'd just use commercial type.. Heinz Cheesy Pasta Bolognaise. $1.70 per bottle, heat up and serve. I not confident of my cooking la... skali only wasting time &amp; energy and food, then my baby dowan to eat i'll feel even more demoralised... kekekekeke

sassy
if u hv budget &amp; time, why not?! may be an eye opener for u. if next time your girl scores 95/100 for math, will u blame yourself for not investing in shichida so that she can score full marks? kekkekeke

mom2nat
"Cannot no enrichment" ?
my #1 no enrichment ley, how ah?? I think i better emigrate....

looking thru WTS section for some items, came across people selling their Avent manual pumps for $20, Avent liners etc... sigh, miss those days when i'm buying this kind of stuff. Soon i'll be those who are selling this kind of stuff... *sad*

elmo_78,
Ok...so let's try to get more people and organise a playgroup! Haha.. den can rotate houses.

elmo_78's house @ Buangkok
1) mcfluffy

Anyone else interested? Then elmo_78 can suggest a date and time.

I think my gal really needs some company...

Good morning to all!

Wendyg,

Wah, you no need sleep??? Today no need to work huh?

Food for baby

We are changing the entire kitchen cabinet at home, plus the moving for the previous 2 weeks, I didn't cook for Hao Re for so long already. Keep giving him fruits though, and some puree that I have frozen up.... and I have already started letting him eat with us during lunch/dinner. Gave him rice and other things that are on the table, whichever I found okay for him to try. A bit too early, I know, but I want him to get use to solid food. Luckily so far he is okay, he has very good digestive system, no matter what he ate, still poo at least once a day :)

kam
i start work liao... today hv to work HARD coz colleague on leave.
my timing is all screwed up one, but i've adapted.

recommendation is not to let baby eat stuff with seasoning before they reach 1yo. but who cares right, everything in moderation. yest my baby ate fish fr cantonese restaurant.. gosh, so salty, but grandma-in-law kept feeding him non-stop. not to mention using HER chopsticks with her saliva etc. 2nd time round, close eye liao...

elmo78 &amp; mcfluffy
playdate at buangkok what time and date? I may be able to join coz I stay tamp- shld be ok to go buangkok. buangkok is near punggol right? :p

wendy,

hehe my family oso like tat ... yday went grandma's hse n my aunt (who has been sick for few weeks liao) used her hands to take a piece of fish n insist my hb to feed my son. my hb pissed off n complained to me.

KITSUNE
oh, i have bumper mat but i am a lousy cook hahaha.. I will organise coz can let our babies meet more friends too. and mummies can chat. But i think i better go for one playdate first to see how is it then i can prepare for the one i am organising haha.

morn...
i take back my words. neo garden standard dropped. i agreed. just had it over wkend.

wendy,
i went. waste my time. went in can't find any shoes i like. no wonder i saw somany people came and left so fast empty handed. wasted my parking fees. next time i buy from BP. sure to have and also cheaper.

mei
u were looking for womens/mens/kids crocs? the newer designs and tamer colours? eh, park in the premises need to pay?

wendy,

erm.. i dun rem telling him anything ... mayb jz "oh, tt's y u black face come inside the room ar? "

well... if it is his aunty, he will close both eyes n made me jump up n down liao. imagine when my #1 was less den 1 yr old, his aunty fed him NUTS!!! i went NUTTY over the incident.

Mei,
I took neo garden too .. only curry nice ..

wendy,
all. initially onli me then hb said since there, then buy a pair for him and girls. end up all sold out. only women. but not the designs i want. u no pay parking!?!

mylvera,
curry nice? i find the meat tough.

Some of you mummies are quite adventurous when feeding your babies. The only food I've exposed my son too are only cereal, porridge with fish, veg and also fruits. Pasta also can already ah..hmmm...

Do most of you feed oatmeal or cereal for breakfast? But mixed with milk and eaten from spoon or drank from bottle? I'm just wondering, if you feed cereal, then when does your baby next drink milk then next have lunch??

hammies
yes... u dun follow the thread huh.

mei
no la, we stopped before turning in, saw the cardboard sign, then moved on to Anchorpoint. The petrol &amp; travelling time already v shiong ley.

Mcfluffy / Dawn / Joeey,

Can't finish uploading all photos onto Multiply yet (have the last 20 to go, I think, will finish by tonight, hopefully). But I have published those that I have uploaded, you can go to Multiply to view and download now. Here are some "samples":

1846105.jpg
1846106.jpg
1846107.jpg
1846108.jpg
1846109.jpg
1846110.jpg

mei
at the entrance of the building where cars drive in. we reached 5.40pm. Thought to quickly grab &amp; go for dinner. Who knows closed liao. Sommore say "pls come back tmr". siao.

what time u reached?

Kam isn't signing up for aquaducks la, she'd rather bring her boy for free &amp; easy swimming @ CSC.

Mei,

No, I am not keen in the Aquaducks. We will continue to bring him to the pool and play with him using our own ways :)

Dawn / Mcfluffy,

The CSC at BB swimming pool is FREE for members! I work under a stat board so I am a member (only pay $10 per month, I think). And there have a number of pools (even a wave pool!) catered for different age. The environment is great too. Clean and nice, and a bit of the "nature" touch.

<font color="aa00aa">Our 1-year-old Mass Birthday Bash - 20th Dec Sat @ The Pines</font>
<u>Venue and Price: </u>
<font color="0000ff">S$36nett per adult</font>. Buffet lunch from 12-3pm, free flow drinks, free parking, free use of function rm and free 1kg birthday cake.

<u>Payment: </u>
Need you to transfer payment to me first as I'm afraid of last-min no show. <font color="0000ff">Pls transfer S$36 per adult (S$72 per couple) to my POSB Savings</font> xxx-xxx-xxx by stating ur nick. Already emailed u my POSB savings acct number.

<font color="0000ff">Gladly welcome more babies to join.</font> The more the merrier.
FYI, other than buffet lunch, I'm sourcing around for sponsors for goodie bags, and lucky draw prizes.

<font color="0000ff">Need volunteers to take care of below:
1. Xmas Gift Exchange,
2. Birthday Cake (The Pines throwing in free 1kg)
3. Contest eg. fastest crawling baby (if have time). Anyone? </font>
4. mcfluffy - making e-Invitation Card-cum-Lucky Draw Coupon
5. janbb - making name-sticker/stroller-sticker
6. ylim HB - event photographer

<u>Attendees <font color="0000ff">(Mummies, I nid ur hb name too cos janbb making name tags for all)</font></u>:
1 mei + hb <font color="ff0000">- paid</font>
2 mandygoh + hb
3 blessed_serene + hb
4 steph77 (tbc)
5 shorty_gal + hb
6 QQ + hb
7 babyshannon + hb
8 elmo_78 + hb
9 blessedbaby
10 icy + hb
11 babyship + hb
12 kitsune_sg + hb
13 yen2007 (tbc)
14 janbb + hb
15 chaye + hb
16 superbee + hb
17 mcfluffy + hb
18 tracy_lazy + hb
19 mom2nat + hb
20 verene + hb
21 ylim + hb
22 hammies03 + hb <font color="ff0000">- paid</font>
23 bebe_yan (tbc)
24 audrey_sg + hb
25 fishia
26 baby26 + hb
27 itok + hb

WendyG, no I dun follow every single thread religiously..coz no time! I tend to read the latest thread mostly whenever I log on at work. But once I'm too bz with work, I dun have time to keep coming back to read lor. So were u saying Yes to bring babies travelling? If yes, are u the one that did so? Thx

hammies
i first brought my #1 on airplane when he was 17m old. but we were driving in to M'sia since he was 8m old.
For #2, even earlier.