(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Luvv,
Clarins is good. You can also try Lierac, available at John Little and Guardian Pharmacy. They have two types, one for prevention. Another is a serum, meant to for post natal. It's a French brand. you can also give it a try.

I used the Lierac prevention, together with Clarins huile tonic and stretch mark cream.

Violetice,
210 ml of milk?? Wow.. your son must have good appetite. My boy can hardly finish so much 180 ml, will always leave 10 - 15 ml. Sometimes, only 150 ml. I notice that he seems o be drinking less

Pixie, I see, what's the collection? Can go by post? Sorry, ask so much. I had 4 boxes and my colleague bought 2 boxes from me. Helping her check too. Hee.

pixel

i know some mummies will cook porridge from scratch once for lunch and once again for dinner. For me, i work every day and my mum looks after my son. So what I do is I cook plain porridge for my son every morning from scratch. some mummies might not approve what I do, but this is the only way i can save time n trouble for my mum, and I can monitor the texture of the porridge my son is eating.

For me, I will wash the rice grains and soak them in just enough water before I sleep. So next morning when I wake up, I will start the fire and cook the porridge while I wash up. I will put the plain porridge into thermal flask and bring over to my mum. She will add freshly cooked ingredients to the plain porridge, heat it up during lunch. She will cook another round of ingredients, add them to the final portion of the plain porridge, heat it up and that's dinner.

Maybe u can to try it? =) Just a suggestion.

My son's naps not that regular sometimes. hahahha Some times he will wake up after 45min of nap! That's when my mum will complains to me.. LOL

Hammies

Actually, there is only so much milk a baby's tummy can fill. So if your darling's tummy can only take max 180ml of milk, I am scared that 210ml might be too much for bedtime.

Also, what is your darling's usual bedtime? If it's 9pm and u are pushing the last feed way past 9pm, it might be pushing things a big far. In the end, your darling might be too sleepy to drink up his fill.

My personal experience....While my MIL was looking after my son, she fed him porridge/ ceral at about or before 6am, followed by milk at about 8:30pm. He woke up at 2am crying every night. I noticed that might be because the solid feed is way too early for my son, so he gets hungry easly.

So i pushed back the porridge at dinner till 7pm, but keep the bedtime feed the same. My son sleeps much better till 4am+ for first few nights. Later on, he is able to sleep through till 6 to 7am.

But that's my son's case. Every darling's case is a bit different. So really is a bit of trial and error I feel. =) U r your darling's mummy, so u will be the best judge. Don't worry too much ya.

Pixie, actually me also cooking porridge one time for 2 feed. Just now my mil cooks and evening he woke up about 630pm and very cranky so in the end I didn't feed him. Then my mil said next time don't cook liao. She is damn funny one. Sometimes cant stand her.

My son also drink about 2 feed in the day when I am at work. Morning, he normally latch on and evening time latch on too. Sometimes he can finsh 7 oz of milk if he wants.

Last fri brought him to Kidslink at CCK. Having running nose and cough and now recovering. He is now weighing 8.51kg.

Oh 1 last thing... I used to dream feed my son at about 11pm+. But ever since I intro solid for dinner, his dream feed makes him more irritated (And sometimes wakes him up!). So I have to drop the dream feed in the end.

AhCapp, actulaly i notice only recently that my son seems more irritated by the dream feed too..last time not really. But if i don't feed him that..i wonder if he can sustain thru the night. Looks like I have to trial and error a bit...

mon2nat; wah hi5 leh, 5am is super early, luckily i always wake up around this time for my 1st pump of the day...about the slow cooker, dunno lah, her kitchen is very crowded with stuff and another slow cooker she will have no place to put! seriously leh...anyway, old ppl. blah blah blah, you know how they are...

kitsune;
can collect bugis - i work in bugis till this thursday. or sengkang my home, or jurong east my mil place. go by post add $1.50 coz its considered odd size package.

maureen, wah you shiok leh, latch and go, not like us expressing mummies still need to spend time to pump and pump...
aiyah your mil just say these things in anger, my mom does that almost every day leh..
hope your son recovers soon. my son is 9.45kg as at 6.5mths and is in the 90percentile growth.

ahcapp; i was thinking of dropping the dreamfeed but if i drop that it would have meant that he will wake up hungry in the middle of the night and he takes no more than 150ml at 8pm+ feed, even if we top up to 200ml, he also will zhun zhun drink 150ml and push away bottle...i am now trying to increase to 200ml per 4 hours, let my mil relax relax a bit loh...

Luvv, the clarins one is good, I also use during pregnancy. Why good, coz I guai guai apply on my tummy, and arms, lazy apply on butt butt, now everywhere also dont have, but butt butt have. kekeke. :p

AquaDucks Trial - 2pm Sat @ Tanglin Village Heated Pool
1 parent per baby. 6 babies per slot for sat. currently only given 2pm slot. waiting for more slots and start date. hope to start on 5-oct.

1. QQ
2. kitsune
3. mandy
4. lyn78
5. babyshannon
6. mom2nat

1. jacelyn
2. Dawn
3. godsent
4. mcfluffy
5. vereneting
6. babe

1. AhCapp
2. blackbatz
3. blessed serene
4. cheryl
5. dorothy
6. H@ppymum2b

1. superbee
2. precious_moments
3. manuka_chan

Tks maureen.
I miss the times when my boy can finish 210ml of milk hehe..

Just curious, do u all keep a notebook of ur child daily intake and nap times?

Hi mummies:

It's good if after your intro solid your baby can sleep longer. For my baby, he eats/drinks a lot, but still "faithfully" wakes up once for night feed.

Yesterday night he slept through till 6am this morning. Nothing to do with the food (actually the opposite, only had apple and 4OZ of milk before bedtime). I think the reason is he co-slept with me last night since about 1am. He has to hold my hand or touch my body the whole night. Slept very soundly and for the very first time in a few months, skip the night feed. Gave him 240ml (record, so far) and he finished it and continued to sleep till 7am. He starts to show separation anxiety, if I interpreted it correctly.

PIXEL: Left over rice

It's not recommended to give leftover rice to baby. Fungus grows on rice very easily. Sometimes the pores might have already formed but we can't see it with our naked eyes. For adult not so bad, as we have much stronger immune system. But for a baby (touchwood) if he/she takes in contaminated rice, can pose a big problem.

But then since your MIL uses the leftover rice to make porridge, meaning she will boil the rice, theorectically the heat should have killed off all the potential contained fungus (finger-crossed).

On a safest side, best not to use the leftover rice. If she insists, and you have no time to make, maybe there are a few things you can ask her to do - 1) let cooked rice cool down before putting into fridge, 2) when cooling the cooked rice, HAVE TO cover the rice with something, cannot expose the rice to the air, 3) when making porridge, bring it to boil for at least 10 min or so to make sure killing off all germs.

It's okay to cook porridge once and use for the whole day, but also make sure you cover the porridge and don't let it expose to the air.

luca,

The infant care has a book to note all meals, nap times, and poo frequency for my baby, so it's actually very handy and helpful. While for weekends, no, I don't keep any.

luca
my folks jot down the time of my baby's naps, cereal & milk feeds (and qty too). And when he poo'd, and when his diaper was changed. Writing it down saves them the hassle of remembering (eg in case they forget when his diaper was last changed, when he last poo'd). And also when they 'handover' to me at the end of the day, i can see if baby needs to sleep early or i need to make him poo etc. And when i handover to my dad in the morning, he can see what time baby woke up so hv an idea whether to let him nap early, or did he poo last night etc... u get the idea.

We've been doing that since #1. But we dun keep the record, next day will erase the white board & start over.

it's more as a form of communication tool. For #1, we had to write down when he last poo, coz hard to remember was it 5 days ago or 7 days ago... his record was 11 days no poo.

My boy used to have 5 milk feeds but recently reduced to 4. I just trial and error lor becos he also seems to be irritated by the dreamfeed and it woke him up rather than make him sleep. So nowadays I will usually give him either cereal/vege puree/yogurt at around 7-8pm and he will get a milk feed of 180ml at about 9 or 9.30pm and he's off to sleep until 7am next morning. He will only get his first milk feed after he goes to my in-laws place which is about 8am.

pixiepixel,
Actually cooking porridge from scratch is quite fast and easy. I will double-boil 1 chinese spoon of rice with a piece of fish and a slice of butternut squash for 1 hr and the porridge is done! Everything is nice and soft and don't have to waste time stirring the porridge or looking after the fire. Best thing is the porridge will not stick to the pot/bowl...makes washing up a breeze.

wendyg,
wah yr folks very gd le, still auto jot down the baby's schedule. I used to keep one when baby was born till abt 2mths plus then throw aside liao. My PIL lazy to jot down cos they say they can remember. MIL only changed his diaper every 5 to 6hourly (day time) or maybe when it leaks or reach full load
Nite time lagi best, never change at all! Lucky my boy never develop nappy rash. I grumble to hubby abt it & he did mentioned to his mom that at least must change once at nite, cannot wait till soaked then change...by then too late liao!

Re:separation anxiety
Mummies, i hear u all talk/discuss abt this often & i wonder if all babies will experience separation anxiety? How to spot the obvious signs? Cos i don't see it in my son yet, izit normal?

Kitsune,
i am into my 15wks now, still unable to see gender. Oscar test turn out fine, able to see bb waving his hands...sonographer counting the little toes & fingers & even let us hear bb's heartbeat during the NT scan. My next appoint on 29th Sept, hopefully by then able to know gender.

wendyg
I oso jot down leh. I did for #1, my hb thinks I crazy, I even keep until now!! hahaha...

blackbatz
Hi there!! I ok lor, busy this week cos mil not here to help. I usually online but not much time to read forum. You have msn or not??

looks like theres really some good pts in jotting down, but last time when my sis in law does that, i dun seem to know how to appreciate it.. hehe :p

I often tell my maid to feed my boys more water and at least a fruit everyday, but duno if she really did wat i told her to do. My boys often fall sick every few months, think its time i put a notebook in action.

Ok Kam, thanks, it will be good, thats very nice of u.
Pls pm me, thks.

separation anxiety:
steph, its normal if ur boy doesnt have separation anxiety, my bb also the same, i'll always let him sleep on his own after his feed, but will still attend to him if he cries.
However, cant work for my elder son, he cant sleep without my hb who co-sleeps with him. so everyday he woke up early when my hb wakes up, although he is still very sleepy.

I think its good if they can sleep or play without us around, because as boys, when they reach a certain age, they have to learn to be independent.
That's what i think and hope for my boys. Hope it will work.

smthg wrong with the shopbug website

steph
older generation may think that diapers very expensive, so reluctant to change. Last time 1 piece $1, and $1 was very big money then. My MIL also surprised that diapers only S$0.20 or less per piece (i buy cheapo ones so that can change more frequently).

**Hi5** wendyg, I also use cheapo type so can change very often. diaper not that expensive, and has improved a lot in terms of the absorbance etc. Initially I never calculated the cost and only heard elderly said use cloth nappy better lah, cheaper lah etc..... wah so much work to do when using cloth nappy, esp for a newborn. Once totally switched to diaper later, it's a breeze for me! If I were to use diaper duing his first two months, I think I have less stress and more time to relax :)

cheapo diapers is what brand har? So far i only tried Pampers, dare not venture on other brands, for fear of nappy rash.

petpet from 1 month onwards, day and night, without any nappy rash so far. Using J&J diaper cream. Only teachers apply everytime change diaper, me, got lazy already, haven't applied nappy cream for my boy for a looooooong time already :)

wendy, that day i almost bought fitti basic, issit those kind with plastic band in front and the tapes makes a sound when you paste on and off?

luca,
thanks for sharing your experience. I also co-sleep with my boy at nite cos if he sleep alone on the mattress, he will roll & flip all over till he is tired then stop or just simply fall asleep on his own after his feed otherwise he will make noise (eh eh eh) & call for our attention. We have to prop bolster & pillows surrounding the mattress to prevent him from falling/crawling out of the mattress in the middle of the nite. It b'comes very tiring for me & hubby to check on him from our bed as the mattress is not beside us but at the corner of our room (due to space constraint). That's why i choose to co-sleep with my son. When comes to play alone in the playpen, he is okay & can play in it for 10mins or so, after that if he sees us walking pass him, he'll start to cry for our attention liao. Is this consider separation anxiety? So far, if stranger or neighbours carry my son, he is okay but not until when he see me or his daddy, he will then remember oh...someone else is carrying him instead of Daddy & Mummy.

wendyg,
yup MIL say last time she use nappy cloth. So if nappy cloth wet, her son (my hubby) also wear it for awhile (no nappy rash problem) b4 she change a clean dry one...her concept is children should not be pampered, must be able to tahan some sorts of endurance (like survive a soaking diaper, food don't have to be 100% clean...as in parents nowadays very particular about food hygiene or bottle & teats have to sterilize b4 & after each usage etc...) Well...well, i told her nowadays diapers are more affordable. I bought in bulk for PetPet & Fitti cost less than $0.22/pc. Hubby ask her not to save on diaper cos if kena nappy rash, we have to bring bb see PD, sure cost more expensive!
My MIL use Desitin one tube for 5 months le!

AquaDucks Trial - 2pm Sat @ Tanglin Village Heated Pool
1 parent per baby. 6 babies per slot for sat. currently only given 2pm slot. waiting for more slots and start date. hope to start on 5-oct.

1. QQ
2. kitsune
3. mandy
4. lyn78
5. babyshannon
6. mom2nat

1. jacelyn
2. Dawn
3. godsent
4. mcfluffy
5. vereneting
6. babe

1. AhCapp
2. blackbatz
3. blessed serene
4. cheryl
5. dorothy
6. H@ppymum2b

1. superbee
2. precious_moments
3. manuka_chan
4. tongtong

steph,
last time my boy also sleeps on mattress, he likes to roll n flip too, to fall asleep, and i also had to check on him often, kinda tiring for me as im a light sleeper, so after that i let him sleep on a play pen, i slept better knowing that he wun fall off the mattress or roll to somewhere else. Ever thought of letting ur boy sleeps on a playpen instead too?

I think ur boy is just clever, probably its just a short moment of separation anxiety, no matter what, i think children will still prefer parents than strangers to carry them.

Steph.. I know what you mean abt what your MIL thinks...I have some similar experience, but I don't care, I still tell them what they should do for hygiene sake...I mean last time is last time lor..it can not be compared to now. That's what we should always say. Haha..yi qian shi yi qian, xian zhai shi xian zhai! Bb not the same as last time

wendy,
sticky tape means it will not stick that much if open up a few times?

Kam, me too, lazy to apply cream, stop doing it when my boy is 2 mths old

steph,

I mentioned separation anxiety as starting yesterday, when I sent my son to infant care, once I passed him to his teacher, he immediately turned back and wanted me to carry. I didn't and he almost, luckily teacher quickily played with him and turned him the other way round, and he forgot about it. Before this, once I passed him to teacher, he happily played and never even turned back to see me!

Not every baby will experience seperation anxiety. It's totally normal.

my boy likes to flip or move around when changing diapers, so i have to open d tape a few times to wear the pampers properly.

luca
If open it, take care dun let the sticky surface contact anything. U handled stickers/ sticky tape before? Same idea.
my boy also squirms... so i mastered the art of getting it right the first time.

kam, hao re is 8mths plus liao right? so started to sleep thru? my son 7m 2wks, not sleeping thru yet. i wonder when will be his turn?...

luca,
sleeps in a playpen is a gd suggestion but hubby wants to separate the idea of sleep & play in different place. That's he want to let baby know that when it's sleep time, it's the bed/mattress & when it comes to play, it's in the playpen (daytime). Will baby confuse if we put them to sleep in the playpen too?

hammies,
My own mum say we cannot expect MIL to follow our modern rules & textbook 100% strictly. Since MIL is the main care-giver of my baby, we have to close one eye sometimes to certain things. Unless it's beyond my tolerance level, then i will tell them otherwise i just let it be.

tongtong,

Yes, Hao Re 8 months 2 weeks, only yesterday slept through as co-sleep with me. Don't think he will graduate from his night feed and sleep through so soon. I am okay to wake up at night, no problem for me. I don't give him more food in the evening, and I have never done dreamfeed. He decides.

Every baby is different. Somes still wake up >1 year, some already sleep through since 2 months? If you really want your baby to sleep through, you have to train your baby.

hehe kam, *shake hand*

erm, steph, im not so sure abt the confusion part, my boy seems ok with playing and sleeping in the playpen.
But he seems happier playing outside the playpen, as there is more space for him to crawl and explore things. Has ur boy started crawling already?

wendy, the things u say and do makes me feel like u r a capable mum of 2 leh.

Kam, great mum u r, dont mind waking up at night.

anyway, hope ur boy can sleep through soon, so that u can have ur beauty sleep back. hee

Steph,

From day 1, I didn't sterilize bottle and teats every time after use. Only sterilize once per day at night. During the day, only rinse with hot water (of course make sure no milk debris left). When intro solid, never sterilise any of the utentils. after washing, just let it dry on the dish strainer (have 1 esp for Hao Re). When need to use, just pick up from the dish strainer. Lazy mum, again, ya :-O That's probably why I didn't feel so stress preparing solid for my boy, in fact, I enjoy it. Oh, also, only do laundry for my baby every 2-3 days, save me some nights to have more time to relax!

Luca,

Even before I have baby, I woke up 2-3 times almost every night to go toilet. Only once in a blue moon, I can sleep through night myself. So don't mind waking up just another time to feed baby. Make FM, feed him, rinse bottle, all done in 10min, and continue my sleep.