(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Food:
Sorry I keep asking about food. But somehow I havent gotten the hang of moving baby on to solids.
When I read those ang mo books, they just keep talking about purees and stuff. But the older folks ask me why I don't feed porridge.

For now I've only been feeding baby purees and cereal- just started on twice a day. If I do move on to porridge, should I still feed twice a day since porridge is quite heavy.

Bought a tin of brown rice from Eu Yan San. Anyone tried that?

Perth:
Ya! The exchange rate is crazy! But I don't have a choice Bringing my boy to meet his daddy end of this month. A bit apprehensive of bringing him, hopefully I can manage.

ANyone been to Ho CHi MInh??? Need some advise on bringing my baby over there....

Taka Baby Fair
There is a copy of my baby's feet imprints and pic up on display at Best Impressions Booth. Think on Level 4 of Takashimaya. They had asked me for a copy of sonnie pic to make a duplicate when i made one for him. heheheh....
Look out for Jayden Tan. It is in black and white.

hammies03,
When I started solids for my boy, he also poo 2-3 times a day but now it's back to his normal routine of 1-2 times a day. I think it takes some time for their digestive system to get use to the change from milk to solids. As long as his poo is normal should be ok.

steph: congrats! is it planned or accident? govt annoucing more bb bonus this week, definitely will help to increase more baby ox or baby cow

my bb juz cross the 6mth mark, cant wait for the day she start to call me now!

How much solids are your babies taking? The cereal/puree they take should not be replacing their milk feed right? My boy is eating about 1-2 tablespoon of cereal and I will still give him 150ml of milk about 30 mins to 1 hr later.

Just found out last week that my in-laws are giving my boy so little milk. After my boy drinks about 150-170ml at 7am at home, my in-laws will only feed him again at about 11.30am, followed by 1.5 tablespoon of cereal at 1.30pm and another milk feed at 4.30pm. I find it too little...just 2 milk feeds within a span of 10 hours! I told them to feed him milk every 4 hourly (unless he's sleeping lah) but they always wait until he cries for milk. No wonder my boy is always waiting eagerly for me to come and fetch him lah...haha.

kitsune, u can wait for jetstar promo? usually the sale is ard oct or nov . i went hk last may07, the ticket is $150 per pax.

Hi Yvonne,

For me, I started with 1 cereal feed a day only. But then last week I started 2 cereal/puree feed:
Milk at 8am, cereal at ard 11.45 or 12 noon, milk again ard 2pm, cereal again ard 5.30pm, then milk at 8plus pm, then one final milk at 12am. My cereals i give 3 tablespoon.

Each milk feed amt varies..can be ard 180ml. But lately my boy dont seem to finish all the milk. A bit cranky. Here and there then finish the milk. Then over the weekend I think something is not right with his poo..coz it's way too often...worried..so today i told my PIL to let him drink milk the whole day then see how is his poo.....sigh...

Hammies03:

My baby boy same as Yvonne's. When first started on puree, can poop 3-4 times a day. But after about 1 month now, it becomes "stable" to 1-2 times a day (sometimes can still be 3 times). I think as long as it's not watery, it's okay.

Yvonnes:

For my boy, cereal can replace milk feed, but not puree. My boy is taking 3-4 tablespoon of cereal (mix with FM) each feed, to replace his milk feed. But for puree (no milk added), can take 3-4 tablespoon per feed, up to now, still can't replace the milk feed. But only yesterday night, he had green pea puree at 7.30pm, then he refused to drink milk before going to bed, he always wants to drink milk before bed, except yesterday. maybe puree can also replace milk feed???

Thanks Kam, so 3-4 tablespoon of cereal will be filling enough to replace 1 milk feed. I have been asking my in-laws to increase the cereal for my boy since he will usually finish all and ask for more...but they very reluctant leh. Keep saying don't let him eat so much, he can't finish, etc...sigh! Don't let him eat and don't let him drink...then how? But funny thing is he always finish everything that I give him...usually cereal plus a fruit or veg.

over the weekend, i tried cooking porridge using my mini slow cooker. DIsaster. I know how to cook rice, but i dunno how to cook porridge. They say can just put the "mi" into the slow cooker, put lots of water, and some carrots/sweet potato, turn to high and cook and dats what i did. Turns out, aft HOURS, all i found in the slow cooker is jus water, some distorted looking rice (it's still in rice form, like rice soaked in water for very long, but not "lan" until porridge state).

<font size="+1">HELP!!!!</font>

Can someone PLEASE give me some instructions on how to cook porridge with slow cooker?

Yvonne,

Yes, for my son, it can. My son is eating Nestle rice cereal. According to what is on the can, it says 6 tablespoons mixed with 200ml if milk for >6 months old baby for plain rice cereal, and 5 tablespoons mixed with water for brown rice cereal. I am giving him 4-5 tablespoon of plain/brown rice cereal everytime and it's fine. While for the puree, only started from last week that he can take in a lot, compared to when first started, he only takes in a few teaspoons. According to my mum, puree is not as filling as cereal. At the infant care, they also replace porridge with 1 milk feed. So to me, as long as baby can take it, I will give him whatever he can take. BUT I set a upper limit, in case baby is greedy and don't know when to stop.

Maybe you show your in-laws the instruction on the can, or if you can find anything from book/website, to convince them actually baby can take more than what they think?

Mylife,

It actually takes very long to cook porridge with slow cooker, depending on the power of the slow cooker. Maybe you can try using the slow cooker to boil the same amount of water that you will put to cook porridge, and see how long it will take? Say if it takes 2 hours to bring water to boil, then probably it will take 4 hours to cook porridge. And if it takes very long to just to boil water, maybe your slow cooker is not suitable to cook porridge.

blessedbaby,
my mil trained Xavier for potty since he was 1 mth old.. so xavier is used to waking up in the morning to poo already. In a way is better, cos bum bum easier to clean. For potty, I already changed 1 size upgrade for him, perhaps ur ger potty was too small.

mylife,
sounds like u didnt add enough water to ur porriage? Cook with "new" rice, I heard earlier to be "lan". I cook with normal pot cos faster.. even faster cos take 1 hour so I cant imagine slow cooker. Water is like 10x more of what the rice is.. sometimes I just keep adding water when the rice isnt soft enough.

kamzhu,

Can i check with u what kind of green peas did u use?? I have no idea what kind at all and is keen to let my son try.

icy,
my son dislike the potty. Everytime my mother tries to get him to eat in the potty, he uses all his strength to try to stnad up...like got needles poking him from the potty. :p:p

mandy,
Maybe because Xavier start young so he is used to it. But recently, he start to struggle more when he dun feel like doing the "business". I find it harder to help my boy to wear diapers these days.. He simply refuse to lie down on his back.. keep flipping and I am fighting with his legs and butt using my hands and legs to press him down.. Horrible.

mylife, maybe you can boil the ingredients in a pot on the stove before transferring the contents into the slow cooker to slowly cook? I usually do that when I'm making soup with the slow cooker but not sure if this method will work with uncooked rice though. :p

Aqua, thanks for the tip off but I prefer full service airline since travelling with bb, I want the baby bassinet, apparently jetstar don't have that. Anyway, school holidays usually no special promotion. :p

mylife,

i heard from my mum that need to soak the rice in water over night first then easy to cook until "lan". i dunno for sure cos never try this method b4.
the other way is to get rice which is specific for cooking porridge. Get from those market type of provision shop, ask them they should know.

Potty Training

You all so fast started potty. Just realized last night that my babysitter also started him on potty and she said he will sometimes stare at his poo poo also. Nowadays, he will clenched his fingers into a fist when going to poo. So funny. So what kind of potty to buy?

mylife,
I have not tried cooking porridge yet but my mum said can double-boil. Same method as preparing birds' nest soup. Put all the ingredients in the ceramic container and place it in a pot with water covering up to 2/3 of the container. Turn heat on medium until water starts boiling then turn to low and porridge will cook in about 2 hrs. End product is supposed to be very soft porridge which baby can eat without further blending. Hope it works.

Icy - Diaper changing

I learned to distract my son attention by offering him a toy, when changing his diaper. Then he stop the fighting and struggling. You can try, just let him have something in his hands will do :)

So trial and error one ah. Sigh. Stupid mommy. Tat day, i cooked FIVE hours, still open up got water and the rice didnt turn into porridge form. Is there such a thing as certain slow cookers cannot cook porridge?

mylife> did you use cool water or boiling water..cos usually i use 2 tablespoon of rice,with boiling water ,with temperature -high.
the porridge would be done in 3 hours, all nicely cooked.

Mylife,

Yes, I used to have a slow cooker that cannot cook porridge, but that was donkey years ago, can't remember the brand.

Or best is like what Kitsune described, bring rice+water to boil in the stove, then only transfer to slow cooker, to make the rice turn "lan".

Mandy_Goh:

I bought the frozen baby green pea from Cold Storage. According to the book, get frozen rather than canned green pea.

Hey Kam, you mean your boy also poo many times a day intially?? Got me quite worried this weekend you know! But my PIL say it could be too much fibre tts why. I also duno leh. But it's really like so much poo in a day that it makes me wonder if any of the food or milk he took digested or not..or all just come out?? Any experience to share? Should I still continue on cereal twice a day for a month at least to see if it stabilises? sigh...

What's the rational of using slow cooker to cook porridge instead of using the normal stove? I'm using claypot to cook porridge now, need to keep stirring and have to stay there for about an hour for the porridge to be "lan".

Kam, you mention cereal replacing milk feed..then how many times a day does your baby drink milk?? Coz i read the enfamama weaning guide, and it advises stll around 4 times of milk a day for 6-7 mths....haha..duno it's a good guide or not but i did that...

<font color="0077aa">angelsky,evening,babyling,prata_queen,Yen,Kam,Blackbatz,Maureen &amp; Godsent, thanks for your well wishes

<font color="0000ff">Mom2nat,</font>
me FTWM, not SAHM although i wish sometimes but i know it's the most challenging &amp; tough job. If i strike TOTO, will consider SAHM otherwise single income very hard la...dun wan to ask $ from hubby.

<font color="0000ff">JanBB,</font>
this time hope for ger ger but bb health most important. If kena boi again, i will also close shop liao &amp; not try for #3:p Hubby &amp; me agree that two is enuff.

<font color="0000ff">mylife,</font>
i don't have different blog le. Under my blog entry "some updates" &amp; u will get to read abt my accident pregnancy...not easy for me when i tested positive
kao_sad2.gif
mixed feelings...

<font color="0000ff">wendyg, kitsune,</font>
#2 will be after CNY. Heng ah, can eat all the junk food then go pop

#2 EDD is 15Mar09

mylife: i used slow cooker to cook porridge for my bb, juz wait for 3hrs.. pumpkin &amp; rice is v soft... i put 2 cups of our normal drinkin cup of water.. mine is those small smAll slow cooker.

Hammies03:

Yes, my baby used to pooped a few times a day after started solid, puree in particular. I think record is up to 5 times a day. Now it's kind of stable to 2-3 times a day. But occasially can still be 4x a day. As I said, I won't worry as long as it's soft poop and not watery. If you are really that worry, weigh your baby, if he is gaining weight, then it's okay!

Baby poop means has bowel movement, means good, isn't it? I thought you rather be more worried if baby didn't poop?

For milk intake, my baby is still drinking 4-5 times of milk feed per day (180-210ml per feed) plus 2 feeds cereal/porridge, plus 1 feed of puree (as snack).

Last 2 weeks he really drinks/eats A LOT. Last 2 days, seems to cut down his intake a bit. Is there a growth spurt in 6-7 months?

Kam:
Haha..you are right in the sense that I'm glad he is pooing rather than constipated. Just that I had this impression that after like 4 mths or something, they dun usually poo so many times a day. So it felt strange...guess i will continue to monitor the poop type..hahaa..

Your baby sounds like eating quite well and a lot!! not sure about growth spurt at 6/7mths leh..mine like not really that obvious...

Kam,
I tried distract Xavier with toys but he still prefer to play it on his tummy.

mylife,
Maybe u try to whisk the porriage with the egg beater after the rice soften a bit, it will speed things up a bit, else grind the rice first before cooking. Else use 新米。

congrats steph77!!! and take care yah? not easy taking of #1 and being preggy. ur Zander looks like he is enjoying himself....loves water ah?

Has anyone of you tried cooking porridge in thermal cooker? I just bought one 1.8l ENDO thermal cooker, intend to use it to cook brown rice porridge for EVE.

Steph,
CNY is on Jan 26 (1st day) so your next bb definitely be after dat if all things go well...which it will be.. I understand how you feel and the mixed feelings! Dunno whether to be excited or feel sad... Dat's how i feel when i first knew I was expecting Eve...

harlow alll!!
liberation!! new job can surf net!!

kitsune, if you wanna buy carter's clothes in babycentre, buy bigger size got i got like 6-9mths and now my baby cannot fit in leh!!

steph...wahhh congrats on no.2!! u very yong gan...i think of no.2 i will shudder liao...

for milk intake, my bb still on ard 5-7 feeds a day, each 150ml, 2 feeds of porridge, some fruits etc

sorry too excited liao...hit the post button before i can finished...here have a room exclusively for mothers to pump. 2 armchairs, power point, table...have a fantastic skyview if you think that no one will spot you naked, by all means flip the blinds

Godsent i hv that thermal pot too ..... quite good cos during confinment my mil use tat to put my food.

re NDP

i m there for the preview yesterday ..... last yr i went too when preggie quite ok for me hehehe ... i nvr bring TT cos she need ticket too .....

Steph, after CNY is good, at least no need to pay through the nose for confinement lady and confinement food and full month party. haha.

Pixie, ya, tell me about it, my gal already wearing 9mths for Carters dress, don't know why cutting so small, I thought Carters is 'ang mo' brand, cutting should be big? :p

Anyway, I wanted to buy some Carters fleece jacket, bodysuits and long pants for RaeAnne's maiden trip to HK in Dec lar cos Kiddy Palace only sell those up to 3mths and more expensive than Babycenter. http://store.babycenter.com/product/elephant+cardigan+set.do?search=basic&amp;keyword=carter%27s+fleece&amp;sortby=shortdesc&amp;asc=true&amp;page=1 Cute? Super kiasu I know cos it's 4 months away but this mummy has been deprived for so long. Last trip is Dec 06, so please bear with me. Haha

aiyo....my last trip was dec 05 to perth...I feel so sick of being in sg but with 2 kids to travel, I am not confident at all...arghhh..

Really wanna bring my boy to swim but both of them just on the road to recovery. Not sure when can let him have his dip. Now, he is so active...constantly wanting to stand and jump..

Steph, u very steady. Take good care..

Mylife, gathering is 12 Sep is it? Dunno now can make it or not coz I got event on Sat and might be down to work..got another day to meet?

Just visited PD with Baby Ian. He has slight eczema around his right ear area. He's at 97 percentile, weighing 10.085kg and 73.5cm in length. Am a bit worried he'll be overweight. PD said we're a bit slow to introduce porridge. Haha. She commented he's a extremely sociable baby which is rare in boys. I said he's kaypoh!