(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

how to feed brown rice huh? I tried mixing with FM as instructed but how much brown rice n how much FM? I put equally but bb wont eat, but porridge she will eat ler.

icy,
i'm opposite of you. I feed bb cereal because she is not drinking enough milk. Always leave 30ml although i only make 100ml for her. i started her on cereal when PD gave the approval at 5mths 1 week. She has progressed to about 3 teaspoon cereal and i mix with the leftover milk. Sometimes i spoonfeed her some milk. The funny thing is that she takes them willingly around 1hour after her milk feed. I do that either once or twice a day, depending on her mood.

Bebe yan,
Maybe bb don't like the taste of brown rice? or maybe its too thick? I tried to give bb steamed apple puree, and she hates it. But she willingly eats bananas.

wildchillies

maybe i try mixing it again without making it too thick.

Icy,

Didn't see you post for a while already. And no update on your multiply. Being busy lately?

Shannonbaby, yen & wildchilies,

My boy still wake up once for night feed after 6-7 hours of sleep. BUT in between, he wakes up several times for a very short while, and I have to carry him, if not he won't go back to sleep. But if I carry him, he falls asleep again within a couple of minutes. Last 2 weeks he stopped this funny waking up routine and slept through the night, except for the 1 feed. But just these few days, he started to waking up frequently for short while routine again. Don't know why. Maybe it's growth spurt?

My baby didn't reduce his milk intake. Taking 5 feeds at 150-180ml per feed (except night feed can up to 210ml), plus 1 feed of rice cereal.

Kam, Shannonbaby, yen & wildchilies

my girl also kept waking up at night, then i have to carry her and walk around for 20 or 30mins!! But sometimes i just 'yao' her she will go back slp.

all of your bb slp in cot? mine slp in yaolan.

bebe yan,

U intro porridge already ah? Can i also intro if bb not 6months yet? Now my gal eats rice cereal only.

20-30mins very tiring. Just 2 nights ago, my bb suddenly woke up at 2.45am and play with me till 4.45am. The next day i super zombie, can't even think properly for the next few days. Too sleep deprived.

Cot/Yaolan - my bb sleeps in yaolan/matteress daytime and cot at night

Wah, so far 5 person on the bandwagon already. Either having 1 or both problems. Just have to keep our fingers crossed and ride it through..jia you.

Wildchilies,

My baby didn't wake up middle in the night, but he wakes up very early every day, before 6am. And will not need a nap until 10-11am!

JanBB,
Thks for your compliment! U made my day leh... I'm not dat young oredi, pass the big "3" liao...

Anyways, my cousin jus sign up her gal - 1YO at Right Brainz Network - apparently it's opened by ex-staff of Shichida Method and the lessons cost $40/lesson. She'll update me on the goodness of the lesson n I shall update u mummies accordingly. The classes are conducted at Bishan.

Mei,
oops, ok will come back to you with all the info. I'm booking for a friend too so need to check whether she's bringing 2 kids or 1 kid plsu hubby...hehe.

wildchillies

actually i started with brown rice cereal but she dun like so my mum make porridge for her lo. Since she likes to eat then i let her carry on anyway she's more on e skinny side so i think let her start early better. She's 6months and 2 days old now.

ur bb so li hai can slp on so many type of place.. haha..

Mei,

You can get it anywhere I think.
Btw, Mother & Baby Magazine this month is giving free teether, spoon, or nails set for baby.

ah! FREE!!!? but the teether dun come with shake shake. cos' my girl like shake shake but she always put the hard shake shake in her mouth. so i wanna get a soft shake shake.

mummies who babies suddenly wake up ay nite,

can i check do u feed yr baby with milk if they suddenly wake up in the middle of nite? i give my gal and she finishes all le. dunno is it growth sprut? i dunno whether should i give her or not. but she couldnt finish her feed during the day in infant care n have been throwing away milk. luckily, i still have 100 packs of frozen EBM in my freezer. Nw i can only pump enough for the day as i drop to 3 pumps a day and she keeps wasting milk in school.
hopefully this waking up in the middle of nite saga will end soon, else i will be super sleep deprived! cant concentrate at work n feel giddy everytime due to lack of sleep. looking forward to weekends..:p

forget to mention that when my gal wakes up in the middle of nite, she also wants me to carry her to sleep and will open her eyes to spot check me in the middle of nite. if i attempt to put her down, she will start cry. if i keep carrying her, she will close her eyes and sleep. but i dunno whether is she really sleeping or not cos she will open her eyes once a while to spot check n make sure that i am carrying her!

shannonbaby, I give. Recently, my girl only wants to play and play during the day. Give her milk, she will use her hands and slap my hands or the milk bottle away. Each feed only about 80ml. Sometimes if coax her, then she can finish 120 or more, but the feed will take a long time with many breaks in between. But she is still active and cheerful. Only when she wakes up in the middle of the night, about 3am, I will give and she can finish very very fast. I give because day time she has not been drinking well. I also quite concern. Btw, she has not pooed for 3 days, this has never happen before. Gg to PD for her jabs tomorrow, I will ask if its the milk or other issues or no issues at all. Hopefully all will be okay.

shannonbaby,
I give too. All the while, my gal has not been sleeping through the night. She drinks super fast at night too. We recorded a 3min flat record to down 100ml of milk. Heh. Nowadays, daytime she is like angelsky's bb, don't drink much so we give at night lor...scared she's hungry

Anyway, everyone commented my baby very chubby so don't noe if we've been feeding too much? Her daily total consumption about 600++ now.. sometimes 700+

kam
Buahahah....cos when she was smaller, she got reflux and is colicky. Cry cry cry lor...so i invested in an electric yaolan. So if i dun use now damn wasted. And I pass her to my MIL for 2 days a week, also buy the yaolan...everything must buy 2 set.
Wa before 6am is very early lor. My girl wakes up usually 6.30-7am. I think i will start her on porridge soon too. Think i need to buy a small slow cooker already. Did your mum use the slow cooker to cook? Sorry ah, i very blur, 1st time mom :p
Also, my girl not big also, she drink so little milk as compared to all of the bb here.

Shannonbaby
yes, i do because her daytime intake is little. She will only have consumed on average 400ml by 10pm. Therefore i will feed her. She wakes up 2 times still and i will feed her so that she will hit around 600+ by 7/8am. If my gal drinks more, i think i will try to not give her the milk but try other methods. Will u be able to give lesser milk and see whether bb will cry for more? If bb cries for more, maybe its a genuine need.

angelsky, my gal also bet 70-90ml per feed. My bb is also very easily distracted and when she had enuff, she uses her tongue to push away. And if we persist, she will twist her body is all sorts of manner. Sigh...sometimes dunno want to laugh or cry. But dun worry, my PD says more than 500ml per day is ok.

wildchillies,

the prob is my gal never cry for milk. she only make eheheh sound and when i feed her, she finishes all the milk. last time she used to sleep till 7plus in the morning and will wait patiently in her room for me to give her the morning feed. nw i have no choice but to let her sleep beside me so tat when she wakes up, its easier for me to handle.
today infant care teachers feedback that she finishes all her milk in sch. hopefully she will sleep through the nite. she just fall asleep on her own besides me nw..:p

wow mcfluffy,
3 min is very fast. my gal is very slow. sometimes i will fall asleep when feeding her in the middle of nite..hehe
my gal drinks 150 x 6 feeds a day but still at lower percentile. think because she throws out most of her feed when she has reflux.

shannonbaby, mine isalso having the same problem. I have to throw away my warmed ebm after drinking only 1 0z plus. His intake also super low. Sometimes is 3-4 oz only. Doc said as longhe is putting on weight is ok.

wildchillies,
I also sometimes wanna scold her, but then see she smile at me, I "xin ruan". Today record, 3 feeds since 11am, only 250ml currently.

I already trying to adjust her routines. Previously she can rub and rub her eyes and then super tired also dont sleep. Now much better can take 3 naps in the day, but only 1 hour each. Hopefully she sleep more, she will also wanna drink more.

My girl is also on the small side, last check at 4 months about 5.5kg.

The thing about her is she is very very very playful

RE: Chicken pox
my SIL may be having chicken pox, I know I should bring Xavier away, maybe stay in my mum place while she is having this.. but is it too late to do so now.. the virus had already spread? I already gotten it before so I am not so worried abt myself.

hi Kam,
Had been real busy as I was taking care of Xavier alone for the past 2 weeks when my mil wasnt ard.. really tiring period.. now I had to backtrack my blog.

I suddenly realised that my darling has come a long way since he was borned. I am sure all of u feel the same way too. He can now move backwards and can sit unassisted for a while. N in 3 weeks' time, he will be 6 months old! Wow...

Pic of my son doing 'push up'. =)

1515219.jpg

icy, the most potent is when the red dots become very watery? I am not too sure, but I think safer to stay away. I had measles when I was a baby, about 1 plus, my mum said I just took the jab that day, then neighbour's kid got measles, I also ganna. I stayed in hospital for 2 weeks. Quite bad.

Ahcapp, wow. He is very strong. He has a very determined look.

Ahcapp,
your son is so cute. hee... so nice hair. my son is almost like botak... hahaha
i agree with ya. to think back, our kid has really gone a long way. so blessed to see them grow by the day...

i finally agree with my mum. i never knew how they felt until i became a parent myself. and i really thank them for being so tolerant towards me and standing by me.

ahcapp, ur son really strong!!!
u must be so happy to see him do his "push up"! did u cut ur boy's hair b4? his hair really nice! my boy also botak leh....din even shave during full month or 4 months, but pple all think we shaved his head. he dropped lots of hair during 3rd n 4th month!

mei, Pigeon brand also got sell teether (filled with water, so can put in fridge) with rattle, bought it at NTUC for $4. ;b

ah capp
you bb's soo cute! look at the effort he's making.

wildchillies
not really necessary to buy slow cooker unless you or caregiver can't watch over the pot. can just cook using normal pot. much faster and saves on electricity bills. else buy small slow cooker.

violetice
me bb just turned 5mth o today and i've started giving him teething rusk from heinz (no egg nor artificial stuff) 4 days ago once a day in the afternoon to soothe his gum and help his hand eye coordination. didn't start on cereal yet. will await till 6 mth or if he gets up few times at night to det he needs more substantial food.

bebe yan
=P thanks

jan bb
shichida lotsa charges. no make up if falls lesson falls on PH or absence. 12 lessons per term. 1 week holiday break. 75 mins per lesson. dun need make payment upon signing up. if memory didn't fail me,
weekday abt 745, weekend 780. Parent education course (compulsory) abt 300 plus for both parents. deposit fees (refundable only after 1 year) another sum of $$. i rem paying about $1300 the first time for my girl a couple of months back. if can dig up my bill update u again.

godsent
do tell us more when u do have feedback on the training centre. =)

Janbb, sorry, can't transfer today. Too late and DBS site under maintenance. Will try and transfer tomorrow instead.

Jess Yew, my bb same birthday as you.

Bought heinz rice cereal and frisocream today. Actually wanted to buy Healthy Times but they don't have white rice cereal, only brown rice and mixed grain so bo bian. My gal's drinking more than I can supply so buy rice cereal to standby in case need to supplement.

got this from the Shichida thread:

Weekday /Weekend Term Fees : $745.00 / $780.00
Registration Fees (Annual) : $50.00 / $50.00
(Assuming 1 pax for PEC) : $170.00 / $170.00
GST : $67.55 /$70.00
Subtotal : $1032.55 /$1070.00
Deposit : $300.00 /$300.00
GRAND TOTAL : $1332.55 / $1370.00

any mummies interested in Shichida/ right brain training too?

angelsky

I also heard about chicken pox being most potent when they are about to burst (with water flowing out).

My son's push ups only lasted for about 2 days. Once he realised that he can kneel down, he stopped doing push ups already.;P

Jess

I totally agree with u. B4 my son, I never understand how tough parenthood is and can't really appreciate my parents especially my mum. Now that I am a mum myself, I appreciate my parents much more. It's really not easy being a parent. =)

dawn

My son was borned with a headful of hair. I can't bear to shave his hair. *heart pain* He shed quite a bit of hair at the back of his head though. Other than that, the hair on the rest of his head is growing quite well. We trimmed his hair for about 3 times since his birth.

evening

So now we can give the teething husk now ah? Maybe I should go get a box too. =)

Is Shicida good? It sure is expensive. =( Actually I was quite interested in the course when I watched about it on TV. But not sure if it's too young for my son to go.

pigeon teats

Can i check with u ladies.. which pigeon teat are u giving your darling to use now? I tried giving my son "Y" teat. But looks a bit slow wor. What should I 'upgrade' my son to now? Pls advise! Thank u!

Ahcapp,
I'm giving my boy "M" size teats since 3-4mths. He can drink very fast with these. "Y" teats is leakproof, milk will not come out unless he sucks. Think he needs more energy to suck which cause drinking process to slow down. You may want to try size M?

Kitsune,
No problem, juz msg me once u transfer to ensure is correct. And also let me know when the neckfloat safely reach you ; )

evening,
Shichida is soooooo ex... Which mth did u start your ger? So far, can you see any results so far?