(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

shannonbaby
How i know bb is hungry at night is she will keep tossing and turning nonstop. Her head will swing from side to side (left right left right) until she is carried and given milk. I test her before that by putting back the pacifier (usually drops out already), she will suck suck then make eh eh eh sound. Means she hungry. Not sure whether my instinct is correct, but most of the time she finishes her milk. On certain days, she will not finish. Btw, my bb has never sleep pass 4.5hours without a feed since she was born; esp at night. Dunno why at night, timing so zhun. Daytime dun wanna drink. Shannonbaby, your bb drinks 900ml ley...quite alot. 300ml more than mine, she is 7.1kg, 66cm @ 21 weeks - PD never comment, so i think ok bah.

angelsky,
Actually, my gal, at 11am, she would have consumed bet 100-150ml (from 7am) So hor, you shouldnt worry. However, the only constant thing is her daytime naps. She will be sleepy after playing for 2-2.1/2hrs. She will sleep 1x 2hrs and 3x 1/2 hour for afternoon nap. She will turn in for the night bet 8-9pm.

Ahcapp,
your son very advance, so strong!! my gal going 6months still nua nua like that, put her on stomach like mummy torturing her.

evening, thanks!

wow! watz Shichida abt? 4 figure sum of $$.. for how many mths bb?

ahcapp: ur boy hav really strong arms..
my bb using Y pigeon teat, taks half hr to finish his milk.. Avent teat no.3 taks 20mins..

Hi mummies going to bring / brought bb to swimming pool.

What swimming suit do you gear your bb up in? I'm looking to buy one and has shortlisted the Konfidence one since it has good reviews that it will help bb stay warm better. Do any of you have any other suggestions besides Konfidence?

evening / Lynn
My girl went for 1yr+ with shichida. Costly lor, just like mindchamps. HOw good I not sure oso, But I am sure mommies gotta do "homework" with the child, show flashcards EVERYDAY. blah blah... If you dun put in the effort, prob can't see results. I not consistent lor. Buy lots of materials oso hardly use. NOw with 2 kids, lagi no time for these... or rather, no energy! Hahaha... BUt I wonder will I send my boy to shichida... prob not, so costly.

do u all still wake up in the middle of the nite for feeding? i heard tht once our babies are 5mths plus, we do not have to feed them past midnite liao.. is it true?

tong tong, what valves r those? i bought the spare parts (think may be those valves u mentioned) for Avent manual pump at $20 at the philips showroom in jan. fixed it up to use once but didn;t use it again as the next day, my fren brought me her medela electric double pump. I can sell u those spare parts for $10.;) anybody needs those blue connectors from pump to VIA cups, i have 2.
i stay at Kovan.

ah capp
i believe he's ready. there's one brand that the rusk is round. rather sweet. start that later.

jan bb
shichida very ex. no time watch tv so dunno they filmed it. every term $780 for my girl. she started this year in april. wanted to start in jan but clash with delivery n confinement so didn't wan to waste $$. she's happy cos got quality time with mummy n didi with daddy shopping around at toa payoh. results: some. or perhaps i am more conscious of her "performance". she stumped me once when we were taking bus and she repeated tamil after another older boy speaking with his mom loudly. lotsa commuters turned to look at her. haha

lynn
min 3 months o once born can applu. shichida method (SM) also has prenatal training and babies can receive images from mothers in utero.

mom2nat
u bought lotsa materials? from tensai? very ex hor. did any own flashcards? my home practise only on off. trying to keep to a regime but like u 2 kids very siong ah. share some tips leh. may send ah boy go for one semester n tou(1) shi(1). your girl how o?

Shannonbaby,

For my son, when he wakes up at night, I will carry him first, if he just wants to be pacified, he goes back to sleep within few minutes. If he is hungry, he won't go back to sleep and makes eheh sounds until I give him milk. His drinking speed is about the same during the day and night, very fast, 5-10 min for 180-210ml.

AhCapp,

Your son so strong! And the photo was so nicely taken, captured the push-up timely.

My son can sit up unsupported for a few minutes. And can turn 360 degree on tummy. He wanted to learn to crawl, but no success yet. I usually put a toy in front of him, and he will try to move to reach to the toy, and he got very upset after trying for a while and still can't get. And I laughed when he got upset..... evil mum :)

wildchillies, shannonbaby, mcfluffy,

re: milk intake
my bb milk intake also drop since she was abt 3.5 mths. at her 'peak' she was drinking 720ml (120ml x 6 feed) per day.
then she got reflux and the PD said her milk intake drop was due to the reflux and that after medication she should be taking back her normal amt. so i kept pushing my bb to take her 720ml per day. in the end her reflux got worse and she was a miserable bb.

finally i decided to listen to my bb's cues, if she's doesn't want to drink anymore i let her be and just offer more milk a shorter time later. using this method, her reflux got better but still she never went back to her 'normal' milk intake. now she's drinking 100ml x 7 feeds a day, but most of the time she can't finish her 100ml so she averages abt 650-670ml per day. occasionally she will hit 700+

my pd still thinks her milk intake is on the low side. however, she's gaining weight more steadily as compared to when i was pushing more milk to her so i've learnt to accept tat sometimes more is not always better.

i also did a lot of reasearch on how much expressed breast milk a bb shd take and i found:

1) according to kellymom.com - a typical range of milk intakes is 19-30 oz per day (570-900 mL per day
http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/milkcalc.html

2) i also found a forum for exclusively pumping moms, and their babies also take abt 3-4oz (90-120ml) except during growth spurts.
and some of these are moms have been ep'ing for >8 mths
http://messageboards.ivillage.com/n/mb/message.asp?webtag=iv-ppexcluspump&msg=27121.1&ctx=16384
http://messageboards.ivillage.com/n/mb/message.asp?webtag=iv-ppexcluspump&msg=26539.1&ctx=16384
http://messageboards.ivillage.com/n/mb/message.asp?webtag=iv-ppexcluspump&msg=26450.1&ctx=16384

evening,
wow is amazing that your ger can repeated "tamil" somemore.. how old is your daughter when u started her in Apr? Is it veri common that babies get started at 6mths onwards?
Juz happen to know that few of my colleagues has started their babies since 6mths. Seem to be very popular!! OMG, KELIAN our babies in this generation, start "schoolings" so soon ;)

tongtong,
U need avent valves, they sell for $2.50 for 1 set of 2 right? I can sell u mine for the same price as I seldom use avent pumps now.

ahcapp,
My boy also do pushup these days.. very funny.. and he moves backwards..

grumpus,
Thanks for the info.. my boy drinks 5-6 150ml expressed milk a day.. which is like 750 to 900ml a day.. dunno why he still hungry in the middle of night.

RE:Chicken pox
Since one family member at home have chicken pox. I got mil to check with GP but GP says too late to bring BB away cos normally the virus will be spreading 2 weeks before the blisters shows up. I had chicken pox b4, wonder if my bb will have that antibodies since he had been drink my breastmilk.

Came back from PD, my girl is almost 5 months. Before I had chance to tell my PD all the issues, he said that from 3 months plus, babies intake will drop for milk thats normal, will rub face and eyes and ears may even scratch their hair thats bad habit, will drool a lot, may not poo everyday but as long as its not hard then its okay. He say my girl is bit underweight, at 25th percentile, but he say no need to start solids so early, next month when she turns 6 months then go on solid. After he tell me all this, I was so happy that she is okay I forgot to ask if she has reflux since she does throw out milk occasionally. But I guess okay ba.

AhCapp, I used avent, her drinking was super slow, then I switch to pigeon, drank much faster but then recently she started to push my hands or the bottle away when I give her pigeon, so I switch to nuk, she seems okay so far, but the thing about nuk is that after she drinks the teat will go flat and I need to take out teat from her mouth and then out back into her mouth, quite disruptive.

Shicida, sounds very very expensive. How long can they attend till? Because when they reach 3 and start attending play school, some of the play school charges also very expensive.

Swimming, I can only bring her swimming when she finishes all her jabs right? ie, the 6-in-1?

morning mummies
my gal finally sleep through the nite again after torturing me for 2 nites..
guess she is really on growth sprut during that 2 days, but its enough to give me bad headache n sleepy during working hours.

lynn,

thanks. i received the float too.
going to try out on my gal this weekend.

wildchillies,
my gal drinks alot but throws out alot too.:p
she is only 6.7kg at 5mths 3 weeks old.

jess,

take it easy.. dun stress... my bb oso cant sit by himself n jz learnt how to turn not long ago.. jz enjoy the time whereby u dun hv to "jagar" him so much..

Kitsune,

I am staying at CCK area. Ur Dr is so far for me!

RE: Pigeon teat

My son also use pigeon Y teat i also feel tat the teat is slow so i cut the teat myself to make it bigger. SO now he take about 5min to complete 150ml. If cranky will be ard 15mins.

Mylvera,

You are exactly right. You will need more effort to look after an actively tunring baby.

Jess,

Enjoy each and every stage of the development of your baby! Before long, you baby will be crawling/walking/running around the house already :)

babe, here it is:

<font color="aa00aa">Babies' Prom 2008</font>
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449169/1510008.html?1214354118

It's here again! Yeh!!
Each concert lasts one hour. Tickets required for children 2 years and above. Suitable for children from 6 years and below.

By Singapore Symphony Orchestra
Venue: Victoria Concert Hall
Tix: Category 1: S$24 | Category 2: S$19 (below 2 no need tix)
Shows: Fri 5 Dec 08, 10.30am | Fri 5 Dec 08, 12.15pm | Sat 6 Dec 08, 10.30am | Sat 6 Dec 08, 12.15pm

Priority ticket sales for Friends of SSO and Subscribers on Mon 1 Sep 08. Public sales start on 15 Sep 08.

Hee. I'm a friend of SSO and will be getting tickets for my girls. Hee. Anyone need help to get early tix?? Can PM me (nick/name/hp/email/date/time/category/# tix). I can try my best but not guarantee.

Kam,

hehe me speaking from experience.. how i wish my #1 is still a small bb whereby I can cradle him n won't feel the body aching ... n that he won't have so many balukus cos we couldn't jagar him every minute.

Bebe yan,

nestle only got Nan 3 and those limited cereals for sale, shld be same price with the fair in expo.

Pampers - I din go to find out.

Verene

dun have nan 2? oh gosh, thats a very lousy fair then. I still intend to go and grab FM and diapers after work and worrying how to bring all back alone. Now i think don't need to go already. haha.. Kind of disappointed.

Have login to the forum for a long time. Busy with work and running around like a mad woman.

Aiyo..must start shichinda so soon?

Ah capp,
Your baby push up photo is so so cute...

Something to share with Mummies here

Obama's June 15, 2008 Fathers Day Speech at the Apostolic Church of God in Chicago. Video and text

Remarks of Senator Barack Obama
As prepared.
Apostolic Church of God
Sunday, June 15th, 2009
Chicago, IL

Good morning. It’s good to be home on this Father’s Day with my girls, and it’s an honor to spend some time with all of you today in the house of our Lord.
At the end of the Sermon on the Mount, Jesus closes by saying, “Whoever hears these words of mine, and does them, shall be likened to a wise man who built his house upon a rock: and the rain descended, and the floods came, and the winds blew, and beat upon that house, and it fell not, for it was founded upon a rock.” [Matthew 7: 24-25]

Here at Apostolic, you are blessed to worship in a house that has been founded on the rock of Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior. But it is also built on another rock, another foundation – and that rock is Bishop Arthur Brazier. In forty-eight years, he has built this congregation from just a few hundred to more than 20,000 strong – a congregation that, because of his leadership, has braved the fierce winds and heavy rains of violence and poverty; joblessness and hopelessness. Because of his work and his ministry, there are more graduates and fewer gang members in the neighborhoods surrounding this church. There are more homes and fewer homeless. There is more community and less chaos because Bishop Brazier continued the march for justice that he began by Dr. King’s side all those years ago. He is the reason this house has stood tall for half a century. And on this Father’s Day, it must make him proud to know that the man now charged with keeping its foundation strong is his son and your new pastor, Reverend Byron Brazier.

Of all the rocks upon which we build our lives, we are reminded today that family is the most important. And we are called to recognize and honor how critical every father is to that foundation. They are teachers and coaches. They are mentors and role models. They are examples of success and the men who constantly push us toward it.

But if we are honest with ourselves, we’ll admit that what too many fathers also are is missing – missing from too many lives and too many homes. They have abandoned their responsibilities, acting like boys instead of men. And the foundations of our families are weaker because of it.

You and I know how true this is in the African-American community. We know that more than half of all black children live in single-parent households, a number that has doubled – doubled – since we were children. We know the statistics – that children who grow up without a father are five times more likely to live in poverty and commit crime; nine times more likely to drop out of schools and twenty times more likely to end up in prison. They are more likely to have behavioral problems, or run away from home, or become teenage parents themselves. And the foundations of our community are weaker because of it.

How many times in the last year has this city lost a child at the hands of another child? How many times have our hearts stopped in the middle of the night with the sound of a gunshot or a siren? How many teenagers have we seen hanging around on street corners when they should be sitting in a classroom? How many are sitting in prison when they should be working, or at least looking for a job? How many in this generation are we willing to lose to poverty or violence or addiction? How many?

Yes, we need more cops on the street. Yes, we need fewer guns in the hands of people who shouldn’t have them. Yes, we need more money for our schools, and more outstanding teachers in the classroom, and more afterschool programs for our children. Yes, we need more jobs and more job training and more opportunity in our communities.

But we also need families to raise our children. We need fathers to realize that responsibility does not end at conception. We need them to realize that what makes you a man is not the ability to have a child – it’s the courage to raise one.

We need to help all the mothers out there who are raising these kids by themselves; the mothers who drop them off at school, go to work, pick up them up in the afternoon, work another shift, get dinner, make lunches, pay the bills, fix the house, and all the other things it takes both parents to do. So many of these women are doing a heroic job, but they need support. They need another parent. Their children need another parent. That’s what keeps their foundation strong. It’s what keeps the foundation of our country strong.

I know what it means to have an absent father, although my circumstances weren’t as tough as they are for many young people today. Even though my father left us when I was two years old, and I only knew him from the letters he wrote and the stories that my family told, I was luckier than most. I grew up in Hawaii, and had two wonderful grandparents from Kansas who poured everything they had into helping my mother raise my sister and me – who worked with her to teach us about love and respect and the obligations we have to one another. I screwed up more often than I should’ve, but I got plenty of second chances. And even though we didn’t have a lot of money, scholarships gave me the opportunity to go to some of the best schools in the country. A lot of kids don’t get these chances today. There is no margin for error in their lives. So my own story is different in that way.

Still, I know the toll that being a single parent took on my mother – how she struggled at times to the pay bills; to give us the things that other kids had; to play all the roles that both parents are supposed to play. And I know the toll it took on me. So I resolved many years ago that it was my obligation to break the cycle – that if I could be anything in life, I would be a good father to my girls; that if I could give them anything, I would give them that rock – that foundation – on which to build their lives. And that would be the greatest gift I could offer.

I say this knowing that I have been an imperfect father – knowing that I have made mistakes and will continue to make more; wishing that I could be home for my girls and my wife more than I am right now. I say this knowing all of these things because even as we are imperfect, even as we face difficult circumstances, there are still certain lessons we must strive to live and learn as fathers – whether we are black or white; rich or poor; from the South Side or the wealthiest suburb.

The first is setting an example of excellence for our children – because if we want to set high expectations for them, we’ve got to set high expectations for ourselves. It’s great if you have a job; it’s even better if you have a college degree. It’s a wonderful thing if you are married and living in a home with your children, but don’t just sit in the house and watch “SportsCenter” all weekend long. That’s why so many children are growing up in front of the television. As fathers and parents, we’ve got to spend more time with them, and help them with their homework, and replace the video game or the remote control with a book once in awhile. That’s how we build that foundation.

We know that education is everything to our children’s future. We know that they will no longer just compete for good jobs with children from Indiana, but children from India and China and all over the world. We know the work and the studying and the level of education that requires.

You know, sometimes I’ll go to an eighth-grade graduation and there’s all that pomp and circumstance and gowns and flowers. And I think to myself, it’s just eighth grade. To really compete, they need to graduate high school, and then they need to graduate college, and they probably need a graduate degree too. An eighth-grade education doesn’t cut it today. Let’s give them a handshake and tell them to get their butts back in the library!

It’s up to us – as fathers and parents – to instill this ethic of excellence in our children. It’s up to us to say to our daughters, don’t ever let images on TV tell you what you are worth, because I expect you to dream without limit and reach for those goals. It’s up to us to tell our sons, those songs on the radio may glorify violence, but in my house we live glory to achievement, self respect, and hard work. It’s up to us to set these high expectations. And that means meeting those expectations ourselves. That means setting examples of excellence in our own lives.

The second thing we need to do as fathers is pass along the value of empathy to our children. Not sympathy, but empathy – the ability to stand in somebody else’s shoes; to look at the world through their eyes. Sometimes it’s so easy to get caught up in “us,” that we forget about our obligations to one another. There’s a culture in our society that says remembering these obligations is somehow soft – that we can’t show weakness, and so therefore we can’t show kindness.

But our young boys and girls see that. They see when you are ignoring or mistreating your wife. They see when you are inconsiderate at home; or when you are distant; or when you are thinking only of yourself. And so it’s no surprise when we see that behavior in our schools or on our streets. That’s why we pass on the values of empathy and kindness to our children by living them. We need to show our kids that you’re not strong by putting other people down – you’re strong by lifting them up. That’s our responsibility as fathers.

And by the way – it’s a responsibility that also extends to Washington. Because if fathers are doing their part; if they’re taking our responsibilities seriously to be there for their children, and set high expectations for them, and instill in them a sense of excellence and empathy, then our government should meet them halfway.

We should be making it easier for fathers who make responsible choices and harder for those who avoid them. We should get rid of the financial penalties we impose on married couples right now, and start making sure that every dime of child support goes directly to helping children instead of some bureaucrat. We should reward fathers who pay that child support with job training and job opportunities and a larger Earned Income Tax Credit that can help them pay the bills. We should expand programs where registered nurses visit expectant and new mothers and help them learn how to care for themselves before the baby is born and what to do after – programs that have helped increase father involvement, women’s employment, and children’s readiness for school. We should help these new families care for their children by expanding maternity and paternity leave, and we should guarantee every worker more paid sick leave so they can stay home to take care of their child without losing their income.

We should take all of these steps to build a strong foundation for our children. But we should also know that even if we do; even if we meet our obligations as fathers and parents; even if Washington does its part too, we will still face difficult challenges in our lives. There will still be days of struggle and heartache. The rains will still come and the winds will still blow.

And that is why the final lesson we must learn as fathers is also the greatest gift we can pass on to our children – and that is the gift of hope.

I’m not talking about an idle hope that’s little more than blind optimism or willful ignorance of the problems we face. I’m talking about hope as that spirit inside us that insists, despite all evidence to the contrary, that something better is waiting for us if we’re willing to work for it and fight for it. If we are willing to believe.

I was answering questions at a town hall meeting in Wisconsin the other day and a young man raised his hand, and I figured he’d ask about college tuition or energy or maybe the war in Iraq. But instead he looked at me very seriously and he asked, “What does life mean to you?”

Now, I have to admit that I wasn’t quite prepared for that one. I think I stammered for a little bit, but then I stopped and gave it some thought, and I said this:

When I was a young man, I thought life was all about me – how do I make my way in the world, and how do I become successful and how do I get the things that I want.

But now, my life revolves around my two little girls. And what I think about is what kind of world I’m leaving them. Are they living in a county where there’s a huge gap between a few who are wealthy and a whole bunch of people who are struggling every day? Are they living in a county that is still divided by race? A country where, because they’re girls, they don’t have as much opportunity as boys do? Are they living in a country where we are hated around the world because we don’t cooperate effectively with other nations? Are they living a world that is in grave danger because of what we’ve done to its climate?

And what I’ve realized is that life doesn’t count for much unless you’re willing to do your small part to leave our children – all of our children – a better world. Even if it’s difficult. Even if the work seems great. Even if we don’t get very far in our lifetime.

That is our ultimate responsibility as fathers and parents. We try. We hope. We do what we can to build our house upon the sturdiest rock. And when the winds come, and the rains fall, and they beat upon that house, we keep faith that our Father will be there to guide us, and watch over us, and protect us, and lead His children through the darkest of storms into light of a better day. That is my prayer for all of us on this Father’s Day, and that is my hope for this country in the years ahead. May God Bless you and your children. Thank you.

lynn

for e neckfloat, e handle side suppose to be the top or the one with pics is top? If the handle is below, not weird meh? The handle is for us (Adult) to pull in case bb floats away right? ha

jan bb, angelsky

she did that tamil thing once only lah, not sen(2) tong(2).
my girl started at 2 yr half. encouraged to start early. only 1 week once. not like playgroup nor schooling. playgroup daily for em to socialise and can start at 18 mths but i only let her go at 26 mths. but her playgroup not ex. understand from GD that babies want to learn more than anything. she's happy attending only that she gets easily distracted by her friends sigh. anyway SM more teaches parents how to teach their child.

evening
My girl is now 4 yrs old, she attended Shichida when she was 2.5. Stopped last yr. She not cooperative in the ESP games lah. Then oso tiring on the parents. I live in Pasir ris, travel to TPY every sun for shichida, then tat time Tue and Thur go to Novena for GUG. Wah piang... peng san.

I bought some materials from Tensai, some from BP. I hardly make flashcards. I bought the 100 flashcards from BP in the forum, and oso some from tensai. I even enthusiastically bought a laminator, never used it b4 and recently sold it away(after keeping for 1 yr). My hb and I are convinced we are not natural teachers, can't teach with so much passion, soon our energy will puncture. I even bought Glenn Doman's english cards! Haha... can you imagine the things I have at home? I am a SAHM oso can't enjoy the passion in teaching, short term ok, but everyday ah, v sian lor.

Shannonbaby
Did you bring your bb to check for vomiting? Cos mine is suppose to have reflux.

Re: Green Poo
Anyone's bb has green poo? My boy has a lot of wind and green poo again. The previous time he had, did stool test. but nothing leh. this time again.