(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Angelsky, my boy has the same symptoms with your girl. Yes a white spot, you touch can feel it is hard that is the tooth coming out. He rejects milk but he likes to drink water instead. Buy teething gel to apply. My boy likes it. You can get from pharmacy.

Blessedbaby, I have enabled my PM.

Angelsky, ur bb sleeps late but at least she sleeps right thru. My son’s sleeping time is not much better, I think he has inherited mummy’s late night habits. Plus, his sleeping is going from bad to worse, he wakes up even more frequently than before and I have to help put him to sleep after feeds whereas before he will just dose right back to sleep. Mummies, any ideas how to make bb sleep thru the night?
So cute, ur gal sings herself to sleep. My boy “sings” along when I sing to him before bed.

I just tried the Dex secure sleeper head and body system, it’s so-so only. It’s a bit small, and baby’s head will sometimes move out of position from the cushion.

mylvera, my gal also din poo for 4 days liao. Can buy those "No sugar added" apple juice for her? Need to mix with water? The apple juice v effective??

Yen

haha, yes, I am still on the fat side :) Gained about 15kg during pregnancy, then after delivery, still have about 10kg left, sob sob......

I didn't mean to have high-cal food lah, but just took the normal diets.

Hi wendyg,

cannot afford to strike now liao though I wanted to. got re-shuffling at work. so sian. so many uncertainties now. perhaps, next yr bah.

hi yen

my hubby bought them, and i tink he too kiasu! bought so many packs! will check with him first.
btw, u wan the extra pack? otherwise, i sell both to mei

Hammies,
I let my boy sleep on his back, but I don't use a pillow. Perhaps that's why my boy's head is flat at a certain angle. Sometimes I let him sleep on those pillow with a round centre in the middle, but that is during the day only. I was told for safety reasons not to use a pillow till they are at least 6 months.

shooting star, guess sometimes we just have to make sacrifices, I feel so lack of sleep these few days. Now she is even sleeping with me on my bed, and when she wakes up, she will punch me, I wonder if its coincidence or is she really that smart. hehehe.

I went out to buy lunch today, my mum said the minute the door closed, she scream so loudly. When I came back, she refused to look at me, pout at me even.

Not safe for the pillow to be above them or under them? Gwyneth sleeps with a pillow underneath her head, but I do give her a beanie pillow to hug, I used to cover her with a blanket but she tends to kick the blanket and it covers her head, so now I only put her in a sleeping bag thats all.

Sometimes hard for us to control which side they sleep on, I tried to even out my girl's head also, supposedly to let her sleep more on her left, but when I tried to put her on her left, she will shift her head to the right, end up I give up

preciouos moment, yup literally joined at the hips.
Now my arms tired and got the sng sng feeling. Like do work out.

My gf say no need to go gym, as her baby grew heavier, she started to loose weight big time. The fatter her baby, the slimmer she is.

The last few days, I felt so useless that I really contemplated going back to work, but then you she bu de
. But then I fear that the longer I take to go back to work, the more cold feet I get, no wonder they always say SAHM's sometimes lose their confidence, but I hate being called a huang lian po.

so happy, just had a family photo-shot session at foto-u. Xavier managed to snap some nice botak photos but he get tired after 30-mins of photo taking, 4 mths a bit young, not much pose can be used. :p

1439960.jpg

Shootingstar,
I have a cheap version of the pillow with a hollow below, but havent let Xavier try sleeping on it, cos the pillow at the neck area, a bit too high.

Back from my HK 4D3N trip...bought lots of clothes for myself and bb...hehe.

Just to share with mummies who are going to HK, there's a huge store beside the H&M store in Central selling bb stuff. And in the small lanes opposite H&M, there are some pasar malam stores and shops selling alot of bb clothes...carters, etc going for like HKD40-50.

yen,

i duno if it is the apple juice that is effective or the fact that i went to kar jiao his anus. according to GP, can kar jiao his anus to stimulate it. according to PD, use apple juice (i believe she refering to fresh apple juice) to help in poo-ing. what i did was to use blender, blend the apple and use a seive to squeeze out the juice. only give my son 2-3 teaspoon of the juice. I bot those ready made apple juice too but decided to try out the fresh juice first.

when he did poo on the next day, it was alot n smelly lor. i told my hb "today got <curry> to eat liao" haha

mayb tmr i will try the apple juice again ..cos 4 days no poo liao ... will let u know if it is effective again

angelsky
so your girl sleep with u on the bed too? mine also. n i notice that lately, if i try to move her back to her cot, she will wake up n cry cos cannot find me. she must snuggle her head into my body (or armpit. yucks!) b4 she can fall asleep. even if i leave her on the bed and i sneak off to do housework or take a bath, she wake up dun find me there, will cry too! she is really like super glue. i dunno how i am ever gonna get her to sleep in her own cot.

do u have any ideas? and when r u goin to do it? i thought maybe when she's 6 mths old i move her to her own cot liao. cannot imagine her sleeping with me till she is a few yrs old!

icy, he looks so different
, looks like he really enjoy the session.

michelle, I think I spoil her, but I really cant stand having to wake up and then go pat her to sleep and then go back to sleep and then she cries again, so pek chek thats why I put her on my bed with me. The thing about my girl is that, she is okay with anyone, as long as she is being carried and someone plays and entertains her. What I do is, sometimes I put her back on her bed to sleep, sometimes I sleep with her on the floor on a mattress, sometimes she sleeps in my parents room on the floor, not sure if that will confuse her, but I supposed as long as she still sleeps on her mattress (move-able one) or her own cot, should be all right ba? Sometimes I even carry her to sleep and then put her down when she is fast asleep. Yes, I also cannot imagine her sleeping with me when she is a few years old. We need our own time and space too.

angelsky
me same-same, Rylee also stick to me like super glue. Demands to be carried all the time. Lately even hubby carry also she will cry until loud-loud kind and tears flowing down pitifully. Then i took over, stop and can even smile at hubby. Aiyoh, my arms also sng-sng liao. Ay...but at least hor, your gal still can sleep anywhere, as long as she's with u...ie sleep this mattress placed anywhere and everywhere...mine ah, buay song only, u got to rock and rock. Like yesterday, woke up at 4plus, nursed her, then eyes big-big dont want to sleep, after a while, yawned, rocked her, but hubby see me so ke lian, helped me takeover to rock, she stared at hubby then scream loud-loud, i buay tahan, sat up again and take over, immediately she fell asleep! It's like she's screaming "I dont wan to fall asleep in your arms" to her Daddy! Headache ah!! Dont be tempted to go back to work lah...jiayou, jiayou!

michelle
sorry but the way u describe emma snuggle up to your armpit for warmth is very heartwarming leh...i know it's not funny when u're trying to sleep, but cant help but go "Aww....." she jus wans Mommy lo...

Yvonne
the shop u went to is Eugene Club, basically, that's the closest u can get to Kiddy Palace equivalent in HK...but things not cheap rite? Shud have told me earlier, i have discount card there (cos bought the baby cot from there). There is also another more angmoh baby shop several blocks down,call Bumps to Babes. They stock quite a lot of things, again, very expensive, so i didnt recommend to anyone here. Yah, the street opposite i JUST discovered also the other day, cos i went to the building right beside it for Rylee's craniosacral therapy session there...came down and saw quite a number of stalls selling kids clothes but was with my mom and she forbade me to even stop and browse cos i bought too many clothes for rylee liao...hehe..did u find any good buys?

Icy
Xavier botak head sooooo cute!!!

white spot on gums = tooth
this is a mystery to me as well, Rylee has got it too since she was 3mths plus. My mom told me it's "mai ya" which is loosely translated as "wheat tooth" She said in the olden days, old folks use "cockroach shit" which was sold in Chinese med hall to rub on baby's gums to prevent this. Then, i went to one of the "branded" PD and he said it's NOT a tooth, jus some kind of a node, which comes and go. Nothing to be concerned about. But when i went to yet another PD, he challenged it and said it IS a tooth, kept asking us to touch it, say it's hard like bone. He said ALL babies born with tooth in them, jus see when it's sprouted only. So, his theory is the teeth are all there. So this one jus get shown, BUT it wont grow. Until it's the right time. Then, miraculously, now, as i rub Rylee's gums, i discovered it has disappeared! No more traces of it! So at the end of the day, i'm none the wiser! kekeke

mylife
You are right, tat white thing is not a tooth. Cos my #1 had many of them! Hahaha... Usually when a tooth is sprouting out, you see more like a tiny dark colour hole, then slowly you see the tooth. And it is true, all the teeth are there, just when they gg to sprout out.

mylife,
I didn't buy anything from that store...just browse only becos I was looking for clothes rather than other stuff. But I bought 2 Carters rompers from the street opposite...they have lots of clothes over there but some didn't have the size I want...the rompers cost me HKD39.90 and HKD49.90...quite cheap right? I also bought some clothes from Zara and H&amp;M for my boy...but of course not much variety as compared to their girls collection...so cute!!!

michelle,
My boy sleeps in his own cot so I don't have any personal experience. But my friend's daughter used to sleep with her mil and she had a hard time getting her to sleep in her own room becos her daughter will need her mil's "smell" to fall asleep...you know old people will have a kind of "smell". I think it's the same logic becos you are bf your bb so you have the "milk smell" which she's so used to. Maybe you can try putting her to sleep in her cot but give her something with your smell on it, maybe a small hanky or towel to give her a sense of security. Dunno whether will work or not lah.

Re: Baby's hospitalization - Bronchitis

Mylife, Beanie, QQ &amp; Icy - Thanks for your concern and encouragement, it was really what I needed. Baby was discharged and now he's back home with us. Fever subsided but we rented the neubiliser machine to help him clear his airways better, about every 6 hourly. He's been cranky and always want us to carry him. Sighz. Think my arms breaking.

Hi tongtong, yes, he was admitted on Sunday.

yen
re: apple juice
omg u went to buy those Marigold No Sugar Added? I think those can only intro to bb over 1yo. Under 1yo pls stick to bb jar food if u want to buy off the shelf, or make your own fr fresh fruit.
Jar food u can find in supermarkets, shld be same shelves as milk powder.

yvonne, I tried the hanky and towel trick when I was BF her last time, end up she will be sucking the towel or hanky. :p

mylife, I said too early, today whole day I had to carry her. Put her in sling also cannot, must be body to body touch. She just fell asleep. Sigh, sometimes I wonder whether am I too soft? Coz can tell she really tired le, scratch her face and rub her eyes until sometimes whole face and eyes also red, then I will pat her to sleep, but by then she will be very pek chek, then will cry and cry.

Angelsky, my gal also like that. Can see she's so tired, rub her eyes until red already but can't sleep. Then she so pek chek so I 'xin ruan' lor, then 'arrow' my hubby to carry. Evil laughter...Muah hahaha.

Introducing soft food

Any Mummies started introducing soft food like heinz cereal or something to baby? What are the things you will try?

kitsune, LOL, yes I also will pass to my mum or anyone in the house. kekeke. My hubbie will get bullied by my girl, so its even worse. hahaha. I know in a few months when she is bigger, I will think back and miss being able to hold her so close to me, but for now, its getting a bit too sticky.

Violetlce,
gwyneth is not 4 months yet, but I am already browsing the shelves at the supermarket for interesting stuff. But seems like from 4 months, its more like rice cereal or juices. But I wonder if the juices from heinz are too sweet, would it better for us to blend ourselves? My mum was saying brown rice? Not sure if I heard her correctly, but I've seen those at the supermarkets before, my mum say maybe wanna train my girl from young to take wo.

Hi mylife,

need your help on this. My hubby going to HK again! been the 3rd time this yr liao. too bad i cant afford the time to go if not, i will sure come visit u. perhaps if there is a 4th time this yr. keke. he wish to know if fisher &amp; price stuff is cheaper in HK? as well as those exersaucer? his boss told him that there is a place where they sell lots of bb clothes think those consider branded kind (but sure not the tung cong outlets) at a discounted price. U haf any idea where it seems to be?

hi violetIce,

I started to introduce the jar food and also the heinz cereal (rice for 4 mths). add the cereal in his milk. so far, javier is reacting well to both esp the jar food. He likes them.

most of my friends said we shd introduce white rice 1st say ard 4-5 mths old. they said eith heinz white rice or friso or dumex

Dumex ppl called me last week and delivered a can of follow-on and i told the lady i want cereal too... so she sent me 2 small pack to try out

Vio
Great to know tt baby is home... maybe when he is better u may wanna ask ur doc if there is some supplement that he can take to strength his lungs... or even some med that u can standby at home...

I have change my boy's teat to the pigeon brown teat. So far he managed to finish the milk.

VioletIce, check with your PD is it possible to use inhaler instead. It is much faster just for a few second. My elder son had bronchaitis when twice when he is below 1 yr old. I used nebusiler and rent it home 2 times. In the end, PD recommend me to use inhaler. And really in control and heal faster. Just need to 2 puffs each time 4 - 6 hrly. Within 2 weeks recovered.

I intend to let my boy try cereals when he is 5 mths plus. Training him to start solid food once he is 6 mths old.

angelsky
dont worry, it's a phase they go thru, i think? Mine also for a period dont wan to sleep, not even in yaolan. Now, abit can liao. But i also soft hearted like u, she cry, i cannot stand will carry. I'm a believer of the theory, if babies this young cry and u leave them alone, then u're telling them no one will come to them. But then again, i also scared she will be spoilt. So i tell myself when she's more "sturdy" maybe 9-12mths, i will discipline her bah? Some say it's too late then...i am trying not to think so far ahead (yes, 9mths is still very far ahead to me! hehe) and jus focus on now lo. I'm reckoning when she is mobile, can crawl, sit, watever, they will be less reliant on us bah? By then, we need to chase aft them, and tat's another form of tiredness to us liao. I totally agree on the sticky part, but like i said in my blog, i TRY to imagine her not needing me next time...self-consolation! Haha

Kitsune
when my gal jus turn 4mths, she was also like dat...tired but refuse to sleep. Perhaps the world to them suddenly turn sharp and colourful, dats why they dont wan to sleep for fear of missing smtg out. But i was told, sleep is a survival instinct, so rest assured, sooner or later, they WILL sleep one. Mine that time brought out, so happy in my sling, then sleep sitting down in the kangaroo position! hahaha... *evil mommy*

Verene
there's 2 places in HK that people always say "can buy branded kids clothes at discounted price". One is the Citygate Mall outlets in Tung Chung. The other one is at Stanley. My sis bought a CK romper for very cheap only (dunno how much but she say very cheap) and Carter's bibs. I have not been there myself cos it's very far and back then, i am not that brave to venture out so far with a cranky baby (Stanley is in the New territories). If ur hubby wants to go, can ask him to take MTR to the nearest stop, then take cab (it's a winding road in) and ask people where he can find the Stanley market and where the kids clothes are. When is your hubby coming to HK? I will try to find out for u the directions...as for the Tung Chung outlets, brands available are like KingKow (love their baby girl's clothes!!), Chickeeduck, La Petite (french brand), etc. For fisher &amp; price, i am not entirely sure if it's cheaper in HK, last time i gave the pricing to Yvonne, but i think someone mention that got a chinese shop selling about the same price. But of cos compare to other retail toy shops like Toys R Us in Spore, HK might be cheaper due to the strengthening of SGD bah. If u give me the model u're looking aft, i can help u check at the Toys R Us, there might be some shops selling even cheaper but sadly i dunno where...

Re: Introducing soft food

Angelsky,
Baby Ian is five months old today. I haven't introduce any kind of soft food, not even cereal to him yet as I thought nowadays it's better to introduce to them at 6th month old. However, was thinking maybe can try Heinz cereal or something, one spoonful or so to let him taste a bit other than his milk.

Verene,
What kind of jar food? You feed him from jar?

beanie,
Thanks for your concern. I will ask the pd when he goes for check up on Tuesday. He's better but still got a lot of phelgm.

Maureen,
Inhaler? Is it for asthma or bronchitis? Better? It's hard to use the neubiliser as he struggles with us each time. Like fighting battle everytime when it's neubiliser time or medication time. Sighz. Cereal to add in milk or to feed by spoon?

Re: Flipping
Now that Baby Ian has learned to flip, he kept flipping, even in his sleep, he flipped to one side and sleeps. Is that weird or what? So worried he'll suffocate himself sometimes. Last time, he hates tummy time, now, he hates to be on his back, only when he flipped successfully, then he will smiled. If unsuccessful, he will screamed bloody murder. LOL!

Icy,

Xavier is so cute! How much does that cost? Sometimes, it's true photos taken by professionals are much better than those taken by us.

my bb is rejecting his milk, this motning he only driink abt 100ml n vomited, at 10+ he drinked finisg 150ml. now he dun even want to drink, n drink vert little, vomitted also.... really dunno wat happened

VioletIce, my elder son got bronchatitis also when young. Inhaler is just to clear the passage way faster and prevention. Yes neubiliser they can struggle. You may check with your PD. Even now if he has cough I do let him use it for clearing the phelgm. It cure cough faster then drinking oral medicine.

Cereal to spoon feed. So it is easier to feed him porridge next time.

violetlce
I took up the photoshoot promotion $120 by foto-U on forum recently. 60mins photoshoot for 60mins, took abt 130+ pix, (of course some repeat poses, waiting for Xavier to Smile). Ard 50+ pix are nice and me feel like developing on my own.

No makeup included, all images returned in CD and 3 8R pix given if taken during weekday.

I took with whole family, including pil. I can send you the link of the photos if u wanna see, quite please with it, no touch up done.

mylife
well i guess it is heartwarming in a way n i'm sure i'll miss it when she's all grown up n has her own life n friends! but for now... gee... i just wish i couild get some personal space n not wake up every morning with backache!

btw, it gets harder when they r older hor... i mean if u try to train them to do smthg like sleep on her own or wat. cos the older they r, the more aware they become! i had such a hard time with my son - he was about 15 mths when i tried to sleep train him, ie cry it out. in the end i buay tahan also cos cannot bear to see him cry until so cham
i plan to start with emma when she is 6 mths old. nothing older than that! sometimes i wish i can just put emma back in my tummy - then she can go wherever i go and we will both be happy! hee hee

angelsky
gd that u let your girl sleep at different places so she wont get too used to one place/person only

yvonne
i oredi put my clothes into her cot liao. i wrap my pajama top around her bolster and she needs that to sleep during the day for her naps. she will bury her face in the bolster n lick lick lick it

but some how this trick doesnt work at nite leh. its like she knows at nite it shd be the real thing!

michelle, ya its really hard, I cant imagine when she is older, cham. I tried to let her cry it out, but sigh, she just cries even louder. I tried the patting method, the cry it all out method, nothing seems to be working, sometimes I really wanna just stuff the pacifier into her mouth, sigh, but then later to make her quit is also going to be difficult. Sometimes when she wants to sleep, I can tell its really difficult for her, coz she will get all restless in the sleep, even though she is supposedly asleep already, she will be babbling in her sleep, trying to soothe herself to sleep.

angelsky
aiyoh...sounds so pitiful. I know wat u mean lo..my gal also, hands will be up in the air, like hang there mid-air even aft she's asleep becos she was struggling halfway then fell asleep so her hand was in midair, like in the middle of protesting, then time froze...kekeke

michelle
dont burst my bubble of hope...kekeke...i am hoping can talk "sense" into them and negotiate when they're able to comprehend and understand...now u say like dat, my anxiety level is up again. A mommy here in HK told me, they WILL sleep on their own, when they are developmentally &amp; physically ready, no need to train. Training is only for parents for want to speed things up and force kids to do things they're not ready. So i kept repeating this mantra when i'm damn frustrated...."she's not ready, she's not ready..." Sigh, but i agree...easier said than done. I attempted to let her cry it out, but dont say 5mins, 1min also buay tahan liao. I super soft hearted one lo. Maybe next time really get bullied by her.

Yday nite my gal very strange, wokeup at 3plus, so i nursed her. Then she poo-ed so bo pian gotta on the lights and changed her diaper. Aft dat, she refused to go back to sleep. So i rock her, but she arched and cried, so i knew she must need a burp, Hold her upright and she let out a loud burp. She looks pretty sleepy then so i reswaddled her and tried rocking her again in my arms (which was gonna break anytime liao) but she'd struggled and even cried. But i noticed when i placed her down on my bed to reswaddle her, she looked happy and eyes closed, so finally, i jus put her down to her cot and pat her and she fell asleep? I was like..."chun bor?" dont want mommy to rock, wan to act adult and sleep on your own? hehe. Hopefully it's not a fluke lo.

Hi mylife,

thanks. My hubby will be going on the 11 June bah. most prob he will go tung chung as his supplier's office is near there. perhaps staying at a hotel near there as well. If there is time, I will ask him to go to toy r us to look look see see bah. btw, where is this H &amp; M? we like the jap shop that sells cheap tshirt and bb rompers. keke.

Hi violetIce,

I bought 2 kinds, fruits based and vege based, both organic and the original kind. if it is the vege based, i prefer to heat in up and feed from a small cup. for fruits one, i also feed from small cup. scoop in portion. put left over in fridge, can keep for 48 hrs. I tried not let him finish the whole jar for a day. scared he reject milk if he takes too much jar food.