(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

blessedbaby, I bring 4 sterilised bottles (pump twice) to work everyday. As for the pump, I use hot hot water to rinse it. I am using Ameda pump. How about you?

thanks beanie!

hi Yen

Tks. I am using avent manual pump as I got all bottles storages from avent.
You mean you can pum 4 bottles in 2 times? How many ml each time? ;))

Maybe I will sterilise bottles from home like you. I dont like the smell after using table sterilization. Its so strong. and dont know whether its safe for bb..hmmmm...

When I went back to work first day, wowow, sterilised the bottle and pump with tablets, then forgot to rinse it with water as in the mad rush... in the end, I had to throw 3 bottles of milk away. Wasted..
Now i rinse the bottles after sterilisation, but still not sure if its clean from chemical.

michelle
your gal, my gal and Mom2Nat's boy can become good frens liao. Mine also abit abit buay song will cry liao. Now i am super exhausted. And abit upset also. I am fine with her being sticky..understandably cos i'm her one and only caregiver...but jus now my hubby came home from work carry her, she suddenly cry like someone torturing her! My hubby was so sad lo...becos i'm direct latch, and he works full time daily, he no chance to bond with her. Sometimes i wonder if i'm doing the right thing...dunno when she will STOP anyhow cry. Even Daddy carry also cry. Last time if i want to take a breather on weekends, my hubby will carry her out into the living room and let me sleep a little longer after i give her 1st feed. But now, if she contd on like this, jialat, i lost my one and only "backup" liao.

yvonne
sorry ah...i went to toys r us last weekend and saw the jumperoo and exersaucers. Alot of kids are playing there. My hubby dare not place my gal down to try and see if she likes it cos of HFM...there's a gal there trying out the jumperoo and she looks like she's enjoying it so much leh...but amidst all the chaos...forgot to check the jumperoo price!
But i did see the Einstein exersaucer retailing for HK1499...i think? Will try to call them tom to check for u yah?

Hi blessedbaby

I got the Bright Star Bounce Bounce Baby Exersaucer from a Singapore-based online website. I only finsihed assembling it today at 8pm and so only let my baby boy played in it for 15 min. He was very amused by that he can stand up without help and play!!! He looked very happy. But with his height and the limitation of the exersaucer (can't adjust to fit my baby's height), he can't actually "bounced" on it. Will try to make adjustment tomorrow.

And will surely let him play longer with the exersaucer tomorrow and keep you update.

Mylife, is Rylee willing to take the bottle nowadays? I make hubby bottle feed RaeAnne at night usually the last feed and the 6am feed if she wakes up. Give Daddy some bonding time while I get to rest. I think it gives him a sense of satisfaction too to be able to soothe bb with milk when she's hungry and crying.

aiyah godsent, i just placed order with my sis. she placed order through website liao. i forgot how many i ordered liao...paiseh..when the goods arrive then i know...by then i think very late for you liao...
u need constant supply right? next time my sis open spree, i sms you. like that better right?

<font color="0000ff">Re:New Improved Simiac Stage 1</font>

Can ask if any mummies still giving their babies the above? Are your babies taking well?

Coz last week when I bought a few tins, I passed 2 tins to my MIL for my girl to drink while at her house (coz she takes care of my girl). Then my MIL started giving her the new improved FM since Fri, while I was still giving her the old FM as I still have 1/4 left. Who knows... since Sunday (not a good Mother's day for me...
) my girl had diarrhea... until today. Just brought her to PD today.... Wonder if this is due to the mix of new &amp; old FM? I scared now. Decided to stop giving her the old FM &amp; now just started to give her the new FM for 1 feed at 9pm... Have to monitor.... if things still do not turn well... I may need to change FM...

So now asking if any babies having problems taking the improved version of FM? How about Stage 2? Is it improved version or still the same? Any mummies started Stage 2 earlier for their babies?

krystle, I have been giving, JanBB and QQ too, but I think JanBB has gone back to the old version.

Anyway, not sure about it but my girl constipated the first day she was on it, but now better, her poo poo schedule back to normal. My only issue with the new version is that the number of scoops and amount of water given is way out for my girl now if based on the 3 months guideline, but well since its guideline only I dont follow la, but if based on the new version, she is drinking like a 1 month old which makes understanding how much she is drinking quite baffling to me.

I have not started her on the stage 2 yet, stage 2 6 months le, my girl not 4 months yet, still got a while more to go.

O, but I noticed the version, she seems to have a lot of phelgm. But changing FM is such a hassle.

blessedbaby,

I actually brot 4 bottles and pumps to office. once i finish pumping in the morning, wash with water n leave it on the table. then during lunch time, i will take out 2 bottles n pumps from the sterilised box that i brot to work and pump again lor. very ley chey cos go home muz sterilise 4 bottles, 4 pumps + 1 lock n lock box. wat to do? i dun like the sterilising tablets too.

hi Kam

Tks for the info. Will look out for it on website. Tks

Mylvera, you mean you have 4 pumps? wowow, your bag must be very bulky. hahahaha
I think i will follow Yen, sterilise the bottles at home and for the pump I just wash and rinse with hote water only. I really don like the tablet. ;o(((

mylife
wonder if we 3 will ever get a chance to meet with our 'cha bao' babies? with u in HK and me in melbourne, perhaps someday we can meet when we go back spore for holiday :p

welcome to the 'baby only wants mommy club' - haha. my girl will only stop crying when i carry her. whether its when she wants to nap or even when she's awake, once she sense i m not the one carrying/playing with her, she will cry liao. wont stop till i take over again. its nice to be wanted - i feel impt! but i wonder wat will happen to her when i go back to work. she sure very jialat one. but no choice.. got to 'cold turkey' let her get used to it. these few days, have been trying to let her get used to my MIL - she cry oso i dun take over right away. let her cry till very jia lat then i carry. sigh. jut wondering - was rylee a little premature? cos i think preemies are very smart...

wendy
so eventually your boy learned that he has to drink fr the bottle? 100ml is very gd oredi leh. how long did it take you to get him to drink that much? few wks of u back at work?

mylife,
Thanks a million. No need to check the price if you are busy ok? I will check it out when i'm in HK next week.

Yesterday brought Brien for his 2nd dose of 5-in-1 and pneumoccoccal...he's 8.9kg at 4 months! Really need to buy him the exersaucer to do some "exercise"...haha.

blessedbaby, mylevra
office got microwave? what abt using those microwave steriliser? i saw something at 'fisrt few years' is a plastic bag thingy that u put in the pump and to microwave? or maybe get a cheaper steriliser to put at work place? i guess in the long run will be better... just my 2 cents worth...
thumbs up for breast feeding mums!

blessedbaby, I pump twice at work, each time can get ard 300ml (2 x 125ml bottles full full). My bag also quite bulky, got pump, charger, fridge-to-go, 4x125ml bottles...like "ah soh" going to market.

mylife,
voted for your lovely rylee already!

krystle,
why not u stick to either "new" or "old" version for a week &amp; dun mix them. so that u can find out which tin is giving your ger problem? As wat i hv told anglesky &amp; QQ, u can buy the old version in sheng siong &amp; the expiry is end 2009 somemore.
As for stage 2 is for 6 mths onwards, will start the new version of stage 2 when the time comes.
Hope your ger is alrite now.

my colleagues actually say i am a run-away mummy... carring 1 medela PIS , 1 plastic box of bottles n pumps, 1 big cooler bag for my milkbags + my own bag. very very bulky n really look as if i m running away haha

beanie, i got the medela clean wipes but my hb doesn't like lor... he paranoid one ...keep saying without going thro the "steriliser" everything oso not sterilised .. *faint* i jz brot the clean wipes incase any bottles/pumps fall onto the floor ...bor bian use the wipes (without telling him lor) haha

my manager very niao one ..dun hv fridge...dun hv microwave, toaster... i gotta smuggle my sis mini fridge to my office n hide under my table else my manager sure scream at me.

mylvera
what abt getting a 2nd hand steriliser to plug in office? also cannot? use hot water before using wipes?
i think govt shd encourage offices to go pro breasting...

mylife
Ay, really good frens, even take the same med leh. Tat Losec, troublesome, gotta cut, then feed got some small grains ard, hard to drink, but supposedly tastes better than Zantac. Elliot hated Zantac, I tried leh, v bitter. Sigh, the both of them have reflux tog some more. When you come back, get them to shake hands.

My mom said she carried him on and off last night from 3 to 5+am... Tats the prob when comes to morning. Very tiring.

michelle
Hahaha... I came to realise, when my kids eat/drink and sleep well, I am much happier. And these are the prob tat I face most. Even my #1, when she dun eat, I oso pek chek. Last time she oso dun like bottle, gimme headache. Buy all sort of teats, diff kinds of FM, diff methods.. then drink or not depends on her mood. Aiyo... why like tat.

I wanna go Isetan sale on Thur... maybe I just tell my mil and maid "Good luck to you guys... I am gg out, the milk is in the fridge, hopefully he drinks... if dun drink then just wait until I come back!!!"

yen,

till date i have yet to find a big big bag to put all the barang barang inside.

beanie, I am waiting for my boss to scream at me for "wasting" electricity for my mini fridge haha u tink i will dare to buy 2nd hand steriliser?
anyway... i only intend to bfeed till he is 6 mths old ... which is soon .... thereafter will be a "see how" for my supply lor..got supply continue pump...supply drop den let it stop completely.

cos of bfeed issue... i anger my MIL cos i told my hb to tell her off haha. i told my hb i m very stress with the decrease in supply liao .. n if i can, i would like to program my breast to produce 125ml per pump/side. n i get even more pissed off when my MIL complain my milk not enuf for my son. so my hb went to tell his mother not to mention anything abt supply .. not enuf den supplement with FM lor. his mother told him off n say I am childish n that she dun wana look aft my sons liao. when my hb told me tis i was like "fine, dun look aft lor. i quit my job n look aft. dun expect me to bring yr grandsons to yr hse to see u on weekends ... cos weekends is my day of rest (if i quit my job)" hehe see who lugi more :p

Mom2nat; mi gg Isetan sales aft my work, watz abt u?

RE: exersaucer
whr to get nice one? i went kiddy palace yest, they only got one design..

about sterilising pump parts
can i just share with u mommies what we do here in australia? essentially if its breastmilk, u dont even need to sterilise cos its oredi got its own antibacterial stuff so all u need to do is wash with soap n warm water.

only need to sterilise if the bottles come into contact with FM.

so actually, those of u feeding EBM, dun even need to sterilise your bottles!

anyway that's wat i've been doing so far with my pump parts lor. never sterilise. just wash with soap n warm water.

this advice is from lactation consultants, nurses, etc... i believe they know what they are talking about

Actually if your office have microwaver you can buy the Medela sterliser bag. Just need to put the stuff in and add water. Max 3 mins and all equipment is sterilised.

I have been using this for 2 months and it is very gd and easy. Might want to consider using. Affordable pricing as well. Never tried the tablet so cant comment on the smell ;p

Lynn
Heee... I go during my work... prob late morning or pm.

Michelle
Really no need to sterilise meh? I have been sterilising my pump and bottles leh.

michelle,
His weight is killing me!! Haha...if I use the sarong sling to carry him, my back will be breaking within 30 mins. So I just invested in a ergo carrier for $165.

michelle
yeah thereabouts. i'm back at work since early apr.
re: no need to sterilise for bm bottles
>>> sigh, shld've told me b4 i bought 1 year's worth of sterilising tablets &amp; a steam steriliser. hahaha.

blessed baby
after u shake off the excess liquid, no smell liao.

i drop alot of hair until i can feel my hair very thin n can see some patches got no hair liaos...

thinking of cutting my hair short nw.

mom2nat
yeah really lah. i hv not been sterilising my pump parts since i found out too. last time when i was still in spore oso kep sterilising cos dunno mah. when i come here then i learned this. n this is an extremely pro-breastfeeding nation, so like i said, i'm sure they know wat they r talking about! anyway if u think about it, it does make sense. BM suposed to have all these antibodies n stuff, n its got natural healing properties (u know how we're told to dab some of it on broken/sore nipples n it will heal). so i believe it has properties in it that will kill germs too! its really "miracle water" hee hee

yvonne
i got the ergo too when i had my #1. sadly he didnt really like it, but emma loves it! so luckily it didnt go to waste. good investment rite?! hee hee

My Life,

My vote goes to Rylee! Hehe! Sweet little Princess

Also.. will ask you more questions on HK soon.
We are looking into Pridential Hotel. Heard not bad and also relatively nice and reasonble. Also, is it near to MTR huh?

Fern

re: Ergo
i think me and my husband dunno how to use. We tried it on #1 multiple times, borrowed for a week long HK trip etc, still cannot make it. We didn't feel any relief fr baby's weight, or baby not comfortable in there.

hahah :D wendy u very funny...

mom2nat,
there will always be germs around us. so long as its not in high amount n present a threat, its ok rite?

wendyg
YOu dun sterilise your pumps and bottles? Since when I gave you the impression my house sterilise like a wafer fab plant?

Pigeon wetwipes:
Those who have ordered fr mi, can u tt to my posb saving ac: 136-30190-0.

Godsent:7 packs $57.40
Icy:4 packs $32.80
Mom2nat: 3 packs $24.60
blessedbaby:2 packs $16.40
kitsune: 4 packs$32.80

Received a call fr them, they will deliver to my place by dis wk... they havnt cfm e date yet.

saw a lot of mommies here planning to get exersaucer or jumperoo? well i got jumperoo for my boy last time. it entertained him for about 2 mths only then he didnt want to sit in it anymore :p he was about 7 mths old that time. but he really liked it at the beginning lah, so i think its worth the buy! hee hee

1418460.jpg

any1 wanna share order with me for nan 1???
it is really very cheap. but minimun have to buy $200 which is abt 9 can. but i only wan 4-5 cans. so who wanna share with me???? collection at cck but also can other location at west or north west.. PM me

RE: Exersaucer

Either buy it now and never, when your baby is 4-5 months old. When they get older, they prefer to move around in the room rather than to be static at 1 point. When they start to crawl, don't think they like to be contained in the exersaucer.