(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

btw, here's my little girl at 4 mths - cant imagine somthing so cute can be so terrorising rite? haha

1412983.jpg

mon2nat,
my nick also starts with M!! And my gal doesn't nap much in the day time and is STILL waking up in the mid of the night! I can join in your club! But I'm working... zzzzzz...

Last night's milk schedule was 9.40pm, (1+am make noise)240am, (4+am make noise...)540am and (6+am make noise)....

She's on total breastmilk though. I've still have sufficient EBM and FEBM for her so don't wish to give her FM even though EVERYONE around me is telling me to give her FM. Am I a stubborn mummy? Just don't want to waste my EBM. But don't know if my gal is really hungry or not coz drinking EBM.

Maybe I should try FM soon?

Been feeling like a zoombie every morning when I wake up to pump at 5am.
Have to sacrifice lunch to pump too. Maybe maybe maybe I should just cut down on pumping...

mcfluffy
not true that FM can sustain bb longer. i have personally tried it n it doesnt work. my son still woke up in the middle of the nite till he was about 15 mths old. so continue to give your EBM! if possible till 1 yr old, then switch over to FM lor. else at least 6 mths ok? only 2 more mths to go! i'm sure u can do it!

welcome to the club! hee hee. so when she make noise u dont feed her n she will go back to sleep herself? that's gd enough u know...

Hi mummies with the "M" initial:

I think you all are breastfeeding your baby, salute you!

My baby was on TFM when he was 6 weeks old. I agree with Michelle that it's not the BM or FM that is making the different as of your baby is sleeping less. So if you still have, and still can breastfeed, don't stop. It's really the best gift you can give to your baby. Don't give up! I gave up for some personal problem, otherwise would love to continue BF although I am a working mum.

When you look at this scientifically, when baby grows older, so is his/her stomach. So he/she can store more food in the stomach and so can strech the feeding time longer and longer. For FM baby, it's easier for them to sleep through the night longer may be because we can tell exactly how much he drinks during the day. For BF baby, if you let your baby latch on, you won't know how much he drinks and so he may not have sufficient storage in his stomach to last through the night. Make sense?

For baby who wakes up at night for comfort, not for feed, you may want to think of ways to handle this. One important thing is if he starts to wake up, and you know it's not the feeding time yet, try not to carry him immediately, but try other things first, maybe he is too warm, maybe adjust his sleeping gesture, maybe give him pacifier (if he is using one), etc etc. My baby only wake up once during the night for feed, otherwise, he sleeps from 8-9pm to 6-7am, which I think is excellent achivement already.

For the afternoon naps, I don't monitor how much my baby sleeps during the day. As i am a believer of "young-baby-doesn't-need-a-schedule". I will follow his demand, he decides himself when he wants to sleep, drink milk and play. Unless things go very messy, otherwise my boy makes the calls. I feel this way is better, as I won't be stressful if my baby doesn't sleep or drink at certain time. As long as he is still active and happy, he is the boss!!!

One thing I realise is when my baby boy grows older (he is now 4.5 months), he doesn't like to lie down when he is not sleeping. He likes to be able to sit and stand (with help of course), not even carrying, he wants to be "independant" and play. If I use the pillow and cushion to make him sit up, and offer him his favourite toy, he can play on his own easily for 30 min. But if I make him lying down on his play gym, maybe max 10min, he will complain.

I have ordered an exersaucer so that he can stand more often. I will feedback to you if the exersaucer is a good buy.

I read and heard from many sources that walker is not a good thing for baby, and it may affect the development of the limbs and delay their ability to walk unassist. That't why I opt for an exersaucer.

Good day!

any mummies selling or wanna buy Lansinoh Milkbag?

I wanna buy more lei.. my stock running low..

Pixiepixel, do u still have any more to sell?

hi all mummies, happy mother's day. receive any gifts or dinner out?

anyone of u have any idea about the cereal that mixed in the milk that can be take during 4mth?

mcfluffy,
i'm from Feb thread.
just would like to share with you that it's not true for TBF baby cannot sleep thru the night.

for my case (TBF), my bb already can sleep thru the night from 10pm till 5am since 1.5 months. now, she's 11 weeks, she can sleep from 9:30pm till 6-7 am.
However, her milk intake is every 2 hrs in the day after she wakes up in the morning. so, total about 6-7 feeds a day. when i feed her ebm, she takes 130 ml now. I suppose she has had enough milk intake during the day, that's why she can sleep thru.

don't give up BF. jiayou!!

godsent,
i've got Lansinoh milkbag, 50 pcs pack. please PM me if you interested.

prataqueen,
is the tollyjoy cotton wool so good? i find it expensive though. it's ~$4.50 (before discount) for a 300 g roll. You can try Giant brand one, it's only $1.5 for a 300 g roll. The Giant brand cottol ball also quite good, very firm. Only $0.82 for 100 balls.

Joyce,

My boy also lost his appetite ever since the jabs. Till now nearly a month still the same dun wanna drink milk. He only drink when he is asleep!I can't imagine this mid month he going for another jab again... By the way where idi you bring Deon for PD?

michelle,
everyone's telling me that FM can sustain longer which I'm skeptical about though I tried giving her FM once or twice. But people have been telling me I need to try a few more times to see the effect. I reverted back to EBM soon after giving FM once or twice. Haha. I'm very stubborn and insistent on using EBM!

Even though she makes noise, it's not really loud (yet) so I just let her make noise until I cannot tahan or she cries the house down lor. But usually when she starts making noise, I know I must wake up in about an hours time to feed her. Cannot don't feed. She'll c.r.y.

Godsent,
haha I can sell mine to you? Coz I'm back to work liao, supply dropped, don't need so many. Contact me?

Xiaoyun,
I'm not saying that TBF babies cannot sleep through the night, I know they can! But mine cannot! That's why I am so envious of others who TBF yet can sleep through the night (like mylife right?)
My gal's milk intake is also 2 hours in the day but she can only take about 90ml each time. Sometimes, even difficult to push down that 90ml. I think I just need 2 gulps to finish it. Haiz...

i am so envious of babies who can drink from bottle... sigh

i dunno why both my kids wanna tekan me like that. my son last time refuse to latch on, so i had to pump for all 7 mths that i feed him EBM.

now, my girl refuse to drink from bottle. so i have to latch her on all the time.

i have no idea which is more siong... :\

jacelyn, aiyo... i guess all the baby the same after taking the jab bah.
he suppose to take his 2nd jab on 16may but will change to 20may. i bring him to the same pd when he born at paragon medical centre. u?still mt e? when his next jab?

happy mothers' day to all!

my baby also drinking lesser now, used to drink 130ml, nw can barely finish 100ml of milk...will be bringing her for a jab soon, hoepfully will not affect her appetite.
btw, anyone here buy FM in msia? i tot of buying coz the price difference v big ... my ger is dirnking friso 1 and they jus increase price by $2.... sighs! inflation so high everywher

michelle/mcfluffy/mom2nat/angelsky
*HUGZ* to all of us. Sigh. Mom2Nat, like that also u can make connection ar? hehehe. i think my baby VERY similar with Mom2Nat, short napper, and screamer! Michelle, Mcfluffy, your babies altho dont nap, do they anyhow cry? Mine ar, little bit, little bit only will pout and cry...some more got tears one ok...her mood si beh extreme one. I seriously dunno if it's still reflux, wind, or jus her temperament. No rhyme, no reason can cry. Today i take her out for restaurant to meet a fren with my hubby, was goo goo happily, then suddenly buay song, cry. Sigh...i really dunno why my gal cries sooooo much one, so "tai ham sup" (Canto) Maybe the theory of if u cry alot during preggie your baby will also crybaby is true cos i cried alot towards the end of my pregnancy due to my father's death.

angelsky
not true la...i also slept VERY late during my pregnancy. Now my gal demands to sleep so early i oso dunno why..i didnt set the timing for her, dunno why she so follow ang moh timing sleeps at 7-ish. I know it's good but hubby hardly have time to play with her, end up, she cannot be soothe by anyone but me (altho sometimes when she cry, NO ONE can soothe her)

mcfluffy
i've read somewhere sleeping thru the night also has got something to do with the baby's weight. My gal quite heavy for her age 7.36kg at her last checkup...so maybe that's why since 2months old, she is able to sustain thru the night (sort of) liao. But actually, not really thru the nite lah...she normally will wake up around 4-5am...sometimes even 3am, and sometimes 6am...so unpredictable one.

Kam
i also would like to let baby "tell" me and i follow her cues, but hor, i very stupid leh...i truly DUNNO how to read when she wans to play, feed or sleep one leh...ok..maybe yawn = sleep bah...if yawn oredi, put into yaolan, she screams her head off leh? *scratch head* Also, i do direct latch, hence, i am one mommy who dunno exactly how much my gal is drinking...all i can do is jus watch the time...BUT, the books say breastfeeding dont watch clock...so u tell me lah...
Maybe u have any suggestions to share? Are u also SAHM? And wahhh your boy so nice, so independent can play on his own for 30mins! Mine same, dont like to lie down...but cannot play independently...i also interested in getting the exersaucer...so will see if with that, she can play on her own or not.

As for the feeding when baby wakes up..i think the mommies here also tried all various methods liao...like me, when she wakes up about 4-5am, i also tried cuddling, rocking, or pat and hush, nothing works, when it's 3-4am, and you get blurry eyes and half asleep, naturally will reach for the easiest and surest thing to let baby fall asleep again - the breast! kekeke

Godsent
i actually bought a lot Lansinoh milkbags last time...but as fate would have it...my gal dont take EBM via bottle, so milkbags under utilised...but me in HK leh...hehe...think i will have to try use it to express and keep for adding it to her solids next time

michelle
think both also equally bad la..like u said in your blog, we live in the REAL world...maybe last time when u had your boy's problem, u wish so hard for him to direct latch...so be careful wat u wish for...kekeke

VioletIce, I slept too late last night, surfing the net and browsing overseas spree. Paid for it today, bb hardly nap, had to walk and pat her to sleep. :p

Godsent, I ordered from overseas spree actually. 4 box of 25bags for only $31+ (excl shipping) cos my colleague wanted to order so I help her order and order for myself too. I'll using a mixture of glass bottles, playtex liners and lansinoh milk bags to store my EBM. Lansinoh most convenient but the most ex method lor. Here's my messy fridge.

1414082.jpg

Joyce,

Ya i still Javin to the same PD at MT E. His second jab is also on 20 may. I feel like delaying the date cos he is like having a bit of blocked nose.

Happy Mother's Day gals...
Talking to abt sleeping thru the night, mine also haven't been doing so..sleep 9+pm, wakes 12+, 3+, 5+am and on good nights he'll skip the 12+ am feed. Last night was miracle, wake up only 4+ then 7am for feed! Not sure what is going to happen tonight..

BF mommies....ganbate!

Mcfluffy / MIchelle / Kam / mylife
Yup yup, I agree FM or BM not the culprit if bb kept waking up. My neighbour asked me how come my boy cries so much, isit hungry, why not give FM, just bcos her bb is easy, and takes mostly FM. I know many babies who sleep thru from v young and sleep like logs even though on total BM. I believe it is the child lor. My 2 nephews are like tat, sleep with lots of noise, can change them into PJ still sleeping, and sleep thru the night though tbf oso.

So ah... we "lucky" lor, our babies like tat. Sigh...

I was told if bb startle or wake up easily, it means they are v tired, but unsettled, can't get into deep sleep. I find the more my boy stay awake or take little nap, the more often he is like tat. Which means the day he kept napping 30min kind, the whole day like tat. Then makes it v difficult for us to predict are they hungry or tired. Cos sleep 30min, then I will be puzzled when he cries, isit still sleepy or hungry again liao. Should I put him to nap again, or wait longer... sigh...

mylife
Elliot is 7.26kg, coming to 4 months... but still wake up and eh eh eh oso.

Mcfluffy
Hey, it is precisely the eh eh tat I can't stand sleeping with my boy, like how your baby make noise. Not like tat timing eh and wake up drink, but in between the feeding time, always make noise, then fall back asleep, end up whole night i getting up to check on him. So tiring. Now I "sub" out to my mom and maid. They sleep with my boy, until he really cry for milk, then come knock my door wake me up.

Michelle
Your girl so cute. Ay, last time I asked my girl's french PD "You know who is OSAMA? Well, my girl is like him, terrorist!!!" hahaha...

I think hor, nursing in bed is like tat leh, bb will always wan the nipples in his or her mouth. And I light sleeper, I take it, always have bb beside me, trying to suck.

Kam / mylife
Wat mylife says is wat I feel oso.
Well, the prob is he naps little, then fusses a lot, so end up it is tiring to handle him. Oso bcos we latch, we dunno how much he drink, dunno isit hungry or wat. So imagine I feed, he sleeps 30min, wake up happy for 30min, then cry, rock dun wan, I feed, he happy, then nap 15min, then wake up cry.... blah blah... v v hard to dechiper. Whereas a bb tat feeds, sleeps for 2 hours, wake up happy, if cry, we can see wat time liao, maybe hungry. But once who naps for 15min, the cycle is irregular.

Then imagine you are out shopping, bb cries, we oso dunno isit he dun feel well, hungry or tired... sometimes my hb asks me "I tot you just fed"... I can only tell him "Errr... dunno how much he drank then he cry until like tat, mah feed again lor"

Mom2nat, agree, agree. Latch on RaeAnne so many times today, since Sunday, thought no need to express and feed (save the trouble of washing and sterilising). End up she keeps eh eh eh but reject nipple when I try to latch on. My mum who was here also ask me is it she hungry but I don't know cos don't know how much she actually drink. End up for I told hubby to give EBM tonight, cannot tahan or else in the middle of the night, she wake up and eh eh eh again... :p

Kitsune,
I wanted to order fm Overseas spree too but I can't place my order as I'm only member after 06 so can't post in it. I saw ur order in Winnedy's site. Don't mind - can I place 1box of 4boxes of 25bags thru u pls pls? will trf the $ to u. Pls let me know ok?

<font color="ff0000">Mcfluffy, in the meanwhile, perhaps i can get 1 or 2 boxes fm u first can?</font> gotta pump but my gal not drinking my ebm cos she latches most of the time n drink febm only once a day, perhaps. all the rest of my ebm goes to my little cousin (coming 3yo) whom apparently put on wt after takin my ebm. His parents r v happy wif the results wif addition immune into his body!

my supply oso drop recently. I dunno why but my gal oso drink lesser now - as in I usually latch her for 25 to 30mins. For the past few days, she's been latched on for abt 10mins n unlatch liao. her milk belly oso protruding quite a bit. Dunno if she's oredi full or "hong sim" - distracted by external environment!

Re: BB FLIPPING
My gal has been trying to flip only abt 2 - 3days ago, with today been more anxious to flip. She is 3mths 3wks today.

Godsent, sure, no problem, I'll place the order for you.
You transfer the $ to me when the organiser close the spree. You opting for postage or collection? Can you please PM me your contact number?

michelle
my boy = same night time sleeping pattern as yours. First 2 or 3 blocks is 3hourly, subsequently is hourly or less. The difference is... i started work 1 month liao. Coffee saves the day. For me, not for my baby. hee hee

re: FM for last feed
i've come to notice that for the supposed 'last feed' at 11pm or midnight or 1am, my boy only takes 40ml to 70ml via bottle, whether it's BM or FM, but fr my breast, he can suck suck suck, shld be more than 70ml. So i let him latch on la. Save me washing 1 bottle. But then hor, same thing, within 2-3hr he will wake again. So no diffrnce la.

prata queen
for the 1 hour journey fr work to home, i use a cooler bag with a huge ice brick. My offc fridge is those 1-door type... the freezer cannot sustain a FTG. So FTG will be for next time when i stop latching on &amp; hv to make day trip.
I used my colleague's FTG twice, when i didn't hv access to a fridge whole day.. used the FTG with an ice-brick. Good enuf la, mai hiam. Better than leaving the ebm at room temp for 8hrs.

Kam
if baby wakes in the middle of the night, i dunno if it's time for feed anot, i just latch him on to shut him up. Coz at that time i'm so zombie i can't tink straight, the only thing is to stop him fr crying o'wise give me a headache &amp; wake the rest of the family up. I dun hv the energy to STAND UP &amp; go re-arrange his sleeping position and pat him for 1hr &amp; listen to him cry, then wake up at 6.30am to go to work for the rest of the day where boss would be *shocked* to see me dozing off at my desk. All the best to me la.

Good Morning all,

Is Mon!!!!
kao_yawn.gif

Re: Similac (New Version)
<font color="aa00aa">Krystle - If u still keep the receipt of your Similac, you can do an exchange. My hubby juz went to NTUC yez to change to Stage 2.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Angelsky, QQ - Can go Sheng Siong &amp; buy &amp; stock up if dun wan get confused wif the new version ; )</font>

I read someone asking abt JB's FM, think they imported Similac from diff countries, maybe you will like to check the brand of your FM before buying there. Though is few dollars cheaper but think for consuming products, I hv more confident in s'pore goods ; p

Also previously someone mentioned on JB's Pampers Comfort, think I saw it in S'pore Giant. Orange packaging rite? Is abt 0.19 cents per pc quite cheap to get this price in S'pore, somemore is "Pampers" brand! Have tried it, is very lasting.

<font color="0077aa">Violetice - I like your poem!! Simply describing &amp; reflecting what we had &amp; are going thru'!! Very touching! Can I copy in my blog?

Btw, I hv juz created a blog for my baby http://myprincejayden.blogspot.com/.
Mummies, may I include your blog in mine? Can share? Thks ; p</font>

It's a bright and sunny monday morning but I need to do some complaining to vent my frustrations...arrrrghhhh!

Conversation between mil and me this morning:-
Me: Mother, I'll come and fetch Brien around 6.20pm for his injection. Try to feed him around 5.30pm to 6pm ok?
mil: See how first lor.
Me: Try to adjust his timing, if the previous feed around 4pm then give him a smaller feed so he can drink again around 6pm.
mil: You bring formula lah.
Me: Of course I will bring but can't possibly feed him and take injection at the same time right? Easier for doctor to assess him when he's full and happy mah.
mil: How come you never bring him on Sat?
Me: Suppose to bring him last Sat but doctor on leave so no choice have to bring him today. If I bring him this coming Sat, dunno whether his fever will subside by the time I leave for HK on Monday morning mah.
mil: ok lah ok lah, see how lor, will try.

May sound like a small matter lah but I just don't understand why mil can't be more supportive and co-operative. I can easily bring my boy for injection this sat and leave a feverish and cranky baby with my in-laws when hubby and me go for our HK trip next Mon morning. Hate to compare but my mum will definitely say ok no problem right away! It's times like this that will make me want to resign and be a sahm. But too bad, hubby don't feel secure with single income...sigh!

Mom2nat/Mcfluffy, my boy used to sleep throughout the nite without waking up for feeding. Now his pattern change. He will wake up for feeding at 3am.

Comes to bottle feed, is a challenge for me. Yesterday he just refused to bottle feed. Cries and cries, when bring him near to nipple he will latch on. Think he knows is weekend and yesterday almost whole afternoon I didn't let him latch on.

Mine already 4 mths and 1 day old still have not start to flip over yet. Furthermore he has very hot temper. Maybe when expecting him, I have been scolding and shouting at my maid too much.

Yvonne, Hugz.
My MIL looking after my BB too. Sometimes, I feel like you too, want to be SAHM. But for me, it's the opposite. Hubby will say ok lor, you quit but I'll have cold feet to quit cos of my own family commitment. Try and close 1 eye lor. Bo bian. Jia you jia you!

Janbb thanks for the info .... I think now TT is ok with it leh ....

angelsky TT is drinking 125ml 2 scoop of fm ...... but it seems hor she easily gets hungry leh ....

i oso leh ... same feel like to be SAHM ..... sigh but bo bian. and guess what TT 4th mth i still have to buy cake for the relatives!!!

so stupid!

Sometimes I am so fustrated with my MIL too.
That day I ask her whether can she accompany me to the PD as my gal is sick (her teacher called me from infant care) and my husband is stuck in a meeting, she tells me relunctantly that if I cant find anyone else to go with me, then she will go with me lor. reason being: she wants to do housework at home. pls, she is a housewife and housework can always wait lor. In the end, I called her and tell her dont need her help already as my sis is willing to go with me, and she was so happy! sometimes i wonder what is more impt to her, housework or grandchild??
before my gal is born, she said she will look after for me if my gal is not well and cant go infant care. but when my gal is not well, she give me excuse on why she cant look after my gal.

Joyce, I juz bought the Heinz rice cereal for my gal to try out yesterday.She made faces at first and didn't know what we were doing putting foreign objects in her mouth, but soon I think she enjoyed it. Will let her try again this weekend...

mylvera ya have leh ... they gave eggs, meesua, clothings and red packet ..... but very ma fan loh... sigh
somemore my mil told my husband eh cakes dun order first wait for ppl give u liao u count how many then order sakali i tell her who gave who didnt ... then i say no give one no need to give hor she say oso must give ... wow lau must as well tell me how many in all since like tat

kitsune,
Yah lor, really bo bian. Maybe becos I will never forget a comment my mil made when she first started look after my boy. She said "I don't even carry other people's babies (including her own relatives) but no choice lor, this one (my boy) is in our own family." To me, I feel that nobody is forcing her to babysit, I wanted to put him in infantcare right from the beginning becos I wanted to avoid all this conflicts but they were the ones who said they can look after. Then every now and then will complain and say my boy naughter don't want to sleep during the day, etc etc. Keep asking me why he don't want to sleep...how I know why! Always tell them that babies also have their own mood, maybe teething so don't feel comfortable so can't sleep lor. Cannot expect them to sleep all the time right?

QQ, then how abt 5th mth, 6th mth...
U mean only 4mth they did this again since 1st mth? Heehee, never mind la.. everymth your TT got angpows!!! So Good ; p

Yvonne,

looks like we have the same type of MIL.
My MIL also always like to say "if really no choice, i look after for u lor". She heartpain that her granddaughter goes to infant care, but yet refuses to look after her. keep complaining that the teachers in the infant care dunno how to take care of her, yet dont want to even volunteer. she always say my gal refuses to sleep during the day, always wants pple to play with her.
I want to be a SAHM too but cant cos we still have financial commitment.

<font color="ff0000">FREE Formula Milk Samples!</font>
Rem to call and obtain your free formula milk samples for your baby <u>after</u> they turned 6 months old.

<table border=1><tr><td>Dumex Mamil</TD><TD>1800-265-3188 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meah Johnson-Enfa</TD><TD>1800-345-5213 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Friesland-Friso</TD><TD>6419-8484 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nestle</TD><TD>6836-7200 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Similac</TD><TD>6278-6220 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wyeth-Promil Gold</TD><TD>1800-688-6886</td></tr></table>

<font color="0000ff">btw, if you are not taking Dumex Mamil, please let me know. I want hor. Maybe you can give or we can do a swap. hee.</font>

Yvonne, shannonbaby, my ILs opposite lor. Always fighting to look after my gal. Don't want to let my gal go home at night. Always 'indirectly' ask my gal when I'm there, "tonight you don't go home lar, stay at 'nai nai' house." I always have to justify why I have to bring bb back (must let her get used to own home lar, I need to direct feed lar). Next time, I'll just act blur. Explain until sian liao.