(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mylife

I have come to terms that sometimes, my son is cranky. Perhaps it's just him bah.
1339604.gif

Anyway, when he is cranky, he will drink half way, cry cry cry. Burp him, carry him upright seem to work though. Perhaps Rylee is cranky today?

ahcapp;
eh sama sama. if i dont drink much water, my output not that ideal. but sometimes we are too bz to keep drinking water.
later's session should be ok coz i have eaten a super huge chunk of ice-cream which is considered liquid to me hahaha
how much can you get now per session?

dawn

Got your steriliser tablets today. Thanks a million!
1339607.gif

After feeding my son, I will carry him upright for a while b4 I dare to put him down to his cot. Or else, i will put him on his bouncer, so that he can sit at about 45 deg angle.

As other mummies have mentioned, u can put something under your darling's mattress so that it's inclined.

As to the milk turned cold.. my son drinks soo slow, the milk will turn cold every time. I didn't really warm it up again. It doesn't seem to change the outcome of the vomitting wor... hmmm...

pixel

About 50ml combined per hr. So if I pump after 3hrs, it will be about 150ml combined.

Btw, how long is your pumping session? 15min? I need to pump for about 1/2hr every time in order to get the above amt. Am I too slow??

mcfluffy;
the medela steam bag sounds good. how big is the bag? can consider to get a box. where do you get it from?
the wipes looks good too (*becoming very auntie liao*). will 1 sheet be enough to wipe all the pump parts?

ahcapp;
hey yours is good leh
i am lazy nowadays, so i get 220-250ml combined per 6 hours. so theoretically you get more than me. each time i pump 15 mins.
if i want to increase my supply, i pump 20 mins or more to get more than 250ml.
i pump just enough for my bb's needs as i have old stock to clear in the freezer...

ah capp
try changing to faster flow teat lo....
i always standby a cup of hot water, i will put the bottle in when i need to burp baby or change position or whatever. just for little while to warm it. coz my elder boy needed the milk to be at right temp b4 he'd drink. if too cold he'd reject the feed.

Hi mummies give birth via C-section,

What did you eat for the 1st few weeks? What food should I avoid?

When then can start eating those "bu" stuff?

Thanks alot! =)

Ah Capp, I also ordered like you except I got one extra pack of membrane, cos my cousin wanted. I pump even longer, 30-45mins before I can get 100ml if pumping every 3 hrs. Today I went out to jalan jalan, left BB at my ILs place, only pumped 6.5 hrs later, breasts hard like rock, but only pump out 220ml so looks like my SS is just 100ml every 3 hrs. Sigh. :p

Bottle teat
I had to change my BB from Pigeon size Y back to size S recently cos MIL said BB fight with her when drinking with Y teat. But tried before initially and it was ok then I went to buy more Y teats. Don't know why. Anyone has this problem?

Pixiepixel, can lasinoh milk bags stand on its own? Got Ziplock? I bought playtex but very mafan, cannot stand and must use ikea clips. :p

Valencia,
Ya..My friend told me her son was like that for a year. My son would make the "eng..eng..."sound when he crie until I get a headache. Cry and cry until everyone in the household scolds him every now and then. As he doesn;t like the maid, he find opportunity to complain about her.

I share the same sentiment, crying boy + handling NB + "blur" maid. Can die. Blood boiling.

Maureen,
Maybe you are right. Till now, my menses has not come yet.

Kitsune,
Ye, it has double Ziplock. Fold the lansinoh milk bags and it will be flatten.

mylife

how are u? wow, 71cm and 7.09kg... i think rylee now looks like the michelin tyre. LOL

krystle

its kodomo wipes and not looney tunes. im not sure looney tunes wipes... hope tat the quality is better.

michelle

i dun use mac... think u got the wrong no.

hannah

the food in HUANG TING is not bad but since the location is abit out, i would suggest parkway parade if still wanna meet in the EAST. 19 apr is fine with me as im gonna start work on the 14 apr. no more weekdays meet up for me anymore
keep me posted... TIA

pixel pixel,
eversince i went back to work, i m pumping @ 8 hrs interval (7am, 3pm & 10.30-11pm ) and spent 15mins each time.

kitsune;
as what blackbatz has said, can stand. but i always fill to the brim, so cannot stand liao heehee. what i do is i let it stand in a mug lor. full liao then transfer to freezer. fyi, i lie it flat in the freezer.
the double ziplock really leakproof. other brands i've try still leaks somewhat. so this should be the best.

i bought 20 boxes at $209.xx, so i am selling each box at SGD10 bah. you can donate SGD1 to me if you want to

i was pumping at 3 hours last time so my milkbag used up very fast and i ordered 20boxes at one shot. i think too many liao. not enuff then ask my sis to start spree again or ask her to buy for me when she starts spree bah...

superbee
what is your combined output for each interval?

sorry just to add on
it should be cheaper. the store which my sis ordered from packed the carton in such a way that there were many loose spaces. so i paid for "air" literally. sianz

<font color="aa00aa">pixelpixel,</font>
I got the steambags from a spree. The dimensions are 25cm by 21.5cm. Oh by the way, my microsteam bag packaging is like this: http://www.hackleyhme.com/product_info.php/products_id/480/Bags_Microsteam_Disinfecting.html
Don't know if there's a difference between the one I showed previously and this or not. Maybe just a newer packaging.
I've not started using but bought it under my SIL's recommendation. She said it's very useful and easy to use.

About the wipes, I've also not started using yet but according to the package, they said 1 wipe is sufficient to clean everything. Guess it depends on individual?

So how much are you selling the lansinoh bags for? I'll help you clear your stock instead of ordering then. I seem to be using at a rather fast rate!

<font color="aa00aa">Kitsune,</font>
there are 25bags in 1 box for the lansinoh milkbags.

<font color="aa00aa">wendyg</font>
My gal sometimes can drink 90ml in 6mins (super fast!) and sometimes need half an hour to finish it. All using the same teat! Tried using a faster flow teat and she ended up choking or lotsa milk leak out from the sides of her mouth. So, I should stick to my original teat right?
Anyway, half an hour to finish drinking milk is long right? She's not playing with the teat or anything. Sucking but..... very slowly. Argh!

pixel

i bought the same milk bags. But I only fill it up to 180ml as recommended wor. Can fill it up all the way ah?

kitsune &amp; mcfluffy

The lansinoh milk bags not bad. Double ziplock. But don't know why they make it soo big but only recommend us to fill it up to 180ml.

I ordered my 4 boxes from a spree. But can't r'ber the price liao. Since pixel has them, it will be more convienient to buy from her as don't have to wait long long like me. =) I run out of milkbags so have to buy pigeon ones to 'tong' that time. =P

mcfluffy;
ok sure how many boxes do you want?

what i meant was, i bought this lot at aprox. SGD10 per box. it should be cheaper originally. just that this lot was packed in such a way that there were a lot of loose spaces in between; it wasnt packed properly (tightly) and the merchant calculated the shipping charges based on metric volume of the carton, so i had to pay more for this lot.

can you sell me 1 pc of the steam bag? i just want to try it out.

sorry, i was looking at sprees frequently but never seemed to see this spree of steambag. which thread was that?

kitsune;
sorry, i am not attending gathering leh. how to pass to you and mcfluffy? at most, i post to you mummies?

ahcapp;
save mah!! now the price of rice &amp; flour go up liao leh. i fill to the brim. i take picture and let you see later. its just that after 180ml, the bag cannot stand up on its own. i just let it sit in a mug.

sassy
yah lo, VERY like michelin tyre, esp the thighs area! kekekeke. At first i was also quite concerned, but was told that BF babies are usually like dat, putting on a lot weight for the first few months, then will slim down gradually...so set aside my worries and enjoy her chubbiness now.

ahcapp;
here goes the pictures for my milkbag

1340242.jpg

see the empty space i've left (near the picture of the mother and baby)? this is how much i fill up. they say the milk will expand when in freezing so must leave some space lah...

1340243.jpg

back view

hello all mummies

Gap baby &amp; kids having sale! second item of the lower value is 50% off! on top of tt, the 1st piece still entitle to 10% discount by OCBC credit card... so it worked out to be : 1st piece 10% off, 2nd piece 55% off!

Hurry but i am not sure when the sale ending...

kitsune
avent and playtex are liners, not milk bags (eg Pigeon, blue egg, lansinoh, gerber). Liners r cheaper than milkbags, but thinner. Caution on the Avent liner box is to double bag if want to freeze ebm.

pixie, wow you filled up whole bag of lansinoh in one session of pumping? can we fill different session of milk in one bag? if yes, we put the first session milk in fridge first, then pump second session and add into the milkbag then put in fridge? sorry , this might be a stupid question:p

Pixie, the bag so big, no wonder you are tempted to fill it up, I will be too. By the way, is the bag recyclable? By post is fine, let me know how much to transfer? Thanks.

WendyG, blur leh, what's the difference between liner and milk bag? I thought it's the same.

kitsune
milk bags &amp; liners are not re-useable. VIA cups are. chk the avent website.
think of liners as disposable bottles. Pour ebm or fm into the liner, fix into the disposable nursing system, can discard after feed. No need to lug empty bottles around, no need to sterilise, more hygenic? But expensive la.. $$$$
Milk bags are thicker and made for the purpose of storing/ freezing ebm.

tongtong
just remember if u mix the ebm, they've gotto be same temp, o'wise the ebm will curdle like tau huay. Assuming your first session already in the milkbag in the fridge. Leave yoru 2nd session EBM in the fridge until it has cooled to same temp as your 1st session ebm, then u can pour the 2nd session ebm into the milk bag.

yes bf can hv menses.. i think menses will cause supply to dip a bit.
i return to work tues.
who's doing the bottle feed?

pixel

Oh dear me, what a BIG bag of EBM! *LOL* Ok, will fill it up all the way from today onwards. =) Told u I am a very blur mum lah. ;P

wendy;
im returning to work on tuesday too

ahcapp;
make sure leave a bit of space for the milk to expand in the freezer

kitsune;
i have PM-ed you

beanie, yes they r mostly on FM, ok if the reflux dun get better will try the brand u mentioned. last time also got pple told me about Friso Comfort for vomiting babies, which one is better?

Ahcapp, u r welcome!
maybe i will try to heat up the milk lor, since she says it will cause tummy ache.

pixel
i also pumping 6 hrs,,4 tims a day - can get abt 800+ to 1000ml sometimes.;; i also trying to go at 8hrs,,,,

Lanoish milk bag
for info, yes the milk does xpand when store in freezer, despite i press all the air out before sealing the zip , it still have some bloatness after a while.. recommend not to store milk up to the rim... normally i only store max 180ml...

milk inake
my bb giri 9 weeks drinking 140 -160 ml 4 times a day... is it little? sometime at last feed at night ( 9 + or 10+) she can strecth until 5 plus in the morning...

WendyG, oh I see, just saw that medela has Pump &amp; Save milk bags can pump directly into the bags, quite cool. Very tempted to buy and try but even with spree, still easily 70cents per bag, very expensive to throw. :p

Pixie, have PM you. Maybe I take 2 boxes bah. Pls flatten the box for me and let me know how much to transfer. Thanks.

Ahcapp,

Re: Enfalac
R u using the same PD as Steph &amp; me? Jurong East Kidslink Dr Heng? Cos I have checked with him before whether Enfalac or Similac is better. He said most mummies find Similac make baby difficult to poo. Enfalac seem to be better. So I tried to switch from Similac to Enfalac but think my boy very used to Similac &amp; drink very little Enfalac. In the end, I stayed with Similac until now. I also gave him water everyday &amp; he managed to poo (soft one) everyday. So far so good, u may want to try similac?

pixie

Re: Weak Knee
Me too!! Having this problem, especially squat down &amp; carry baby up.. Feel a bit of lost balance, like "ah ma" always complain "leg no energy". But after standing up is fine only getting up got problem &amp; slower than before. How come like this huh??

zhao ladies!!

Milk Bag
hmm. which milk bag is better? lanoish or gerber? I been using gerber but gerber is more exp than lanoish. thinking of switching brand. anyone?

Preloved Avent Steriliser
me selling my 2nd avent steriliser so if you are keen or if you know someone is keen, pls ask the buyer to PM me their email address then I can reply with details and pic. Tks.

JanBB

Oh yes, same PD. =) Thanks for the info!

I have not tried Similac b4. Will give it a try. Think the puking big time after drinking Enfalac makes me scare liao. =P

<font color="aa00aa">re: Lansinoh milkbags</font>
I store up to 180ml only. Sometimes try to squeeze in 200ml but find that it doesn't lay flat well. Like Blackbatz idea of lying it flat. Really makes the freezer super neat!
Look at my freezer:
1341273.jpg

Oh, and storing large amounts of milk means that it takes a longer time to defrost and sometimes, don't need so much EBM ma. Drink fresh one better. FEBM so smelly.

oh dear me, the freezer is soo neat! I like the idea of lying the bags flat wor. I should have done it earlier!

avent variable flow teat

Anyone starting using this for their darlings? When do u intro this?

ah capp
my elder boy still using #4. i dun like the variable coz middle of the night when everywhere's dark can't see the marking ley.

Hi My life,

Can I check with you.. what are some of the places.. that have gd bargains... in HK like clothes, lingerare, beauty stuff etc. And nice infant clothes as well? Since its the summer sale, i presume eveywhere will have sale huh?

Erm......DO you have any speificed shop name, address, etc.

MACAU
I will also be planning a trip down to Macau...since its only abt an hour journey plus from HK itself by train or boat or something rite? Have u been there? Anything nice that we can do there? All i hear is there's a big casino there.. haha..

Hong Kong Disneyland.
I heard that its small. but I went to the webbie and saw that they have this Its a small small world ride with diffrent dolls of diff cultures dancing around.where we will be in a boat enjoying the scene.. SOmething similar to which I took in Paris Disneyland.. Hope its really similar.. What other fun rides and things to do there huh? As I'll be going in July, think my admission tix will be under the peak season liao lor.

Kindly advise, or any one who have been to these places..

Fern

Poo concern
TBF mommies, ur bb poo got like sticky sticky like got mucus like that kind of texture? Normal? Sorry ya, recently I am abit freak out by his poo..

Erm..dun think if I eat dragonfruit or kiwi, the seeds will go to him...heehee..

ah capp

my boy started using the variable teats when he was abt 1.5 mths old... but when i feed him i will start fr mark one then slowly turn to two and three