(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

dawn

PM u already. =)

For our CL method, we put in the formula at the end? My colleague told me to use some of the cool boiled water to dissolve the formula first.

wendyg

How do u check if the temp is ok? By feel?

Hannah,

actually, I didn't really notice any difference in the EBM after warming up. I only notice the colour difference of my EBM from expressed in different month. Guess this is what they mention the body will auto-adjust the nutrients/ contens of the EBM according to the baby's age.

ahcapp
yes. last time i used to drip on the inside of my wrist. Now i expert liao, just shake the bottle can estimate temp.

Thanks dawn! Very useful and matches what I've observed these 2 months.
I managed to observe the hungry, tired and burping cries from my gal. Still not sure how to listen out for the uncomfortable cry though!

My girl just felt sleep by herself for the 1st time. Am so happy as she used to cry our loud until she gets tired then falls to sleep or my MIL run up to cuddle her to sleep.
Hope she will cope with this!!!!

Color of EBM:
Anyone notice the color? pls share with me??
also, i use the Avent Thermo bag to keep milk warm if we go out. They say it can keep up to 4 hrs, but i dont think so. ANy comment?

Express milk: i will have to express milk whn i am at work. Just a thought, whether I can store my milk in the small fridge at office, and bring milk home by using my thermo bag? Is it good enough? How long the EBM can last for? do i need to consume it next day? or if i bring milk home and put it in freezer straight away, would it last for 3 months?
Have to go back to work soon... have to prepare though i dislike to go back...

mcflurry, wow u very good can differentiate. Mine somehow going to nap will also neh..can't be hungry right?

Wendyg, what a waste...u try getting out of hse and someone feed? I'm sure he will cope..

babe
my husband will not allow that
he says i hv to be backup & remain somewhere in the house in case baby doesn't want bottle.
they just can't bear baby's crying la.

Wendyg,
If you are going to work, how to be backup?

I switched to complete EBM. If I continue with night latching, I will have another set of headache when I go back to work. Now only drink 2 oz, sometimes 1, sometimes 3, sometimes 4. I oso dun know how much to express.

blackbatz
i also say
somehow he's trying to delay time...

eh last time my #1 no such problem ley. When i was at work he took ebm. When i came home i latched him on. Weekends fully latch on.

Hi jan mommies, my name is Christie n my bb girl Klarisse is born in Jan too. Can i join in ur daily chats?
This is Klarisse.
</a>
1332922.jpg

Wow.. just learnt how to use the magazine cover thingy from QQ.. Thanks ya

Here is my Elias at 2months 1 week.

Hehe! This magazine thingy is so fun!!

Hey all..I'm back to work already. Gosh..getting busier each day. Miss my bb when I'm at work. What a change in lifestyle. Look fwd to weekends. For me, I bring my bb home every night after work as i stay rather near to my PILs...

Here's my bb Kendrick...taken at 11+weeks

1332987.jpg

hammies

Wow, peifu peifu. How do u cope at night? Does your darling still need night feeding? I stay 4 bus stops away from my mum but I don't intend to bring my son home every weekeday night after work. The reason being is at night, I can't cope with pumping and feeding if I want to work the next day. My stamina really not good. =(

So i will only drop by every night to visit my son, but will consider bring him home at least 1 weekday night lah. =)

Ah capp,

After expressing I pour the amount each time my boy takes. So I used the glass bottles. I keep the bottles after I finish taking the xuege or bird nest. Each day my boy drinks 4 bottles only but I do put extra bottles in case he wants to drink more.

Morning my maid will sterilise the pump by boiling. In the office, I bring one container. So I put warm water into the container, after each use wash and put into the container.

I bring 2 9oz bottles to work. I pump three times. So one of the session, I will transfer to the milk bag.

Starting when expressing during office hours you will feel stress cos you don't want people to say you MIA for so long. So it is very difficult to get letdown. Need time to adapt. Once get used to it, letdown will be very fast.

Hannah, I used lucky baby cooler bag. Use a medium ice block last me from 7am to 6pm. Can be longer. After express I just keep the milk inside. Once reach home, transfer to the glass bottles and put in the fridge. Consumed within 48 hrs.

How much milk does ur bb drink?
My son at 12 weeks now drinks 130-180ml, depending on his mood. Sometimes more sometimes less at irregular hrs too. Min is 3 hrs - 4hrs in the daytime, nite is 4hrs - 8hrs.

Anyone interested in a packet of Pampers Active Baby M size (68 pcs). I have to upgrade my boy to L size already but still have 1 pkt of M left. NTUC selling it at $34.20, I'm willing to let go at $26. Either collect at Hougang (Heartland Mall or Hougang Mall) or Raffles Place area.

I'm currently using it for night time only. 1 pc can last for 10-12 hours without leaks so quite worth it since it's so expensive.

hi jacelyn, my girl is 2mths n 2wk old, and she drinks 6oz of milk per feeding which is 3 to 4 hrs. Last feeding is ard 11pm and last until 7am.

ahcapp
I already pumping 4 hrly, so now I slowly switch to 5-6 hrly. My mil says I am drying up.. as in getting thinner and thinner which she thinks it caused by breastfeeding. Does your weight decrease a lot since confinement?

My nipples also full of the whitish stuff, I rub them off a bit when I am bathing. I heard can remove using olive oil but never try since I am expressing all the time.

Hannah
I am using Avent Thermal bag, I would add a ice pack inside to make it cooler.. think no problem to last 4 hrs wth the icepacks. :D It should be good enough for ur travel home.

mylife
Wah ur ger is progress well. My Boy still licking the mattress, today he likes to slide down from his pillow, turn his head 90 degree and lick his pillow instead.

Audrey
You can bring ur BB out alone ah, I think if I use sling, my shoulders will ache after few hrs.

luvv
I remember some babies are more cranky first lesson.. think towards end of first class.. U can see now the 4 babies are more seasoned already. Like what audrey says, I have to ensure him to take his milk before class so that he is fresh.

babe
Don;t worry abt Abel weight. I think he will slowly catch up.. his development is well, like can lift head when he is on his tummy.. etc.. that's more impt.

Since u latch, I think it is normal that Abel dun burp.

icy,

my weight also keep decreasing after confinement.
Everyone comments that I look thinner than before preg. My hubby asks me to stop losing weight, but I told him that I didnt purposing lose weight. I still eat as per normal le.

AhCapp
Maybe coz I'm not really fully breastfeeding already. In fact, already cutting down my pumping to only twice a day. Before work and at night. I know it's quite a pity, but my office, really quite not condusive for pumping. Plus I admit I also getting a bit lazy alr! Sigh..

My bb is quite good..he has been able to sleep thru the nights so far...like if I last feed him ard 10plus or 11pm..he will wake ard 6plus..so it's about time for me to wake also. A bit tiring to bring him to and fro I know...but I really dun want him to stay at my PIL place so long. Wait he so close to them!! my own mum also tell me better to bring home at nights if can.

bfg consumes extra 500 calories per day.
the body needs more energy to make bm.
So eat more, drink more milk.

but when stop bf, also remember to cut down on the food, o'wise will suddenly get fat.

FM have to be dissolve into hot water first mah .... i pour 40ml liao i out in the milk powder then use a chopstick to mix it then pour in the water

icy &amp; hammies

Damn.. how come I still look like a tree trunk when I look in the mirror!
1333302.gif
All I can see are my HUGE boobs! I look like an auntie meh. *sigh*

I don't know if i am still losing weight or not as the last time i checked my weight was about 1 month ago. Don't have a scale at home so lost track liao.

I am only pumping 4 to 5hrs daily. Anyway when I go back to work, i also can't afford to pump every 3hrs. =(

I will like to bring my bb home every night too. But he currently still needs to be fed in the middle of the night at about 3 to 4am. I need to pump as well. So if I need to feed and pump, I will be losing sleep. I sure cannot make it in 1 piece at work without taking naps. So will need to let him stay with my mum till he no longer needs his night feeding. *sigh*

Maureen

Thanks so much for your feedback! =)

QQ
no need la.. nowadays the FM technology quite advanced. I'll scoop the FM into the entire bottle of warm water and swirl. Easy to dissolve. Last time FM thick and hard to dissolve... PD said the thick FM was the need for additional water intake. Nowadays the FM also quite thin, so he said no need additional water also.

ah capp
your pants and skirts feel loose?

icy and shannonbaby, u all so good losing wt. I was like that when I had #1. Can eat like pig n still not gain wt. Now #2, like can't lose my fats..tum still big. Dunno wat my waist measures coz no tape but I can't fit prepreg clothes for sure..

no ley, i hv a tin of Nan1 at home.. elder boy was on Nan2 for 6 months.. i just swirl the bottle can liao. no powder residue.
similac my fren's boy took... she also dump and swirl.

Is it a must to shave bb' hair b4 4 months old?
I didn't shave my bb' hair when she was 1 mth old.

Whats the reason for shaving anyway?? -0)
First time mother, quite blurrr...

me use chopstick to stir cos always got lumps de ... if i swirl

hannah my in la oso wanna shave my bb hair when she is 4th mth but me n hubby object

My frd looking for a nice n patient lady gynae to recommend in the east area, preferably can deliver at TMC?? Can help?? Thnx thnx...

QQ,
Add milk powder to hot water, sure lumpy. If I'm not wrong, should be milk powder to normal water, then add warm water. Won't get lumps..That's what I do with my #1's milk (Pediasure)

hannah
reasons for shaving bb's hair at 1m or 4m
>> baby's original hair is "dirty" coz pass thru our birth canal
>> baby will start to shed his hair and will look ugly eg bald patches
>> to hv thicker hair regrowth

some wait until 4m when the head is not so soft

Hannah, not true really, cos all my siblings and me did not shave our hair when we are 1mth/4mths old and all 4 of us got thick hair.
My girl is on Similac also, no problems with lumps, infact there isnt any lumps.

babe,
I oso dunno how... just like dat lor.. now waiting for interview. not really actively looking for a job.. currently, unemployed!

RE: Losing weight
any c-sect mummies here oredi lose their tum tum??? I realized dat other parts of my body is ok, e.g: can wear my pre-preg clothing but my stupid tum tum still thr.. used to b totally flat lor!

Any mummies started working out? or oredi shag out wif all the pumping, feeding n working?

Any mummies at P.R (Mom2nat, icy, etc) wanna take up yoga class at P.R community ctr?

Any east side mummies wanna share buy G.oon diapers?