(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Mom2nat,
Still young la. Mine sometimes not firm. That's why my MIL says I must hold the back of his head. My boy will fling backwards suddenly.

My boy too. Always ask why no "birdy". Repeat and repeat even though I told him the answer umpteen times.

Elliot is cute with his botak head.

Goldfish,
I also somettime to decide whether to buy the Ameda or not as my Avent was serving me well and my boy was latching fine. I needed to store some in the bottles for backup.

Mylife,
Does HK uses same kind of switch as S'pore?

violetice,
I ordered the Carter's Bag from the BP already. Looks nice but dunno functional or not. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1308544.html?1206287547
I just love online shopping! :p

re:mittens
I removed my gal's mittens as of last week. She slowly found her fingers and started trying to stuff them into her mouth whenever she wants to sleep. So in the end, I let her play around with her fingers awhile and when she gets frustrated from not being successful, I give her the pacifier. Heard that we need to remove mittens so that they can develop their motorskills (grasping & exploring) Find that it's more dirty to lick and suck mittens so I let her play with her fingers lor. But who knows! I think she suck her fingers until she don't want milk! But today, she resumed her normal intake so far.

re: Avent manual pump
Hmm.. I'm thinking of getting a 2nd hand one. My Ameda also 2nd hand and working fine. Keke. It's useful for going out? Anyway, it doesn't matter whether I buy the ones with bottles or storage cups right? Are they interchangeable? Can I use pigeon wideneck bottles just to collect the milk first?

icy
Haha, I've got the supershields too. But find that I cannot massage and press my boobs as I'm expressing out. Hehe, you can also try flexishields. Got the soft cushioning to enhance letdown. Find it quite comfortable especially when the flanges do not really fit my nipples.

2hour cycle
My gal's 2 hour cycle is really getting into my mum's nerves. My mum is complaining that my gal doesn't sleep much, leaving her no time to do housework. Cannot imagine how both of them are going to survive when I go back to work in a few weeks time. Sigh. Maureen, your bb also 2 hour cycle right? How you manage ah? Somemore you have 2 other kids!

It took me like 1 hour to write the post.... heh. Been shuttling to and fro to my gal, feeding her, burping her, carrying her to sleep. Next, must pump. AhhhhhHhhhhHhh...

QQ, pay $750 per mths after $400 subsidy for working mum.

mcfluffy, my gal also like to suck her fingers...she so "tiam chiak", if can she want to put all the fingers (both hands) inside her mouth.

shannonbaby, I cried yesterday when pick up my gal. She looked so tired and her face got scratches and red rashes. I cry cry cry all the way back home. I already told the caregiver to ensure she wears her mittens all the time and change it often bcos she likes to rub her eyes and face. But they think it is no good to wear it all the time and remove it. End up scratches on face and behind her ears.
Today I bring more mittens there and remind them again...I know mittens with saliva is not so hygienic but I afraid scratches got infection.
I am so worry/scare now...dun know what'll happen to my gal's face when I pick her up later...

michelle
My #1's head wasn't so whobbly, so now #2 like tat, I see oso worried. Hee...
Both my kids like to suck hands. Worse my #1 sucks thumb. Terrible, v hard to kick off the habit leh. My hb suck until 6 yr old. I gave pacifier, she dun wan.

mcfluffy/ michelle
Elliot has colic, got a lot of wind in his tummy, taking Ridwind. Even the PD ask me how come so much wind.

QQ
Heee... next time I ask Elliot kiss kiss TT, eat her tofu back. HO ho...

Yen
My boy oso pinches his own face, then pinch already cry. poor girl... Tats why pple say... let other pple take care you gotta close one eye

Godsent
I dunno his weight now. At 7 weeks, he was 5.7kg, 58cm, now he is 9wks+, I not sure, din weigh. How big is your bb now?

Yen,
I agree with Mom2nat, let other people take care must learn to close one eye. My in-laws taking care of my baby for me when I return to work next week. In fact, I started sending my boy over this week to let him get use to the routine. I see the way they do certain things I alo vomit blood eg. feed him while he's lying down, wrap diapers from front to back (aaahhhhh!!), never clean poo properly, carry him and let him sleep on their lap for entire nap!!! Everytime I ask them whether they know how to do they will say they know, but I always catch them doing it the wrong way...sigh! So have to slowly "educate" them lor...I always tell them cannot do this & that and the reason why certain things have to be done a certain way. After making sure that I have explained most of the things to them, now I also don't want to see how they do liao...but will still correct them if I catch them doing someting incorrectly.

Maureen
I not fast, mom2nat faster 15 mins. Me in the middle of the pumping must press against breasts then have more let down.. sometimesremove breasts from suction and put it back again also helps.

Goon Diaper orders
GOO.N Premium Diapers S63
Size: Small
Weight: 4-8 kg
Pcs: 63

Collection: Pasir Ris, Tampines, Sengkang
1)icy x 2
2)babe x 1
3)mon2nat x1
4)godsent x1

kitsune You want diapers? Let me know asap.

mcfluffy
Where to get flexishield, How is it like?

mom2nat
Where u bring ur boy to shave? His head so round and cute. :D

Icy
I brought him to shave at the salon beside the 4D shop here, called Jess salon. The lady boss Jess shaved. $6. My neighbour's 2 kids oso shaved by her, but I find she din shave properly, cos come home I can see some patches she din shave enough, end up I have to trim myself, or else looks like tiny bush!!

Yen,

I had alot of problems witht the teachers during my bb gal first week in infant care too!
The worse of all is my bb gal will give me a sad look when i pick her up from infant care everyday. I cried during the first week and even consider quitting my job to look after her full time. Nw getting better after i had talk to the teachers. I feel the older aged teachers are better at taking care of bb. the young ones more impatient and inexperience.

shannonbaby,

infant care center is for baby of age ?? How much per month and what time to what time?

Why you don't let your in law or ur own mum look after ur baby? I tot of looking after myself instead of going back to work too but can't cos i need to work..

bebe_yan,

infant care is for baby aged 2 to 18mths,
I am paying $1000 per mth for it. From 7 am to 7pm, Mon to Fri.

My mum is working and my MIL's health is not good. And I dont like to have maid. heard too many scary stories. Thus, choose infant care.

Yvonne
did your ILs take care of their own babies, ie your husband & his siblings? If yes, then they're doing as per what they did last time lor.

Hi Shannonbaby

I am thinking of doing infant care when my bb is due. I have already signed up with a infant care centre near home. I think it is quite a nightmare to dash to infant care centre after work right? :S

How do u find infant care so far? I heard that babies under infant care kena sick easily.. .issit true so far?

my bb dunno y today so pek chek at my breasts..keep pulling n biting..sian..wat am impatient chap..drink 10min start to fuss...

babe
drink 10 min oredi very gd liao hor! my girl will drink at most 5 min then dun want anymore. on bad days, she will keep struggling from the second she latch on. like very irritated like dat. turn here n there. dunno what happened to her oso

are we still suposed to be feeding on dd now that bb is 3 mths old? or can start to control the timing oredi ah? for eg, is it has only been 2 hrs since her last feed, and she keeps rooting, shd i feed her or not??!

Icy, sorry, busy with BB, no time to check forum. Yup, I want GOON diapers, she's 5kg+ now, S should be ok for her right since you all said cutting is big? Since it's urgent, I buy 1 pack of S to try first.

QQ, thanks so much, can you send me the Goon sample? I'll PM you my address.

Itok, I also took out mittens liao. My MIL was the one who didn't want to take out but after the ikea gathering, I showed her the photo and told her many of the babies no longer wearing mittens cos they need to learn to use their fingers. Then next day, she take out the mittens for my gal liao. Hee, peer pressure. ;) My gal's nails also very long so got to keep cutting lor.
Re:diaper bag, true but guess I was thinking of those with horizontal handle bar like my capella, not easy to hang bah unless at the side.

<font color="aa00aa">michelle,</font>
Hmmm.. last time when I latch on my gal, she also like that leh. Think I'm a bad mummy. I just couldn't stand all these "nonsense" and decided to do bottle feeding. Plus, she keeps rooting when she drank 1hr ago. So frustrating. Come to think of it, I think I really don't have much determination.

<font color="aa00aa">6-in-1 jab &amp;rotavirus</font>
My gal's first dose today and she seems totally drowsy from the dose. Didn't wake up for milk and my parents went to wake her up. She took a long time to open her eyes and was barely awake when we bottle fed her. Drank just 20ml and was staring into space so I put her back to sleep. Is it normal?

What's the pricing like elsewhere? Today these 2 jabs + consultation cost us $400. *faint* Wonder if we should go for cheaper alternatives. All the same right?

wendyg
Wah piang, Elliot not fat ah. PD say dun look fat! hahah... though measurements all above 75%/90%tile. He say he is just big. I bet Tobey chubbier ah.
My neighbour ask me why my baby cry so much, suggested I should give formula so tat it is more filling. But I think crying is v individual one leh, dun think I dun have enough milk leh. She say BM not filling.

BCG scar
Today after my maid bathe my boy, I saw the BCG scar split open. I freaked out, brought him to doc immediately. He say it is normal, cos sometimes there could be pus, and if the pus burst, it is like an open wound. Aiyo, the wound was so deep!!! So scary leh!!! Anyone encountered this?

Mom2nat, yes it is normal. My baby also has it too.

Ameda pump, I seldom want to use cos I thought it can shorten my expressing time, but it seems to be longer than my avent pump. I used it only on weekends.

I think my supply is quite enough for my baby. For the whole day when I was at work, he only drinks 3 bottles. So still left with 3 bottles by the time I reached home. I expressed 3 times a day can pack into 3.5 bottles. Sometimes he can't finish the milk too.

Now I have changed the diapers to M size. So far using Mamy poko. S is too tight for him.

Hi.

Re: Enfalac
Any mummies letting their babies drink Enfalac? May I know your comments on this brand of milk powder? I may want to change my girl's milk from Similac to Enfalac.

Initially, thinking of NAN but read on forum that many complained that baby's poo is green, watery &amp; smelly. So I changed my mind.

Typing this message while using my new toy - the Pumping Pal handsfree set and my Medela PIS. Not bad, though I have to type very carefully cos afraid I'll knock into the tubing while typing and dislodge the nipple shields. Still not sure if it'll help with my shoulder ache but at least I'm not a prisoner to my pump anymore. Wish I could have discovered this 2 months ago but better late than never lar. Hee.

Hi krystle

My boy is taking enfalac and so far so good. Changed a no. of FM b4 settling dwn with that though
So guess enfalac suits him well.

My life...

Havent seen you a while.. Asked you something re HK but have yet to get your reply.. COuld somebody help by giving me her blog or msn address for me to get in touch with her easier.

thanks ya
Fern

Goon Diaper orders
GOO.N Premium Diapers S63
Size: Small
Weight: 4-8 kg
Pcs: 63

Collection: Pasir Ris, Tampines, Sengkang
1)icy x 2
2)babe x 1
3)mon2nat x1
4)godsent x1
5)kitsune x1
Okie, I had place order and update you all when it is here.

Mummies, let me know if you wanna pay me cash or TT to my a/c. Thanks. Will arrange collections once I receive the diapers. :D

mom2nat
Elliot head not soft ah. I look at Xavier's head and can find a portion "moving" like heartbeat. See already very scare. it is like not safe to shave yet.

Xavier's BCG scar also very swollen with white pus, I think it might burst soon.. Is there bleeding? Did the doc says if the wound will be bigger when pus burst?

kitsune
I also use horizontal bar stroller, Capella. I will get 2 of J shaped hoops to hang at the center.

Yeah, I also use hand-free, at least can do little things hor.. heehee, but only hands in front.. cannot stretch side or back, suction sure no more.

Icy, I didn't PM you, I PM QQ for Goon free sample instead. Hee. Ok, just PM you liao. Forgot to ask, how much per pack ah?

I like the handsfree but don't like the leather neck support leh, the edges irritate my neck. :p I can't massage my breast lump while pumping with handsfree though cos the supershield is also hard plastic, prone to airpocket if I massage. Looks like I can only massage with the Avent ISIS so far. Neck very tired leh to keep bending head down. :p

hi mommies

sorry MIA for a while cos very tired.

Fern
u can add me [email protected] but then again, i seldom log on to msn as well. Can email me instead. Yes, HK summer sales starts in July, exact date i dunno yet. As for hotels, depends on which part of HK u would like to explore more, HK island or Kowloon side. Personally i like Kowloon more, cos got Mongkok and Tsim Sha Tsui. HK island main shopping area is Causeway Bay. For Kowloon, also depends on your budget. Last time i always like to stay in Langham Place in Mongkok cos it's new and near MTR station. If u'd like to stay in TST, can check out Kimberley Hotel, Miramar Hotel or Gateway hotel (more expensive) Kimberley is rather old, but location is quite good. So is Miramar. Dats why even old also command quite a high price. If u're coming during summer sales, be prepared most hotels would jack up price.

ahcapp
me too! Always try the shhhh, but end up so vexed over my gal's cries cos getting louder and louder. My mom say like kena tortured! So heartpain, cannot let it drag further. *haiz*

wendy
i have the same problem...until now havent try letting my gal to bottle again....MUST MUST try again...but very heartpain when she cries until loud loud. She very smart now, when she cries always give the VERY pitiful look, until my mom told me to stop it liao. *mission failure*

michelle/babe
my gal opposite of your babies! Lately she's been taking ages during her feeds...sometimes can stretch up to 1hour plus! Especially the last feed, machiam like filling up tank, can suckle and suckle for very long. I tot my supply running low, and milk flow slow, i unlatch, squeeze and milk spurts out! Tot she's suckling for comfort, but watch her lips suckling vigorously leh!

kitsune
my gal now sleeping long hours at night..dunno how long it'll last...hopefully not reverting anymore, but right now, since my last feed for her is at 9pm and the next feed is around 5-6am...very often, i find myself waking up to a wet night dress, breast pad soaked thru, and even wet patch on my bedsheet
I was told it's oversupply. For yourself, u may not be thinking of baby, but maybe indirect thots? Last time i ever stood in front of mirror, getting ready for a bath, then looking at my breasts and checking if got different size since i started BF-ing...then suddenly started dripping milk LOL..so not necessary think of bb then will leak one.

icy
if u'd like to BF as long as u can, then of cos latching on is the best way to maintain supply...at least dats wat i was told la. If its painful, then maybe he didnt really latch on correctly? Anyway, if pumping works for u, then good lo...i was suggesting direct latch only becos u're also SAHM and well, direct latch can minimise lots of steps, so u wont be so tired.

blackbatz
when u say switches, do u mean electrical plug? Yes, HK uses the same as Spore. But if ur electrical item is those 2-pin kind, then better to bring along those 2 pin adapter.

Godsent
wahhh so good, ur bb so flexi, direct latch, and sometimes u tired, still can let someone else take over. When u let someone else do feeding, that means u miss one feeding session, do u pump it out then?

Maureen
My boy still using mamy poko S, though harder to stick. But I tot until 8kg, so I stocked up a few packs!

Icy
The throbbing part on the head it the skull haven't fuse yet. All babies have tat. I shave hor, cos his hair dropping on the top, getting ugly, like old man dropping hair.

Errr... actually I din even know got BCG scar until my maid pointed out to me, cos I dun turn by baby on his tummy naked. I only saw once, with a red line, then all of a sudden today split up, scare me! I dunno will bleed or not, he just gave me some anti biotics cream to put. But quite wasted, cos I believe put 1 or 2 days enough liao. And I zoomed to the clinic when I freaked out.

mom2nat

Elliot so cute!!! Can see his spare tyre! kekeke...Rylee also have. Initially my hubby a bit worried, kept asking me why she so chubby esp her thighs. Then someone told me BF babies will put on weight faster during the first 3months, then slowly will slim down. hehe. *phew*

wahhhh...u all so good, can share-share buy diapers. I wan to order Goon or Kao Merries here, but no one to share and order with me cos they got min orders before they do delivery

i also heard from an expat mom in HK that the Winnie the Pooh diaper from Unicharm (also a Japan brand) is very good, no leaks and stay dry too. U all might wan to try it out too.

Jus now tot put Rylee to bed at 9-ish and can have some "me-time"...who knows, she suckle for almost 1hour plus! End up, only unlatch at 10plus and by the time i showered, close to 11 liao...sigh.

Godsent,
How do you manage to direct latch and bottle feed?

Mine cry until very cham. Now stubbornly refused to drink, would rather go hungry and suck pacifier. Sigh. Some more, it happened over the last 2 days. I'm trying means and ways to introduce bottle to him again.

Mylife, I think you are soaked through cos the gap between 9pm and 5-6am feed is too long if you don't wake up to pump. I used to do that lor, let MIL feed EBM by bottle while I sleep, next day sure engorged and wet, WORSE, end up with breast lumps and blocked ducts. LC said my SS dwindled and I won't have enough for BB's growth spurt at 3 months. So now, even though not feeding baby also must wake up every 3 hours to pump lor. Ya, maybe but I think I leak more since I started pumping/feeding every 3 hours. :p

Blackbatz, mylife, my BB was bottle fed by CL in the first month so she used to it liao. Were you latching on all the time? Maybe if someone else gives the bottle, it'll be better. Carried my BB upright on shoulder today cos she was woken up from sleep by construction noise (neighbour doing renovation). Then, I realised she shifting lower and lower, before I know that, she latched onto my shirt liao. So funny, guessed she must be hungry and smell milk so carried her into my room and fed her. :D

Teats
MIL feeding BB with EBM, trying out Pigeon M size teat, BB keep fighting and fretting, 30ml take so long still never finish. Change back to Y teat, finished the milk in less than 2 miins. Looks like there is a difference between Y and M teat after all though both for 2-3mths.

kitsune
i used to wake up and pump but i was told by doing that, i am increasing my ss and thus i am having oversupply problems liao. Sure enough the symptoms of oversupply out of 7, i kena 4 liao. Forceful letdown, make bb choke, throw up, gag, make clicking sounds, disengaged when latching halfway.

Yes, i all along latch direct...during confinement, we ever gave her bottle before, once or twice, no problem. Then, scared nipple confusion, cos back then i pump miserable amount of EBM (i guess i'm one of those that dont react well to pump initially) so i latch latch latch to increase ss. Plus moving to HK, so packed up all pumps and bottles to be shipped, tot reach HK, settled down and start anew. Who knows, now she grown smarter liao...simply reject bottles!!!

Your bb so cute...kekekeke....know where to "find food"!

kitsune
It is $14.80 per pack. :D You let me know where you stay, it would be good if the diapers arrive before the weekend, if ur place is near.. I can pass by and drop teh diapers at ur place when I go out.

I still use Avent ISIS once to two times a day, at least can keep the lumps away..

mylife
Yeah, also know latching is better. But my boy used to the flow of the bottles which takes only 10-15mins, he had not patience to latch on for 30 mins on my breasts, that why everytime after 5mins he pull or spilt out my nipple. Me also can't tahan when he cry, rather be more tired and pump it ready for him. :p

And like when I latch, I dunno how much he drinks.. really no confidence so end up still pump to see. haha.

mmm sounds like I have overSS, also have some of what as u describe - Forceful letdown, make bb choke, gag, disengaged when latching halfway - i thought he dun like the flow becos too slow.

Mylife, my BB also disengaged and cry and make clicking sound when suckling sometimes, thought she playing with my nipple, don't want to drink milk. But my SS until now still pathetic leh, only 80-100ml combined, how can it be oversupply? Maybe because of the letdown spray so she chokes? Can pump up some then let her suckle? Since Rylee doesn't feed very frequently, maybe you can latch on/pump every 4-5 hours instead? I'll also be moving towards that interval cos need to go back to work.

Icy, oh I see, I'm staying near Tampines Swimming pool, PM you my address later.

VioletIce, BB Ian so handsome. I want to matchmake him for RaeAnne liao. ;)

mylife
her lips sucking, but is she swallowing? If she's not swallowing, means she's using u as pacifier &amp; u can unlatch her la.

mom2nat
tell your neighbour go fly kite. BM not filling then give more BM la.. i hv enuf bm for her to do facial.

Kitsune,
Ya lor..Now my mum grumbling like mad, say that I refused to listen to her advise to feed bottle blah, blah, blah..

My BB has not poo for 4 days liao and his milk intake also decreased! How to make him poo??? I give his alot of water but he still didn't poo! Nowadays he cry like 10-15min non stop before he sleep.

Ian so handsome ..... esp the one he is bathing hahhaha ... *kiss Kiss* eat tofu again

Mom2nat ... can ask Elliot eat my tofu instead mah hahahahaha

kitsune ok ... i send u ... u want nepia? I have huggies oso hahahah

Morning ladies....
Back to work liao...

shannonbaby,
My gal also same...give me a super tired, super sad face (like got depression) when I pick her up. I confirm she din sleep well and cry a lot at the infantcare.