(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Anyone buying this? Am thinking to buy or not.
1315618.jpg

Wow, I soo envy mummies whose babies can sleep thru the night till early morning. =) When is my turn ah???

michelle & babe

Yes, he can fall asleep on his own now *touch wood again* But occasionaly, he will cry cry cry and I bo bian, still have to carry. But as soon as he shows signs of asleep, I will quickly put him to his bed, swaddle and close shop.

Wah, very siong to carry your darlings to get them to fall asleep wor. =( *Big hugs* These few days, I carry my baby much longer (upright over my sholuder) after his feed to ensure the food goes down. My back is already aching liao. =(

Btw, I am first time mum so what I know is from books, info shared by mummies here and from I heard. But how about trying Tracy Hogg's 4 S method mentioned in her book? No harm trying right?

Setting the stage (getting the evnironment ready for sleep)
Swaddling (getting your baby ready for sleep)
Sitting (quietly, without physical stimulation) and when necessary,
Shush-pat (spending an extra few mins of physical intervention to help a fussy or fidgety baby drop off into a deep sleep)

I read about this in her book "The Baby Whisperer Solves All Your Problems: Sleeping, Feeding, and Behavior--Beyond the Basics from Infancy Through Toddlerhood"

I think the shush-pat method actually is quite interesting. I quote parts of it from the book.

".... u simultaneiously whisper "shh, shh, shh.." into your baby's ear and pat his back. I use this technique on all babies under the age of 3 months who have trouble settling down on their own. It calms them because at this point in their development, babies cannot hold 3 thoughts in their minds at once. They can't continue to concentrate on the crying whilst patted and shushed. So your baby will focus instead on the shush and the pat, and eventually stop crying..."

The whole thing is about 2 pages long. So if have the chance, can borrow the book from the library. =)

maureen,
I am using Ameda Dual pump, bought it at expo at Mum fairy.

violetice,
I think if with babysitter then not necessary bah. I checked with PD before, she also mentioned not necessary for my case, I can wait. Babysitter should be ard the same.

Btw, the baby whisperer forum is here:

http://www.babywhisperer.com/smf/

icy

Wow, so happy for u that your hb is coming back. =) I think hb's support is very important. Nowdays, I get my hb to help me dream feed while I pump. In the morning, I get him to help me heat up the milk and start feeding till I wake up. Really no strength after the night feeding + pumping.

Sometimes, I think if I can eliminate the pumping, I will have more time to play with my son and interact with him. As mentioned by Mom2nat. Once time is gone, it will never come back. If I were to give up pumping, I can still give him formula. Will see how when I return to work.

btw, how's the handsfree kit?? Does it really work? I wanted to get it but stop because of the price. Pls review. =) Thank you!

Aiya, I want to order Goon diapers. But I stay in the west. =(

kitsue

I massage my boobs before every pump. Because last time, when my boobs were pretty hard and i pump, quite painful. =( So I always start off with a hand massage.

Aiya, very sian. Today got lump in my left breast. =( Lumps come back to haunt me once in a few weeks ah.

Ah Capp, but I have got 1 problem. My bb dun like to be swaddled. Think by 1.5m already nv swaddle. Erm..did u haf to go through the crying part and for how long?

Naps
How many naps do ur bb have? Mine seems to have as many naps as his feeds in the day. He usually will nap like 1.5-2h after his feed. Usually short naps like 30-45min. Can't ever get him to nap long. Otherwise, I will try to make him nap again after he wakes crying coz it's not feed time and he still tired. Now seems like he can tahan 3.5-4h then feed and I doing direct latch but he still wakes up 2 times at night if say he goes to bed about 8.30-9pm, will wake about 12-1am then 4-5am for feeds.

ahcapp
wahhhh...so nice, ur bb can sleep on his own!! Mine during daytime needs to use yaolan, then i think my mom spoil her by keep yao-ing as and when she fidgets, so now, become, have to constantly yao!! i also tried the hush and pat method by Tracy Hogg, end up my bb only CRY louder! kekeke....i guess not all babies can respond to that lo.

babe
mine like opp of yours. Day time hardly nap, nap also longest 1hour, and that's cos my mom keep rocking the yaolan, otherwise, if stop, will wake up liao.

Now very jialat, yday, went out longest with baby, first went lunch with her, then went shopping. At first she quite ok, looking around, even smile when i pick out clothes for her. But she jus dislikes the stroller, cannot sit inside there for long. Soon after, i think she becomes tired, so i carry and rock her to sleep (disadvantages of too used to yaolan), after she's in supposed deep sleep, i put her down into stroller...but barely 5mins, she woke up wailing! So envious see some parents pushing their contented sleeping babies in the stroller walking around, mine cry like i am slaughtering her again! Again, pick her up and rock again, can see she's damn tired cos keep yawning, fell asleep, again put her back into stroller, 5mins of pushing, wake up again! And this time no matter wat we do, she keep wailing non-stop liao, until we get into my sis' car and i latch her on. Sigh. She's such a cry-baby. Literally.

Thank god, she is some sort of sleeping thru the night now. Sleeps at 10-ish (tonight we start to train her sleep at 9-ish) then wake up at 6-ish, latch, then sleep again until about 9-10am.

Icy
congrats on return of hubby! Since u're SAHM, why not direct latch? Less sterilising work, washing of bottles, pumping, etc.

kitsune
ru still leaking and engorged becos of oversupply?

breastfeeding
other than babe, mom2nat and myself, anyone else doing direct latch? i guess only SAHM can do so since many of u returning to work liao.

Hi all, I just put TT to bed .... dunno why whenever she come back from my in law side she cry till very ke lian .... duno what happen there in the afternoon .... coax her pat her all cannot she just cry cry cry sigh .....

QQ....me gg to have my in laws look after bb in the day time from next week onwards already coz I'm gg back to work...I hope I dun face a similar situation like urs! I very sian that my in laws gg to look after my son...but like bo pian...haiz.

babe
my baby also dont like to be swaddle..she will struggle BUT it's good to STILL swaddle them cos their hands will flail about and hit themselves. After a while, they will appreciate being swaddled.

Mylife,
I'm doing direct latching but I want to cut down. Come June, I will leave him with my mum and bring him back only during weekend. As it is right now, if he doesn't latch on at night, he can't sleep. Had resort to giving him pacifier.

Mei, ya lor, I'm looking for special offer for pigeon breast pad. Just found out that Pigeon, Avent and Diapers are excluded from JL blue vouchers. So cannot use for breast pads. Sigh.

Icy, I'm also buying the handsfree set because recommended by a Feb MTB. Manage to get at promo price of $57 though I did not manage to go down to expo. Should get it tomorrow, hope it works. My MIL looking after BB at night but at my house but when I go back to work, think she'll be there at night cos my hubby prefers that arrangement.
I'm interested in Goon diapers, anyone tried? Is it good?

Mylife, I only have engorgement early in the morning when I oversleep but the leaking problem has always been there, don't know why. Like just now I fed BB at 8:45pm, next feed should be 11:45am but I leaked just now at 11pm. Just bought the book "What to expect in the first year" which you recommended. It says sometimes we leak when we are thinking of BB or nursing but I wasn't doing either leh.

Ah Capp, agree with Icy. I also think manual pump better for lumps because I can press hard on the lump and see the milk spurt out from the corresponding duct. Very satisfying to see the lump become softer when I do that but very tiring cos I have a lot of lumps. I just bought another Avent manual pump second hand for $45 as spare pump if I want to express both breasts. Will try one day and see if I'll get more milk.

VioletIce, I like that diaper bag too but cannot hang on stroller. Actually I already have an allerhand black diaper bag so my hubby don't let me buy. He said 1 diaper bag is enough. :p

Kitsune,
Goon diapers, not bad. Just cutting is a bit big. When I first used it, my boy poo always leak until it is very messy.

The manual pump is good for clearing lumps and I find that let down is much faster. Can feel it better as compared to Ameda.

mylife
i still latching.. my boy dun like bottle. Guess what, he dun like pacifier either!! Back to work in 2 wks.
Hey, Rylee sounds like my #1 when he was a baby. I hated to push him in pram when i went shopping coz he could nvr keep quiet for long. I was slinging him most times, until he got so heavy i had to give up the sling. Tried other bb carriers but also cannot make it. In the end I gave up shopping at retail stores... increased online shopping hee hee.

mom2nat
when u shower, your husband could watch Nat for u.. sometimes my husband comes home late, Isaac watched me shower.. when he was younger la. Sometimes he'd cry coz he din want to be left alone. Then i discovered i could stick him in front of the TV to keep him entertained.. then i no need to rush so much.

Ahcapp
well done on your routine implementing! But hor, after u return to work, can the main caregiver carry on what u started? It'll be such a waste if people start carrying your boy to nap.

how come u all say pumping takes away play time with your bb? I can pump and play with baby ley.. make faces at him, talk to him etc. I will wash the parts when he's asleep or when my other family members take turns to entertain him.

kitsune
i also dun like to wear bra, but i getting sian of smelling like milk, so i will stick breast pads onto a bra but i dun hook behind. Wearing a singlet/ tshirt will keep the bra in place. Sometimes instd of breast pads i'll stuff hankies in there to absorb the bm. But not leakproof, gotto remember to change. But i dun leak like u la... only when nearing feeding time then i get letdown & scramble for the hankies.

Hello Wendyg,
Din hear from you over the long weekend. Went to JB again?

Die liao, my boy is searching for my breasts. Resist the bottle..

blackbatz
no ley... i was at home mostly. but dh has the flu he's also at home and using the PC most times. He's gotta keep away fr the kids so i'm out there with them one after another. the times that i log in, i'm playing games on facebook. hee hee.

Wendyg, I stuff tissue into my shirt all the time when I can feel the let down. Nowadays, must have tissue in every room, use very fast, had to go NTUC to stock up. Bo bian, tissue cheaper than breast pad. Hanky is a good idea but my clothes are the baggy type so can't keep it in place when I walk around. :p

My baby doesn't like pacifiers either, I have 3 pigeon pacifiers, just bought 2 avent pacifiers cos the teat is supposed to be longer, less easy to fall off. But so far, she doesn't like any. She's starting to eat her fingers instead. Don't know if I should keep forcing her to take the pacifier. :p

My BB crying again after latch on for about 5-10mins at the breast, she keeps doing this nowadays. Thought she needed to burp but the funny thing is once my hubby carries her upright to try and burp her, she'll stop crying. Pass back to me to continue latch on, she'll cry again. Don't know what she wants. :/

Ah Capp,

so interesting on the The Baby Whisperer topic on making bb sleeps wif shush-pat... I din read the book but for the past 1 wk i've been training my gal to slp at 9pm (bedtime) n sometimes when she cries or aggy, i oso will hold her upright, head on my shoulder and shush-shush at her ear plus another hand pat pat on her back, she'll hush n cool down.... so this trick is proven!

icy,
i want, i want... the Goon diapers.. pls count me in.. I'm staying in Pasir Ris...

mylife,
i'm oso doing direct latching now and then.. sometimes, when i'm tired, will feed her wif bottle...

babe,
i stopped swaddling my gal liao cos she moves alot... always end up the blanket dunno where.. so i jus let her wear pj (long sleeve n pants) or long romper to bed.

kitsune,
the Taka baby fair has offer for Pigeon Breast Pads. I bot at $8/box. Usual price $10.90. my gal oso will become aggy and cry after latching for 5 - 10mins. she looks like she wanna continue drinking but jus can't stop crying. den i carry her upright and burp her.. den she will give a loud burp after awhile of burping n feel better, den she will kuai kuai cont to latch.. mayb ur gal wanna burp like my gal??

anybody trying to cut away their breastmilk supply? i'm now like only pumping 5hrly and my milk ss really dropped tremendously. esp after that day's engorgement...

Godsent, I also dun know leh, but sometimes after hubby carry her for a while, never burp, pass back to me, she'll guai guai drink. Sometimes burp already, pass back to me still cry. Sigh, she bully Mummy only, Daddy's gal. Breast pad on offer, sigh, nowadays hardly go town unless hubby free to send me, 3 hr radius only, if take MRT very time consuming, take taxi to and fro super ex from Tampines. :p

Kitsune
Well, yest afternoon start my stomach not good again, started bubbling and churning, then at night I went see doc ask for other med. Then last night better. But milk ss can feel drop, cos usually I pump once b4 I sleep, yest no need liao.

Ahcapp
Wah piang, pump for 1 hour!! NOw 10min and I am done. Last time I pump 20min, just nice watch 1 episode of Sex and the City. Heee...

Wendyg
Last time Nat sits in the car seat v often, cos when i bathe in the day, I will bring her in with me. I cook oso put her at the corner of the kitchen. She must see me. I walk away she scream liao. Well, until now, she still wants us ard. Yest I poo she oso went in with me, then I diarrhoea, she commented "funny sound".

Icy
Yup, rem I told you I still feel Avent isis is good, esp for let down. I find elec pumps can't really empty my breasts.
YOu pump 6 times a day means you dun direct latch ah? You bb is drinking quite a lot hor. Mine ah, refuse bottle leh. Sigh...

Eat, Play, Sleep
Who follows this method? I tried but my boy always wants to suckle b4 he sleeps leh... How?? He can really yell until everyone buay tahan him. Then end up i feed him when he wake up and feed him again when he gg to sleep! But not good cos each time he stir in his nap, he will cry cos the nipple not ard!

hammies ya same here i very sian ... hahaha but bo bian ...... sigh i think they rock her secretly ..... must find one day go peep peep

Kitsune u can ask for a sample for GooN .... for me I prefer GooN than nepia ... my girl pee too much liao .... so nepia leak .... GooN still ok ....
if you want i can send u a smaple

i am using huggies wipes not bad oso but kinda ex bah compare to others

Yesterday my gal successfully put her thumb and mouth together to suck her thumb. Like so delicious like that, so much saliva and all. Eeks. When it was time up for milk, she drank just 10ml and cried like mad. Burped her and continued feeding, she still cry cry cry. In the end, she went without milk for 4 hours! In between, I tried to feed her but she still don't want the milk. Wonder if it's because of her thumb sucking? She found out that her thumb is more delicious than my milk?
Anybody encounter that? All the feeding times went haywire. Cannot anticipate when she wants to drink and cannot warm the milk in time.

Avent Manual Brestpumps
Thinking of getting one.
http://www.avent.philips.com/en_GB/products/Manual_Breast_Pump.asp
Those found in the link are all the same right? This is what most of you mummies are using right? ARound how much does it cost?

Any mummies here sign up with the Pix n Portraits package? I signed up the new born package with free 1, 4, 8, 12th mth studio pics. But when I want to call and make appt for my bb's 4th mth pic, couldn't get them at all. Keep going to the mailbox for 3 days already. And when I found a hp to call on the brochure, the gal Val says she's no longer working for the company anymore. After which she hangs up her phone when I call again. DID THE COMPANY CLOSE DOWN? Anyone's make a appt with them recently? Or did anyone pass by the shop at Novena Sq and see that they are open/closed? Can PM me if you know anything? Thks! So sad, was looking forward to take my bb's 4th mth pic.

Mcfluffy,
Yep. That's the one. Around $91, depending on whether it comes with bottles or via cups. Can call ISetan Scotts to check price. Having Little Tots Promotion now, myabe got better price or deal.

My boy is having the same problem, drink from bottle 10 to 20 ml. Thot he wanted to drink, went to warm up the milk, he rejected the milk and cried. Sigh.

Mom2nat,
Better already? My boy is exactly like yours. Must suckle, no nipple = cry. My mum has been grumbling like mad.

At least your #1 is a gal, My #1 boy wants to go to toilet and watch me bathe / pee in together. He was around 3+. Had a hard time getting rid of that habit.

Hiyall

I am a MTB in Sept 08. I think the best advice to get on breastpumps is to ask u ladies since u all have best 'on-hand' experience.

I heard that medela PIS is the best pumpm but it is very expensive. Anyone has any reviews on that or on other brands as well?

Is it better to get a pump before i deliver or after??

Re: mittens

Hi all, I read that some of your babies suck on their fingers/thumbs... I have the same question as QQ. You all removed their mittens already? My son is into his 8th week and he is always licking his mittens. I don't dare to remove coz I know once I do that, he will be able to suck his thumb/fingers. I thought once we allow them to do that, it can be a hard habit to kick. U gals are ok with that or is there any benefits from letting them suck on fingers?

Re: milk intake reduce
Anyone experienced a reduction in their baby's milk intake? In his 6th week, my son drinks about 140ml every 3-4 hours. But from 7th week onwards, he drinks about 120ml every 3-4 hrs. PD say normal as long as he is putting on weight, poos, sleeps etc.. but I am still worried coz I thought baby should be gradually drinking more and more as the weeks pass?

How much does your baby drinks? My boy is on total FM, and he weighs 5.5kg at 7 weeks.

violetice/kitsune
the diaper bag v nice leh. how much and what brand? kitsune, why you say cannot hang on stroller? i thought I saw the shoulder strap in the pic?

I haven't got a diaper bag yet. usually just put in a tote bag or I use the one given by TMC. but then again, I seldom bring baby out so perhaps haven't experienced the need for a "official" one yet.

QQ,

then how? you intending to remove her mittens? I dont like my son to lick and lick.. so everytime he does it, I will put his hands down then tell him mummy dont like. dirty. :p

QQ / Itok,
I removed the mittens once baby "man yue". My aunt told me should let them explore their fingers. Just that my boy eats until he treats his hand like Kentucky, all the slurp, slurp sound.

Now that you mentioned, his milk intake has also declined from 140 ml to 120 ml. I thought it was due to injection. I guess it's a bit too long.

Goldfish,
PIS is good cos it's a hospital grade pump (pump milk faster). But very pricey. Alternatively, you can scout around for second hand ones, usually around $450. Then buy the spare parts from the overseas spree organisers, cheaper. Some mummies also buy online from States, no local warranty (also much cheaper). Then go Sim Lim to buy a step down adaptor.

The next range is the Medela Mini Electric, Ameda (price around $350). I have both of them. Ameda is better, more suction and less noisy. I bought my Ameda 1 month after delivering cos my hands were aching from manual expression.

I have another Avent manual pump on standby(going out).

You may want to check around the prices (Mums and Babes/ The Frist Years/ Isetan/Robinsons/Mumsfairy) , then aim for one during GSS.

i didnt remove yet cos my in laws side say 4 mths then cut her nails leh .... so i dunno how .... ya loh we are saying that she is like eating drumstick ahahahaha

I guess it all boils down to the old wives' tales. Hiaz. Initially, I was afraid that he would get addicted. After a while, I became lazy. Just keep wiping his hands every now and then.

my XX also suck n lick her hand until got the slurp sound, like very yummy.. I just remove her mitten one week ago. Cos i feel that the mitten is more dirty then her own hands. Somemore kept wearing mitten i feel that her hand a bit smelly and sticky.. I think it's time to let her hand explore somemore she can learn to control her fingers and learn to grab thing faster. They say kept wearing mitten later their little hands cannot grow, duno true or nt. But make sure u cut their nails, cos their nails always very sharp..

My parents is the one taking care of XX, whenever XX cry my dad will want to feed her. Even if she just drink 1 hour ago. That really pissed me off, cos he dun burp her after that.. Everytime i see him feed i get really paranoid..

ahcapp & kitsune_sg
The handsfree set maintain certain form of handsfree. It is supported by 2 strings attached to the funnel and a wired under the 2 funnels to maintained support. Basically, it is held up by the suctions.

It can let you be handsfree and do some little actions like reading, surfing but you cannot do big movement as one u happened to stretch your breasts, the suction that hold it at your breasts will be gone. Anyway with 2 pumps in front of you, actually typing also a bit werid. But at least, dun have to keep on having to hold on to the pumps.

I like the Supershields because at least I don't have to sit totally upright while pumping. but that doesn't means u can lean back a lot. just almost like having a cushion behind your back bah. Lean back too much, the milk will backflow. Can rest a bit when using these 2 things since can lean back + dun need hold on to the pumps.

babe
Xavier also need to swaddle at night in order to sleep on his own. Sometimes I dun swaddle his arms, just his body when he is frastrated.. it also helps a bit. He don't cry before sleep because I normally let him sleep after drinking milk.

mylife
I am not confident in latching anymore as it is a very painful experience for me. I can latch once and can't continue for the next 2 feeds because my nipple is painful. My boy is doing the correct latching but then he like to play with nipple.. as in latch 5 mins, pull out.. cry then try hard to latch again... 5 mins then pull out again. Maybe he find my flow too slow for him. End up on and off I feed 30-40mins, after that need to pump again for 30 mins. With bottles, I can settle by 10-15 mins then pump ard 30mins. I do latch on when I have the "mood".

Goon Diapers
Ahcapp
unless you work ard Dhoby Ghaut, then I can try get HB to pass it to you.
kitsune
You want the diapers? PLet me know. I find Goon Diapers not bad. Can last my BB overnight without leaking, and then dun have the smelly urine smell like what Pampers Newborn does.
Godsent
Let me know how much and the size you need. I want to order by this week. :D

mom2nat
Yes Avent is better. So I dun mind using it at night to clear lumps. Cos I also take 45mins to 1 hr when using Avent. Then use Ameda for the day for quick quick pumping to save time. Yes, I pump 6x a day, sometimes 5x.. sometimes delay 1 hr or so when no one free to take care of BB for me.

mcfluffy
Avent ISIS pumps cost $90+ but always have 20% disct ard.. so just watch for it or look for bundle package. I find that it is better to buy pump with the VIA cups, cos have the VIA adapter which cant be bought separately. Then you can pump directly to the cup.

<font color="ff6000">Goldfish</font>
My advice to u re: pumps
>>> borrow first, coz u dunno how long u're gonna breastfeed. Some moms invest heavily in expensive pump, only to find that they're not going to bf due to 1001 reasons.
Once u're confirmed on your bfg career, then buy your fanciest pump, esp if u're gonna use it again in a few years for #2.

Diffrnt pumps work for diffrnt people. U gotto try it to find out, dat's why dun buy before u pop. For me, i din like Ameda dual electric. I was very happy with my Avent ISIS that i bought 2 so that i could pump simultaneously.. saves time.

mcfluffy
buy 2nd hand cheaper... my cheapest ISIS was $20. Only used once. Sterilise and as good as new. No tubes.

Hi My life

Can I check with you when does the summer sale in HK starts exactly? Is it some where in June/July. Can i have some good hotel recommendations? Want one near good makan places, cheap and gd bb stuff, woman clothes, bag, accessories.. Heard my hubby says that during summer sale their branded good sale are great too! DO give me some ideas like where I can go etc. Should be planning a trip up sometime in July.. IF i am not wrong the sale starts then right? We will be booking own tix there and own hotel as well.. F&amp; E and think its a cheaper way as well compared to booking via the agency...

Was thinking of this hotel- YMCA COnsopolitian HOtel or something like that? Or rather any good hotels and gd rates that you can recommend me since its my first time there??

Thanks ya.

Also.. do you have a msn.. easier to chat this way.

Fern

HI Blackbatz
Thanks for ur comments. U are using Ameda now? What is the model? Is it battery operated as well?

Hi Wendy
Yah.. my hb is prepared to pay for PIS cos' he wants me to bf as long as possible bt i told him it it not a ez job lo and moreover, i duno i got milk or not leh
I am reallie torn. Ur Avent ISIS issit the electric one? I heard ISIS is good as in it got those 'petals'... how u find it?

Blackbatz
My hb bring my #1 to the gents, and we all used to bathe tog. then as she gets older she gets more inquisitive abt tat thingy tat daddy has then he wore swimming trunks when bathing with her! hahaha...
I called my CL in m'sia ask her how... baby dun wan bottle. Haha... we might go shopping tog one of these days when she come to sg.

Ameda Handsfree
I dunno how well it works. The string tat hangs on teh neck looks so thin and painful, imagine having 100ml on each side being held up by a thin black string...

goldfish
I am using Ameda Lactaline now. It can be battery operated. Cost me $390 with the handfree set and shieldplus. PIS will be 700+ The Avent ISIS we are talking abt should be the Manual one, so far we heard that Avent Uno is not so good. Manual or duo is better.

I agree with Windy, better invest in a cheap one first then pay for what you want when u are more firm abt it.

mom2nat
The Handsfree works for most brands, not just ameda. not painful becos have cushion at the neck. :p

Goon Diaper orders
GOO.N Premium Diapers S63
Size: Small
Weight: 4-8 kg
Pcs: 63

Collection: Pasir Ris, Tampines, Sengkang
1)icy x 2
2)babe x 1
3)mon2nat x1
4)godsent (please confirm Qty)

Good afternoon ladies,

My dear son has decided to throw me off his normal routine again by drinking lesser milk and sleep instead of playing. =( Finally got a bit of time to log on and read.

itok

I removed my sons's mittens a few weeks back. He is now 9 weeks old. I read that sucking their own fingers/thumbs is self-comforting, which is good actually. I did tried to introduce pacifier, but he only sucks when he wants to sleep or when he is cranky. When he is hungry, he will suck his fingers like eating KFC like that. Otherwise, he doesn't suck much. Hmm.. it's really bo bian because I can't be with him all the time to give him a pacifier when he is hungry. So i just let him lor. Like Blackbatz, I will wipe his hands/ mouth often.

mcfluffy

I think it's normal for our babies to throw us off the schedule once in a while. Like mine, less week cry cry cry. He was good over the weekend and today, start being cranky again. =(

2 weeks back, my son can drinks up to 160ml per feed. Last week, drop to 100 or less. Over the weekend, goes back to 160ml. Today, drop to 120ml. I know it is very worrying, as I was very worried last week. But now, I just try my best to feed him lor. But if he doesn't want, he will really push the teat out. Otherwise, he will still drink but later, spit out again. =(

godsent

Wow, so the shh-pat method does work for some babies afterall. =) I tried the other day, but my son was too busy crying in his cot that I can't even pat his back properly while I 'shh' him! =( Aiya...

kitsune

Yes, doesn't that sound familiar. Suck for a few min then cry cry cry. Carry upright stop crying. My son also like that. Don't know why. =( I can only think it could be if we carry them upright, it helps to get the food to go down so they stop crying.

mylife

I only tried the shhh-pat method once or twice. Not successful. He cried so loud that I can't even concentrate on my shh and patting at the same time! *LOL*

Yes, i do agree that not all methods work for all babies. Sometimes it's really back to the babies' characters I think. =)

babe

Tracy Hogg's book did mentioned that the following:

"... failing is not a conscious action on your baby's part. Usually it's because she is overtired and/or over-stimulated and is having problem settling down for sleep. By swaddling you'll help her calm herself down. The reason we start to unswaddle some babies at around 3 months is that that's the avg age when they start to find their fingers. But some babies don't find their fingers until 5 months, or even later"

I still swaddle my son, but only his legs, not his arms.

Actually, for my routine, I didn't really go thru the crying part that much. My son just kind of fall into the EASY routine after I look out for the 'cues' when he is sleep, hungry etc. Guess I am lucky *touch wood* that he can fall asleep easily. But not the case when he was much younger.

wendyg

My mum will be helping me to look after my son when I return to work. I will have to remind her not to rock or carry my son to sleep. If not, all efforts wasted like u say.

I realise that all grandparents love to carry/ rock their grandchildren. =) But I always think of long terms. It's easy to rock/ carry when the baby is light, later on, when he weighs 10kg, it will be a headache. =S

me here oso doing 100% latch on. i'll be going back to work in jun so hope to train my girl to take the bottle b4 that. right now, she doesnt want the bottle!

she also sucking her fingers liao. took off mittens and have to trim nails every other day cos they grow so fast. give her pacifier she oso dun want. prefer to suck her own fingers. haiz...