(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

why my gal sleep so little one? The whole day sleep 10-15mins here and there................. at night every 2 hours must wake up.....

zzzzzzz.. mummy wants to sleep!

mcfluffy, mummy also wants to sleep. mummy here twist her left ankle, sprain both her wrists, strain her neck. now i am like a walking mummy. here wrap with herbs, there also wrap with herbs.

yvonne
wahhhh...your neighbour so kaypoh one ah...hehe...yah lo...like so paiseh hor, bb sleep when other people carry..kekeke...

mcfluffy
ur bb sleep so little in the day, at night STILL waking up every 2hours? what is your baby's weight now? I read babies above 5-6kg, in theory, shud be able to sleep thru the nite. If they're still waking up, then maybe they're 1) not getting enough calories in the day (so feed them more often) or 2) habitual waking up, altho stomach is not empty, they will still cry for food out of habit

angelsky
i can picture u right now...sorry for laughing...the way u describe damn funny. hehe.

mylife is me say one heehee .... yes let her sleep if she is really hungry she will wake up one ....

and I agree old folks like s to carry baby OMG! wed i 1st day of work bring TT home so much prob she wants to be ROCK! i ask my mil the next day did she rock her she laff and denied I see with my own eyes she did rock her when i am there to pick her up! Jus tat there is customer inside the shop i dun wanna say her straight wait ppl will say i ungrateful!

The next day she told me is not her is the maid rock her ...... sigh ... always push fault .... and lucky TT is fine yesterday ... she fuss on wed night which gave me n husband a hard tome!

i did told my mil dun rock her ... dun carry her immediately when she cry ... but they just treat me as a trumpet

angelsky,
what happened to you?!! Must take care la...

mylife,
i think my gal is not 5kg yet. the last time we weighed her (1 month+) she was about 4.1kg only.now she about 6 weeks... she drinks about 80ml every 2 hours. give her more, she can't finish....... zzzzzzzzzzz...
i bet my gal wins hands up in terms of not sleeping much.

oh yah, any babies here don't really burp? it's quite hard to burp her.. and if she doesn't burp a few times consecutively, she'll have lotsa wind in her tummy and will b cryingggggggg....

how to make her burp? lie tummy down after meals ok? as in, we carry her upright for 10-16mins first

rant of the day..

Today my son has been cranky and simply refused to take proper naps. I have been busy all the way since I woke up. Wrapping his curry rice (diaper with poo poo), pump milk, wash & sterilise and feed bla bla bla... I didn't even have time to eat my lunch in peace. =(

angelsky

What happened? How come sprain everywhere? How are u going to carry your baby now? =(

make love...

When u ladies are busy discussing about contraceptives, is it because at this time, we are more fertile than ever? That was what my friend told me. Or is it all of are back in action again?

I have been tired lately. From looking after my son, day and night. I wonder if I am the only one who has no mood here =( My breast ache and sore in between pumping, really don't dare to let my hb touch them...

mcfluffy

Sometimes I can't burp my son properly too. So sometimes, i will burp him when he is sitting upright. If still no burp, I will shift him to over my shouder with his body upright. Sometimes, changing position brings out the air.

I read that if after burping for 5 mins, still no wind comes out, that means no wind.

The other day, i skip the middle of the meal burp, my son "merlion" onto me. Scared the hell out of me! Now I always burp him even though he protest like mad.

ahcapp,
hahaha u cheered me up with your curry rice!! lolzz..

your not the only one that has no mood. me too..... and everyday, my hubby has the mood to do it. ahhhh... i've rejected him countless of times. he's dying...

yay.... my gal took a 10min nap again. *roll eyes

ah capp,
that was what happened when we failed to burp her a few times in a row. she merlioned the entire bottle of milk on me. we try all sorts of position to burp her, but really difficult.

my son got this sensitive nose thing...PD says most prob inherit form me and hubby. PD gave him a nasal drop but cant use it so often (got to like use 5 days, then rest 2 days). he got stuffy nose so often esp in the night time. anyone's bb got similar condition?? thinking of getting the infant vapor rub to apply on his chest or back...but box says cant use for 3 mths below if i am not wrong. any suggestion?

Re: burping

old pple method...introduced by my MIL & hubby's auntie(MIL's sis). lifting baby in the air upright position. sometimes it does help. but usually, I do the sit down and koala bear style.

Yes, my daily chore is to wrap curry rice....don't know throw away how many packs today already. My dustbin is choked up liao!

McFluffy,
Me too. I think my hb is dying too! *LOL* I feel bad man, but really no choice. I wonder if I stop pumping milk, will it be better. I mean, how sexy can I be with milk leaking out from my breasts? My hb bought me this very nice Victoria Secrets lingerie, and he told me to try it on. I told him let's wait a bit. Not very sexy if I wear and milk starts to leak out. =S

verene

Sorry, but lift baby up in the air ah? Lift up n down?

burping

my son took a very long time to burp and if he dun burp in between his feed, he will refuse the other half of the milk

i started using Infacol for him when he was abt one month old and now he burps easily. i just need to put him in the upright position and he will give 2 loud burps.

Infacol will help to make small bubbles that are created in the milk (esp fm) join together and becomes a big bubble and easier for baby to burp or even pass wind.

Can be use in every feed cos it will not be absorb into the body.

sorry my post so lor sor...

ahcapp
I agree with you. How to be sexy? Nipple out of shape already!

Does all breastfeeding mum breast hurts all the time? Like nipple a bit sore from touch and breast also painful when pressed.

AhCapp,

MIL hold bb under the armpits and lift him up in the air. just do it once or twice...not many times. then my boy will burp liao. sometimes, my boy can burp very fast, i.e. sit him up, havent even pat his back, he burped liao, sometimes, can pat for 10+ mins, change position, he also refuse to burp. but ever since my mum bought him the rocker (which can be converted into a toddler chair), we placed him down in the rocker, he will be lying slanted...it reduces his vomiting...alot better and saves our effort to carry him upright for so long.

verene,

my bb also had the same prob when she was between 4 and 6 wks...hubby and i also have sensitive nose...at first we thought is was the aircon so we tahan without aircon for few days still the same...it was so bad that middle of the night i have to wake up to help her clear her nose otherwise she'll be very uncomfortable..

my pd said it's a very common prob in small babies and does not necessarily mean they have sensitive nose. just that their nasal cavities are very small now so easily get blocked up..
my pd prescribed Otrivin nasal drops, is it the same one u have?? she did tell me that this nasal drops cannot use too often if u follow the prescription of 3 times daily for 5 days....but if u only use when absolutely necessary e.g. on those days when the block is very bad then actually u can use it indefinitely...but each bottle once open can only keep 28 days...

she also said if possible try to use lor cos not good to introduce medications etc to babies so young...

in the end i did not use at all....i just carry my baby upright when she's blocked up cos that helps to clear her passageways and help her clear the mucus from her nose daily...after awhile it did get better and now she does not need me to clear her nose anymore although she still gets partially blocked sometimes...she's now 8 wks old...

maybe u want to try observe for a while more b4 resorting to the nasal drops?? just my 2 cents worth

hi grumpus,

thanks for ur input. the nasal drops I haf id Iliadin. how u clear ut bb's nose? i tried using the nasal pump but nothing came out.

icy

My breasts hurt. Sometimes, its like needles pain, shooting down my breasts. Nipples definately sore already. *shake head*

But how long must it carry on ah? Is it until the day I stop expressing milk? Do the BFing mums have this problems? Or is it just the ones doing milk pumping?

Verene

Thanks for the info. =)

beannie

I bought infacol too, but have not used it. PD did say try not to use too many stuff on baby, so didn't dare. But I did hear it's good. Maybe i should try at least once.

hi verene,

oh, for my baby when i look up her nostrils i can see all the mucus and gunk, i just use a small cotton bud to dig a bit out and then use a tissue to pull out the whole chunk of mucus...
sorry for the graphic description...not sure if u understand me

Re: Pigeon teats,
grumpus
Thanks for the info on the pigeon M and Y teats. But I don’t really understand.. so Y is for babies who are able to control the milk while sucking and M is for those who gets tired from sucking from a too small S teat issit?

Re: BCG,
QQ,
Thanks for sharing on your baby gal’s BCG. Nope, mine was also injected on the 2nd day after delivery before discharge but now then it is swollen and looks like got pus. Before that, all along it was flat and ok so now then I start to worry.

Re: Old people don’t let baby cry long,
Yvonne,
I agree with you too. Older people very scared baby cry too long.. my mum also say cannot cry too long. But for me, I think it’s ok to like cry for 5 mins la.. don’t need once they cry then immediately carry them. I even heard that crying helps to strengthen baby’s lungs??

QQ,
Why cannot rock baby when they cry? I do that leh! Chiam… issit somethg wrong that I did again?

Re: Diaper bag contents
Icy,
Good idea on the small purse to contain the nail clipper, cotton buds etc… ok,. I’ll take note.

Re: baby burp,
Mcfluffy,
Me same problem as you, donno how to make baby burp. Sometimes half an hour liao he also haven’t burp. I sian already man. But these few days, I try to let him sit about 45 degrees angle while feeding then after drinking, I let him sit upright 90 degrees. He seems to burp faster this way.

AhCapp,
Oh, if burp 5 mins no wind means no wind? I see!
I don’t practice the middle of the meal burp… is it important huh? Coz I find that if I burp him halfway, he will fall asleep then he wont want to continue drinking the remaining half of the milk after burping liao. You don’t have such problem?

Re: sensitive nose
Verene,
Here here! We are in the same boat! My son also has sensitive nose (like me) and usually around 4-5am, he will have stuffy nose then make a lot of grunting nose and he will keep rubbing against his nose. What is this infant vapor rub about? Issit VICKS? I tried researching in the forum but I heard of another one called Karvol (sold in pharmacy) they say effective but only use for babies above 3 months.

What I do is I will fold a cloth diaper and put under his pillow to sort of elevate it. I think it helps a bit as compared to lying flat. Then every alternate day, I will use cotton bud to try and “dig” out his harden nose mucus to clear his nose.

itok cos i dun wanna let her be use to rock when she cry ..... and i dun introducing human rock to her when wanna let her sleep ... i just carry and pat her if not will let her lying on bed and pat her

verene
i used gynera pills last time. it worked very well for me - i was on it for about 7 yrs! the min i stop, i kena my #1 within 2 mths. i think its all fated :p

mylife
so what do u do when your bb wakes up before she is due for a feed? let her play again then feed when it is 3 hrs from the last feed? or when she wake up, even tho she ate only 2 hrs ago, u feed her again? i'm soooo confused. i oso end up carrying and rocking her to sleep, else she just wont sleep! even with all these, she still sometimes wake up every 5 - 10 min, and this can go on for 1 whole hr. exasperating!

aiyah would hv loved to see more photos of the ikea outing. no more posting?

i just bought a bouncer for my girl cos it seems like she wants to be able to see what's happening when shes awake. evryt time let her lie down she get very irritated. today i put her in the bouncer n she was really much happier, ie less eh eh sound. even got vibration mode so when she start to eh eh just turn it on then she will diam diam liao hee hee

1299181.jpg

i let my bb cry a lot too. but she doesnt have a lot of wind so i dont think its true what the old folks say lah. anyway its true - cry oso good for them cos it expands the lungs. but dont let them cry too long at one time oso lah else they feel abandoned and will have confidence/insecurity issues next time when they grow up.

mylife,

not that I wanna pity myself, but imagine I put her down to sleep, then i got to slowly edge myself on the bed, coz move an inch also pain, then after that she start crying, I got to slowly inch myself out of bed, but you know when they cry, we get quite gan cheong also wanna attend to them, tI carry her, she kick and fling her arms and leg, all my limbs will be in pain.

ahcapp, mcfluffy, I also dont know what exactly happen. Think I carry her until my wrists strain, knock my heels against the stairs when I carried her, then after that the pain extended to left side of my feet, so the more I walked the more the pain intensify over the few days, until I went tui na, the sinsei put the wrap so that will prevent me from going out and walking, then maybe I have not been sleeping well, so my neck also twisted becoz of my sleeping posture.

Pain also no choice, still must carry her.

icy, yes nipple super out of shape. Actually when latch it feels better, but when latch, she drink super slow. But when pump actually quite painful, but I tell myself, numb already. So when I pump, I watch dvd. kekeke. Take my mind off the pumping.

I so sad today, cordlife call me, say the cord blood collected below the level required for banking.
. Wonder if there are any health implications for my girl. The lady who called say that nutritional cell value below the required. Now I stressed.

My baby has FINALLY fallen into a proper nap now. Now I am wondering how am I going to wake him up for his bath?!?!?!

angelsky

Take good care ya. I realise nowadays I am more prone to injury too. Like when I bath my son, I have to bend up and down. I worry I will get backache sooner or later.

michell

Wow, your baby a lot of hair! ^_^ I have a similar bouncer too. I also put my son there in the day so that he won't be lying in his cot all the time. But he can't sit there for long. Once time is up, he will starts to make lots of noise, wanting us to carry him. =S

itok

I read quite a few books and everyone has different opinion with regards to burping. Some recommend once in the middle of the feed and once at the end. Tracy Hogg (whose book I am reading now) recommends once at the BEGINNING of the feed and once at the end. Anyway, yes, I think Tracy Hogg was the one who said if burp for 5 mins, no air comes out, that means no air already. She also said the best way to burp is to let the baby's body be upright, like what u have mentioned.

Another place I read said let the baby takes the lead; i.e. if the baby wants to burp in the middle of the feed, then burp. Otherwise, don't burp. So really don't know who is wrong and who is right. ;P

Like u, I have my problem too. If I stop the feeding half way and burp my son. He will cry n cry and reacts as if I am snatching his food away like that. N when I return the teat back to his mouth, he will continue to move about and fight, as if he is still searching for the teat.

So nowadays, my hb and I let him take the lead. If he starts to 'kay kay' suck or slow down, we will burp him. That's about 3/4 of his feed.

AhCapp,

Sama sama! If i stop feeding halfway to burp, he will cry and cry v frustrated and v upset like he is so hungry and yet I dont let him eat. then when return teat back, he will fidget here and there again.

cool.. your method seems workable. let him take the lead. I will try it later. but sometimes when he slows down, means he is falling asleep. all the more i dont dare to remove the teat to burp him coz he may really end up sleeping then never finish his milk.

re: burping
i let my gal take the lead when she wants to be burped. sometimes she drink halfway and will refuse to continue so i'll try to burp her. if i succeed, she'll continue drinking. but like itok, very afraid to take the teat out of her mouth coz she may not continue! then waste my liquid gold.

re: sore nipples
my breasts n nipples so sensitive to touch now that i absolutely refuse to let my hubby touch them. so now touching of breasts = no ML.
think no more pumping already then won't feel sensitive is it? i think by then my hubby impotent liao.

YAY!! my gal slept for 45mins as i slinged her! her longest nap today!

mcfluffy

*LOL* U make me laugh! But how come only us whose breasts are sensitive and pain huh? Others don't feel the same and back into action??

My son is still struggling with his nap/ night sleep now. I bath him just now and now just let him lie in the dark. He really is tired lah, but don't know why want to fight sleep.

itok

Yes, sometimes after burping my son will fall asleep. *shake head* 1 moment hungry like hell, next moment fell asleep. =S Quite sian leh. Anyway, i will ticklet his chin, rub his hand lor. If really cannot, or I am dead sleepy, I will give up. =( Bo bian. I think he is more stubborn than me!

ah capp
re: sexy leaky boobies
>> try on your gift immed after pumping. Less likely of leakage. At the same time u can ML lor.

now my boobies are "off limits" coz scared trigger letdown. but still can ML ma..

itok,

yup, Y teat is for baby who can control their sucking and flow of milk...S teat is for baby who cannot control the flow...M is the same as S except bigger hole...
my bb is 8 wks and i just upgraded her to M size..find that she's a lot more efficient in finishing her milk now and much easier to burp too...with S teat she used to take abt half hr to finish 80ml. now with M she takes 15min to finish 100ml..

RE: burping
my bb also dun let me take out the bottle halfway to burp...she will struggle and make all sorts of complaining noises...so usually i will wait until she slows down in her drinking then burp her...even then sometimes she will struggle and make all the noises...but i found that sometimes the struggling and noises is cos she needs to burp and she feels uncomfortable...i perserve in burping her and sure enuff once the big burp comes out she quietens down...
for after feed burp i find it useful to put her down for a while then when she starts to fidget means got burp coming then i'll quickly pick her up put her over my shoulder and usually a nice big satisfying burp will come shortly...sure beats sitting there rubbing her back for >5min

grumpus
i scared if i lay bb down immed after feed (esp via bottle), he will throw up.

tks for info abt Pigeon teats. I "upgraded" wrongly.. from S to Y. Should've used M instd of Y. Lemme give it a try.. better than the NUK latex teats which turn white so fast! and sticky too. urgh.

Yvonne/QQ, I'm experiencing the same thing. My ILs always carry and pat BB to sleep cos they can't bear to hear her cry and my BB is the scream until no voice type so the old folks including my mum all very scared of her. Then today MIL complains that she always "shui4 bu4 shou2" and want to introduce sarong so that she can sleep better.

But I really don't want her to be dependent on sarong plus I think that most of the time when she cries it's because of wet diaper or want to feed but they always assume that she wants to sleep and will carry/pat her to sleep. I feel that they are creating a problem and coming up with a solution that will be another problem. But bo bian, when I go back to work, I suspect they will insist on sarong cos hubby also not insistent on such things unlike me. :p

Today, I fed my BB at 4pm, let her sleep on her tummy when she finished at 5pm and she slept until 6pm when her diaper was wet. MIL said she is surprised she can sleep so long on my bed, took the chance to tell her that most of the time, as long as BB is fed and clean, she will sleep without fussing.

ML, don't even have time to sleep, where got time/mood to ML. Hahaha...

Itok, I was wondering why you stopped smsing me. We should meet up and let our babies meet leh since we stay so near. So boring at home sometimes. Hee. You don't accept PM lar, is your old HP number still working? I'll sms you instead.

re: pigeon teats
are the wide neck teats better or standard size better? thinking of upgrading to M size too. my gal takes mighty long to drink 80ml too!!! And she often falls asleep.

wendyg,
stupif nuk latex teats disintegrate so fast. pigeon so much better!!

my baby finished 100ml in 5min. NUK #2 teat for thin liquids. am i asking too much... still want him to swop to pigeon. haha.
at the end of the day, i hope he can take Avent. Coz Avent teats hv more holes & can finish faster! My elder boy takes 5-10min to finish 240ml on Avent #4. If Pigeon/ NUK teats, only 1 miserable hole, dunno how long he'll take. Maybe drink until fall asleep.

I've Nepia S size diaper opened but used not more than 10 pcs .. So should have more 50pc selling at $10 cuz my son outgrown it. Self Collect at Redhill/Eunos

Please pm me if interested!!

angelsky
oh no....pls dont misunderstand i dont let u self pity..i was jus joking, cos the way u describe very funny. I can jus picture u lo. Have u seen a doc? The way u describe i can TOTALLY understand becos i do that too! Inching out aft placing bb in the cot, cos my bb cot also put next to my bed. Dont be stressed witht he cordlife call. Sometimes they jus anyhow give u a reason one la. As long as ur bb is fine now, jus be happy.

ahcapp
i can also understand your confusion on the burping...sometimes read too much also no good. I've also read 1) to let bb take lead. Cos i do total latch on, if bb starts fussing at nipple, she may need a burp so i will burp her. 2) have read also to burp middle of every feed and at the end. But wat i know from PD is not to burp for more than 5mins...if within dat time, no burp means no air. If u burp longer, u are CREATING air. At the end of the day, wat i learned from all these is there's no hard and fast rule for all babies...u jus have to see your bb falls into which category cos every bb is different lo. We read to equip ourselves with some knowledge, understand liao, can throw away the book and care for bb with our gut feel and maternal instincts. One way wrong, do the other and another and another lo

michelle
an SG mommy also based in HK told me she also implemented the Tracy Hogg EASY routine. I was complaining to her how hard it is and she told me key factor is NOT to follow rigidly. It's a routine u try to emulate, not die-die stick to it. After a while, as bb grow older, u will see a unique pattern of routine of ur own bb. So i jot down all my bb activities, and indeed, got some sort of pattern altho sometimes go abit haywire esp the sleeping too. The mommy said if bb wakes up earlier than usual demanding for feed, then feed, dont hold back jus becos the clock says it's not time yet. Unless of cos it's too frequent and too close. Try to stretch timing bit by bit. Like i said, not all babies so ideal can follow Tracy's style of napping 1hour or 90mins. Some, like mine, only can nap 20-30mins in the aftnoon. Also, our babies are still so young...i dont care liao, will continue rocking and do watever it takes to let her sleep. It's not time yet to do "hell training" for them. When they're older, and their cries wont affect them so much (ie cause wind and discomfort) THEN we can train them. They're so young, they need all the love we can give.

QQ
ahhhh yes, it's YOU!
My situation a bit tricky, cos if i dont wake her up, i need to pump to maintain supply. if i pumpd out and she wakes up, i cant feed her instantly wat i pump cos right now she doesnt take bottles, so i scared my breasts will be fairly empty. If i wake her up to latch, like u said, i scared i'm disturbing her "development" Sigh.

ML with hubby
me too, nipples feel ULTRA sensitive, dont say hubby touch, i touch myself, like brush across also feel sensitive. It's like nipples dont belong to me anymore. I hv been telling hubby and myself to tolerate...things WILL get better bah!

wendgy,
Can use Nuk #2 liao? I still using Nuk # 1, no wonder he takes such a long time to finish his milk.

Help..my boy sleeps very little, no naps in the day. Is it normal? How long do they sleep?

kitsune/QQ
sometimes we no need to be insistent on not using anyting, babies will ultimately grow OUT of it. if it works to pacify babies, why not? im sure the old folks are also doing it becos they love your bb. Our bb still young ma...last time i insist no pacifier, no bottle to avoid nipple confusion..now backfire! Bb rejects everything plastic and i'm a human cow!

Can I check with you is Friso Gold for infants gd? I currently switch from Simaliac to that cos simlaic kinda of sweet and mil ask me switch to something else.. read somewhere that Friso not bad but cheaper then simlac.. but wondering if its gd and are all milk really the same.

Can someone advise and anyone here givng your dearlings the same Frisco Gold milk like me huh? And is it gd?????

Fern

babe,

You were saying to me in msn something like your mensesdidnt resume after two months or something though not breastfeeding or something right... paiseh was too busy to reply earlier... me 7 weeks and menses not yet resume.. doesnt mean anything right? I am not really breastfeeding very regularly and also we used contraceptive as condoms so reallly no need for me to check on anything as yet right,, Its quite normal having delayed menses after giving birth right>?? But FYI .. my menses are the very regular on the dot each month one.. so kinda of worried.. can someone affirm me on this or something huh? thanks ya

blackbatz
i tried all these but my baby refused: Avent #1, Pigeon S, Avent #2, Pigeon Y, NUK #1, NUK #2 for milk then finally NUK #2 for Thin Liquids.
Discovered i hv Pigeon M haven't opened yet. try tmr.