(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Wendyg,
Pigeon teats. Is M size teats for the normal bottle or the wide neck bottle? Think I must upgrade my teats liao. Maybe even get pacifier and yaolan..My mum has been complaining like mad that my boy doesn't sleep in the afternoon, ony takes catnaps of 10 to 15 min. If my boy can sleep in yaolan longer, then she can enjoy her afternoon hokkien serial. Sigh!!

Angelsky, I use Cordlife too. They only call you today that sample cannot be used. 2 months liao leh, wonder if mine is ok now... :p

Mylife, I know what you mean, I did let CL introduce bottle in week 2 because worried of the same problem. Also tried pacificer around that time to quiet the BB but didn't work, she spit it out. But for sarong, I'm quite insistent because if she needs the sarong to sleep, next time how to bring her out eg. shopping, travelling, visiting etc. If must bring a mobile sarong wherever we go out with BB, I think of it, also sian. :p

i use teats for wide neck bottles coz i've got avent bottles & pumps. Dat's why i'm so vexed when my baby decided he preferred NUK to Avent & Pigeon. Coz i'm an NUK dummy...

re: refuse teats
>> he will struggle, cry.. so i hv to pray for wisdom to discern issit too fast? (whole mouth full of milk & choking) too slow? (hungry but level of milk in bottle din decrease)
maybe he's just tired, dat's why dowan to eat at all? Does he need to be burped?
1001 factors.. trial and error. I was so anxious that he couldn't be bottle fed that i was exploring options of how i can continue to latch him on even after i return to work. (?!?!?!)

how your bb play with the teat? push out with his tongue issit. If my boy did that, means he dowan to eat. Maybe full liao. If accompanied by crying, i'll try to burp him, or just get him to sleep. Coz if he's sleepy he dowan to eat - wants to latch for comfort, which a latex teat can't replace my fleshy one. hee hee.

Fern,

Maybe because you are still on partial BF (still pumping milk)so your menses delayed. My gynae told me menses will come 6 to 8 wks after stopping BF. I totally not BF or pumping milk.

Itok,

Maybe your boy is a small drinker? My girl is 8 weeks now. But I'm going to cut down her consumption to 120ml in every 3 hrs. Coz she has been vomiting milk recently & loose stools. Bought her to the PD today. PD said that she is having stomach flu. So gave a medication in powder form to added to her milk. She also asked me to cut down to 120ml & make the milk more diluted with adding less powder. So far for the last 2 feeds, I had been giving her 120ml & she seems ok... Only asked for milk 3 hrs later.

Could it be that the amount of powder you added is too little? Maybe the milk is too diluted & he feels hungry again in a short while? But making milk in every 1.5 / 2 hr must be really tiring...

Re: Diaper bag

I will pack an extra set of clothing, knowing that my girl will sometimes drip while drinking. Also not forgetting pacifier!!! Just like today when I bought her to PD, I forgot her pacifier. She was wailing as getting sleepy & my hubby had no choice but to run to nearby NTUC to buy. Now I have an extra pacifier...

itok
re: diaper bag
i also hv the following in my bag, in addition to your list (but i'm bfg, so no need milk powder, flask etc)
- blanket (immed will use in aircon environment eg shpg ctr)
- changing mat
- tissue paper
- small plastic bags that act as rubbish bin when i'm wiping bb's butt. Sometimes i can't find changing room to change his diaper, i gotto do it in the open.
- extra top. So many times the clothes he's wearing kena poo leak or pee etc.
- extra breast pads for me!

Re: ILs Issue

I'm currently facing this issue which I dun know what to do. My ILs are staying opp my hse & the initial plan (insisted by my hubby) was to ask my MIL to quit her job & to help to look after my girl. I would prefer my mum to look after as she is quite experienced (looking after my 2 nephews) & we girls tend to prefer own mothers... But she stays too far unless I let my girl stays there. But my hubby won't agree. Since I was back at my own hse after doing confinement at my mum's place, my MIL quitted her job to help me. So I will take care of baby from night until noon & she will bring baby to her place from noon to evening. The arrangement was ok as I get to have some rest in the afternoon... But dun know why from this week, she told me that she is working again. And her work will end in the late afternoon. By the time she came to bring the baby, it is already 4,5pm. So I told her dun need so troublesome to bring her to IL's hse & take her back again in the evening... It is like no point... Becoz of that, from this week, very tiring for me. It is like I'm taking care of baby 24hrs & it really tires me...

My hubby & I not too happy abt it... To me, it seems like she is not totally involved or willing to take care of baby... Now is ok since I'm still on maternity leave. What if when I start work? I dun dare to voice out to MIL, but my hubby said he wanted to check with her why. But I'm so worried that MIL will be unhappy...

Really dun know what to do... Am I too demanding? What do you gals think?

Krystle, I'm also letting ILs take care of BB cos they stay across the road instead of my mum plus my mum is older than my MIL by 10 years so no energy to take care of BB. Maybe your MIL wants a bigger allowance since she quit her job so no salary. Or maybe because she finds looking after a BB too difficult, prefers to work, more freedom and more $$$.

WendyG, plastic bags, good idea, shall stuff some in too.

Hi, Kitsune_sg.

My hubby & I also think maybe the allowance we gave is not enough... My hubby said he will ask her abt this... But I guess she will some how be offend by this issue... But in the very beginning, it is more like my hubby asked her to look after baby. She never offer to take care of baby. It is like my hubby asked her to do that without asking her opinion. I did ask my hubby to ask her if she was willing to help. Guess what my hubby said? He said my girl is the 1st inner grandchild, of coz my MIL will help. But that is his thinking not MIL's real feelings...

My case is opp of yours. My mum is much younger than my MIL. And she is good with kids. She will make effort to communicate & teach kids... I can see that from my 2 nephews, learning lots of things since young. My mum will let my nephews watch TV, read books, drawing, listening to music, play etc... But my MIL can't speak English. So worried that my girl will have limited language & pick up dialect. I think she will only ask my girl to just eat, drink & sleep next time...

krystle;
i also want my mom to take care of my boy but my hubby insisted my mil take care too.
my mil stays very far from me - i stay north east, she stays west. my mom stays north which is easier to travel.
i have 1 more mth till i go back to work so i have actually shifted to my mil place to stay so that my boy is used to the shuttling back n forth. but she is not helping me and i am taking care of my boy 24 hours. also like you, no point...might as well stay at my own home. it tires me too. i cant do anything i like and the family never ask me if they could help in anything. sianz...
at night baby cry for feeds at most she wake up and say "oei, oei, oei" and once im back with the warmed up milk, she will go back to sleep.
in the day, she has to take care of my 5 yr old nephew, and her own mother who is bedridden. also, there is a neice but her own mom is a SAHM. plus my boy, i dont know how she will cope. we got her a maid recently but i can see she is still very bz. whereas my mom is not looking after anyone at all.
everyday i will cry when my hubby goes back to my mil place for dinner and tell him how tired i am...

i think if i were you, i will get my hubby to check with his mom and see what she says...before deciding on anything

sorry for the lengthy post, need to get this off my chest...

pigeon teats
M size comes in both wide neck and standard size..personally using the wide neck ones cos that's the kind of bottle i got when i bought the steriliser...

burping
i totally agree that u hv let yr bb take the lead...i used to get upset everytime my bb fusses an hr after feed cos need to burp...i used to think i was a horrible mother cos i must not hv burped her properly during feed hence the need to be burped one hr later...
but after i diligently burp her during and after feed and also when my mil and mother feed her also the same...we just put in down to her pattern lor...she likes to save one for the road...

diaper bag
oh ya, also have the following in my bag..these were later additions through trial and error...
- blanket (i always swaddle my bb when we go out so dun consider it part of the bag)
- pacifier (must hv to sooth cranky bb, best to hv 2, one for home and one for bag so u'll never forget, learnt this the hard way)
- small ziplock bags to put soiled clothes (bb did a big poo on me which leaked on her clothes, no where to stash stained clothing!)
- changing mat (this is one i always forget too, improvise by letting her lie on her blanket)

krystle
actually it's useful to have 2 pacifiers...i used to hv one only too and find that with so many things going on in getting ready to go out i always tend to forget to bring it...so ended up buying one more to permanently put in bag...
also my mum told me it's good to alternate between the 2 pacifiers as bb can get addicted to a particular pacifier...it's the smell or something :p next time want to wean or even change new one may be difficult

pixie...instead of u moving so far to stay at ur MIL place but she is so busy and not really helpg, how about moving back home and ask ur mom to come stay with u for awhile to help with the bb?

Angelsky
So now is cordlife going to bank in for you irregardless of the nutritional value or telling you that it cannot be bank in? 2 months already, like a bit late that they contact you only now rite?

Sensitive nose
Seems like a lot of babies here have, mine also! Cos me and hubby also sensitive noses. Same as itok, have to dig out the jelly mucus every alternate days else baby can't breath.

Diaper Bag contents
Besides all those that's mentioned, i'll also bring an extra pc of diaper cloth, extras hankys, extra bb cloth and i'll also bring pants out in case she's cold. I'll also bring 2 pacifiers, just in case. I have 3 in total as bought 2 and was given 1.

Fern
I think milk will varies from baby to baby, mine can't take friso doesn't mean yours can't. I switched from Friso to Similac as my gal will get constipated drinking Friso.

Poo Poo
My gal's poo poo has always been watery in mustard colour even though now she has been on mostly Similac. Is there any cause for concern? My friend told me that the poo poo should be creamy instead of watery.

krystle
you're not being demanding, it's really no point to bring her over at 4/5pm? the day is ending already ma. Seems like she's not willing to care for baby, maybe instead of asking her whether she wants to look after baby (some MIL don't want to say No cos scare their son not happy), why not ask her what does she think if baby is cared by your own mother and see her reaction?

krystle
aiya my MIL also forever changing her mind abt getting a job. She got a job to cut vegetables, then quit after few weeks coz overworked. My husband psycho her saying no need to get a job, just help to look after grandchildren can liao. She say OK OK, even stay over @ my place some weekends while i was still preg, help to chase #1. Then after i popped, she quietly went to work in food court. Husband and BIL nag nag nag her then she quit after few days.
I think they enjoy getting paid for being employed la. Or being taken advantage of.

just now my baby poo'd in potty. Wah! So amused.. husband, father and #1 all came running to see. Baby was the happiest, coz he likes to be clean

Mine bb stools are normal range like yellowish not hard not soft.. normal kind.. Also Mil says he doesnt poo eveyday just like every alternate days just once or twice but a lot ones..very rarely sometimes just a few strips... Is alternate days normal and also not considered contispated. Currently he is on total formula liao. Breafeeding is like on and off cos my milk supply dropped just tremendously liao. So is is pooing the normal rnage in all baby and considered NORMAL?

Kyrstle,
Me have stopped BF like a week ago cos as I said my milk supply went down liao.. And now already 7 weeks yet menses havent come.. We used contraceptive like condoms so cant be anything right? Any of you like me.. not BF anymroe or rather not much and 7 weeks and menses havent come.. same boat mummmies, would like to hear your views on this.

Fern

Fern

Also, I realised that my baby hands are always cold not warm .. Feet warmer.. esp after his bath.. Why huh? Is it normal a not? Just some concerns..

BB crying..

You bb ever suddenly cry very loudly in deep sleep b4 like having bad night mares? And once you pat pat and say mummy loves you he stopped immediately.. Why is that so? and is it normal? Worried.

Fern

Good Sat morning ladies! What a lovely bright sat morning. Suddenly feel as if there is hope again. Been waking up every 3hrs (2:45am & 5:45am) as baby cry for milk. I need to pump so I get my hb to help. Right breast feels as if it's going to harden soon. Spent more than an hour 'heating' it up and massaging it. Felt like the end of the world. =S Ordered McDelivery and feel so much better after a big fat BIG breakfast. Will be dropping my son off at my MIL's place for her to look after. My hb and I are going to Jeff Chang's concernt at Expo tonight! Very excited. =) It's going to be my first major outing since I delivered. Yes, I am a damn sad case.

mylife

Yes, I agree with u with regards to the books. It's just like that I love to read, but I realise there is no fixed answers to what my questions. So nowadays, I just follow my heart lor.

btw, I have more or less finish the whole Tracy Hogg book. Hmm.. Her EASY method sounds easier to adapt compared to Gina Ford's method. But I can't really follow strictly to her (or anyone's) method. So will only pick here and pick there.

Btw, do u really see a regular pattern for your darling? I think I will need start it today. I am still trying to recognise my baby's crying. It's easy to know when my son is tired from his eyes, but I am ultra lousy when it comes to recognising his crying. =(

pacifiers

Which brand of pacifiers do u mummies use? Any good ones to recommend? My son has been sucking his fingers so loudly that I can even hear his sucking when I am in the living room!

Fern

Yes, my son sometimes will suddenly burst out into tears and crying in the middle of the sleep. My CL told me that he is having nightmare. So I will go there pat pat him and get back to sleep. Sometimes it doesn't work, so i will have to carry him and console him a bit.

re:diaper bag
lolz. I think we are bringing a lot of things out for one small little baby. But everything is necessary! I have 3 pacifiers at home now. Haha. Sometimes cannot find one yet need it urgently so I went to buy extra. KS! ;)

Ahcapp,
I use Pigeon(free with steriliser kit) and NUK (coz formerly using NUK teats so I went to buy NUK teats.) I find that my gal can hold on to the NUK teats better maybe of it's unique design? With Pigeon, she often cannot find the nipple when it's already in her mouth! But NUK pacifier causes a mark on her face. Too tight for her chubby cheeks?

Thanks McFluffy, I think I better go get a pacifier first before my son turns into a full-time fingers sucker... =S

luvv, when i delivered, my doc said the blood collected was below the required, he already tried his best to retrieve but it was slightly below the required amount. he said the umbilical cord was thin, so all the nutrients already went to baby. so when the person collected the blood, they did call and say that they managed to get the blood processed, so we thought it was ok. then now, they call to say i can choose to bank in or discard, but to bank it, can only use up to 6.5kg, my girl already 4plus kg. The person that call us, also dont really know how to explain, so I also dont understand why the blood not suitable. Is it my health got prob or baby health got prob, or its just the cord.

re: bb crying, sometimes they may have been startled by something or just had a fright, my girl does this too, she will look very frightened although she is asleep, or she may woke up and her facial expression is like one who had a nightmare, I just pat her and hug her close.

Ahcapp, my girl has also been trying to put her whole hands into her mouth, sometimes its quite hialrious to see her try to stuff her hand or fingers in, and she got coordination problem. hahaha, I will end up distracting her, by getting her to grasp my hands and she will try and try. kekeke. I bought nuk but trying not to use yet.

re:menses

I still breastfeeding, so i think mine not here yet, if by next week not here, i think no need to see doc do pap smear already.

krystle,
Aiya my MIL also like that. Like no keen to take care of my boy.She recently don't like to bath my boy and not really bring him out for a walk liao. She will give lots of excuse not to bath my boy.Then hor not automatic de, always bang the door so loud, my hubby already told her to close the door gently as baby will scare. Sometime my hubby scold her for this then she said she forgot she had to close the door gently. "i think she purposely de lor" I want to remind her again scare her face black black. I going to start work next week think i going to let my mum take care. Haiz if i let my mum take care i will be very tired to go see my boy cos my mum stay in the west then me stay in the north.

mylife;

many reasons why cannot but mainly - my hubby dont like. i wish i could. my mom did offer tho.
my hubby very "pro his family" kind. very sticky. want to go back home often lah, got so many celebrate this, celebrate that lah. i just realised that his heart cannot accomodate another family (mine). you can see the 360 degree attitude when he is with his family vs mine. sian.

confinement - my mom was the one who helped for 6 weeks. she moved in with me. now thats its over, i have to move in with my mil.

that day my mil asked the maid to transfer the soiled linen diapers from the "pre-soak" bucket to another bucket when washing in order to pour away the dirty water. cant find a bucket and ask the maid to put the linen into my boy's bathtub! faint

mcfluffy, ahcapp;
i also have the same prob! nuk pacifier left a mark on my boy's face. avent pacifier very tough, i can see my boy chewing it frantically.

i realised that after my boy sucks on the nuk pacifier, he confused the nuk teats with pacifier, cannot use nuk teats n feed him now

Any body has lobang in getting bulks of Smilac milk powder... at a cheaper price since i be getting in BULKS.. Bough Frisco Gold but my Elias.. dun seem to like it compared to Simalac.. Real sad.. What should I do? Dump it aside and get new similac or what?

Advises please?
Aiya

Fern

Wendgy,
I'm also trying to get my boy to sit in the potty. But really don't know what time he does poo poo? How did you do it?

Pixel,
Wah!! Travel from NE to West daily is no joke. One of my colleagues used to do it for a few months. After that,suffered from mental stress as he was driving alone with a brawling baby. Eventually gave up and got a nanny to look after the baby.

Wednyg,
I oso share the same sentiments as you. My mum is also like that, she enjoys getting the $100 to $200. At the same time, they will comment about the hardwork, plus "politics"..Sigh.

My mum used to work part time 5 years ago. After I had my #1 prematurely, she stopped work. I would give her an allowance of $1k, which includes the opportunity cost of not working (which I assume on the high side $500), plus normal allowance ($500). I also engaged a maid to help her with the housework.

Re: pacifiers
I am using nuk latex pacifiers and avent ones. so far, my boy are ok with both. but overall, he dont really like pacifiers. only give it to him when he is fussing at night for bedtime. else, he always try to spit it out. and after he fell alseep, he will release the pacifier form his mouth..and when i peep at him in the middle of the night, I got to search for the pacifier on his bed.

Re: napping
how many hrs should it be the normal afternoon naps last?? My boy can nap for 2-3 hrs usually...so times 4 hrs when we out him in the sarong. else we let him sleep on his rocker. seldom let him sleep on his baby "sofa bed" liao cos he keep shifting his body...scared he rolled off the mattress.

Fern,
I used to feed my boy similac also...find it too much bubbles and it has increased price so I changed. Initially, he constipated on similac, after awhile so i decided to change FM. I am using Nan now. Nan taste sweet. but never tried on the similac. U can try some medical halls...sometimes they do sell cheaper.

Re:poo
sometimes my boy will miss his poo for a day. but usually he can poo 2-3 times a day on Nan.

When do I introduce the pacifier to my son? Whenever he sucks his fingers? Or when he cries but not yet time for feeding?

Sorry first time using pacifier...

can't find avent at IMM. So bought pigeon one to try try first. I am using Avent teats so that's why thinking should get a Avent pacifier right?

Thanks ladies for your feedback on pacifier. Wah, I really blur man. First time using pacifier =S

verene

Oh, my son did the same just now. First time using his pacifier as I noticed he was sucking his fingers. He is clearly sleepy already so I quickly put him to his bed. When I returned, he pacifier is on the bed, next to him. I guess he must have either spit it out or it dropped out.

Re: mum or mil taking care of bb

I did ask my hubby (before I delivery) whether MIL interested in taking of bb or not. she mentioned she prefer to work (to respect her decision first before asking my mum to help straight away). so be it. anyway, I prefer my own mum to take care. hee hee. so my mum stopped working in the weekdays to help me out. she will come and stay with me for like 3 days in a week at my current place (with MIL). this flat is owned by my hubby and BIL last time, hubby had since transferred out his name and we had bought a new flat 2 streets away in sengkang. My mum stays in Outram but she will still travel up to help me. after my reno, mum will come stay with me except for weekends where she will go back to help out in the family business. btw, my mum is more keen in looking after of my son.

Remember I did post earlier mentioning my hubby scolded my MIL abt caring for my boy...
Hubby so fed up with her always saying that we dont knw this dont knw that...say not like this, like tat method. wants to us to implement her styles. In the end, he shouted at her nagging, and told her, "since u r the one not wanting to look after my boy, why u still talk so much!" She kept quiet after failed attempts to reason with my hubby. I was in the bathroom but i heard most of the conversation. But evil me - i feel like giggling. keke. Cos I still remembered how she blamed me for my boy's jaundice condition at the early days. I just couldn't swallow her remarks and forgot wat she says.

Pixiepixel,

You also sound quite helpless in the situation hoh... It is ok. We are all here to share our thoughts & I'm glad to have this forum to let me share my worries & happiness too. But since your mum is staying near your hse, why don't you talk to your hubby again? Coz soon you will return to work & are you planning to stay on MIL's hse after you go back to work? Then it will be like permanently staying there for good & you won't have chance to go back to your hse.

So far, nothing is said yet for my case. My MIL has not been coming to visit baby. A bit strange as before this happened, she is like very adore my girl & will come by every day to see her. But she did call y'day to ask abt my girl's diarrhea.

Grumpus,

Thanks for the advice of having 2 pacifiers. I never thought of putting 1 in the bag for good. I should do so now.

Luvv,

My gal had diarrhea last few days. She is drinking Smiliac too. Her poo poo was watery initially but as at y'day it turned creamier. But still I bought her to see PD. Maybe your gal is having the same problem too? How abt you try reduce the milk powder amount? The PD asked me to do so. She also gave a powder form medication to be added to milk. So far I given my girl 2 dosage of medication. Surprisingly, she has not poo since y'day. Not normal... So my mum asked me to stop the medication first so that my girl gets to poo again.

Luvv, Wendyg,

I also think that she may prefer work than taking care of baby. Coz her current work is more relaxed than her previous one. She is helping out at a canteen too. I let my hubby handle her... Coz I don't think it is appropriate for me to voice out. But I can imagine the outcome. Most prob she will quit her job again.

AhCapp,

I'm using Avent & Pigeon pacifiers for my girl. Personally preferred Avent. Coz the teat is longer. My girl if suck Pigeon, tends to drop it out very often. And this will disturb her sleep sometimes.

Re: burping
Wendyg,
I have the same concern as you. Afraid that if I let baby lie down immediately after his feed, he will throw up.

Re: Pigeon Y and M teats
Wendyg,
Why you say you upgrade wrongly? I also started off with S size teats then move on to Y size.. I think it should be ok as long as your baby can control the sucking of milk flow. Correct bo, grumpus?

Mcfluffy,
I use the wide neck pigeon bottles- ok. Have not used standard size ones before so can’t comment. Ya, my boy also took super long to drink when he used S size- like half an hour at least. And always drink until fall asleep. Things changed so much better when I used Y size. He could finish 140ml in 15 mins if he don’t fidget too much.

Re: rocking baby to sleep/ sarong
Kitsune,
My boy also always shui4 bu4 shou2 so my mum introduced sarong to him during the day then he sleeps longer. I was also worried if he sleeps sarong, then he will get used to it and not want to sleep on bed at night when I bring back. But surprisingly, he din like it when I placed him in sarong at night. He prefers to sleep on the bed instead. He seemed to have gotten used to the routine- daytime at my mum’s house is sarong, at night back at home is bed.

Re: diaper bag
grumpus,
Good idea on the pacifier!! Thanks for the reminder to have 2, one at home, one for diaper bag. I also very forgetful so I think I will need to have one permanently in the diaper bag.

Luvv,
Good idea to bring pants coz in case baby cold. I never thought of that!

Brand of pacifiers
AhCapp,
I used Avent pacifiers but I used Pigeon milk bottles and teats. I find Avent teat a bit harder than Pigeon. But my son usually rejects the pacifier, he will spit out and I got to forcefully hold it against his mouth.

Itok, have to train the baby. Now in the daytime I will let him sleep in the sarong at nite sleep on the bed. For my 2 sons I nurse them to sleep so no issue. For my girl, last time I will put her in the sarong first after she sleep I will carry her onto the bed to sleep.

Menses, finally it has ended. Supply back to normal.

Fern, when my boy is less than one month old, sometime he will suddenly cried loud and scream while sleeping. I have to rush to the room to carry him up from the playpen.

itok
i thought supposed to upgrade from S to M? Coz my boy dun like Y lor. Last night tried M, he also dun like. I think i hv to stick to NUK liao.

blackbatz
noticed my boy's poo pattern.. once after wake up time, once after morning nap etc. And also a bit of instinct.. hee hee. This morn after his first feed, i was waiting for him to poo in his diaper so that can change it, anyway he was wearing for whole night liao. Waited 15min still no poo, i thought better change coz 12hr liao. Then after i removed his diaper, i thought just try try, no harm ma. Within 10 seconds, he let out a BIG ONE. And he was a happy baby

He likes to be clean la. If poo in diaper, little while he'll make noise and want to be changed. Cannot sit in his poo. When i carry him to changing table, he'll stop crying and give me a huge grin. har har har

Krystle, is avent pacifier longer, my CL and MIL were commenting that pigeon pacifier very short, keep falling out, looks like I should get an avent to try.

Itok, really ah? ok, I'll kiv sarong first. Did you try bringing baby out or visiting in the day before, can he sleep without the sarong?

Angelsky, Cordlife didn't call us at all, in fact they only collected the cord blood the same day afternoon but I delivered at 1230am!?! Hubby said they never put in the fridge, don't know whether still fresh or not. :p

BB sitter, when we were looking around for a flat, hubby was tempted by the cheaper buy direct from HDB flats. But I told him no point, better to stay near at least 1 parent so that next time they can help to look after our children. Also buy resale, can get $40k grant if near parent anyway. So we bought near our ILs at Tampines, but my parents' place at bedok reservoir also not that far lar.

Just went to buy a Fisher Price playgym for my BB, it was on my wishlist but no one bought it. Sometimes, she wants to play, see her kicking and flailing her arms but we don't have any toys for her, quite poor thing. Very ex, cos no discount, really regret not buying from Isetan Private sale but I really got no hands to carry then. :p

Oh ya, bought Pet Pet S size for $8.10 and the Pet Pet M size for $13.95. Pet Pet is one of the cheapest diapers so far. Good for my BB who likes to poo those 50 cents coin poo then cry when we don't change her. At least use Pet Pet, not as heart pain. :p

Anyone's BB had ear infection before? Mine's ear infection still not ok after seeing dr and taken 1 week of antibotics, altogether already 2 weeks liao. :p

kitsune,
nope, I have not tried bringing baby out or visiting during the day to assess if he needs the sarong to sleep... hmm.. din think of that. But so far, I dont bring him out so I can't see yet.

how much is the playgym? Is it the type baby lie down then look up at the toys hanging from a "bar"? I like leh but also no one give as present coz most gave ang paos during full mth.

Is Pet Pet good? why your gal poo 50 cents coin poo? Many times a day? issit becoz u r breastfeeding?

How do you know your baby has ear infection??

Which PD are you seeing? I am seeing PD at tampines blk 828, near my mum's place.

re: sarong/yao lan/sling

Zander has been sleeping in the manual yao lan during day time so that he can sleep longer without being startled easily. Nite time, we will put him in the playpen & he has no problem sleeping on his own beside making his usual eh eh eh noise. Sometimes, he fuss & cry but not due to hungry but he wants attention so we give him pacifier instead of carrying him.

Here a pix of him wif his play mat (this playmat can only keep him entertain for 5 to 10mins then he will make noise, we will then carry him & put him in yao lan)
1300236.jpg

Another pix...just finished drinking 90ml FM at 6.15pm(i make 125ml but he can't finish...dunno why? He just fell asleep!Duh) *Look at the no. of pillows he own!! Two of them are beansprout & 3 pillows are made by MIL.
1300237.jpg

Re: Red cheeks caused by MILK RASHES

Anyone having such problems with their babies? My boy keeps licking his mittens then use the mittens to rub his face. This results in him having red cheeks - like rashes. and the skin feels rough to the touch. Any remedy??

hi itok,

my boy do have these pimples on his face...like rashes. dont knw whether urs like that or not. it goes away on its own after a while. u can get antibiotic cream from PD to apply a thin layer on the face. if not use warm water to wipe his face.

itok
Doc said just clean few times a day with water and cotton wool. I asked for any cream to apply coz really a lot of rough skin, but he said no need. My boy's "rashes" went away after few weeks. I think what's impt is to keep his face clean & dun get him too hot.. the heat may worsen the rash.

wendyg,

i let my boy naps on the rubber changing mat also when I put him on my bed. so far, ok leh. but of cos, i on the fan or air con. keke.

wendyg,
we placed the rubber mat on our sofa (living room quite windy)...he only nap like 15mins then we shift to yao lan liao.

Itok, I brought my son to see GP to get medicine for him to apply. His neck also got a lot of rashes. After applying for 2 days all gone.