(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

icy
i love your blog skin! did u create it yoruself or found from some other website? if so, can share what is the url?

i also added your blog to mine liao. thks

hi!

Icy: ur bb looks more and more like u...

Lump on breast:
i oso had a lump on my left breast, done ultrasound 2 days ago... result will b out by next wk. Called gynae he ask mi to monitor first but i told him abt my frz (who dont hav any family history...) so he ask mi to do ultrasound.

As i was quite worried becos one of my gf had breast cancer aft giving birth 2mths ago and had it removed. my gf BF her bb gal for 2mths and she dont feel any pain or discomfort juz feel a lump but turns out to b....

any gd deal at taka bb fair?
gg down lata... need to buy some bb stuff..

i am thinking if i go to taka taking the mrt, with the underground link to wisma now blocked. any idea is there lift to the surface? thinking to take the stroller, but quite tough is no lift.

my baby Javier:

1287092.jpg

I would like to join this group. I'm also a Jan'08 mum who had delivered my boy on 12 Jan at KKH thru normal delivery with epi. Had been reading the group for a few months and also busy with my boy's daily stuffs and also mine, therefore didn't register and join in earlier.. Hopefully, I'm not intruding into the group...

Audrey

Hi Maureen,
Most likely we could have met. I went thru induce process for my son to be delivered on 12 Jan. His EDD was 11 Jan and I went for my gynae checkup on the tat date and was admitted in the evening for the inducment. Took me 16 hours to deliver him..

audrey
intruding?! no la. welcome

motherhood makes me a friendly person

blackbatz
we sent #1 to sch then off we went! He was none the wiser. hee hee
eh, my husband also very insistent that our boys MUST be boyish. Cannot play with toy pram or pink toys. *pengz* My elder one likes to play with cooking set at my grandma's place... pink bowls, girly stuff... husband looked as tho he wanted to question me at first, but he was won over when #1 'cooked' him a crab. haha.

windy
kick ass prams? I will bring my pram and kick the asses of those who block my way. hee hee. On 2nd thought, these kind of crowded places, it's better to sling baby.

<font color="ff6000">Moms &amp; Babes Outing to Ikea Tampines
Thursday 13 March 08, 3pm</font>

Pls reconfirm your attendance...?
- angelsky ... Yup yup
- babyshannon
- blackbatz
- wendyg... ONZ!
- windy
- Mom2Nat
- Kitsune ... (On, Tues cannot, prefer Thurs)

<font color="ff6000">Barter @ Ikea</font>
Wanted: Petpet S, Goo.N
Available for swopping:
Diapers
MP S &amp; M, Pampers BB dry S, Huggies Dry comfort M, Huggies Dry M, Petpet M, Hey Baby M
Nursing Pads
Gerber Medium &amp; Heavy flow, Tollyjoy, Pigeon

Maureen,
I stayed at Ward 82 and was discharged on 13 Jan.

RE: ML
I'd gave it a try last week and it still hurts below near the wound. Think must take a longer break..

Wendyg,
I'm still adjusting to motherhood as this is my first and got alot of things still blur-blur. Motherhood, a busy journey of life that I'm exploring into...

just came back from the taka baby fair...it was so crowded. think the good buys are more for new mummies-to-be. wanted ti grab some pooh rompers at $12.90 (usual $20.90) but the cashier queue is far too long. end up I din buy a single thing. cos I went alone with baby Javier in the baby carrier. had told hubby tat we will venture the fair again next weekDAY! OMG the nursery is full of babies too. :p

Audrey,
welcome to the big family!

Re: Combi stroller / aprica stroller
anyone using combi? can share which model u bought? I am thinking to get a light weighted stroller when I bring bb out in absence of daddy.

Welcome Audrey!
i'm also 1st time mum and adjusting, blur blur one and always get info from the other experience mummies here.

Verene
Javier looks so cute with his lips like that, he seems to have lighten already?

Baby's respond
My girl starting to respond more to our playing with her, so sweet and fun now. But still fussy and wants to be carried most of the time.

Ikea outing
Much that i wish to go, i'm wondering how to cope with baby then need to queue for food at the same time? A bit scary leh...

Blackbatz
my hubby same as your hubby, will ask "no money to buy ah?" if he sees her wearing the same clothes again and again, but then she outgrew so fast, how to buy so many clothes?....duh

luvv
1. one of the moms whose bb is asleep will go buy food
2. leave your bb with us for 5 min while u go buy food
3. pack your own snack
4. dun eat!

heh heh

Hi wendyg,

guess before the mummies finish munching on the chicken wings...the babies will scream for milk. ha ha.

Luvv,
I also want to go to the gathering. but how to go from our place if u intend to go?

Ikea outing:
anyone bringing ur helper along? my helper = my mum.

QQ

Actually I stay at Bedok Reservoir. But Eunos MRT is nearer to my house rather than Bedok MRT. Do you live in Eunos?

Verene

I also went to Taka Baby Fair today. Got $400 gift voucher to spend so planned to get stroller there. So I went there at 10.30am to avoid crowd. Initially wanted to go with hubby only but end up, my MIL, hubby's aunt, hubby's brother &amp; his girlfriend all went!

I managed to buy a Combi stroller. I bought the Miracle Turn as quite fascinated by the way the stroller folds. Looks rather easy &amp; one-hand operation. Also lighter too. Bought at $498 &amp; got a Combi toy for free. Also bought Avent bottle &amp; teats. Then saw some disney baby tops selling $10 for 3pcs. Also bought that. Total spent $520 &amp; got further free gifts from Takashimaya. Not bad. They gave toddler tricycle from Little Tikes &amp; gift set of clothings. I was sort of surprised &amp; quite happy with the buy.

Hi krystle,

I wanted to get the miracle turn too. what colors beside the light blue available for the $498 one. what's the weight and the diff btw tat as compared with the $629 one? I already got a capella but it weighs like 8kg..tough to handle on my own. so I am still considering whether to get another stroller. need hubby's permission first. I have $210 taka voucher to spare. and $150 tangs voucher looking to exchange fot taka. another $200+ low grade tangs voucher (those that cannot use for sales items) owing to me from company.

I am thinking....whether direct purchase from Tai Sing is cheaper as compared to baby kingdom for combi strollers? anyone buy direct from Tai Sing?

Hi.

Can ask all mummies for opinions/advice?

Coz I realized that sometimes my baby has "crossed eyes".... It will happen sometimes &amp; last a few minutes then the eyes will go back to the normal vision... So worried that she got "cocked eyes"... Wonder why is this so? Is it common?

Very worried....

Talking about being careful with beansprout pillows, I think we all should be also careful about blankets too.

Coz today after returning from Taka, I left my baby on my bed, covering her with a blanket. I thought I have tucked the blanket under her arms... So I went to unpack my shopping items... After a while, I thought should check on her. When I walked from dining area to living room, I could see inside my bedroom, my gal had the whole blanket over her head!!! I got a shocked &amp; shouted her name so loud. Even my hubby got a shock! I ran into the bedroom to lift the blanket &amp; shake her vigorously! So happy &amp; relived to see her breathing &amp; ok... Nearly got heart attack...

I always try to make a point to check her every now &amp; then... But so scared as you never know when what will happen...

Hi, Verene.

For the $498, besides light blue, there is orange colour. I bought the orange colour one. The weight for this stroller is 6.1kg. The sales lady told us that the $498 &amp; $629 are exactly the same except for one area. $629 one has a ventilation mesh system under the seat so that baby will feel more airy wherelse the $498 does not have (it is fully covered under the seat). But I think $629 is really out of my budget &amp; so I bought the cheaper one.

Not sure if Tai Sing is selling cheaper or not. But I checked the website &amp; the price is still $629. I think Tai Sing is the distributor &amp; they set standard price for all retailers... But no harm calling or visiting them to ask.

http://www.taising.com/combistroller.html

Krystle, for my 2nd child, I used to draw a few big black circles on the A4 paper, and move round and round in front of him. He is lying on the chair, his eyes will flow it.

kryslte,

I heard from a friend whose mum is a baby sitter....the mum mentioned that the "crossed eyes" quite common in babies. sometimes it could be due to the spinning mobile toy that hangs on the cot. when their eyes follow the movement of the toy...my mum dont allow me to buy/hang those spinning toy on the play pen. haha

Krystle,

I called up Tai Sing to ask the price...the staff insisted that i go and talk to them. ai yo. I am not confirm want to buy yet, so not keen to make my way down.

krystle
it's indeed scary BUT never ever shake your bb!! Anyway, when u tuck blankets in, dont jus tuck under bb's arms cos it's their arms, they can move it about!. instead, i you MUST use a blanket, tuck it under the mattress, firmer.

As for crossed eyes, i've asked my PD before, he said to pay attention to the bb's pupils in the black eyeballs, if it's true cockeye, u can see the pupil not moving, but if it's jus bb trying to adjust their focus, you can see the pupils will still be in the centre of the eyeball, regardless. Hope u understand wat i'm trying to say.

Jus now i managed to buy Nepia M size!

it's been awhile since i last log in.. i've been bz wif my daughter's full mth celebration on 17feb, den bz wif visiting my ailing granny, then bz wif her funeral for a wk and den down wif on/off fever (mo tan) and now became flu n cough!!! gosh, bz bz bz....

i'm interesting to join in the Ikea Tampines outing... I'll see how's my situation... if my flu/cough recover TOTALLY, i'll b there.. if not, I don wanna pass the virus to so many mummies n cute little bb....

Angelsky,
my gal oso every time make so much noise like eh eh eh when she's stretching herself n slpg, drinking milk, etc... and her voice is super loud kind lor... so cho lor!!! aiyoh...

krystle;
my boy also got crossed eye. i asked the PD before she said it is normal and their eyes will be corrected by themselves when they are few months old. i was being told that its common

re: venturing out
just now sling bb and go out with my hubby to mall opp my house. go NTUC. so obviously big bags and baby. this abnoxious boy (ard 6 yrs old) was playing with the escalator. he literally took a huge jump like 5 steps down from the escalator. i think there was this safety function, and the escalator stopped suddenly, and everyone who was on the escalator was bring jolted by the sudden stop. luckily i was holding onto my baby! almost fell off the steps...my hubby got so angry and started shouting at the boy. he was with a group of childen of various ages and they went off quickly as my hubby was asking them to come back. they boy was still laughing about the whole incident and wasnt sorry about it at all!
it was quite a scene. we were so angry about the whole thing.
so next time mummies, stand firmly wherever you are!

Hi, all.

Thanks for the advice &amp; information about cockeye. I checked my girl's eyes again... Ya... her pupils are still the in the centre of the eyeball... I think maybe her vision is still developing &amp; sometimes she may lose focus &amp; became cockeye... Hope it will improve when she grows older..

Mylife,

I know I should not shake her so hard but I was real panick at that time. My reflex action was to shake her to wake her up without consciously aware...

Must be really careful next time...

Hi, i'm from Feb 08...reading thru your postings when my babies are sleeping.

combi stroller - Tai Sing
They will not reveal the price on the phone. You can go there and bargain with them. Should be cheaper than retail unless you have vouchers to spare.

Cross eye
Quite normal for new born baby - don't worry.

Just my 2 cents/sense worth....

Wendyg,
I'm very tempted to attend next thurs's outing at Ikea but have to see whether my boy is cranky on the actual day...sigh! Sometimes he can be very cranky and refuses to get into the sling, just like today. If he can guai guai and get into sling then I will join you ladies ok. I haven't been to any of your outings before so have never met any of you except see your photos on the forum. You ladies wouldn't mind having my colicky boy there right? Haha...I scared he will cry the house down.

re: Gathering
Ikea Tampines very far leh. Got gathering at a more central place?

re: sling
I have NO idea how to put baby into the sling myself. Always get my mum to help me with it. Getting her out is another problem. I usually put her down on the bed and take off the sling before I take her out. Heh. How you all do it?
Which positions do you all use when using the sling? I only know how to do cradle. Wanted to do the lying down position, but the sling seems to engulf baby, cannot see her?

mylife

I borrowed the book "The baby whisperer" by Tracey Hogg from the library after you talked about it here. Have u started reading it? I just started a few pages. Thought it's quite interesting. Have u practised any methods/ ideas being taught in the book?

I love to read. Once I finished Gina Ford's book, I went to the library to get this book. =) Just wondering if anyone read this book already.

good buys from Taka baby fair

Any good buys from Taka baby fair? I only managed to get some small items and a baby play pen that's all. I saw a lot of people grabbing the baby clothes though.

storing of EBM

I have started storing excess EBM in my freezer to get ready for my return to work in about a month's time. What brand of bags do u use? I am currently using Pigeon ones. The ones I bought from the spree have yet to arrive.

Didn't realise how much space the EBM take up in my freezer until I start to arrange them today in separate trays. =(

ahCapp;
i used pigeon before and they sux. once you defrost the bag, the milk leaks from the ends of the ziplock. storage is not much anyway...
i am using blue egg, its from korea. the storage is not much too and the leaking from the end of the ziplock is there but better than pigeon. it can stand on its own and it is not flimsy...thats the good part about this brand.
lansinoh is the best, i think, the storage is way better than pigeon or blue egg, and the double zip lock doesnt leaks any ebm at all.
i find the "pouring out" of the ebm part difficult to manage, but this should be the best milk bag.
can spree in the forum, i have ordered 20 boxes from my sis who is organising sprees in the forum. yah, kiasu, but i can use up a box of milkbag in a week leh...
last week i ran out of bags i had no choice buy to buy conventional ziplock bags and store ebm.

i wish i can store them in trays but my mom puts raw meat in freezer so i have to buy big "lock and lock" containers to store them...

pixel

Wah man, 1 box of bags in a week! *green with envy* =)

I have orderd the lansinoh bags, but I will only recieve them next week. I am currently using Pigeon. But aiya, now I worry about the leak from the zip lock like u say. =( I have quite a few bags of EBM stored in the pigeon bag already.

Can use normal zip lock bags ah? I realise Pigeon bags are sealed until u tear it open to pour in the EBM.

I didn't think of "lock n lock" containers. =( I am using trays to arrange the bags as they are quite messy.

ahCapp;
my boy dont drink much mah so i got excess. now my freezer got over 20bags of ebm. maybe defrost and take milk bath lor

about the leak, what i do is once i have defrosted the bag, i will place it upright in a cup and put it in the chiller compartment. you know those plastic clips that secure any kind of opening? its like a longish rectangle and snaps close. i use that to doube secure below the ziplock so that my ebm wont go wasted and get leaky

yup, i think generally all milkbags are sealed until you tear open to pour in the EBM.
because you keep touching the "pouring out" area while you zip the bag open and close, a tricked i learn frm my sis is that you cut a hole yourself at the bottom of the milk bag and secure with those rectangle clips. after secure then can wash the area with water. or wash the area with water before you pour EBM lor. but pigeon has a tear and a mini spout at the bottom yah? i never use that feature because i always cannot tear open that part leh! if you can, you tell me hor. Lansinoh doesnt have this feature so you can DIY yourself. less contamination mah...

pixiepixel
aiyo u must've gotten a fright on the escalator. These kind of kids need to be taught a lesson. Too bad they weren't caught.

re: zip open &amp; close
>> I store in chiller compartment in milk bottles until certain amt b4 transferring into milk bags, so no need to open &amp; close. Actually i'm using liners, not milk bags. hee. Those milk bags that can stand on their own.. dun they take up more space in the freezer? I store mine lying down and already they're pretty "fat". I still prefer VIA, but i think i bought too many already. $$$$

mcfluffy
tks for sharing the NUK teats info.. i'm an NUK dummy. How come the latex teats turn white so fast... must replace within a week?! My elder boy's Avent teats last forever.. And the same page regarding the teats info said to rub with salt inside &amp; out?! Never heard of ley... special treatment for latex teats?

re: outing
u org a more central one for the rest of the mums la.. i'm in the north-east, so i was considering T3 or Ikea Tamp. Dun like town coz crowded and expensive.. $$$. Hv to keep buying new NUK teats &amp; milk bags.. can save better save $$$. hee hee

<font color="ff6000">Moms &amp; Babes Outing to Ikea Tampines
Thursday 13 March 08, 3pm</font>

Pls reconfirm your attendance...?
- angelsky ... Yup yup
- babyshannon
- blackbatz
- wendyg... ONZ!
- windy
- Mom2Nat
- Kitsune ... (On, Tues cannot, prefer Thurs)
- Luvv
- Verene
- Yvonne

<font color="ff6000">Barter @ Ikea</font>
Wanted: Petpet S, Goo.N, Nepia S/M
Available for swopping:
Diapers
MP S &amp; M, Pampers BB dry S, Huggies Dry comfort M, Huggies Dry M, Petpet M, Hey Baby M
Nursing Pads
Gerber Medium &amp; Heavy flow, Tollyjoy, Pigeon

verene
fr sengkang, bus 27 to Ikea Tamp.
http://www.ikea.com.sg/about_ikea/map.asp
stuff chicken wing into bb's mouth.. then they wun scream too loud. haha.

yvonne
Ikea Tamp very large... your baby gotto cry very long before he cry the house down.. by then he tired &amp; fall asleep liao. haha.
No stress.. can come then come lor. It's for us to get out of the house a bit, build up confidence when handling bb outside.

ah capp
yeah i read the whisper book before. Abt bb temperament. now the book dunno chuck where liao.

Hihi, BB went to stay over at MIL's home today. Went to visit her and came back past midnight, BB very happy there, never miss Mummy at all though I miss her. Don't know whether to be happy or sad. House so quiet now. Here's a photo of RaeAnne that hubby took earlier in the day.

1287974.jpg

issyen's face so round n cute!

jarell is such a handsome boy. next time sure heartbreaker one hee hee

raeann is super chubby! how old is she n wats her weight now? bet it must be in the 90th percentile ;)

wish i could join u all for the outing. stay at home until i oso sian...