(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

<font color="119911">hi hammies,

my baby weigh 4.1kg as of 11thFeb checkup &amp; measure 52cm. How abt your boy? Remb, our boys share the same birthday..7thJan right?

dear all, how often do we have to sterilise the pump? after each and every use?

Thinking of switching to exclusive EBM now coz my gal seems to be rather discontented after latching on. Often cannot sleep for more than 1.5hrs. So I wonder if it's the latching on problem. Might want to switch to EBM to bottle feed.

Ah capp, how often do you express? Feed bb on demand or on schedule now?

Yvonne,
understand your frustrations, go toilet also must rush in and rush out :p i handle my girl alone once when my helper went for her off, carried her for almost the whole day, lucky she finally sleep and that's when i nap with her on my bed.

wendy,
wah, the difference so much between GP and PD, wonder if there's any difference in the quality of the jabs also?

Lynn,
how long did you bring your baby out each time? alone or with your hubby? i haven bring my baby out shopping yet, always rush out alone then rush back if i need to get something.

mcfluffy,
i sterilise my pump after every use and feed on demand now, normally 3-4 hours in between feeds.

hi step,

i think 5-in-1, 1 extra jab which is the 2nd dose of hepB taken in 6wks? then the rest as usual..i oso dun want baby to take extra jab and smore more expensive if take separately. but my sil told me..at least the 2nd dose of hepB wont make baby have fever at that young age...and by then when take the 5-in-1, baby more older..liao..take fever medicine oso better..tat whats my SIL do..so i think think..ya hor..so no choice my girl have to bear with the extra jab..

Hi, juz back from hep b chk. At 5 weeks he only 3.7kg. Was born 3.19kg, discharge 2.98kg. A bit sad he put on so little on tbf. Wonder too if I shld express and feed, rather than latch b dunno how much he drinks...

After jab went united sq to feed him n he threw up milk when I wanna burp him. Dunno izzit jab he so sleepy till now..

btw, any mum using the NUK latex teat for 0-6mths..?

everytime, when i feed her my ebm with the NUK latex teat..she will ganan choke and cough one..not sure is it the hole too big or she sucks too fast...even when i latch on, i must make sure my breast is not full..else flow too fast..she ganan choke and cry again..

babe, have you read the link about exclusive pumping? haha, after facing a few problems with latching on and not knowing whether my gal is getting enough or not, i'm considering exclusive pumping! heh...

hi mommies
seems like we truly have our own set of problems. Last time i was worried of bb's devt, whether she has enough, whether my milk ss is ok, whether can latch on, now all these settled liao. But wats troubling me is Rylee's reflux problem. I went to Verene's PD and was prescribed Motilium, but hubby did a quick search on the net and found that this can have side effects on neurological effects on young infants whose brain are not fully developed yet! So scary...called PD but she said small dosage is ok. But still a bit worried.

Yvonne
me also taking care of bb alone at home..sometimes my mom will take over but i try to take on the bulk of the taking care cos i overheard telling my sis she "cannot take it liao". Miraculously my mom is very good with her. Sometimes i also cry when Rylee cries, seems so lost. Bought a rocker to place her in, she enjoys being rocked to sleep but during CNY, a fren of my sis (whose bb has just turned 1) told me it's unwise to rock her to sleep cos then the bb wont learn how to sleep on her own next time and will always need to be rock to sleep!! Haiz...how to handle, dont rock, she cries, rock, we next time xin ku! Really dunno which is the lesser evil.

ms piglet
*hugz* Dont be discouraged in bringing bb out becos of one incident. I'm sure in the process of bringing bb out, sure got many many times of accident again, bang here and there. Babies are quite hardy creatures, so my gynae said. Sigh...i know easier to advise others...but seeing ur child get hurt is so heartbreaking. Jus hang in there.

Luvv
Hahaha...talk about going toilet, there was one night, my bb crying so badly, and i was so urgent, i had to carry her and go toilet!! Wash one hand and the other one carry her. Super multitasking.

mcfluffy
i also tot of switching to ebm but on 2nd thots, i dont react well to pumps, plus pumping and feeding EBM will prob takeup more of my time...so if ur thinking of switching to ebm becos u wan more sleep, u might wan to reconsider cos u may end up with less sleep cos must wash bottles, sterilise, warm up ebm before feeding bb. More work = less sleep!

So excited now to be preparing for my move to HK, finally can have some stabilisation once i settle down in HK, but honestly, i do feel bu se de Spore....got car here, everything familiar...go over there no car, no frens, everything not familiar. Sigh.

hammies
Rylee weighs at 4.3kg and 55cm during her 1st month chkup on 4th feb. She was born 3.3kg and 50cm. Yday i brought her to see PD for her reflux problem, she is weighing 4.9kg liao. PD say she's advancing fast...

All MOmmies
can i chk with mommies whose babies DO NOT have reflux problems ie no vomitting etc. Does your baby make all those URGH sounds like gek sai like dat? My mom says it's growing up and stretching but i read these are also discomfort symptoms for colic/reflux. She seems to "gek" until face red-red...i wonder if she's in discomfort or pain...

Jeslyn,
Refer to my link on how to handle fast flow when latching yesterday.

As for the Nuk Teats, I'm using 0-6 mths for fast low liquids.

Mcfluffy,
If do full EBM, must express on schedule. I think as long as baby above 6 weeks liao, you can express every 4 hrly liao as SS should be stable by now. If not, you wait till 8 weeks then start. BTW, I transferred funds to you liao. Did you receive it.

As for cleaning of breast pumps, I will dismantle every parts, valve and membrane. They can be oily as well.

mylife,
no.. i'm not doing EBM coz i want more sleep but I want my bb to have more sleep! i know that expressing requires much much much more time and effort! (pump, wash, sterilise, feed! vicious cycle)
usually after latching on, she doesn't sleep much and need to latch on an hour or so later. so i suspect she isn't latching on successfully. She tends to be lazy on the breast, take one side, reject the other. and of course, one side of the breast isn't sufficient for her. seems like sometimes she's more contented with the bottle. but my mum feeding her with bottle now.. she also fussing around. alamak.. i really don't know what is best for her.

blackbatz,
have not gone into IB to check.. heh.. i'm still waiting for Windy &amp; grumpus to transfer.

anyway, my bb 3 weeks only now leh.... haizz... 3 weeks of fighting with her during bf, my wrists are really hurting.

thanks blackbatz...but here comes another set of problems liao lo....

mcfluffy
oic...3 weeks old is about time babies go thru a "growth spurt" so perhaps dats why she seems "unsatisfied" with ur breasts?? Jus a guess. Careful with the wrist. I had swelling during the last few weeks of my pregnancy, after i deliverd via csect, the swelling took some time to go down, but taking care of bb strained my right wrist, hence turning the swelling into a "real" injury. Had to go to a specialist and did a steroid injection on my wrist. Heng the steroid is non-soluble so it'll stay there and wont travel to my BM. Moral of the story - dont play play with wrist injury!!

Yvonne
you r nt alone. I oso hm alone with bb aft confinement. Totally understand how u feel. my bb need to b carry all e time, when she get cranky, cant go toilet, cant eat or drink, only can relax abit aft hubby hm.
btw do u find tat e milk ss wil drop significantly aft 1 whole day no intake of food or drinks?

Mcfluffy,

last time i bought this Quick Clean from Medela. Find it quite gd.its a breastpump and accessory wipes. use aft every pumping then rinse with running water, allow air dry for next use.

mylife,
yah, everyone of us have a different set of problems. My baby also make alot of sounds when he's sleeping but he's colicky so it doesn't really answer your question.

I'm carrying him now after his 4pm feed and he's sleeping on my chest...this is happening after nearly every feed! He used to be able to sleep on his own so I'm also worried that I'm cultivating a bad habit. But no choice lor.

Glad that you are joining your husband in HK soon. But I think you are also worried about handling baby on your own right? It's really stressful but at least we can come in here to share and vent our frustrations...it really helps.

My life,

thank u for e support. Hugs...
My fren who is wking in HK said dere really really really cold. so rmb to keep ur little one warm warm neh. Dun worry, u always hav our support, u r nt alone.

mspiglet,
My baby is on FM so one less problem for me. I can't imagine if I have to BF, handle a colicky baby plus do housework...would have gone crazy liao! So I really peifu you gals who are BF.

Kelly,
<font color="aa00aa">Thanks for the great info! Will go shop my heart out. Nowadays, spend more money on baby rather than on myself. Haha! Guessed that's normal.</font>

<font color="ff0000">HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY TO ALL THE DEC/JAN MUMMIES!!</font>

my gal was born 3.19kg and 52cm. ystday her weight 4.2kg only. consider she is a 7wks baby, thk she underweight. dun noe shld swap to bottle feed instead of latch on... at least bottlefeed wld noe hw much she takes in, nt like now, whenever she cry, just give her my nipple. or smtimes ss drop, she keep cry for more milk yet mummy cant give her any, just feed her water as a substitute.

My CL is gone and already first problem starts. My baby won't finish his usual dosage of 110ml and fall asleep after drinking about 80ml. Sigh.

Hi Steph,

let me go check check. The nurse at the PD's clinic (the previous one) told me to bring him back when he is about 6 weeks old for the 6-in-1. No mention of the 2nd dosage of the Hep B wor. Hmmm..

mcFluffy,

I pump every 2.5hr to 3hr. Well, sometimes when I overslept and woke up late at night, i will pump at 4 to 5hr interval.

currently, my baby is more accurate than my alarm clock. He will cry for milk every 2.5hr to 3hr. So I don't really have to wake him up for milk. Guess this is feed on demand I think.

Btw, I wash and sterilise my pump accessories after every pump. as I am using the electric one, I only need to wash and sterilised the bottles + funnels etc.

looks like mine is the smallest increase...worry worry...he was born 51cm n today at 5 wks only 52.5cm. Even my #1 was better off...how huh?

Happy Valentine's Day!!

<font color="ff0000">POP LIST! Rocked into our worlds in Jan-08</font>
<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>DOB</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>BB#</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB Name</TD><TD>BB Wt</TD><TD>Delivery Type </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Chan Chin Chin</TD><TD>31-Dec-07</TD><TD>01-Jan-08</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.92kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>mum (aug_22sg)</TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD>01-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.6kg</TD><TD>C-sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>babyling (cynling)</TD><TD>20-Jan-08</TD><TD>02-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Valerie</TD><TD></TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>LynnChong</TD><TD>15-Jan-08</TD><TD>03-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Henry Cheng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Rayden</TD><TD>2.94kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>mylife (Fennie)</TD><TD>17-Jan-08</TD><TD>03-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Chua Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Rylee</TD><TD>3.3kg</TD><TD>C-sect with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Luvv</TD><TD>23-Jan-08</TD><TD>04-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. HY Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.15kg</TD><TD>C-sect with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>baby26</TD><TD>29-Jan-08</TD><TD>04-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. PC Wong</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Savion</TD><TD>2.2kg</TD><TD>C-sect </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Sylvia</TD><TD>2.035kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>babe (Joan)</TD><TD>11-Jan-08</TD><TD>06-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Abel</TD><TD>3.19kg</TD><TD>Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>hammies03</TD><TD>10-Jan-08</TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. YC Goh</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Kendrick</TD><TD>3.55kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Steph77</TD><TD>23-Jan-08</TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Zander</TD><TD>2.53kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Babyshannon</TD><TD>27-Jan-08</TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Shayne</TD><TD>2.9kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>rachael (jsmommy)</TD><TD></TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>2.84kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>TG (greentara)</TD><TD>08-Jan-08</TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Tania</TD><TD>2.83kg</TD><TD>Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>gerger66 (Yvonne)</TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD>08-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Gwen</TD><TD>3.51kg</TD><TD>C-sect with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>red.rose</TD><TD>13-Jan-08</TD><TD>08-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.52kg</TD><TD>C-sect with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Yvonne Lim (ylim)</TD><TD>20-Jan-08</TD><TD>09-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Brien</TD><TD>3.63kg</TD><TD>C-sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>verene</TD><TD>21-Jan-08</TD><TD>09-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Kowa</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Javier</TD><TD>2.76kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>nexyanne (nexyanne)</TD><TD>14-Jan-08</TD><TD>10-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Kaelyn</TD><TD>3.465kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>wendyg</TD><TD>04-Jan-08</TD><TD>11-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Tobey</TD><TD>4.5kg</TD><TD>C-sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>prata_queen</TD><TD>20-Jan-08</TD><TD>11-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>East S</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Tricia</TD><TD>2.825kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>pooh25</TD><TD>20-Jan-08</TD><TD>12-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.51kg</TD><TD>Natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Mrs Piggy (Evonne)</TD><TD>24-Jan-08</TD><TD>12-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Levin</TD><TD>3.73kg</TD><TD>C-sect with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>fishia (Joy)</TD><TD>24-Jan-08</TD><TD>12-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Lee Keen Whye</TD><TD>Gleng</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Jude</TD><TD>3.4kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Jacelyn (shorty_gal)</TD><TD>13-Jan-08</TD><TD>14-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. TB Lim</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Javin</TD><TD></TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>AhCapp (ahcapp)</TD><TD>15-Jan-08</TD><TD>16-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Tracey Lim</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Jarell</TD><TD>2.97kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Superbee (Debbie)</TD><TD>15-Jan-08</TD><TD>16-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Adelle</TD><TD>3.745kg</TD><TD>C-sect with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Yunbb (jaredmami)</TD><TD>17-Jan-08</TD><TD>16-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.145kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>valencia</TD><TD></TD><TD>17-Jan-08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Vernice</TD><TD>3.58kg</TD><TD>C-sect with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Mom2nat</TD><TD>12-Jan-08</TD><TD>17-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Paul Tseng</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Elliot</TD><TD>3.875kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>QQ (Qingqing)</TD><TD>20-Jan-08</TD><TD>18-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>East S</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Alyssa</TD><TD>3.7kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>mei (lu_meihua)</TD><TD>20-Jan-08</TD><TD>18-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Jiayu</TD><TD>2.7kg</TD><TD>Natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>joyce (lj2)</TD><TD>26-Jan-08</TD><TD>19-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. TB Lim</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Deon</TD><TD></TD><TD>Natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>icy (Eileen)</TD><TD>20-Jan-08</TD><TD>20-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. SC Yeoh</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Xavier</TD><TD>3.11kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>krystle kee (krystle)</TD><TD>28-Jan-08</TD><TD>20-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Tan Hang Yang</TD><TD>Gleng</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Issyen</TD><TD></TD><TD>Natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>pixiepixel</TD><TD>28-Jan-08</TD><TD>29-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMH</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Xandall</TD><TD>4.07kg</TD><TD>C-sect w/spinal inj </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>Christie (phoenix_sk31)</TD><TD>23-Jan-08</TD><TD>20-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. SP Teo</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Klarisse Pang</TD><TD>3.585kg</TD><TD>Natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Godsent</TD><TD>27-Jan-08</TD><TD>20-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD></TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Evangeline</TD><TD>3.005kg</TD><TD>C-sect w/spinal inj </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>Fern Lim (bibi81)</TD><TD>24-Jan-08</TD><TD>21-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Lim Teck Chai</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>wlml2402</TD><TD></TD><TD>21-Jan-08</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.04kg</TD><TD>C-sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>Flyn</TD><TD>20-Jan-08</TD><TD>22-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Fayvl</TD><TD>2.73kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>kitsune (Pauline)</TD><TD>01-Feb-08</TD><TD>22-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>RaeAnne</TD><TD>3.255kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>gintonic</TD><TD>01-Feb-08</TD><TD>31-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Wen Lim</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Isaac</TD><TD>3.8kg</TD><TD>C-sect</td></tr></table>

Thanks Ah Capp for your advice. WIll be trying out bottle feeding for the rest of the day. Tried out 2 times today and bb looks sooo much more satisfied and less crying. I think I shall continue on and observe how everything goes. I noticed she drinks quite a bit though! Just now gave her 90ml she finished it. The next feed was 2 hours later. I prepared extra but she only drank 70ml. Wonder how long it'll last.

Maureen,
I'm using it. I find it good. Read many good reviews about it too. Can express out quite fast I think and not too noisy.

mspiglet
of course if u dun eat/drink your bm will drop.. bm is mostly water. bf mums need lots of water! And we need to eat healthy too, coz it goes into our bm.

bottle feeding mums,
how long can we put unfinished EBM out in the open? For example, I took out a bottle of 100ml EBM from the fridge and heated it up, but my gal only drank 70ml, still left with 30ml. Too wasted to throw away so how long can I keep it in normal room temperature? Or can keep in the bottle warmer at 40degree celsius for how long?

AhCapp

me also bottle feeding using expressed breast milk...bb too impatient so not very successful latching, once she's hungry she demands for milk NOW! sometimes even wailing her head off while i warm up the milk
i noe how u feel, my CL just left yest, survived last nite on my own and daytime my mil helps out so i get to nap a bit...
dun worry, u can do it! *hugz*

mspiglet
me too thinking of quitting job and being a sahm...although my mil and mum hv both offered to take care of bb :p

mcfluffy
i sterilise my pump after each and every use although i know there are some mummies who sterilise only once a day, in between they just rinse the pump out with hot water...
i feed on demand, usually abt 3-4 hrs although there will be some times in the day when she cluster feeds...
btw, have just transfered the $$ to u

grumpus,
my gal also the impatient type! she wants means she wants. and she will also wail her head off while we're warming up the milk. impatient baby!

i sterilise every time too but it's such a hassle. read from another thread that some mothers sterilise once a day so i thought i'm doing extra. hehe.
so when she cluster feeds, you juz feed right? do you cluster express too? or go strictly by schedule, 3hourly type?

blackbatz,
thanks... my ebm is super precious. cannot waste a single drop :p

Steph - when I brought baby for 2nd Hep B jab, he weighed about 4.2kg and 55.4cm. I think in terms of weight gain, your bb probably gained more. My bb was 3.55kg when born. I went polyclinic and the nurse told me average about 0.5kg - 1kg weight gain for the first month. I was just wondering whether my bb weight gain is ok lor. Just concerned bah, coz I see his arms still quite thin...so was wondering when do babies start getting more chubby or something?!

mcfluffy/blackbatz,
Heated EBM can only be kept outside for 1 hour only, only those freshly squeezed yet to be kept in fridge ones can be kept outside for 4 hours.

i feed during cluster feeding time also cos my girl will fuss and cry until i feed her even when the time is not up.

mspiglet/grumpus,
i'll be a partial SAHM, working part time so will be home most of the time. Can't bear to leave my girl for too long leh, can't imagine if i have to go to work full time.

I think my baby's umblical cord is infected. The stump has fallen off long time ago but there's a slight swelling in the center of the cord for the past few days. Now even got pus. I tried applying cord powder and cord spirit but it's still swollen. Tomorrow taking him to PD for 2nd Hep B jab so will check with doc.

Blackbatz,
i'm doing part time acctg, bring the work home but still need to pop into office about once to twice a week.

grumpus/mcfluffy,
same same here... my gal also v impatient. when she's awake n wanna drink milk MEANS she wants it NOW.. if slower by secs, she will start crying n crying...

mylife,
my gal is not colicky bb (as far as i'm concerned). and yes, she's like ur bb, will always make the "urgh urgh" sound whenever she stretches herself, be it awake or aslp. den she'll be red red face too. but she looks red all the time esp at nite. i tink she's dark - for a start.

Sterilizing of breastpump
erm, i tink i'm the lazy mom here. i only sterilize my pump once a day and after pumping, i jus wash it clean... "dirty eat dirty big" hahaha...

Mcfluffy,
To prevent wastage of your BM. Pour 80 ml out to feed your baby. Leave the remaining in the fridge for the next feed.

Luvv,
OIC. Ya..It is one job where you can work from home..

BTW, if taking fenugeek, how long must we take? Can we stop once we see increase in SS?

grumpus, mcfluffy &amp; godsent,

Wow, here i tot I am the only one in this thread whose baby is very impatient. My baby also will cries till world turns upside down when he wants milk. Oh yes, when he wants milk, he wants it NOW! *LOL* When I am warming up my milk, he will cries n cries till face all red. My CL told me that some babies very patient. Will wait patiently for milk. Guess my bb inherit my impatience =(

Left over heated EBM..
Well, if I have any leftover, i will discard it. Yes, a bit wasted but my CL advised me not to keep it once it's heated up. So now, I try to give him more accurate amount to avoid any wastage.

grumpus,

Thanks so much for your encouragement. Tonight is my first night w/o my CL. Wish me luck. Me going to catch some sleep now. He will be waking in an hr's time for milk. =S

my bb also the same...very impatient for milk...will cry very loud and feet keep stomping abt frantically....i also wondered if other babies are the same!!

AhCapp, Grumpus, mcfluffy, godsent &amp; hammies,

my boy also the impatient type, the minute he cries for milk means he wants it now otherwise he gek until his face red red &amp; his hands in the air like kong fu fighting "pek chek"

Yesterday nite, only catch 2hrs staggered sleep cos taking over the nite shift from MIL looking after baby Zander &amp; tonite...waiting for 12mid-nite to pray tian gong...Yawn ZZzzz...china panda anyone?

my boy also very impatient...will kick a fuss when he is hungry...and suck real fast and hard when the teat is in his mouth.

Hi QQ,

regarding ur bb on similac, is the poo "creamy" kind or like "long" kind (like normal human stools? My kinda needs to push hard he poos...can see that his face is red sometimes.

<font color="0077aa">hammies,

yr concern over bb weight gain is absolutely understandable. Zander is considered small at birth, only 2.53kg, 49cm but i am glad he is growing well at this stage, at least he puts on reasonable weight. His arms also look quite thin to me, like very fragile. Whenever i change his clothings, i always carefully do it...scare hurt his fragile limbs lo.</font>
http://www.kidshealth.org/parent/growth/growth/grownewborn.html