(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kel .. yes my baby face turn red when she gek sai and is on friso ..... Now she on similac better .... she always burp after each feeding on similac but friso no no

anyone using Nan or Nan Ha?

how's the review.

QQ,
I am using similac also. but some pple dont like cos they mention that it has lotas of bubbles and it's bit oily. so far, my boy is ok on that. poo approx 2-3 times a day.

godsent,
My baby's sleeping pattern also very very unpredictable...but he's colicky lah...yesterday slept through most of the day, only fuss a bit at night. Today, he only slept from 1pm to 4pm and was fussing and crying during the rest of the morning and afternoon. I'm home alone with him so it's so frustrating becos nobody can help me...really no time to breath!

VioletIce, Ms piglet, my BB drinks 120ml each time and she's only 3 weeks old. I only have 80ml BM, so the rest supplement with FM.

Mom2nat, Kel, until now i got the "suan suan" feeling in my finger joints. Knuckles also very big, don't know is it water retention.

I had hives today, keep scratching, nearly whole body itchy. Apply prickly heat, bb rash cream, antibiotic cream and even rice wine. Don't know what triggered it, never had it before. Sigh, so pek chek to BF after that. Pump also only 70ml, BB crying and crying, bo bian have to let her suckle lor.

WendyG, I listen very carefully today, sometimes she suckles and no swallowing sound, but sometimes like only after she suckle for a few times, then got swallowing sound which sounds like "ge". Don't know why like that. :p

Anyone who BF bb and bb poo is more than 8 times a day. Wondering if my gal is normal to poo so often, is that why she's always hungry.

yvonne,
wa, i really pei fu you leh. can be home alone wif bb w/o help. i feel v stress when my mom is not ard, e.g out to market or run errands, n leave me alone wif her. i can't really rest even when she slps in the afternoon cos u afraid anything may happen whilst u slpg. nw i jus put her to slp, hopefully she can slp til 2 or 3am for feed. dis afternoon, she jus wanna b carried in order for her to slp. once put down, 5mins later she cried for attention. lucky i got mom to help, if not i sure pek chek one... sometimes got evil tots!!! dunno if it's kinda post-natal blues...

mom2nat,
yup. on msn most of the time. add me lah - [email protected]
i din know keith is soooo pop leh.. but i tink he cuts nice short female hairstyle. he always do a good job for my mom. i got long hair, so quite std lah, not much style to play wif... jus rebonding lor. dat day i checked wif Reds, for my length it's abt S$240 for rebonding.. v exp leh.. somemore now not working, living on savings.. so much save abit even though wanna b vain...

Sweetie,
my gal nw 25days old, she takes in 100ml when feed wif ebm. direct latch will be on demand...

Just remembered that some of you drank coconut juice towards the last few weeks of delivery, what was the purpose?

kitsune,
yup my bb oso poo v often, i tink 1day can change up to 8diapers, sometimes she farts together wif poo. when i hit on her tummy, got "pom pom pom' sound, i tink still got lotsa wind in her tummy. but every morning i feed her wif gripe water and whenever change diapers, will try to apply ru yi oil on her tummy.

Wendyg,
i oso try to listen properly when i latch her. like Kitsune, sometimes she suckles n no swallowing sound but does so after a few suckles. den whenever unlatch, will have milk in her mouth. at times (dis afternoon), i tink she uses my nipple as pacifier! cos she suckles to slp n the feeling is diff fm suckling for milk. it's like tickling feeling.. chiam - like babe or Joan -- becoming an instant human paci!!!

BB wt gain.
my gal weighs 3.005kg at birth den drop to 2.95kg (approx). nw she weighs abt 3.7kg (at 25days)

<font color="ff0000">jeslyn,
my gf jus told me dat we can boil Water Chestnut w water to drink. it helps in reducing engorgement n blocked ducts, etc... don't add other ingredients, jus Water Chestnuts. I'm gonna try it tmr... gd for mummies who suffer fm engorgement... it is supposed to be a remedy by TCM.</font>

kel,
i oso have painful knuckles at my fingers joints. i wash my hand wif tap water everyday umpteen times. the water sometimes cold, sometimes warm thru heater. but sometimes i tink it's because i use my fingers' knuckles to press on my breasts while pumping til pain. but my massage lady said i have lotsa wind even at the fingers.. i'm not sure abt it lah.. have yet to find out the main cos - seems many mummies suffering fm this ailment...

violetice,
platinum is opp pratunam. u cant miss it n every taxi driver knows where it is. it's a wholesale plc selling mostly ladies' clothing but u can find baby clothing too. juz need 2 walk around e hundreds of shops fr 1st-4th levels. e prices range abt THB120-180. i bought a lot of clothing 4 my 3kids. could hv bought more if i had more cash.

oh, u hv 2 bring cash. they dun accept credit cards.

blackbatz
coconut during last trimester was to clean baby during delivery, reduce vernix. Some say to avoid jaundice?

Happy V day ladies!

It's good to be back, with a new computer. I felt sooo disconnected with the world for the past 2 weeks!

Hi Violetice,

Are u bottle feeding your baby like me n Verene? Sorry, will like to check who is pumping milk and feeding baby instead of latchin on. =) I can't remember who replied me already. Woops.

Bottle feeding using expressed breast milk..
Sorry, who is doing this like me? At least I can direct my future questions to the correct ladies.

godsent

oic, now then i know it is due to water retention at my finger joints. me c-sect, so i dint not do any massage, no wonder i still feel so bloated n flabby, must be full of wind inside...

beside massage, is there any remedy?

Any ideas on changing the milk amt for yr bb? My boy had been vomitting recently n went to c a pd, said he's overfed n need to reduce his milk intake. Tried, but he kept askin for more each time after that n became v cranky n crying his lungs out. Any help?

Steph

Hi, can I check if u have brought your baby to the PD which u recommended me yet? Is he good and patient?

I intend to bring my baby over for his 6-in-1 jab end of this month. Wonder if this clinic does it and if vaccination is done by the PD or by the nurse.

My CL is leaving today. Feeling a bit worried =S As I need to do both pumping and feeding all alone. Well, my mum will be helping me during the day and at night, I will need to tackle by myself. I pray that my litte darling will not fuss so much and bully me man. =P

HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY!

AhCapp,
i'm feeding my girl with EBM using bottle.

hammies,
my girl weighs 4.1kg at one month old, she gained 1 kg for one month.

Re: Vaccination
Which one are you doing? 5-in-1 or 6-in-1? How much is it? my PD is charging $440 for 6-in-1 (3 jabs), is it suppose to be that expensive?

Hi Luvv,

Happy V day to u! Feels really good to be back here to see someone replies to my msg. ;P

Can i ask.. have u brought your girl out yet? I mean, I always worry about how to tackle feeding + pumping when I go out? I want to go out with my hb to do some shopping for his US trip next week. But I worry about my boy fussing for milk and I need to heat up the milk when I am out. A bit 'lay-chay' and lost.

Re: Vaccination..
I intend to take the 6-in-1. Oh, but there is a 5-in-1 ah? I have not checked out the price yet. Maybe I should call them up soon.

Re: weight gain
I have not even weigh my baby since his last checkup when he was a week old. His previous PD's clinic said no need to go back till his jab, which is end of this month. Are we supposed to bring baby back for checkup when he is 1 month old?

my girl 3 weeks drinks 100 ml evey 3 hour sometimes 2.5hr..

she drinkig 8 - 9 times,, how to reduce to lesser times.. when give her more she doesnt want?... latching even shorter 1hr to 2 hr max,, she latch 15 min fallasleep then 1 hour latch again,,

any remedy? i read 2-3 wek bb should fed rouund 5-6 times ...

AhCapp,

I brought my girl out during CNY already. I don't have excess BM, so i gave her FM when we're outside. During visitation, i brought along my pump and give her fresh EBM when possible. I think giving my girl FM when outside is less lei chay and less stress especially when she cry like nobody's business when she's hungry.

re: weigh gain
i brought my girl to the PD at one month cos of her cough, she didn't mention that we need to bring her for check up when she's 1 month old also leh.

Becky cat,

My baby is 4 weeks old, also drinks about 8 to 9 times per day, every 2.5hr to 3hr. He drinks EBM. Sometimes, every 2 hrs. Not sign of frequency decrease.

Luvv,

Thanks for your feedback. =) Do u bring your manual or electric pump out to pump? I was wondering if it's weird to pump milk in the nursing room when other mums are latching their babies on. I think I feel a bit inferior that's all...

AhCapp,
i use Avent manual pump. I read that there're mummies who pump in nursing rooms as well :) ya sometimes i feel inferior to those mummies who can latch their babies anywhere! So far i have not pump outside yet, only at my uncle's house.

Maureen,
i have the uzap too but don't dare to use it yet, so i still have flabby tummy. duh. maximum each time they only allow 20 mins on each portion of the body right? I use it pre-pregnancy, 20 mins is the max i do cos my tummy will go all red and itchy :p

Hi Luvv,

I found this thread on exclusive pumping. The info the ladies shared there are very encouraging and useful:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/935740.html?1187341508

I have the avent manual pump too. But I have only used it once to relive my engorgement when my milk first came. Maybe I should dig it out one day. Currently, I am using the Medela PIS elect one (I got my little pumping station set up in the living room.. hehehehe) But it will be too difficult for me to bring it out when I am out.

my baby is 6wks now, so far he hav been to bugis, parkway and vivo for shopping...and my relatives hse during cny. Intend to bring him to orchard next wk, wanna bring him shopping once per wk. hahaa! dont kw is e baby wsanna go shopping or e mummy.. :p

wen outside shopping, i giv him FM

Lynn,

I envy u, go everywhere already. =) I have went to town before, but without my baby. Worry about how to take care of him when I am out. =(

luvv
PD charges more ex than GP. The GP near my place charges $300 pkg for the jabs. But the PD charges $150 per jab. So abt the same as your PD.

Happy Valentine's Day!

I oso brought my bb out a few times. but e very last outing was J8. smthing happen then i dun dare to bring bb out nw.
theepisode was like while we were eating at crystal jade, bb cry for milk, so i went to e toilet's bb changing room wif hubby. aft feeding, bb slp soundly inside my sling. hubby open e door (its a sliding door), then i just went out w/o notice tat e door is nt fully opened!
Bang! bb's head bang on e door...
her cry was loud &amp; piercing tat even hav ppl trying to peek inside e room to see wat happen.
Feel so guilty and scare then i oso start crying.
hubby take over bb and try to comfort both of us!
we went straight hm aft tat.

can I check any of u intend to put bb in infant care aft go back wk?

Actually i was thinking whether shld quit my job and b a sahm aft seeing e maid abuse bb news. just to check any mummies hav e same thoughts as me...

My baby was borned on 13 Jan 08. I would like to find out if anyone latch the baby on and also pump out after feeding?

I find it hard to pump out milk after latching him on.

How do I increase milk supply?

Serene, yes it is better to pump after latch on, but I also never cos it is so hard to pump out. Now I keep on latch on. I only pump in the morning once I wake up.

Godsent,
No need to pei fu me...just cried my eyes out with bb just now. He woke up at 10am for his feed and has been crying and fussing until now! He's tired and wants to sleep but once I put him down he will start screaming and crying again. Now he's sleeping in my arms. Dunno how many times must the cycle repeat before he can be put down to sleep. I'm so tired becos last night he also woke up to fuss and cry from 3-5am. I only managed to eat a few biscuits for breakfast and haven't had the chance to eat lunch. I'm so frustrated now but felt slightly better after crying just now. Anyone in the same situation as me?

<font color="0077aa">hi AhCapp,

Monday just went to see PD (Dr. Heng) for 2nd dose HepB jab &amp; bb colic problem. This is my 2nd visit &amp; personally i find Dr Heng not bad la, soft spoken, patient &amp; friendly person. The nurse there blur blur, advise me wrong review date to go back for jab (6in1). Should be after 6weeks so next visit on 25Feb. The vaccination shld be done by the PD &amp; cost abt $450.

Hi Steph

Thanks for the info. Think I will be bringing my baby end of Feb for his first 1st 6-in-1 jab when he is about 6 weeks old.

Sorry but can i ask how come still need to go for 2nd dose of HepB if you are going for the 6-in-1?

AhCapp,
i oso expressed out my milk. At times, will bottlefeed my ebm which is usually at nite, it'll be warmed up fm the fridge. during daytime, i latch whenever i can n when she's awake. but sometimes she's slpg, den i pump out when my breasts are full.

Godsent,

=) Good to know that u are successful with latching your baby on. I am now only feeding my son using EBM with bottles. Not very successful with latching here as my boy is not very patient. Even when latches on, he will cries and unlatch himself after a few min.

Guess I will have to leave it for my no. 2 =P

Hi Steph,
I tot if you opt for the 6-in-1, need not go for the 2nd dose of HepB liao? unless you take the 5-in-1..
Intially, i wanted to take the 6-in-1 for my girl so she need not take 2 injections but, I was advise by my SIL to take 5-in-1 and take the 2nd dose of hepB, cos 1 of the injection in 6-in-1 will cause fever..and so young take fever medicine not good..

<font color="0077aa">AhCapp,

HepB 1st dose &amp; BCG is given to baby at birth. HepB 2nd dose is after 1mth &amp; HepB 3rd dose is 5-6mths. This is stated in the TMC Baby Health Booklet under National Childhood Immunisation Schedule pg 56, the PD will explain to u again when u visit him. Does Mt.A also give u a health booklet when baby discharge that day? Shld be written inside too i think.
<font color="ff0000">* 5-in-1 consists of Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis, Poliomyelitis &amp; Haemophilus Influenzae B
* 6-in-1 consists of 5-in-1 and Hepatitis B</font>

Godsent, same here too..i bottlefeed my girl at nitez..and daytime i will try to latch on..or pump out when breast is full, else my girl wont latch on....very tiring..

Hi Jeslyn,

ya lor the nurse make me blur la. She wrote in appoint card for 2nd dose HepB review date &amp; i already told PD that i opt for 6in1 so PD ask me to bring baby &amp; see him aft 6 or 7wks later. 6in1 is 3jabs while 5in1 is how many jab? But lesser jab for baby, baby will not suffer so much pain ma.