(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

QQ,
I remember reading from your previous post that you BM supply is low?? Have you gone for your thyroid checkup after delivery? I just went for mine today and my blood test results were in a mess! I think this could be the reason for the low supply so you better see your doctor soon and get your medication adjusted.

Ahcapp,
me too. Just now I tried pumping out (latch on the whole day already) only 70ml. How is my turning 2 weeks gal going to survive like that? Think not enough for her. No wonder she keep doing the rooting act. Feel like doing total expressing liao. At least I know how much she is drinking rather than anyhow just hamtum when i see her looking hungry. Don't even know if she's drinking well or not. I want to give up liaooooooooo
But then again, I think of the successful latching on times.... i like to bf her! if only she is more patient...
Dunno what to do.

must not give up, must not give up, must not give up.

I had a lot of drypers samples but i just don't like the sticky tape. My gal jumps up sometimes when I unstick and make a huge unstick noise. Prefer the velcro type.

mcflurry, how long after u latch then u pump? after u latch both sides? still can get 70ml not bad lehz..Mine is still pathetic 30-40ml. Fenugreek like no use lehz..

babe, no lah! just now, after i latched on, i waited for 2 hours later then pump. i just wanna see how much i have. usually directly after latching on, i get about 20ml only! so i don't bother to pump after latching on. Fenugreek like not much use to me too. I don't see significant increase.

violetice

huggies is not bad. i feel tat the absorbtion is better than drypers.

mcfluffy

ITA with you... me too dun like the drypers sticky tape

Ahcapp,
my gal only drink 80ml per feed thats why i got extra EBM to store in freezer. if my gal drinks 120mlper feed,guess i also willnot have enough for her.

mcflurry,
dont worry, my gal is 4 weeks plus n currently only drinking 80ml per feed n can lasr her for 3hrs, sometimes even more. every baby is different. i do EBM cos i wants to monitor my gal milk intake too. feel more at ease.

hi mummmies, hows eevrything ..... for me .... guess more or less i will give up BF liao .... milk flow still low ....
and baby Alyssa vomitted last 2 nights .... dunno why like that so sad

Yvonne, i havent went for check up yet .... my doc ask me to see him 1 mth after birth ... which is on 20 Feb i have been seeing him closely even when i am preggie result all ok leh ... hope that is ok too after birth

QQ, try to partial BF (latch on whenever possible) until your milk supply increases slowly to meet her demand.

By the way, my baby weighs 3.775kg at Day 25...same weight as your baby Alyssa when she was just born.

I refuse to give up even though I have very painful nipples and each time she latches on, I bite my lips and wince in pain.

shannonbaby, in my opinion, no need to EBM solely to monitor her quantity of milk intake.

Although total latch on doesn't allow us to know her milk intake, as long as she is gaining weight steadily, we are assured she is taking enuf milk. EBM so troublesome lei. I only EBM when I go out shopping for a few hours hehe.

shannonbaby,
i'm jus like u... i've oversupply of bm, i tink. & my "gu-niang" gal doesn't take as much as my supply. nw she's is 16days old and we feed her abt 90-100ml fm bottle. but when she latch, i dunno how much she's taking, usually her feed is abt 25-30mins. after her latch, both my breasts still feel as heavy as ever. dis morning i pump out at 5am, i got 240mls of ebm! and i oredi stored so much ebm in my freezer... dunno what to do with them. sometimes she feeds after 4hrs slp, sometimes 3hrs.. she doesn't follow the rules of str8 3hrs only. i try to give her as & when she fancies. other times, jus feed her water...

mylife,
jus like u.. i oso feel like giving up on bf... it's such a chore but for the good of my gal.. i try my very best to perserver on. i'm one of those ppl who loves to slp LOTS and bf is really stealing away my beauty slp... plus my milkflow is so much, it's so tiring to pump n pump until i wanna gif up...n not mentioning abt sore/cracked abused nipples.. luckily, it's on its recovery stage! Haiz..... Motherhood ain't EASY!!!

All mummies,
I got a new discovery! today my Malay massage lady told me something when she helped me to clear my milkflow... When we bf, we shld always feed fm rite side first! Reason being: - Rite side breast = Rice! You shld start wif rice first! Left side breast = Water! So u shld eat rice first b4 drinking water! hahaha... I din know Malays have such a belief! Den my mom double-check wif her Malay fren whom bf her son for 2yrs. She confirmed the theory! Surprisingly & not sure if it's coincident, when i feed rite breast first, i managed to burp her VERY LOUDLY n when i feed left, she doesn't burp...

Another belief, she made me a corkscrew necklace to wear when not bf. it supposed to help in lessen the pain from the sides of your breasts. as my milk is always so much, i jus go wif her belief n wear a NEW FASHIONABLE CORKSCREW chain!! heehee...

<font color="0000ff">Kel,
I'm c-sect mummy. my gynae said only 1mth later den can do body massage. but i felt my tummy so much trapped wind n checked wif my massage lady who's been doing confinement massage for 20over years. she said it's ok. anyway, i don't feel pain or much pain at my wound liao so i started my massage on my 15th day. Re: bathing... i bathed on the 3rd day in the hospital inclu hair wash. den when i'm home, i've been cleaning myself wif a wet cloth everyday until day 12 - bathed wif dafonsai herbs. gonna bath again on CNY day.</font>

jeslyn,
i agree with you. i tried to use hand to squeeze out my milk and with my mom's help.. i managed to clear both my breasts inclu latch-on. Guess wat? After i empty my breasts at 12am, i managed to slp til 5am!!! dis is heaven, man! nvr been able to slp for str8 5hrs if i used the electric pump.. i oso heard fm my aunt who bf dat using hand squeeze is diff fm pump as the pump is like bb suckling, therefore telling the brain dat bb needs milk every 3hrs. hand squeeze can tahan longer...

QQ
Wat makes you think your milk ss is low? I pump hor, one side need to squeeze then have 20ml, the other side more. But I see my baby suck happily leh, so I dun bother to pump and see if my ss is there, cos not a good gauge oso.

godsent
u hv excess bm, u still give your girl water? water has no nutrients.. bm is very watery liao ley. Just give bm la.
and if u want to regulate supply, dun empty your boobs with every pump. in a few days your brain will tell your boobs not to make so much milk.
If u want to sleep then dun get up to pump lor. For others they get up to pump to build up supply. Since u hv enuf just sleep la.

re: feed fr right breast first
>> Doesn't work if baby only takes 1 boob per feed. Have to alternate boobs o'wise imbalance.

mcfluffy
yeah the sticky tape v loud.. but bo pian ley, cheap is like that. When my elder son was a newborn, i hated the sticky tape even more, as we had much trouble getting him to sleep.. and the stupid sound always startled him. Last time Drypers old design dun hv back gathers.. the poo was FOREVER leaking fr his back.
Now the improved design so far no leakage.. and due to $$ factor, we're sticking with Drypers &amp; Petpet.

prata queen
jia you, a while longer and your nipples will toughen fr all the latching.. and u wun feel anymore pain liao. I'm waiting eagerly for that day to come. Until now i still feel some pain.. my boy will be 1 month old this weekend.

drypers leaks at night leh.... i'm using mamy poko for new born, so far so good.. pet pet is good for night too? pet pet is cheap leh, if good, i think i will use pet pet.

hi godsent,

interesting leh!! feed from right breast first.. ok i'll give it a try. no harm wad.. hehe..

use hand squeeze can tahan longer ah.. ok will also try tat.. it is sooooooo tiring to wake up in the wee hours with such rock hard breasts and pump. ergh. 5hrs of sleep?! wow....... is been too long since i've had 5hrs.

WendyG, I'm the one who bought Nan1 at $33+ from NTUC. :p Sassymum, wow! Giant only selling $29.30!?! We kenna chop cao tao liao.

Ya lor, Drypers NB cutting very small I think. Got red lines on my gal's thigh. Trying to sell but no news yet. Maybe have to use and clear it after all. Got 3 packs, buy already, cannot waste money. :p

Ah Capp, Looks like fenugreek doesn't work for all people. Hubby no time to buy for me yet, maybe I kiv first. Last night, I didn't wake up to pump or latch after 12:30am, too sleepy! Woke up, breasts were engorged and I managed to pump 150ml combined. :p

QQ, don't be disappointed, I also need to supplement with FM cos my BM not enough for my 2 week old gal. But some BM is better than no BM at all right? Maybe SS will increase gradually or maybe you can call your hospital for LC service (think some do home visit too) Jia you jia you!

Prata_queen haha my girl is 3.9kg when she went to PD on 24 Jan Now dunnoo whats her weight liao

mon2nat i try pumping out today no milk come out wor .....

kitsune now she lazy to latch liao
so i try pump out but nothing loh today so sad

ya, QQ, what pump are you using? I use Medela Pump in style that my friend lent me, not bad leh.

Did you try taking a hot drink? Using very very hot towel to massage your breast? If you press hard on the areola, is there any milk?

QQ,
Some of the mummies here said that eating oats do help to increase the supply. Papaya soup with boiled fish bones. Have you tried yet?

Medela Pump in Style is a hospital grade pump, meaning more power.
Avent / Medela single electric pump is more for home use. Some mummies with low supply may not find them suitable.

blackcatz i tried drinking oats today for the soup no one cook for me leh think my mil dunno how to cook that

Its very simple. Buy 1 green papaya, add fish bones and 3 to 4 bowls of soup. For me, I can't stand the smell of the fish bones. So I added "gor kee" and a few slices of ginger. You can agar agar adjust the amount of water. No need to add whole papaya, maybe half. Then use the other half for dinner.

Take only alternate days cos green papaya very liang.

Keep having oats for breakfast over the next few days. Sometimes, ss does not increase immediately.

thanks kitsune and blackcatz will let her kw after CNY cos i ask her no need to cook for me during CNY as she will be busy cos some relatives will go visit them .... so i will cook myself ....

Try pumping in the morning after a hot drink, and applying very hot towel. I find that morning pump is most productive for me, at least see already not so discouraged. Jia you jia you, hope to hear good news soon.

wendyg,
cannot don't pump &amp; b lazy go to slp cos my breasts will feel extremely pain, hard just like windy &amp; die die must wake up to let go... v chiam!!! dis morning even i pump at 4am, i still gotta squeeze out to ease the pain.... all the bm go into the basin drain...

qq,
mayb u shld keep urself hydrated, try to drink lotsa fluid n relax ur mind. don't b too stressed up...

Godsent,
If you have delievered for 6 weeks liao, can use Medela PIS to pump out the milk every 4 hrly interval and give EBM. By 8 weeks, can program body to produce milk at 6 hrly interval. That was what one of my friend did as she had a lot of suppply. Using PIS saves a lot of time. In fact, she told me during confinement she expressed at 8 hrly interval and thereafter 12 hrly interval.

godsent,
seriously. I think I need to buy from you some EBM. ;) I'm really amazed with people who produce milk like cows! moooo! *envious*

and yah, like babe, i wanna know, you drink water (boiled water) or red dates tea, etc? I'm only allowed to drink red dates tea and not plain water. Have not tasted plain water for 2 weeks already.

Babe, instant oats. You can just add to milo too. Me also waiting for my mil to go out, then can ask the maid to go supermarket to buy fish and bones for me so that I can cook for myself. Seldom eat fish how to increase milk supply. Signz..

<font color="0077aa">Rec'd a sms from <font color="ff0000">gintonic</font> at 9.05am informing her delivery!!!
Del on 31st Jan via C-sect GA. Baby <font color="ff0000">Isaac Ho</font> weigh 3.835kg, head 35cm &amp; length 54cm.
<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">CONGRATS TO gin
</font></font>

been MIA for few days...plenty full of posts to catch up on...
Just wanna say JIA YOU to all BFing mummies!

Re: pap smear
Izit a normal routine to do a pap smear after delivery? I will be doing mine at gynae's clinic on 25th Feb, which is 7weeks aft i delivered.

Re: Baby immunisation 2nd dose of HepB jab at 6wks
Anyone has opt for the 6in1 jab ? Can i check how much u paid for ? TIA

Re: Diapers
wendyg, i am the one who ask about NTUC diapers...thks for yr feedback.
Currently, i am using Mamypoko newborn for baby (day &amp; nite) gd absorbant for poo &amp; pee. Huggies Ultra Newborn also not bad but cutting very small, not suitable for baby more than 3kg. Dun really like drypers newborn cos leak easily, maybe can use for day time bah.
Pat Pat &amp; nepia got newborn meh? I can't find them in NTUC ?

Re: Formula Milk
Which FM (900g) is most ex ?
*Wyeth S26 Gold step 1
*Nestle NAN
*Dumex mamex Gold step 1
*Enfalac A+ stage 1
*Friso Gold

NTUC selling Friso at $28.00
Baby Zander has been on full FM (Friso) starting this week &amp; i am monitoring his poo &amp; pee. So far, he pee regularly (change 4 to 5 diapers a day) but only poo once a day! Izit normal??

Hi Steph,

Re: Diapers
Pet Pet no new born size..Nepia comes in new born size. I bought them at isetan scotts supermarket. dont think NTUC have the new born size.

Re: Baby immunisation 2nd dose of HepB jab at 6wks
I am taking the 6 in 1 jab for my baby in Feb. The price is $440.

Re: formula
My boy also poo once a day when I first introduce FM totally to him. but when his intake increase...meaning I am feeding him 100mml per feed (started at 60ml per feed). His poo is more frequent like 2-3 times a day. FM fed babies dont poo as much as BM fed babies I suppose.

Currently...Similac is the most expensive brand.

those who stay in Sengkang...my hubby was informed that there is this medical hall in Rivervale Plaza selling FM cheaper than all the supermarkets. Discount given also for certain brands. I bought Similac 1 900g and it is about $2 cheaper than NTUC/Giant...

windy &amp; godsent
when u wake up at 3am/4am to pump, dun empty your boobs. In fact whenever u pump, dun empty your boobs. Just pump until comfortable then STOP. Few days time your brain will tell your boobs not to make so much milk.

re: drypers leak at night
erm, i'm changing my boy's diapers so frequently, they hv no time to leak. haha.

qq
relax hor. happy cow = more milk. Maybe you din experience let down, dat's why no milk. Think of your girl when u pump, then the let down will come. every 3hrly latch or pump.. take fenugreek in the correct dosage! last time i took only 1 capsule a day as stated on the bottle.. no effect!

Hi Verene,

thanks. I am relief to hear that my baby poo is normal. I've stop bfing last Saturday. Baby Zander is 5wks old &amp; drinking only 80ml FM per feed. Sometimes cluster-feed, only 30 to 40ml at 1 hour interval. We tried to use pacifier or give him 5 to 10ml water but he still cry loudly for milk &amp; his FM intake usually not much unless is 2 or 2.5hourly then he can finish 80ml.

Similac is the brand that Zoe Tay advertised right? That's why so ex but my colleague's baby is taking them &amp; she say is good. How to determine if the FM is good or suitable for your baby? By his pee, poo &amp; weight gain ah?

Re: Confinement

When can we start to drink cold beverages? after 40days or 28days confinement ? MIL say cannot eat duck meat....any idea why ah?
cannot eat beansprout, no coconut juice, no seafood, no curry, no cold water etc...
MIL say 2nd month, can start drink DOM at nite b4 bedtime.

<font color="ff0000">Oh btw, wanna take this opportunity to wish everyone...

<font size="+1">**A HAPPY &amp; PROSPEROUS LUNAR NEW YEAR**
*** GONG XI FA CAI ***</font>

Hi Steph,

yes...similac is zoe's advert. I think all FM is abt the same just that whether ur bb is suitable to it...meaning...some bb constipate on certain brands i heard.

babe/mcfluffy
i can't touch water too cos my mom watch me like a falcon!!! i drink milo, red dates/longan tea, ginseng, soup... i don't take quaker oats at all. &amp; i kinda stop taking fish altogether cos i'm afraid my milkflow will b more (actually fish is my fav!) my neinei so huge dat i tink it's scary!!! mcfluffy, i don't passing u my ebm leh. nw gotta find more containers to store.

Godsent, I am so envy you. Everyday got fish eat. Me is hardly. That why supply so little. I just can't wait my confinement to end.