(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mylife, u still feeding hrly or is ur gal sleeping thru? My boy now when he comes to bedtime latch nonstop...feel like I'm his paci to fall asleep..btw, ur gal really put on alot of wt ya!

pixiepixel, My gal poo about 8 times a day, and everytime, it's yellowish watery stool, fart also got poo poo but CL said it's normal cos BM babies, the poo is very watery unlike FM fed babies. Don't think it's diarrhoea bah...

QQ, still 20ml per side? Did you try taking hot drink, applying very hot towel and massage before pumping?

My gal is 2 weeks old liao, keep wanting to feed, CL keep asking me to "zuo gong", very sian. BB keep pushing me with her arms when she loses the latch on and gets frustrated. For a BB, she's really quite strong, CL, hubby, MIL all kenna pushed or whacked by her. But if we swaddle her then she keeps falling asleep. Got quite angry when she kept pushing me duing the second session of BF today, back aching also cos everytime BF 1 hour. Told hubby going to feed her FM or EBM with bottle liao if she always pushes me like that. Think me not a patient mummy. :p

kitsune, my ger sounds like your ger le. She is 1 weeks old today, also want to feed all the time. But the thing is, she will really suck when she latch. Then keep sticking her tongue out like hungry. My CL kept saying she hungry, my milk not enough, go feed her again. Duh. But then when I feed her, can latch for like 1 hour, burp her and then her tongue stick out again, then i go feed her again. Until today I so pek chek, I told my ger, mama angry. Every time, she loses her latch, she also kick me and push me away. Then I so fed up, decided to pass her to my dad, and end up she fell asleep.

Poo poo, today 1 week already, my ger still passing black stool. CL kept asking me why still passing black stool. Must be eat not enough.

Now at night, I dont latch her already, she take from bottle, whilst I wake up just to pump milk. Wonder is that what is causing her to get impatient when latching? Or she is jus plain testing and bullying me.

Eye mucus, my ger also got a lot of eye mucus discharge, never ending one. End up, her the other eye always not open and she kept tearing.

Now I leave my ger with the CL at night, sometimes I worried if the CL will be impatient with my ger. Think I getting paranoid, but sometimes you never know. I wonder if I say dont feed water, maybe she secretly also feed. Today, she boil water, then she cover all the water flasks with a cloth. Then my mum came back, nearly fainted, because she use the floor clothe to cover the flasks. DUH.

blackcatz atually i didnt know what happen cos i burp her she burp leh ... dunno why still vomit

kitsune i gave up liao no pumping these 2 days liao

Angelsky,
Last time my boy also had the same problem. My mum went to chinese medicine shop to ask. They say soak the chrysanthemum in lukewarm water, then apply on the affect eye with yellow discharge. After a while, it did go away. From PD point of view, the tear duct has not opened yet, that's why got discharge.

QQ,
My son will still "vomit" even after burping. As long as it's not in large quantities like half a bottle etc..It should not be reflux problem. Someimes, after burping suppose to hold upright but so tired liao...

Angelsky, we both kenna bullied by our BB gals. I also pass her to my hubby when I got angry. Later, hubby told me "I talk to her liao, told her mummy not going to feed her anymore, cos she keep pushing mummy." Don't know whether to laugh or cry, think he's trying to pacify me and make me 'xin ruan' bah.

Just now 9+pm close to 10pm when I'm watching "I Do I Do", she wants to feed again. Last feed (7:30-8:30pm) What to do, latch on again lor. But this time, CL swaddled her, she still fall asleep so have to keep waking her but at least I never kenna "nei shang". :p

My eye also has eye mucus discharge but it was more common last week, maybe it's a stage that they go through?

QQ, it's ok. A lot of babies also grew up on FM, no problem one, just use the time you save to bond with her. At least you won't end up an impatient mummy like me.

My gal wants to be carried all the time when she wants to sleep. Know it's a bad habit, but if not, she keeps crying until she screams her lungs out. Now, CL is doing it, carry & pat to sleep before putting her on her cot. When CL leaves, don't know how. Sigh...

Oki, will go buy the chrysanthemum after CNY. hopefully the discharge will stop.

MY gal bullies both me and my hubbie, we both carry she will cry when we put her down. But if my parents carry, no problem.

I also dont know why, hopefully not becoz I overpump or what, but when she latch recently, the way she suck is different, hope its not the bottles.

Me still tahan pump and latch, latch every day and pump in between. But super tired.

My ger will also cry her lungs out too.

Btw, also strangely, now when I pump or when my ger latches on, its not painful anymore. EVen when I put the pump to max, its not painful. To the extend I feel kinda of strange. Hmmmm.

Also the breast milk, now more watery than before, is that supposed to be so?

is it every mummy here wears a bra to sleep? soooo uncomfy, but no choice, cos must wear bra pads, if not will leak out of the blue in the middle of the night... anyone got better way of doing this?

kisune, this morning i woke up, my CL jus com[lain that we spoil my ger. always carry her, end up last night after her feed she got to carry her for 1 hour before she sleep. Her tone was like blaming us lo. At least ur cl ok with it.

If dont carry her then she cry so loudly, then how? Cannot jus leave them be wat.

Now that i dont latch her in the night, i wake up morning with hard boobs and leaking some more. Super pain.

My supply does not seem to be improving
Pump and latch for 1 week already, its still 100 ml both sides combine. Today even more scary, 1 side more than the other. Pump for 15 minutes, 1 side 75ml, t he other 50 ml. No wonder my ger always not full.

Angelsky,
The chrysanthemum is those meant for drinking. But from Chinese medicine shop.

100 ml is quite good leh. Somemore,it's after latching.

QQ, 100ml is when I bf my 2nd son. This is my 3rd baby. Maybe you take longer time to have letdown. You have to pump pump and stop. Then letdown will come.

I did wear bra at home. I stick 2 breastpad on my t shirt.

angelsky,

My CL told me that yes, we shouldn't spoil my baby boy whenever he makes 'eh eh eh'. But a while after he cries, must carry or else he will swallow lots of wind. Not good also. Guess every CL has her own opinion.

I became panda overnight. Last night baby woke up every 15 to 30min. He seems to get startled by little noises, then can't sleep again. I swaddle him liao... HOw ah like tat.

OMG!!!! My 3 wks old bb is sick!!! I really cannot handle. When I am still adjusting being a mother of 2, my elder one was sick. Then now, he passed the virus to the bb when he himself is still not recovered. Really siong!!!! And yet I still gotta handle the elder emotion needs. He has been throwing tantrum over tiny little issue.

maureen, QQ;
today i tried pumping after 2 days of latching on, i can get around 60-80ml!! increase leh!
maybe because i let my boy latch, and he suckles quite hard kind, so my supply increase liao...
QQ maybe you wanna try that? i used to pump 15-20 mins to get combined 40-50ml, but after 2 days of painful latching, i can get double the amt by pumping 15-20mins too...

kitsune;
my boy usually poo like 5 times but i suspected he has diahorrea because i changed his diapers 6 times during the night! not to count another several times in the day. everytime he farts, poo comes out and it is in small quantity. is yours like that? usually my boy poos after a feed, but he can poo in between feeds, thats why i worry. but anyway i have switched him back to latching to minimise contamination so he is better liao bah...
my boy also pushes me when i latch him on, and the 1st bite i always have to wince in pain so he keep latching and unlatching, my nipples oso very pain. i realised he suckles but got nothing so he gets impatient. so i massage and press my aerola and nipple until got milk come out...then let him latch on, he seems to be less impatient and wont push me away leh

windy;
i never wear bra. when it leaks it will wakes me up. like alarm clock lor, i just wakie to pump out. my breasts is my alarm clock at night.

any mummies out there give water? i was told by the lactation no need give water, everywhere oso say no need give water, but my mom and my mother in law (mil) keep asking me to give him water. just now my mil come visit me for cny, just in time to feed the baby. baby crying his lungs out because impatient for milk while i was warming it up. she told me to feed a bit of water to 'dong' 1st, then milk warmed up liao then can feed. duh!! isnt it like filling his stomach up? what should i do? i will be bringing my boy to her house in 1 mth time because she will be taking care of my boy when i go back to work, dunno how to tell her i dont want her to give my boy water. isnt it below 6mths babies dont need water?

i never give water unless its after i sun her in the morning becoz my ger got jaundice.

my ger now 1 week old already but poo still black black.

Latcg, sometimes she also get impatient and then will keep knocking her head against my breasts to latch. but i am already leaking most of the time.

mummies that jus delivered not too long how are your recovery process? i still feel very heavy below when i stand up

angelsky;
my boy keep shaking his head left and right to root even when im dripping or not. he can try to latch and unlatch like 5 or 6 times in a row and its super painful. everytime he does that he goes "hahh hahh hahh" like some urgent sound like that. i oso dunno why. impatient baby maybe

pixie
only need to give water to bbs under phototherapy (or sunning), and after intro them to semi solids which is abt 6m.

pixie,
Sounds like ur boy is hungry, wanna drink. BUT, got wind in tummy. If u latch and he does that, try burping him then latch him again.

pixiepixel, I act blur when they ask me to give water, everything I say doc say....., doc say no need to give water, doc say bb will hiccup,normal normal. So I tai chi lo. Same la, my ger will also cry and cry and kick her legs like very angry. Now she start to poo poo more, feed halfway she will poo, then I got to extend her feeding time, coz CL say after poo poo, will be hungry again.

pixiepixel,
My boy is 1 month old today. I started giving him water regularly about a week ago. My mum, sister, mil, aunties, etc all say must start giving him water in between feeds when he fuss or cry for milk. I noticed he started to perspire alot recently and he drinks the water, so I assume he is thirsty in the hot weather. I know PD always say no need to give water but can't possibly give them milk every hour when they cry for it. Especially now he can be awake and fuss for hours during the daytime so I use the water as a form of distraction. Just my few cents of thought lah. Anyway, give water also no harm so I give lor.

For the past week, my baby has started to be more wakeful during the day...sometimes from morning 9 plus until afternoon 3 plus then she sleep!! In between, she demands to be carried, cry and fuss, pat her to sleep and put her down then her eyes big big and start crying again...so tired!!! I realised 2nd month is the time when babies' crying will reach a peak...I think colic also play a part lah. Anyone's baby also like that?

RE: Wearing bra

I am also not used to wearing bra to sleep. I bought a pair of "lily pad" is made of silicon like the stick on bra but this one only stick at the nipple areas which can prevent the milk leaking. Can be bought at Isetan at $49.90.

RE: eye discharge

My boy also have alot of eye discharge whuch is yellowish in color and so sticky. Sometime his tears is also yellow.

RE: Wean off BF

I just managed to wean off my BM. It took me almost a week for the milk to dimished. Cos i am not taking any pills. Went to doctor to take the pills but in the end did not take. The first 3 days of weaning off was tough cos breast was very very engorged and painful, took pain killers for 24 hrs. Now i am much better can no need to wear breast pads but there is still slight leaking but breasts are soft already.

Dun know if its colic but my boy gets really grumpy in the evening. Wont sleep after wiping him and he will cry and cry. Now only my CL can pacify him.... very stress coz she leaving next week.

I am also interested in getting a sling to carry him, coz sometimes both him and me end up perpiring after carrying him for too long. :eek:p
Anyone got any recommendations?

Babe, you can watch the cd. They show you how to use. I have been using it when I bring him for checkup and go out. You can also use that to bf your baby.

Jacelyn, my son has it too. I brought him to GP, he gave me eye drop. But after 5 days still no improvement then I brought him to KKH 24 A&E. He is giving 2 types eye drop antibotics. Now recovered already. It is due to bacteria. My elder girl has it too. Better bring him see doc.

Jacelyn, you can also massage the side of the nose near the eyes. It is very common for newborn babies to tears during the first month.

Pixie
I asked the PD if I should give bb water. He say if you wan to give BM, why give parellel import(water). He say if give water, then later bb dun drink much milk or know how to choose liao.

Angelsky, CL doesn't mind doing it but if she goes back, who's going to carry BB all the time. Hubby got to work, I also headache. :p

My CL not around tonight, she went back to Msia for a while, left at 7+pm, coming back after midnight. Hubby and I stressed while she's not around, BB keep fussing but we are trying not to carry, try to talk to her and pat her back to sleep instead. Fed her from 8:40-9:15pm, searching again at 10:30pm, tried feeding again but she fell asleep, fussing again. Don't know what she wants, sigh...

Pixiepixel, my BB also poo poo in between feeds, I thought it's because she never clears the poo at one time or because when she farts, a bit of poo will come out. Should be ok bah.

kitsune, at least ur CL willing to carry. My CL ask me to feed my ger and then time every time after feeding, talk to her for a while and then put her to sleep. DOnt always carry her till she sleeps, else she will want us to carry her all the time. My family got so many pple all looking forward to carrying her everyday they come back. So beyond my control wo. Then my CL will nag at me.

Pixiepixel, my ger will poo during feeds
. So imagine I feed her halfway, she will fart and then I know she poo, I will finish feeding her then change her and see if she hungry after that. If yes, then I got to feed her again.

My ger latch for 1 hour just from 11 to 12, I super sleepy, imagine having to talk to her for 1 hour. As I was feeding her from 1 side, the other side kept leaking, end up she wet, I also wet. Then she kept sneezing and then got running nose and then also cough a bit. So her whole face was a mess through the feed. I got to wipe her face every now and then, else she will be eating her mucus. Then she will cry coz she irritated.

pixie
if your mil is gonna b the caregiver after u return to work & she wun listen to u, then bo pian lor.. at least it's water, not beer... kekeke

angelsky
when my extended family carries bb, i will hover around them and encourage them to set him down, or stop rocking, or stop walking around etc. Most times they'll listen to me. o'wise depending on situation eg bb falling asleep while being rocked, i'll intervene. They know my pattern, no one messes with me. hehehehe

as for your messy feeding problm, first step u can try wear nursing bra when u're bfg. So the side that keeps leaking u can stuff in a breast shell to collect the letdown, or breastpad or hanky to soak it up.

how come your bb sneeze got mucous ah... wat did the doc say.

wendyg, no idea why she sneeze got mucus and she is also coughing. Going to the OPD at TMC later to do her blood test for jaundice so will ask later. Plus, she is still tearing. She has also started playing with saliva, duh, hope its not some bad habit that she is going to cultivate.

someone asking how much fenugreek to take? its 3 capsules 3 times a day... dont think it shd be any more than that!

yvonne
my girl lately also like yours! keep fussing in the day time dun wanna sleep properly. sometimes can oso stay up for like 5-6 hrs at one go. try to make her sleep she nap 10 min then wake up n cry... very siong leh. i oso dunno how!

What breast pump are all of you using? I am using Avent Manual Breast Pump. I heard people saying Ameda Dual Breast Pump is good. Can express the milk faster. Thinking of getting it.

Any of u noticed that your bb suckle until lips white and peeling? I don't know why mine is like that. Suckle very vigorous and impatient, tending to pull off my nipple. Normal?

Last night really had a hard time with my boy. Fed him at 10.30pm and his eyes big big, so carried him and try to coax him to sleep. Fuss and cry and asked for milk again...so feed him at 11.30pm and thought he would finally sleep. But he didn't and started "searching" for milk again! Cry and cry non-stop and screaming on top of his lungs...hubby and me was so angry. Carry him, give water, change his diaper and give pacifier but still crying...finally left with no choice but gave him milk again at 12 midnight then he finally slept. I assume this is really colic?

My boy don't like the MIM sling and I also find it very difficult to use. I'm currently using the babyrock sling which is easier to adjust and my boy actually fell asleep in it yesterday.

Anyone giving their babeies gripe water?? How much to give and do you dilute it with water? I'm thinking whether I should give my boy gripe water...any advice?