(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mylife

dun get so stressed up ya... take a deep breath. i dun think your bb will reject your breast if you intro bottle feeding during night time. i know its really tiring when you need to feed on demand cos im feeling it already. at times, when i needed a break or run errands... my mum will bottle-feed her and now pd ask me to alternate bf and bottle feeds. danelle was on fm bottle feed for the whole of last sat and sun cos i had alcohol on friday night. she did not reject when intro latched on again on monday.

momme

its normal. stimulate your breast by pumping every 3hr interval or latch on bb. your supply should come in soon.. ganbatte!!!

blackbatz

tatz correct for bm and water.

violetice

are they comfortable??? i've not seen any strapless nursing bras before. would like to get one too... the normal nursing bra straps are so thick and ugly. i cant even wear it with my tank tops. sometimes when they cry, they only need attention and carry. danelle had been very cranky since sunday when my mil came over on sat. when she makes the least noise... she must carry her, now whenever she makes noise and if we dun carry her... she will then cry even louder w/o tears. normally, i will ignore her when i dun see tears in her eyes.

Tears = really needs our attention (i.e hungry, diapers wet, not feeling well)

Without tears = wants attention and carry

prata queen
ihave FBI card. U need the number or wat?

Went to PD this morning for Rylee's vomit problem. Update later. Gotta BF now. Thanks everyone for your kind support!!

sassy
my boy hungry but no tears ley.. i think his tear ducts not formed yet. For now all his cries are without tears.

violet
re: stop bb fr crying
> swaddle? my boy will struggle like mad but once he's swaddled he sleeps better, esp his arms flailing about tend to wake him easily. When he's tired, we'll swaddle, carry a bit & the moment his eyes close, we'll put him in cot for him to fall asleep on his own. But like what u said, must eliminate all other factors, eg hunger, dirty diaper etc.

pooh25
then when #1 shows some good behaviour, bring out 1 toy to reward him. Practice naughty chair/ time-out also.

mylife
*hugz*
eh, if u tired, get more rest. Rested cow = more milk.

val
oops i already intro bottle coz no patience to cup feed/ syringe.. after both breasts & bb still hungry, here comes the ebm/formula! Thank God he still latches on & doesn't reject me.

my supply is better after a good nap also...think i should sleep more. I told hubby that my supply may not be enuff to meet my boy's feed when he gets older...stressed...hubby says use FM if in tat case, dont stress myself...I think I just got to take things easy. we mummies need the rest as well. so far, my boy will still latch on though I introduce FM & EBM via bottle.

blackbatz

i bought the NUK teats, 0-6 months, for milk, i find the hole too big for BM. u find the thin liquids hole too small... i rather small than big leh.. big hor, my poor girl initial few sucks will choke...

nexyanne,

sorry it's not dang gui.. it's cordyceps, dong cong xia cao. cos i took 1 bottle of brands with cordyceps yesterday and i notice a decrease in milk leh.

Sorry, been busy, no time to post or read. Then if hb catches me online, later he not happy, so I need to chop chop...

Birth story 17 Jan 08
6.30am Show, then I nudge nudge him, not much response, so decided go hosp. As you might know, I slipped a few days b4, so a bit worried.
8am Hosp, waited.
9am Doc check, 5cm dilated, no regular contractions, so wait since wan to try natural.
3pm Some contractions, but timing not consistent.
5-6pm Stronger contractions. VE, wah piang, still 5cm!!! I was thinking if go on like tat I dunno can tahan how long. So decided to call for epidural, which lucky I did.
7.30pm Epidural by Dr YC Lim. Gynae came to break water bag. Say cervix v soft, dilation should be fast.
8pm Nurse wonder why baby's head still so high up, then decided to drain urine. Wah piang, drain out 500ml of urine, no wonder no space for him to move down. Was watching Video gag. Haha...
9pm Nurse did VE, 10cm liao, call doc to come. Nurse ask me to try pushing, baby's head move to the entrance easily and she just close up both my legs, say wait for the gynae to come. Ah, now I know how come gynae's timing so good.
920pm Gynae came, 1 push and Elliot is out. Put him on my chest, so warm and slimy. Gynae got hb to cut the cord.
As it was changing shift time, I had 4 nurses watching me deliver.

The anae Dr Lim is v nice and pro. Told him my horrid epi last time, he can still joke. Say last time mine took 9 to 10 tries, he make sure he get mine in lesser tries, 8 tries lor. but did say not easy to find my spinal column. I am so glad he got it in 1st try. And he told me since got it in 1st try, I can go for another 7 kids.

I had side effects from epidural, shivered for abt 2 hours and vomitted oso. So end up din feed my boy until the next morning. After gg home, realise no colostrum, so boy has been starving, decided to give some glucose and FM. NOw busy pumping and feeding him.

My nipples v sore and got those dried up "pi" thingy. So stinging when bb suckles. Then nipples flat if he can't latch on properly, will cry. Really quite depressing sometimes, esp when my mil and maid can't handle my #1. Had an arguement with mil today, practically cried in front of her and CL. She kept saying my girl dun wan to listen to her, she wan to use cane, I got so fed up, took out a stick and insist she hit my girl. But she dare not. I told my girl Ah ma wants to beat you, not me!! So fed up!!

shannonbaby,

this is what it says in the breastfeeding guide i got from the hospital...
"for quick thawing of frozen milk, allow it to stand in warm water for 10 mins or using an electric warmer. You may choose to thaw yr breast milk inside the fridge by placing your frozen milk on the lowest shelf 12 hrs before feeding yr baby. Milk thawed this way has to be consumed within 24 hrs.
Do not refreeze thawed milk"

Mom2Nat&Elliot

hello...... wow.. so happy to hear u got a smooth delivery

don't let ur MIL stress u further k.. i trying not to let ANYBODY stress me out. and that includes the family dog.

anyone has any solution for flat nipple? Mine seem to be a bit flat and wide after milk comes in.

Pls advise. Thank you.

Baby's crying
<font color="aa00aa">I carried him when he cried but once I put him down, he won't allowed, so like must carry very very very long and often. How to get things done? He also hates swaddling.</font>

Strapless nursing bra
<font color="aa00aa">The one at cloud 9 is quite comfortable but pricey. Can try there, sassy.</font>

this morning went to see PD. Apparently Rylee's gained weight healthily...so dats music to my ears. As usual, Dr Ong is super busy so had to rush and ask him the list of questions i wrote down...he said Rylee got alot of air/wind in her tummy and ask me to continue feeding her the RidWind to monitor. Possibly cud be reflux but even if reflux, will go away by 4-6mths.. *faint*

He did confirm that bf babies can also be overfed cos some will comfort suckle and still take in bits of milk, thus overfeeding. Hopefully Rylee is jus dat - overfeeding.

Michelle
Yah..my mom is like yours, can be so hurtful with words. Today she woke up and accompanied me to the PD, i had to drive cos hubby not around. When i BF jus now, she jus kept quiet. Dare not say anything liao.

Btw, ask u ah..this fenugreek ah...how long shud we be on it? Once milk ss established liao, still gotta take?

My ss getting better liao. This morning woke up got 100ml, then jus now afternoon got 95ml (both breasts) after feeding Rylee on one breast.

ahcapp
do u wait for ur bb to cry and cry before trying to latch? Dont. becos when they're frantic and crying hysterically, they will definitely struggle when u try to latch. For early days, try to spot his signs of hunger, like a whimper. Usually it's 2-3 hours. Within that range, try to agar-agar, when he whimper (still in sleepy state), pick him up and try to latch him on. Brush your nipple from his nose to his lower lip, his lips are bound to open ajar like a yawn and voila, push your entire nipple (including aerola) in as much as u can...hope dat'll help. I'm lucky Rylee latches on well from Day1 in TMC when she was brought to me, BUT if we let her cry too long before feeding her, she will also struggle with her hands blocking my nipple and cry even more. Oh, rem to bring bb's head to breast and not breast to bb's head. Cos u dont wan to end up with bad posture by keep leaning forward to let him suck.

Sassy and all other mommies who EBM
when ur supply has established and EBM are abundant, u will start putting it in the freezer cos can last more than 48hours rite? Do u all strictly label it separately by the date? Or mix it? How long can it lasts? Can use glass bottles to store in freezer or not? If use milkbags, how to defroze? Still bring it down to fridge? How long before it'll thaw?

Really <font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">BIG BIG</font></font> thanks to mommies who have offered your listening ear and support to my emotional outburst yday...feeling much better today.

actually, how do we know how much EBM to give bb at midnight feed? Yday i gave 90ml. But wondering as she grows older, how ah?

michelle/sassy/violetice
do u all pump everyday in a scheduled manner or jus pump occasionally to reserve for night feeds? If pump occasionally, will it cause ss to drop?

VioletIce &amp; Babyling,
Thanks for the info...

Mom2nat,
Without fail, my #1 will find means and ways to raise my blood pressure everyday. Can die. Luckily, my dad is his faithful playmate. Continued to play with him and distract him.

On good days, he will help to clean up the diapers, help to pour away the bath water and keep the tub. On bad days, he will try to pinch the younger one.

blackbatz
your #1 very cute leh..i know it's not cute when it's happening to u..but imagining on bad days he try to pinch..hehe

babe
thanks. Havent got time to read dat yet...how's ur ss now?

mylife, my ss still low. Feed both breasts n pump after only get total abt 20 ml. Then my boy like dun like left breast. tiring..wonder 1 day I sleep how many hrs.

mylife,

after her morning shower, i dont 'force' her to sleep, let her play by herself, let her eh eh eh. she surely will have some poot poot for me to clear, tat'll take up some more time n prevents her from sleeping. if not, i'll put her in a pram and watch tv with me in the living room. let her eh eh eh in the pram. can drag until 2pm which is next feed, after this feed then i let her sleep.

evening 6 plus 7 she wake up for next feed, again do the same, don't 'force' her to sleep, dont make surrounding conducive for sleeping. daddy come home, let him keep her awake, let MIL and FIL keep her awake. we all take turns to talk to or carry her lor. she will listen intently and seems to recognise our voices.

Mom2Nat,

no no!! dun misunderstand.. hehe.. cos i quite jie pi, and becos of this confinement, i can't shower, my dog also has not showered for more than a week!! hb suppose to shower her yesterday but he was too tired. the dog's cleanliness bugs me, cos she sleeps with us. even though i diligently wipe her 3 times a day, she doesn't go out at all, i still must insist she gets showered once a week if not more.

bah... maybe when my MIL not at home, i secretly ownself shower my dog. grr..

mylife,

for me i'm currently storing EBM in glass bottles in the freezer. I label each bottle strictly by date and time of each expression, no mixing..
when want to use then i move from the freezer to the fridge, takes abt 12 hrs to thaw that way...
only at the pt of measuring for feeding then i mix and only enuff for what i need for that feed

windy!

i think u and i can really ^5 already...u stay in bishan right?? i stay quite near there too and my mum's shop is in bishan so i go there quite often...

our babies are only one day apart and both are princesses....i also have a doggy at home whom my hubby has taken over full responsibility since i delivered and our hubbies can snore through our nightly expressions/feeds etc.... :D

grumpus!

u bishan also ah! i'm at st 12, u? hehe.. ur mom got shop in bishan where? wad shop is that?

^5! kekeke.. so... who shower ur dog? keke..

mylife,

thanks for your feedback. =) I am now trying to recognise signs of him waking up. But my bb very fast man. One momenet he could be not really awake, next moment, he'll cry. Yes, u r right. Once my bb cries, there is no way to stop him except to carry him till he stop.

Now I very scare. Busy puming to store a backup bottle in case I can't latch him up properly. =S Will continue to try every nursing session. Back in hospital, not much problem with latching on. Well, maybe not 100% correct, but at least he will latch on and won't cry and cry like mad la.

HB told me that it takes time to make things perfect. So I am trying to stay positive for now. But very difficult lor. :,)

Oh btw, does the TMC lactation helpline u called strictly for patients who went there for delivery? I went to TMC for Mrs Wong's class. Wonder if they will help me. Can I have the phone no. pls? I kinda r'ber that u went to look for them for a consultation. Can I ask how much does it cost?

mylife
for the last week, i have only been pumping occasionally - like 3-4 times a day only. so i've been storing these EBM in the freezer for next time when i intro the bottle lor. still dun wanna intro bottle now as i'm afraid she will again prefer bottle to my breast - i'm very paranoid about this! i think i will intro bottle again only after she's 6 wks old :p

as for fenugreek, u can stop taking once your ss is established. dun need to keep taking
happy to hear that it has worked for u too!

wah blackbatz, so qiao u and windy stay same same...

windy, no lah i dun stay bishan, i stay nearby toa payoh area...but cos my mum shop in bishan so bishan macham my second home...her shop is at blk 502 st 11...beauty salon...

oh yah, my hubby took over showering the dog since i got pregnant...at first he never help one..then my mum nag at him cannot let me bend and squat so much...so since then he take over lor...now deliver already also automatic he do lor...keke

Windy
Wah piang, you still need to shower your dog ah... faint. let your hb do during weekends lah.

Blackbatz
You pour away the water?? You confinement now leh, how can be doing these things? Btw, you got CL?

Wendyg
Tks for the tips. Finally can see some milk. But my right side only 1 duct got milk coming out, so means still block lor. But my engorgement not so bad. Really must massage and use hot compress/towel leh. Luckily my CL will massage for me to clear the ducts. BUt she say I so scared of pain, can't massage hard enough to be effective.

Do you gals feel your uterus pain? I find I am walking slower than when I was preg. Seems like the lower tummy part a bit tight and pain at times.

Oso hor, if bb sleeps like 3 to 4 hours in a row, do you all really wake the bb up to feed?

AhCapp
There is a breastfeeding support group hotline, free one. The person will call you back after you leave a message. Not sure helpful or not, I tried calling, but her answers quite standard "from the book" kind.

Mom2nat,
No la. My #1 helps my mum to pour away the water. Not me. I no CL..Mum and maid help

Make sure bb dun sleep more than 3 hrs. If not at night, eyes big big.

Blackbatz
Last night hor, after the 1am feed, my baby slept until 7am this am ah. Then today whole day wake up like every 4 hours. Can faint leh. I oso dunno wan to wake him or not, Cos once wake up he can only think abt drinking, then drowsy, he sleeps again!

grumpus
thanks for the feedback. Good to follow your routine. Now my ss JUST established slightly better only...not until can put freezer. Haha

michelle
eh..i tot u mentioned u ALREADY intro bottle for night feeds? Cud have mistaken u for someone else bah...why u said "AGAIN prefer bottle to breast?" Your #1 is like dat ah? How soon will u know dat ah? My bb now seems to be ok with both...or is it becos she hasnt recognise it yet? Scary...so i feed 1-2 night feeds ok bor?

AhCapp
i didnt go for any consultation. I think babe is the one who went. For me, when i delivered at TMC, i requested to see Mrs Wong and quoted i'm her student, and she came to my suite to see me. Miraculously, she rems my name..dont think it's the ward, cos she rems me by my english name. Anyway, she gave me her card and ask me to call her HP if got problem ma...so i jus call lo. For charges, think babe can help?

MOm2nat
During my stay at TMC, one of the lactation consultant told us general guideline for babies is 2-3 hours, but never let bb sleep more than 4 hours without feeding, so if bb sleeping more than that, u shud try to wake him up for feed.

sassy,
I know how come that time u commented Kinderclinic consultation is $80 liao. Its only the first visit. Subsequently should be cheaper. Today went for her first check up. I paid $80+ and the asst there told me "hmm...Dr Lee gave you discount on the consultation. Std first time is btw $80-$100". Deep inside my heart I was thinking "wah liao...discounted liao still so ex ah??" The PD charged me $65 for it.

AhCapp,

yes KidsLink Children's clinic is facing the Chinese Garden MRT. You gotta call to make appointment otherwise walk-in have to wait like 45mins. 1st visit to PD cost ard $70plus.

Babe,
i like the new look of yr updated blog...so many pix of yr boi boi...he is adorable huh
I did not take many pix of my boy yet cos most of the time he is either sleeping or cranky. Hey, u look okay with a little bulge tummy, not fat la. If u continue breast feeding, uterus will contract faster &amp; tum tum will be gone in no time de

Feel so lousy, milk not in and my nipples bled already. :eek:(
Looks like I can latch him on this few days till my nipple recovers. SIGH!!!!!!
Really don't feel like my milk is coming in anytime soon and baby's demand is increasing. Feed him 60ml formula every 3 hrs and its not satisfying him. He wakes up before time and cries. CL has been telling me to feed him more so that he sleeps longer but I told her not to increase formula.
Very heartpain to see him under so much stress.... but people have advised that if I really want to bf have to refrain from giving him too much formula...
But now I am starting to doubt myself... wonder if my insistence on bf is causing him more stress than anything.

Got a message from Mcfluffy, she delivered already

COngrats, keep us posted k. Meanwhile, rest well and enjoy your time with your bb.

mylife
i intro bottle when she was only 1 day old cos she having fever so must make sure she got enough fluids lor. then after that, i find that she like prefer the bottle to my breast! but what to do? i just keep trying to latch her on b4 every feed... very very siong for that few wks cos very time consuming. then last wk when i see that her weight gain is better, and her jaundice not so bad, then i decide to latch her on fully again so she got no choice but to latch n drink. that's y i said scared to intro bottle again now cos dunno she will prefer bottle again or not :p

with my #1, he was very impatient n didnt even wanna latch on at all. same thing, i intro bottle when he only 1 day old - stupid nurse at gleneagles lah - tell me bb veyr hungry that's y cry so loud. i shd NEVER have listend to her. so after that all downhill oredi lor cos boy refuse to latch on anymore as milk flow is too slow...

momme
dont give up ok? the intial few wks will be the most tiring and challenging part of BFing. we all experienced sore nipples, some bleed, some dont, but everyons definitely go thro the same difficult stage! your milk will definitely come in soon n then u can slowly reduce the FM and give him more EBM when your supply increases. hang in there!

blackbatz! u also st12 ah! keke.. i'm blk 117.. hehehe..
next time middle of the nite run out of diapers can piah to ur place and borrow.. wahaha..

grumpus
ya lor, hb took over showering the dog since i got pregnant, some more initially i got low lying placenta so lagi cannot squat. but this week hb busy at work and also he on baby duty from 11pm-3am. so dog no weekly shower, YET.

i better loudly say, MY THIS HUSBAND I GOT NO COMPLAINS cos he's been super supportive since day 1.

Mom2Nat
i can de lah.. shower a small dog. wet wet water. the shower doesnt worry me, is whether my MIL will make noise ah... "U cannot touch tap water..." anyway, shall not go against her, let her son shower the dog bah.

mylife

i used to be very "ON" in expressing milk but nowadays im very tired and i think danelle's intake had increase quite a fair bit. she now drinks about 80ml of FM. i will label all my ebm and store it in the freezer, can store up to max. 3 months. pls thaw the "old stock" first for consumption. so far, im only using the glass bottles which i collected from the hospital to store them. very convenient as it fits our medela pump perfectly, dun need to transfer here and there.

val

yup, i realised tat today. brought Danelle for hearing test at mt E then when to see the pd cos her face is like "hua lian mao" full of pimples and rashes... at the same time, check if she kenna bronchitis from my mil. she is so inconsiderate lor... had been coughing for months liao but refused to go see doctor untill yesterday. she actually passed on to my nephew on sat when they were all at my place last sat. she went to tell my my sil tat she is not the only one tat carries him... indirectly pointing fingers at my mum. when my DH confronted her then she insist tat she didn't say such things. damm jia lat...