(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Mom2Nat,

Day 4 can wave bye-bye liao ah!! kekeke.. your prince got boy-boy face.. go out nobody can say "Wah your girl very cute leh..." keke.. he juz had his shower huh?

hi mylife,

kayla refuses to be swaddled. must wriggle her hands free then she happy. so we juz wrap the bottom up till chest area.

Windy
Tks. No big eyes. Quite small in leh. NO double eyelids oso. Chubby so pple say look like me.

Now engorged, nipples blocked. need to massage first. Come back later.. Hee...

Mom2nat,
The pix of Elliot in the towel is so cute!!

Swaddling
My son refused to be swaddled. So only cover lower part of his body.

mylife,
I also don't swaddle my baby anymore...he refuses and wants to have his hands free. So I put him in the sleeping bag at night when I turn on aircon. Day time I just use blanket to cover until chest level.

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Congrats to Godsent, Icy &amp; Kitsune!</font></font>

<font color="0000ff">Mom2nat, baby Elliot so cute, make me wanna sayang him leh

All babies pix are lovely

hi windy,

my baby taking isomil (soy protein). sometimes he poo just 2 a day...but not watery stools. yesterday, he din poo. i kinda worried.

Re: Swaddling

My boy also don't like to be swaddled. He like to sleep in free style position! But we will still swaddled him during the night so that it makes him feel more secure &amp; keep him warm.

<font color="0077aa">This morning, went to see GP cos having fever again!...thermometer measured 38.6deg. I scare it could be an infection or Mastitis. But luckily it's not, it is due to engorgement &amp; block ducts so doctor gave paracetamol for fever &amp; ask me to continue BFing &amp; pump out excess to prevent engorgement. I have also request for prescription for the pills to stop BFing in case my fever worsen, engorgement is really bad &amp; i need to return to work in Mid March.</font>

babe, initially i pump when he cannot finished...like i still feel a lot of milk in breast....

i usually feed on one breast only...alternate...and my right breast less responding to pump...so when both breasts are heavy.....i will feed on right breast and pump left breast...yesterday i pump 150ml out from left while feeding on right

btw, congrats to all mummies who have recently pop

eRnMum

WOw.. your supply is so much!! envy envy... me can only pump out abt 50 ml from both breasts with no latching. it's so pathetic...
so demoralised and feel like giving up.

eRnMum,
how long is your pumping session each time? it's like i can nvr finish and was so tired after a while then i never empty the breasts.

steph,
is it because you need to empty your breast each time? if not, you'll be engorged, i think engorgement for too long will cause fever...better take care!

Mom2nat, he's so cute!!!!

Btw, have u gals cut bb nails? Mine very long and I wonder if I shld cut now...sometimes scratch himself when mittens drop out.

babe,
i have not cut her nails yet, don't dare to, my girl will scratch herself when her mittens dropped too.

Kitsune, jia you...very soon you can see if ur ger looks more like u or her daddy!

mon2nat: your boy so charming...

prata queen: is tricia better now?

Ernmum, I envy u lehz..I dun dare to do that coz he never seems even satisfied with 1 breast. So if I feed one and pump the other one, scare he not enough. He keeps mouthing and searching for breast today, like forever hungry and my breast always feel empty...

Any mummies got any news from itok? Didn't see her in forum and msn online today.

2 nites ago, Godsent, Icy, Kitsune, itok and I were chatting on msn and Godsent got signs of labour. Now all 2 of them have popped...Kitsune on the way to pop...so exciting. Wonder if itok has popped too? Now i'm one day overdue... waiting game continues...

babe &amp; Luvv,

i know it's a bit sayang to stop BFing. Massage lady even encourage me to continue BF for 6mths if possible. My work place can book meeting room to pump but i will be hogging the mtg rm for an hour. The smallest mtg rm can hold 6 to 8 persons so for 8hrs at work, i need to pump at least 2 times else breast will feel engorged. I scare this will affect my work &amp; later boss or colleague not happy la.
I envy those who have alot of supply &amp; no engorgement, then bfing is a breeze to them. I have been diligently pumping at every 3hourly to empty each breast, i pump for 15mins on each breast. I used to pump for half an hour on each breast and my nipple b'com so painful &amp; SORE
Hopefully i can tahan bfing for 2.5mths la.

Finally managed to log on. I have a horrible night. Baby doesn't want to latch on properly. My breasts went ROCK hard overnight. My greatest nightmare has came true!

Finally got things back on managable level after starting manual pumping with Avent manual pump. This morning, also put my medela PIS to work too. Hope to get things under control.

CONGRATULATIONS to mummies who have popped. =) So happy for them. Even kitsune is on her way! Wow, she was just online last night here asking about epidural. Jia You my friend!

Flyn,

Take your time with the waiting game. =) Enjoy, rest more and get ready for your big day. Jia you ya! ^_^

Steph,

Can I ask u... Mdm Rokiah is all tied-up this week. The earliest she can slot me is this coming Sat. It will be about 10 days after myd delivery. Very scare that I will be too late to get my tummy back. When did you start your session may I ask?

To those whore busy expressing milk....

Are u still latching your baby on or totally switch to bottles but with expressed breast milk? Wah, I really think latching on is a pain. Every time must struggle with my bb for 1hr. He latches on for 15 to 20min and then close shop to fall asleep. Is it normal? I really not sure how long I can tahan the pain. It's like torturing my own breasts like that.. *sigh*

ahcapp,

i juz started on my massage today, 11 days after my delivery on 10 jan.

can i ask u ladies how u manage to keep the binder on? she told me to leave it on till 10 pm!!! 9 whole hours... argh... how to go toilet &amp; breastfeed with ease... hahaha

hi nexyanne,

I started my massage yesterday. had the bind on for 12 hrs...later feel the itch then I took it out in the middle of the night.

nexyanne,

I have the same concern about how to keep the bind on. Can still BF or not huh?

Who is your massage lady? =) Enjoy your sessions! I can't wait for mine to start man...

ahcapp,

i will know soon.... hahaha.... my baby starting to cry liao... i am using mdm sadiah... not too bad... the massage was relaxing!!! looking forward to it again morrow!!!

windy,

no leh not tiring, doesn't actually take a lot of strength to pump maybe tats y....currently i'm not latching at all so each expression i can pump abt 100-120ml with the manual pump..actually i find the manual pump let down is better...

it's dd cos "dear daughter" mah...now in hospital cos of IUGR, bb delivered at 37 wks but only 1.86kg, small hor....she needs to stay until she hits 2kg thats why regularly expressing every 3 hr and delivering the milk to her for the nurses to feed lor...

ahcap
with my #1, i gave him EBM all the way cos he refused to latch. it is even more troublesome than latching on! imagine u hv to feed the bb 1st with bottle, then after burping him, etc.. u still hv to pump, wash bottles, keep milk... :p if u latch on, then after feeding him u burp him n can go to zzz liao. yes, it's definitely tough latching on, but perservere and i'm sure u will be rewarded later on. i'm also having difficulty latching my girl on now, like yours, always fall asleep. but because i know what its like to give EBM, i am not giving up with latching because once our babies get older, they will not be so sleepy n they will become better at latchin n drinking. so hang in there!

i noticed my girl is more awake these days. usually abour 4-5 hours she will be awake. but when she is awake, she always wants to be carried. if we let her lie in her cot by herself, she will make "eh eh" noises until we carry her. any of your bb like that too?

Hi michelle,

Thank u so much for your encouragement. Sometimes, I can't help but ask myself why am I going thru all such trouble of getting him latching him. His first few bites damn painful man. =( I think my nipples will be gone in no time.

A lot of mummies here are very good with expressing milk. So I am wondering if everyone's goal is different.

Will try to hang in there. But goosh, it's really very tiring. After each sesion of him fussing around, I am all sweaty and tired. *shake head*

For my case, my bb tends to fuss about and wants milk immediately. How about your daughter? Gals tend to be gentler right?

About 'eh eh' noise...

Oh yes, mine too! My CL said my bb simply doesn't want her to even sit down. Once she sits down, he will make "eh eh" noise. I think my bb even wants others to carry him to get him to sleep. I really wonder when will he a easier baby to look after. =S

eRnMum,

Thanks so much for the info. Yes, I think it's my hormones bullying me as I am a first time mum. =S Before I gave birth/ pregnant, I am not so clingy to my hb. In fact, I find my hb too clingy to me as I prefer to shop alone sometimes. *LOL* But now, I kept on crying and always feel that I am a lousy wife to him. Today, when he left the house, I can't help but cry again. But after he left, no time man. Busy pumping milk and taking naps to catch up on sleep. =P

Hope my hormones will back to normal very soon...

babe,
no worries, take your time :)

AhCapp,
i'm expressing solely for my girl. and no, even though i have a baby girl, she's also very demanding about her milk. Wants immediately and will cry out super loud if no milk is served. However, i tried giving her milk earlier, even if it's 5 mins earlier, she won't buy it.

About the eh eh noises, yes she does that a lot also, i just ignore her and she'll go back to sleep. but sometimes, she will start crying if i don't pick her up. She'll stopped immediately and fell back to sleep almost immediately when i pick her up. Sometimes too tired, just bring her to my bed and hug her to sleep, then i can have rest.

<font color="ff6000">AhCapp,

i started my massage session on day 8 aft my delivery. Yours is only 2 days later but if Mdm rokiah has any empty slot last minute, she will sms u. Actually mine is to start on day 9 but a day b4, she sms me saying there is an empty slot &amp; ask if i am okay with timing so i just grab lor. Is your tummy still very big? Don't worry, mine still look very big too (like 5mths preggy) &amp; after 3 session of massage &amp; consistant breast feeding, SURE our tummy will go down very fast de. Even my hubby also say, Wow....no tummy liao

nexyanne,

my massage lady ask me to keep the binder (jamu wrap for the tummy) on for 6 hours, at first will feel itchy but after an hour or so okay liao unless u develop any skin allergy to the jamu. I still latch &amp; breastfeed despite the binder &amp; sticky ginger &amp; lemongrass cream on my body aft massage.

michelle,

SPOT ON! Yes, my boy also make the "eh eh" noise if we put him in the play pen. He can be awake for 3 to 4 hrs in the late afternoon &amp; want pple to carry him, talk to him otherwise he'll become cranky &amp; looking for nipple to suckle &amp; we'll give him pacifier

How old is yr girl now? My boy is only 15days old.

Luvv,

Wow, same man. My bb is soo demanding that any delay he will makes lots of fuss. I am new to BFing mah, he won't even accept a few times of latch on. So difficult to latch him on. =( Do u wake your gal up to drink her milk or wait for her to wait up. I am currenly feeing him on demand, but since he is so demanding, not sure if I should wake him up to feed earlier instead.

Steph,

Hmm.. my tummy not very big even when I was full term. Now is loose lor. Mdm R did told me that she'll slot me in if her course finishes early this week (mon to thu). But I can't help but worry man. ;)

Btw, how long did u take to be able to express so much milk ah? I only starting my pumping this morning. Supply not impressive. My right boob tends to give lesser milk than the left one. Perhaps it's because it's still engorged. =( Any suggestion huh?

im startg to get really worried about my bb vomitting milk. seems like almost every meal also she will throw up despite us burping her successfully oredi. Like jus now, i burped her, then after laying her down, she throw up twice again..

and she is always making this "pushing" sound...u know like she's constipated kind of sound...my mom says dats cos she wans to stretch and dats how babies grow up...any babies like dat? I hear also heartpain, sounds like she's very xin ku like dat

hi mylife,

my boy have this problem of vomiting milk too even after burping him. try not to put bb to lie flat after every feed. for my bb, it helps.

Hi Meihua,

Another new entry for your delivery list.

Nick: greentara
EDD: 8 Jan 08
DOB: 7 Jan 08
Gynae: Dr. Caroline Khi
Hospital: TMC
BB#: #1
BB Name: Tania
BB Wt: 2.83
Delivery Type: Natural

Michelle,
My baby makes the "eh..eh" sound when no one is in the bedroom. He wants to be carried around while I want to sleep..Haiz..

Steph,
With the binder around your body, how you bathe?

Ahcapp,
When your breast is rock hard, if your bb suckle, sure painful. Try to express a little out before placing into bb's mouth.Then your nipple wouldn't hurt so much

Steph at least ur bb awake hr is in day..mine in the wee hrs. constantly searching for breast. heasdache..super tired like that...

I v sad today...tried pumping on unfed breast abt1pm, got only 10ml rather than the usual 30ml....how come decrease n not increase? boo hoo....had to struggle to latch bb on left breast

violetlce:

"Yeah, I've heard of pple saying "When baby cries, don't pick him/her up so readily as they will learn that crying gets them attention but seriously lor, if cry and cry, who can bear not to pick them up, colic aside.".

Please note that this practise of letting the baby cry their hearts out without picking them up is a very old school of thought... 1930s. Newer research in the 60s onwards shows that we should always attend to their needs. Baby don't cry for fun, they are still too young to manipulate us, let's give them our needful love.

There are plentiful of books in the Singapore library which give good explanation on these research findings, pls read them if you care about your baby.

"Understanding your crying baby" by Kitzinger, Sheila.