(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

vereneting * Flyn,
Added u on my multiply.

kitsune_sg,
Opps, I guess you might have to wait a while. Think she did log on to multiply today.

Oh I see, never mind. She must be busy now. I'll wait for her.

hi morning,

JIA YOU to all who are still waiting to pop

myife & violetIce,
Welcome me to the pacifier team! I surrender yesterday...cos Zander keep wanting to suckle even after latching. He don't wanna sleep & cranky so me & MIL no choice, we tried pacifier & after awhile, he managed to fall asleep so that all of us can get on with our stuff (MIL prepare for dinner, washing while i busy pumping).

This morning, i managed to pump 200ml from both breast combined but hor the color of the BM abit funni, not the usual clear watery white/light yellowish but with a little blood in the milk
Can baby still drink from the milk & will it harm the baby?

steph, do chk if u got cracked or bleeding nipples. If so then it's blood in the milk. Pls discard as bb can't drink milk wif blood. In hospital, my bb suckled till nipple bled, in the end it threw out milk wif blood n that's when the nurse alerted me on this. U will still have to pump to maintain supply, apply nipple cream to injured nipple, air it if possible, rest for 1 feed. After that shld b ok.

babe,

you can try a hot towel before pumping, i found that helps to soften the breast and get the milk flowing. the towel must be quite hot, my hubby calls it when u take SIA flight they give u the hot towel that kind of hot..haha

also, when u see no more milk coming out, try to change the angle of the pump funnel around to get to other milk ducts, if you always have the funnel in only one position the tendency is u only pumping from the same few milk ducts and u may actually have more that are not being fully utilized.

i found these tips to really help me in increasing my supply.

babe
i am jus slightly better than u only. But seriously i find when i pump, really lesser than bb suck.

grumpus
if the breast is not hard, putting hot towel also no use rite? Hot towel more for engorged breasts and milk cannot flow out, rite?

Michelle
it's very demoralising and tiring to pump out after bb feeds cos the BM pumped out very little only. Will total latch on increase ss also? Or will it slowly jus petered off? Now my bb got growth spurt, feeding 1hour interval, if i pumped out after each feed, i totally cannot rest, cos after pumping, near feeding time again, it's like a vicious cycle, if too tired also affect ss.

steph
apply the Purelan cream or my fren recommended to apply those Vitamin E oil capsules, very soothing to nipple. Babe is right, dont feed bb milk dat's mix with blood, they will throw up.

Hi ladies *big mexican wave*!

I am finally checking in here again, after like 5 days of MIA! I was discharged on Fri. Wanted to write about my delivery, but simply no time. =S Will update pics and my 'story' later on. =)

Life has been tough since I got home. I have been BFing my baby every 2 to 3hours and I am not getting enough sleep at night. =S But I am hanging in there. My baby is very impatient lately. He doesn't latch on so easily now and will cry and cry non-stop before he finally latch. Very tiring.

My poor breast suffer from left to right, and back to right to left again. This morning, my right nipple cracks and bleed. How horrifying! Wondering if it's because my baby is a boy, so more demanding and 'harder' on my poor nipples.

Like what mylife mentioned before, I have become quite teary ever since I got home on Fri. I can't help but feel that I have been soooo busy with my baby that I have neglected my hb and my home. *sigh* I hope this will pharse will be over soon.

My wound at the bottom still hurts. Anyone has any idea how long does it take for it to completely heal?

Oh, it feels to be able to logon and get part of my normal life again. =)

michelle ah,

after latching baby hor, still can pump out alot? i tried once, latched baby for half an hour, then when i pump only got 30ml and nipples sore liao. any method u use to prevent nipple soreness?
tks

Er.. sorry ladies, I long long long time no chat online already.. when u all said, MSN, which messager are u are using ah?

AhCapp!! you popped also liao ah! hehehe.. gong xi gong xi!!

*big hug* life not tough lah.. like wad the ladies on this forum always encourage me by saying, we're here for each other
chin up babe!

kayla was borne exactly 1 week ago, and my bottom still hurts slightly. u are not alone. how long to completely heal depends on individual ba. 1-2weeks max?

post pictures of your son!!! oh ya.. how to post pictures ah?

babe & mylife,

really cannot feed the EBM with little blood ah? I so heartpain cos like throwing "Gold" away lor...aft pump so hard..so frequent plus latching, no wonder my nipple is extremely SORE now

Don't envy my supply, i've engorgement every 3hourly...imagine my breast starts to feel hard, heavy & lumpy...have to pump so frequently until i am so tired, no time to catch any sleep/rest at all. One whole day, my supply can reached approx 350 to 400ml, if i don't pump out frequently, my breast feel like ROCK HARD & i will have fever! no joke, feel like crying.

babe,
to increase supply, my massage lady Mdm Rokiah recommend to eat a vege, call "pengaga". Very effective than fenugreek. If u are doing latching frequently, u'll be able to increase BM supply gradually. And yes, if too stress & not enuff rest, supply will drop too!

Today will be my last day of massage (7 session). Actually i sign up for 10 session but mdm rokiah say 7 session is enuff for me since my tummy has gone down. I told her my only concern nightmare is my breast engorgement. I am really impress with her hand massage, she simply squeeze my breast & my BM just spur out?? can u imagine how powerful her hands are? Better than my pump!haha..

Thanks so much Windy! Gong xi gong xi to u too! =)
Goosh, I am getting teary again here.. :,)

For posting pictures, just upload it as an attachement will do.

steph ah,

baby stomach cannot digest the blood ah, so baby will vomit out wat is not digestible.

wah ur milk tanks are impressive... ya if i dun diligently pump, i will kenna fever too. super high fever with cold chills kind. same kinda fever?

<font color="0077aa">AhCapp,
Welcome back &amp; congrats! Yes, just upload the pix as attachement jpg format will do.

AhCapp,

is ok to cry ah
tears of joy always well up in my eyes everytime i watch kayla suckle at my breasts. like she knows this is the safest place on earth where she can fall asleep and not worry about a thing.

i love being a mother. i love being her mother.

everytime i read abt tat u ladies are soooo diligent in pumping hor, i will immd whip out pump and get with the programme. hehe.. i feel so motivated and not wanna be a lazy mom
thanks gals!

mylife,
Yes. My breasts always turn hard and lumpy when milk is coming in. It fills like breast milk reservoir being refilled.

hi windy,

my wound down there heals at 1 week plus...sometimes, our movements caused it to hurt again and bleed a bit. so the healing process is slower. i delivered on the 9 jan, my wound does not hurt anymore since last week but i can still feel the stitches.

hi all!!!

can add me too to the msn group? email: [email protected]

Re:pumping of millk
i tried to pump milk after baby finished feeding on my breasts. but only pumped a max of 20ml from both. then i tried to pump one breast while baby latches on to another, i can pump ard 60-90ml from both breasts. anyone in same situation as me? does this mean tat when baby dun latch on, i wun have enough ebm?
STRESS

Been busy, no time to post. Got a prob here, I realised for the past few days, there was no colostrum at all. Seems like my nipples are blocked. Wat can I do? I tried pumping, but not even a single bit of anything comes out leh.

can i check with u all, how many times ur baby poo per day??
My baby is on mixed milk, Very little bm and more fm. but her poo is pretty hard, and her poo frequency is once per day. is it normal?
experienced mummies, pls advise! Thanks

steph
YES, big NO-NO to let bb drink milk mix with blood!! Aiyah, your supply is abundant, no worries! I think hor, not becos Mdm Rokiah massage powerful it's YOu who have such good ss! Dats why milk will spurt when she massages! hehehe...btw, wat is "pengaga"??? How to cook?

Blackbatz
recently i think my girl got growth spurt (i read it's usually btw 2-3weeks old) dats why she's been demanding feed every 1hourly instead of the usual 2-3 hours. Thus, within that ONE hour, my breast hardly have enough time to harden up leh. At most slightly only and then bb wans to feed liao.
I wish i can have slight engorgement

ahcapp!!
HUGZ from me too! Welcome to motherhood and the ups and downs of BF-ing.
Haha...until down, i am STILL crying lo...hubby leaving for HK tonite, and i'm all alone (of cos got my mom but dats another story). Hubby say other hubbies also gotta go work after paternity leave, but i said at least they return home aft work in the evning lo...

nexyanne
i have almost given up pumping cos bb now feeds too regularly, hardly have enuff time to pump! Hubby yday bought the Avent Manual ISIS pump for me...true enough it give me better letdown..i read somewhere this manual pump altho tiring, give initial letdown better (for those with problem pumping) whereas Medela PIS only come in useful when milkflow has established.

mom2nat
do u get engorgement? How about massaging?

HI all,

RE BF
I am really scared and worried at the rate Isee of of you pumping so mcuch! Really gd! I am due this THursday but up to now no signs.... already fear labour and really dun want go through sore breast, bleeding and soreness.. how to prevent them? Now since I have not given birth.. any gd cream I can buy first to massgae? how abt Pigeon breast cream? Should I get them now? I also got this Medela Pure lan cream since many of you recommend that it helps prevents sore nipples.. is that ok?

Also, I got this Pigeon nipple shield... beige colour one.. read that this helps prevent sore nipples.. just fit it directly to breast and let bb suckle. I got one of them in prepareation for BF.. is that fine?

Those exeperiened ones.. please give me your advises.. will definatley come in handy for me

Fern

hi verene,

*gulp* wad u mean by u can feel the stitches? meaning u use fingers to touch huh? or walking u can feel the stitiches? i dare not touch anywhere down there. but daily wash n keep area clean lah.. ouch...

Hi verene /windy.
how would one feel with the stiches there.. really great discomft or? i got this antispetcic wash from the pharmcy... heard that heals the wound faster it it? Would washing that area hurts a lot... def need wash rite or so dirty with so heavy menses hor? but pain anot? the stiches are a lot or depends how much bb tear us during labour huh?

hi fern,

mai stress.. hehe.. the antiseptic wash is good! during your stay at the hospital n upon discharge, hospital will also prescribe u some antiseptic wash to keep area clean n so wound can heal faster.

Washing that area wont hurt alot ah.. don't worry
after u give birth must drink alot of water n eat lots of fruits n vege k? prevent constipation, if not... i couldnt poot poot for the past 5 days. last nite my hubby had to insert a bottle of enema for me to clear my bowels.

ya i guess the number of stitches will depend on the tear during labour bah. big head? focep? but dont worry, got pain killers to help numb some of the pain during recovering. i lazy to take so i cannot kao beh abt the pain, only can whine abt it over this forum. keke

Windy,
Great that me kiasu got the one bottle of wash from pharmcy.. the rest of the pain killer i am sure TMC where I deliver will know how to prescribe. I really scared scraed pain lah...so praying real hard that he gives me easy labour and dun tear me much next thurs should he decide to popped then.. haha..

RE- drinking water at confinment my CL and my mum says no water lei.. whole month just drink logan tead as our body too cold after delivery. can take water meh? nothing else to help poo poo meh? heh:p

Hi mummies thanks for the well wishes!!! Finally I am back home! Just discharge. Here is my birth story

6.40am - Rise &amp; Shine take a bath keke...
7.30am - reached ESH
7.35am - shown to delivery suite immediately
7.40am - changed go poo poo
8.10am - breakfast is here ... yummy ....
8.40am - Dr Heng arrived
- Poke water bag
- Draw blood
- Check already 4cm dilate
- put on drip for induce.
8.55am - Rest &amp; Relax
- In between contraction starts and come very fast cant even have a good rest and I am already sweating whole head wet! haha
10.00am - ask for epi (5cm dilate)
rest &amp; relax all the way but can feel contraction
20 mins later epi done and leg started to numb cos dorsage added .. sleep till 1.30pm nurse came in check 10cm dilated .....
2.00pm - Dr Heng back from lunch to my suite start to work hahaha .... push push push ..... push till baby go in again doesnt wanna come out ..... Dr Heng say vacuum to help ..... 2.15pm Baby Alyssa is out!!!

windy &amp; mylife,

Phew...what a relief...the EBM can still be use! Mdm Rokiah checked my breast condition &amp; try to massage &amp; squeeze BM out but we didn't see any bleeding from the nipple &amp; the milk is still milky white color. She told me that it could be some food or drinks that i've taken last meal b4 bedtime that causes the color change. Yes, i remember i took a bottle of essence of chicken with cordyceps. Maybe that could be the cause. I am going to trial &amp; error tonite &amp; see if tmrl morning will pump the same color. Mdm Rokiah told me that she has seen EBM of light orange &amp; light green b4 &amp; still normal wor.

mylife,
the "pengaga" is a kind of vegetable to increase milk supply. You can sms Mdm Rokiah at 92716091 &amp; ask her where to buy them.

verene &amp; windy,
i can feel my stitches too (use hand to touch during shower time). I got a tear &amp; a mid-line episiotomy but is healing well. I delivered on the 7th Jan. Sometimes the wound still hurt &amp; bleed a little when i go poo poo so must take Lactulose syrup to prevent constipation.

mylife
No engorgement. The prob is i squeeze the nipples, nothing at all! No cholostrum leh. I scared total block then how??

Windy
tks!! You oso gave brith liao right? I no time to read the posts, only scan.
I drank a lot, oso feed. but nipples cracking. And Cl say seems like nothing coming out, wan to squeeze my breast to unblock the nipples! V pain she squeeze.

Thanks so much for the kind words. I am feeling a bit myself today already. =)

Can I ask... if I am BFing my baby every 1 to 2hr, alternative between breast (i.e. 1st feed is right breast, 2nd feed is left breast, 3rd feed is right breast), do I still need to use pump? I intend to use bottle at this stage, no introduction of milk bottles. So the pumping is more to stimulate for more milk is it?

Ah Capp! You are back! So good, I'm still waiting for my turn leh. Suffering in the meantime cos of all the BH and pains. :p

QQ, congrats again! Wa, your delivery sounds quite smooth leh. By the way, is it good to ask for Epi at 5cm dilation? Would you ask for it earlier if given another chance? Me thinking of when to ask for epi so that no need to top up. Hee.
How come can push until BB go in again ah?

I've added a few of you to my MSN. Luan liao, don't know who I added and who I didn't. Too many email addresses. :p Anyway, my email is [email protected].

mylife,

My hb is going back to work tmrw too. What a bumper! =( I will miss him dearly. As I said, don't know why but I kept on feeling that I have neglected my hb lor. I know it sounds silly but wow, my baby took up 100% of my time mah.

Btw, my milk has come today. Well, more steady. But I have not really sense "let-down" yet. Did I miss out something here?

Steph &amp; windy,

I don't even dare to touch the stitches down there. =S My "period" is still coming. Sometimes, I really worry if it's the blood from the wound or from my body lor. Now I have to sit on a pillow to ease the pain. Sometimes, I feel quite sad that below already pain, breasts pain, everywhere also pain. Not much better before my delivery. =P