(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Steph

I still have not decided who to call for massage leh. I still have 2 wks to go. Will call after that ba. Once u hv infant u can never get good sleep at nite de. bb cries u will sure wake up ! Whenever he cries my heart will jump and I will get up immediately to chk on him ! I wonder will I get jing shen shuai luo zheng or not !

Blackdatz
I fully agree with you on hubby's attribution. 2nd child down to 50%. It is what happen to me NOW ! He is like simply bochap liao. so sad !

Mylife
Glad that you have made up your mind on bring Rylee to HK when she is 2 mths old ! Eh your mil so cute hor. strike 2nd prize got share wif u the $$ or not ? :p

Congrats to Nexyanne & Jacelyn !

Hi all, Can i check with you... What do expect at hospital once you ae admitted.. got time to bathe a not?? jus a tot.. hehe! Also, once bb is bon..if we need to keep BF... i wonde how to est like that? Nomal bith 2 days stay ? Visitation duing confinment.. yea.. i also dun wana be distubed then... SInce I be doing at my paents house... its be eaie to sceam if I dun like guest coming.. Thats the diff of us doing confinment at paents place o mil doing with us o fo us.. SO i think I made the pefect decision fo this.. Afte all, I have paents, gandma, 2 maids. my own and my paents plus confinment lady.. so I will have moe than enuf hands to help me and I think I will ony sleep, eat and pehaps just BF bb if got milk and play with him.. hahaha... :p MY EDD 24th.. coming.. so fast and scay! Gyne apt this thus.. think last one b4 my EDD:p

congrats nexyanne! glad to know u also managed to induce with natural & epi...

reading nexyanna & jacelyn birth story really encourages me & i shall give it a shot tmr too!
just wondering does epidural help to dilate faster?? me no experience & reading from the birth story, seems like those who use epi, it dilate very fast wor.... correct or not ah?

qq, i dun have your number leh... can pm me? i will sms u my birth story once my bb pop out cos i may not have internet access when i go to my parent's place for confinement...

Mei, me too... hahahaa.. but doing at paents home.. can just ignoe those pple who comes lah.. let them go see baby and my paents.. we just look fw in geeting gifts and angpows.. anyway pple will undestand its ou confinment mth mah.. but fo those who mil stays with them will have to go thu the stess of them bining pple ove and us have to put on a fake smile... sian men .. thats the eason why i choose to do confinment at my paents pl instad.. if not i will do into depession sia.

mei,
Massage lady is Mdm Rokiah, HP#92716091
Her website: traditional-holistic-postnatal.blogspot.com
I took 10 sessions for $688
I will consider to extend my session with her if my engorgemnt & block ducts are still a problem. Now, every 2 to 3hrs got to pump out excess BM, now supply can be 200ml from both breast combined. Baby Zander is drinking 70ml solely on EBM. I can't latch him cos my nipple still very sore.

<font color="aa00aa">Btw, congrats to all mumies who have popped recently!!</font>

QQ
<font color="aa00aa">You can tell them to do 2 deliveries at different time. But hor, you have to consider factors like, whether guests will leave lor. Sometimes people will linger and if the 2nd buffet arrive, how?</font>

Steph
<font color="aa00aa">I have collated a buffet caterers comparison, with prices, whether got free delivery, gst for example, if you want, I can email to you.</font>

Steph
<font color="aa00aa">Wow, good leh, so much BM, when Zander starts drinking like my boy, each time 120ml, will be very much sufficient!!</font>

RE: Bathing at Hospital
I also have the same question as Fern. Because we will have heavy blood flow.. then how are we going to clean ourself? Cant be bringing along our own herbal bathe mah.. haha..

<font color="119911">Mom2Nat,</font>
no lah, i dun have show leh... only constant backache and feeling of menstrual cramps infrequently. aiyoh, betta be careful when u walk near the pool and when there's puddle of water!

<font color="0000ff">itok
when i went for my 37wk c/u, my gal was oso 2.5kg but 1wk later she's 2.9kg+.. both my hubby n me were surprised she grew so fast within a wk...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">sassy, i went to buy the ang ku kuehs just now u recommended at Alexandra Village.. bot every flavour 1 each to try but personally have not taste it. my mom m her frenz tried and say v nice cos the skin texture is v soft and ingredient is nice. my hubby says 50cents is a bit exp cos it's so small.. but i tink ang ku kuehs can't eat too much, if not will get "je lat" if too big... anyway, the most impt is that it taste good... not pt buyin it cheap wif thick thick skin n little ingredient, rite?</font>

somebody asked if the stall has other stuff like glutinuous rice. YES, they sell ang ku kuehs, glutinuous rice, hakka abacus, soon kueh, rice cake, etc...

Godsent,

you are making me hungry with all the kuehs you mentioned

your gal grew so fast in 1 week? hahaha.. so cute. my gynae din take the weight of my boy last week.. gotta wait till this weekend when I see him again then know.

where are u delivering? I am at TMC

Mylife, ya lor, I also don’t like to give my BB’s birth cert no. to her. Ma chiam like make use of my BB’s luck. But how to decline hah? Think she’ll give ang pow to BB and expect me to give the number so that she can strike. That’s what she did for my other colleague’s BB too. Sigh.

Last time, my MIL also use my hubby’s age, my age and our marriage date etc to buy toto and she strike wor. Think at least 1k but also never share with us. But that one, I don’t mind because it’s her creativity to think of the numbers to buy. But if your MIL ask your for NRIC then should give you something mah. :p

Godsent, I’m seeing gynae tomorrow too. Last Wed, she told me BB is 2.48kg, don’t know accurate or not. Hope my BB like yours, jump to 2.9kg in 1 week.

Itok, you starting ML next week? I’m starting my own leave on 28 Jan. ML includes weekends, bo hua to take early leh. Your EDD is end Jan right? If you haven’t give birth yet, I can go find you or we meet at nearby coffee shop. Haha.

Brought Danelle to check her jaundice level this morning. At the same time, put her on the weighing scale. To my surprise, she is 2.66kg as compared to 2 weeks ago at 2.035kg. I asked the PD if she is ready for the BCG jab, then was told to take the hep-B instead and BCG 1 month later. PD wants her to put on abit more weight b4 the BCG jab. And also gave me a tin of NAN formula to feed her 2x daily @ 50-75ml.

mylife

sorry... order wat? Im abit stoned liao, Danelle is getting very cranky at night. She cries every 2 hrs for feed for the past 2 nights already.

godsent

Im drooling for the ang ku kuehs too... Bought 60 pieces last sat and it was totally wipe out before I can sit down relax and enjoy the kueh.
Only managed to pinch on abit. 50 cents per piece is considered cheap liao. Some places selling at 70 cents to $2 per piece and not very nice.

Congrats to jacelyn and nexyanne!!!

sassy
order the cakes for full month..how soon do we have to order?

Kitsune
Excuse me, my MIL NEVER ASK from me hor, she "stole" it from me dodgily. ie stealing a look at my marriage cert last time. Even this time, she "keh-keh" say she "doesnt know" it's my NRIC. Say it's some random number...dodgy or not? Buay Tahan.

As for your colleague, i would jus smile, say thank you for the gift, and IF she really ngeh-ngeh insist on the birth cert number, u can also insist ngeh-ngeh say u'd prefer to keep it private lo..jus keep on saying no, no, no, no, no. U hold the info, no one can make u give it one. She can scold u, coax u, but jus make ur stand and say u WANT to keep it private lo. If she laughs at u or gossip about u with other colleagues, so be it. Just say u pantang or u not comfortable.

Chaye
based on wat i told kitsune about my MIL, u think she got share with me her winnings? Hahaha...dan gu gu lo..and pls hor, i dont find it cute, i find it obtrusive leh. She's always poking her nose around asking for numbers on EVERY occasion. Sometimes i find it irritating.

Came back from my 38 week scan, nope bb still not engaged, legs not swollen, heart beat still strong. So its another week of waiting unless like my doctor says the water bag burst its another story, else its till the next week.

Kitsune,

Yup, I will be starting my ML next Monday onwards. My Edd is 27 Jan.. but I am taking early coz 1) I wanna rest and 2) one of my colleagues got chicken pox and she is coming back next Monday. I cannot be in contact with her or else it is very dangerous to the baby if i kenna chicken pox at this point in time.

sassy,
happy for you that your gal is growing well..

Hi Mylife &amp; Kitsune,

I also share the sickening thoughts of relatives asking for numbers of my baby's weight, length etc.

In fact, before my bb boy ia born, one of my aunt keep reminding my mum to take down the numbers for her esp the head circumference for her to buy toto. Idiot! On the day of my bb boy birth, my mum came to ask me for the numbers. I was so pissed, cos the after effects of the epidural sets in and I was having fever also...all the relatives care only to call and ask for numbers and not ask for our condition and send good wishes. I told my mum to find out on her own and stop pestering me.

Will try to avoid giving the BC no to them also.

sassy

you ordered 60 for how many pax?

Congrats to all mummies who had popped this week, lost count on who there are... Big Congrats and welcome to motherhood!!

For those who are still waiting, enjoy the time now. I kind of missed my baby inside my womb, missing his kicks and movements.

<font color="aa00aa">ya man. i also share the same thoughts as verene. hate those people. only concern with numbers/4d etc etc. urgh....

sassy,
ya, 60 is for how many pax? any idea if they can pack separately, eg. 2 in a box (so that I can give away as gifts)??</font>

I just came back from gynae's office. There for 2 hours. Cos do CTg, then waited for gynae Eunice Chua, stand in for my gynae, who is on urgent leave. I waited so long cos she delivered 2 babies in between. Anyway everything ok, just tat I can hardly walk, cos of my half split this morning lor. I think tmrw worse. Sigh... Blame tat idiot who let the puddle at the management office!

I am so glad that I finally made it home. I think I am finally having some signs today.

First, "my" show started with some small blood discharge (not a lot) and followed by brownish discharge. For the whole morning, I was too busy at work (yes, on my due date) and stressed to care about the cramps. Went to my gynae and did a CTG. Later on, found out that my cramps are actually contractions, but not frequent enough. My gynae found that my baby's head is really low and my dilation has increased to 1.5cm. She helped me stretched it a little more and told me that she won't be surprised that I will deliver anytime.

Anyway, I will go back to see her again on Thur morning. If still not dilated enough and still no sign by thur mid-night, I will check in, get dilated, and my gynae will break my waterbag on Fri.

But after my checkup, my cramps have become stronger and more often. In fact, I am losing count here. *LOL* Feel very "crampy" now and also as if my baby is like squeezing me like that =S

I have been trying to pump out. After pumping 20 mins on both side, i can only collect 1oz. Breast has engorged, so painful. Try to massage with hot towel before pumping out, it doesnt help on the milk flow. Very depressed. So painful like carrying two big stone.

Pooh25,
As you pump, your hand must massage breast, especially lumpy areas. must make sure they move towards nipple direction.

Alterntively, squeeze nipples first to let some milk flow out before you use the pump. Squeezing the milk out helps to relieve the engorgement

pooh25

What pump u using ? manual or electric? Sounds like u have very bad engorgement since u say two big stones...mine felt like "ROCK" so painful can cry when massage &amp; will result in fever if don't counter-act fast. Get lactation consultant help or try cold cabbage treatment, most importantly MUST massage very hard on the lumpy thingy (use hot towel compress) &amp; clear blocked ducts, u shld have gd supply but now the breast is engorged, that's why so painful. I am facing this problem too...so try pump out supply as often as 2 to 3hourly, even at night ! JIA YOU.

Hey Steph, you have a lot of EBM leh...I so far have not expressed out yet. Just purely based on latching on. THat time when I tried to express out, very little only leh...at best 50ml from both breasts...

Since then have not tried expressing out. Thinking of trying out for the night time.

Verene - seems like our babies quite similar situation. So you have to sunbathe your baby too I guess?

Btw, any of you have your MIL staying with you for confinement. I'm quite irritated by her insensitivity at times. When i started bf, I closed door. That time she still never come in. Then later I didnt close door fully, then slowly slow, she keep coming in to ask whether finish or not yet. HAiz! SO i decided to close door again. But just now, she actually knocked and opened to ask if done yet. GOsh...wat's her problem man...So now I tell hubby I will lock the door. But wonder if it's too obvious....THe main thing is, I don't like the fact that she keep asking if i'm done yet. Baby sometimes take time to finish sucking, guess she don't understand.

Pooh25,
You just delivered on the 12th. Milk wouldn't come in so fast. Can your baby latch on? Takes time for milk supply to increase. Don't worry, babies don't drink so much yet. They can last for 3 days without milk from time of delivery)

<font color="0077aa">violetIce,
yes, pls send the buffet caterers list to my email : [email protected]
thanks much

Btw, how many weeks is yr boy now? How much is he drinking? EBM or FM or partial ? Do u still latch him or solely bottle feed ?

This afternoon, Zander is so cranky &amp; crying for more milk and since i am preparing to pump out EBM, i try to latch him on....Bingo, he didn't resist, can suckle well. But if latching, i can't gauge how much he is drinking wor. How do u ladies measure how much baby is taking &amp; whether enuff ?

hammies,

Thanks so much! I am counting my contractions now. =S Waiting for my hb to be back home... wish me luck ya. =)

steph..u mean every 2-3hly u get 200ml ebm? that's super!!!

Ah Capp, the time is finally here!!! Leave ur work la...time to take ur mind off..

Fern n icy, I showered wuf hot water...keke...
U cam wait discharge go hm shower if u can stand it. Erm...no matter how much blood...if natural delivery, the nurse will get u try to pee after few hrs, either bed pan or toilet n they will b there to see u do it n teach u wash ur wound. Talk abt diginity!

Hammies, Now I dun care abt who c I bf. I bf in front of CL too coz she helps me wif it. MIL wanna bother I also dun care...I am proud I can bf my kid rather than someone know how to see n talk but dun even wanna dirty her hands to change diapers where possible though I live wif her.

Mylife, congrats on better CL. Do u let her rest in day? Mine does to help me wif bf at night.

Sassy, y dr ask u suppl fm?

steph
so far i've been doing TBF ie latching on only. Despite pumping miserable amount, i think bb's sucking is more powerful so i have enuff for her. Initially i also worry cos cnanot gauge the amount she takes in, but the general rule is after feeding, bb seems satisfied and poo/pee 6-8 times a day...shud be ok. TBF is tiring cos with no pumping, gotta wake up and latch and latch and latch on feed-on-demand rule.

ahcapp!!
YOUR time is here liao!! JIAYOU!! Have a smooth delivery!!

babe
i got ask her to go and rest during day, but she scutter around still...pity her also cos i TBF, night time bb wakes up 2 hourly sometimes 1.5 hour and she's up too.

hammies
when i was in hospital, i also pissed off with my MIL. When nurses pushed bb in for bf, she also hang around with my mom. I dont mind my mom cos helloo, that's my mom who gave birth to me ma...she thinks she also got a pair of breast can sit around and watch me BF? Then i buay tahan and told my mom to tell her to step out whenever i bf..my mom nicely told her i am shy so shoo her out.

mylife, me too...i mean my lochia seems to be gone and suddenly got light bleeding again these two days...ask my clinic doctor and she says should be ok as long as no fever, pus or pain....

babe, is your baby having jaundice...that time the nurse in hospital says the doctor can prescribe medication for the yellow sticky stuff for eyes

pooh25
ur breast engorged means u got milk flow! Massage, massage, massage! The massaging is VERY painful, but if u dont act fast, it can be more engorged! Once u get it flowing, ho sey liao...unlike mine

Hammies
your ss is similar to mine. I do pure latch on, as long as bb seems satisfied and poo/pee 6-8 times daily, i'm glad liao. Whenever i tried to pump also same like u 40-50ml now from both breasts.

sigh...talk about jaundice, i think my rylee still does cos pressing her skin got yellow colour one. These past few days, only managed to sun her in the morning cos evening always rain, no sun!

eRnMum
mine accompanied by pain leh. Very very intense pain whenever i bf.

qq, something wrong with pm leh.. didnt receive your number. can email me @ [email protected]. thanks!

AhCapp, wow u still go to work today ah? i very lame one.. take mc, pretend sick &amp; hide at home for 3 days liao... haha... :p i guess most likely ur bb will be born tmr leh.. which means we might see each other @ MT A wor cos i will be going for induce tmr! all the best ya!

mon2nat, ur half split sounds quite serious wor... take care, rest well &amp; recover soon!

Ahcapp,
All the best to you...

Steph,
Satisfied bb = full liao.

Mylife,
Agree with you that must latch and lathc and latch. On bad days, it's hourly interval. Baby cry die, die muz wake up to feed.

hammies, mylife,
my #1, when i bf at hosp. my MIL n SIL also come in n SEE lor.. damn pissed. kept on asking me finish liao a not.. gt milk meh? bb hungry liao .. few times till i pek chek. as nurse say each breast let bb suck abt 10 min mah. den like to keep on timing for me, say time up. This time round, im going to tell my hb noone come in when i bfing.

superbee ok i sent to ur email liao ....

violetice hmmmm true oso but i think some might be sian will go leh cos i intend to do it at my plc multi purpose hall wor

mylife

I never order cakes leh... only buffet, ang ku kuehs and red eggs.
Talk abt jaundice... Danelle's latest janundice level is at 237 up from previous 209. PD mentioned tat it was alrite wor, dun need to rent the photolight machine.

red rose/mei

60 akk for abt 40 pax. Didn't expect tat it will be such a popular item for both younger crowd...

babe

Cos PD wants her to put more weight and prep for the BCG jab. Danelle also had the yellow sticky stuff when she was born. Hrd from PD tat it was due to tear duct blocked. Applied Fucithalmic (Fusidic Acid), kind of eye gel but turns watery when in contact to the eye.

hammies, mylife and Yunbb,
eek.. makes me worry what my mil and sil will do.. Must be real straight forward with them liaos.

mylife,
I think some cake shop required 7 days in advance. Can just call and check.

hi hammies03 &amp; Sassy,

I sunbathe my bb also bcos of janudice. At the point of discharge, his jaundice level is 177. he was awarded at a level of 286. tomolo will be going to PD for follow up. hopefully his level wont go up. but i notice his eyes still abit yellowish. i worried leh...

how long do u sunbath ur bb?

icy,
ya lor.. she nv ask can come in a not. just peep over e curtain n come in lor see .. even my mum also nv come in see wor onli when i call her.

<font color="0000ff">kitsune,
ya, will lah... don't worry.. they fatten up v fast de....

itok,
Your boy will fatten up too... usually boys grow faster than gals and bigger too.. my gf's boy was ard 2.9kg when scan on 37wk+ den when she gave birth at 38wk+, her boy was 3.6kg+!!! can u imagine that???</font>

<font color="aa00aa">mylife,
wa, i would say u bring her LUCK lor... she can strike 4D, toto thru u... she should treat u nice mah... aiyah, s'poreans all like dat one lah... gambling on 4D/toto is like a hobby for all these middle age or old folks... my MIL, parents oso like dat.... i don't really mind lah, so long as they are happy can liao... if ur child can bring luck to them, not bad oso mah... den they will tink they have a lucky grandchild and dote on her more.. heehee</font>

<font color="ff0000">Ahcapp/Superbee -- JIA YOU!!! JIA YOU!!!</font>

AhCapp,
You should be delivering tommorrow? Wish you smooth and fsat delivery!

Congrats to all mummies who have pop these 2 days!

Verene,
I sunbathe my girl for 15 mins each time then rest for 10 mins and continue for about an hour in total.