(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

My EDD is 08 Feb 08 and I'll be delivering in TMC.

I have been reading through this thread and like quite a few mummies here, would like to TBF. I read in a book that it is best to nurse your bb within 2 hours of delivery. Can I check if any mummies had done it before at TMC? At what point is it appropriate for us to let the nurse know that? and also do you remind the nurse not to bottle feed water/FM? So they will bring the bb to you whenever she fuses for milk?

Sorry for the many questions, but I am really keen to be able to TBF via direct latch on so hoping that those who have gone through it can share/advise.

Engorgement: I use a milk bottle to contain very warm water & roll on the lumps while latching or expressing to remove the clots. got to use a bit of force to press hard on the lumps. find that it works better than self massage.

precious moments: After delivery nurse will carry bb to yr chest, jus let them know u wanna latch. but many times, after delivery, most mums will b too weak, dizzy or nausea. If unfit condition, best to rest & nurse when feeling better. They push bb to yr room after yr rest.

Do let them know immediately after birth: Total Breast Feed, Partial Breast Feed or Formuale. Hv to remind them not to feed glucose, water . formuale. Cos if u don insist they will feed. they will push bb to u when bb fuss & push bac to nursery when u;re done.

mylife
like what the others said, dun worry so much about milk ss lah. just take the fenugreek whenever u feel like lor. no such thing as too late i think! anyway to the only way to increase milk ss is to pump often and make sure the breasts are emptied. this way, your body will tell your brain to make more! this is really true.. i used to pump every 3 hrs for my #1, and in no time, my ss outstripped his dd! in the end i had so much milk i end up donating ;) and mind u, i dont have big boobs ok? i only A cup only hee hee. so take heart n dun give up! just hv to be more hardworking these early days... sure can one!

steph
i think u need to pump more often to reduce the engorgemt. also, u might need to do some hand expression to relieve the engorgemt b4 u use the pump. hand expression is much more effective than the pump, but it is tiring n tedious lah. the lactation consultant here helped me when i was having engorgemt too, n that's wat she did. i find its very effecctive and within 2 days it subsided! make sure u hvnt got any blocked ducts either. your nipple, aereola area shd still be soft when u squeeze it. if it hard, means u gotta clear the milk ducts there 1st otherwise its like "traffic jam"!

i have been touching water like crazy! wash bottle, after visit toilet, after change bb's nappy, bathe bb... i think use warm water is ok lah. and just make sure dry your hands after taht lor!

hi!

re: cathering of food for bb full mth..

godsent: thks on ur reply.. but Neo garden not halal.

anybody heard of Glory cathering? is e food nice?

Sassy,
It's normal for latex teats to change colour. As long as when you squeeze the teats and it still feels like new, not super soft. Then it's ok.

Even Avent teats will become less transparent when you place it inside the steriliser after a while.

think someone asked about where to get fenugreek off the shelves in singapore. I missed the replies to it. Can someone tell me?

GNC...

Mylife, seriously U remind me of myself during 1st preggy. Worry this and that and esp milk supply til my hb thinks I paranoid and tell me have feed dun haf can feed fm coz I keep pumping and dun wan to rest and was crying alot. Looking at what u write, I think ur supply is good. Mine now only 30ml if no feed for 1 breast and ur bb is satisfied so good and u got backup another breast for her somemore. Mine now is a baracuda!Kept trying to pull off my nipple! Yes breasts feel heated like super abraded. I dun care now, juz put nipple cream and dun even bother to clean off when feeding him. haha...

Steph, think u pump too infrequently liao. supply will drop very fast like that.

Hb massage breasts is good coz it's easier and they got more strength to break up the lumps. Ask for mrs wong or any nurse to show u while as hospital and get hb to understudy, that's the easiest.

Michelle, i also touch water and it's tap water. How can go toilet dun wash hands right and we gotta wash our wound below too! heheee...

<font color="aa00aa">hi!! hee...someone looking for me during wkend? hee...i din login and nope, i haven pop yet...got to read back old posts to see who pop liao then update my pop chart...be back!</font>

Lynn lately I have order Glory for my co. event my coaches say so so only leh ... but i ate b4 not bad .... but neo graden is the best wor

<font color="ff0000">POP LIST! Rocked into our worlds in Jan-08!</font>
<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>DOB</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>BB#</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB Name</TD><TD>BB Wt</TD><TD>Delivery Type </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Chan Chin Chin</TD><TD>31-Dec-07</TD><TD>01-Jan-08</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.92kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>mum (aug_22sg)</TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD>01-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.6kg</TD><TD>C-sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>babyling (cynling)</TD><TD>20-Jan-08</TD><TD>02-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Valerie</TD><TD></TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>LynnChong</TD><TD>15-Jan-08</TD><TD>03-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Henry Cheng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Rayden</TD><TD>2.94kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>mylife (Fennie)</TD><TD>17-Jan-08</TD><TD>03-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Chua Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Rylee</TD><TD>3.3kg</TD><TD>C-sect with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Luvv</TD><TD>23-Jan-08</TD><TD>04-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. HY Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.15kg</TD><TD>C-sect with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>babe (Joan)</TD><TD>11-Jan-08</TD><TD>06-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Abel</TD><TD>3.19kg</TD><TD>Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>hammies03</TD><TD>10-Jan-08</TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. YC Goh</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Kendrick</TD><TD>3.55kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Steph77</TD><TD>23-Jan-08</TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Zander</TD><TD>2.53kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>shannonbaby</TD><TD>27-Jan-08</TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Shayne</TD><TD>2.9kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>rachael (jsmommy)</TD><TD></TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>2.84kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>red.rose</TD><TD>13-Jan-08</TD><TD>08-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.52kg</TD><TD>C-sect with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Yvonne Lim (ylim)</TD><TD>20-Jan-08</TD><TD>09-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Brien</TD><TD>3.63kg</TD><TD>C-sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>verene</TD><TD>21-Jan-08</TD><TD>09-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Kowa</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Javier</TD><TD>2.76kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>wendyg</TD><TD>04-Jan-08</TD><TD>11-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Tobey</TD><TD>4.5kg</TD><TD>C-sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Mrs Piggy (Evonne)</TD><TD>24-Jan-08</TD><TD>12-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Levin</TD><TD>3.73kg</TD><TD>C-sect with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>fishia (Joy)</TD><TD>24-Jan-08</TD><TD>12-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Lee Keen Whye</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Jude</TD><TD>3.4kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi</td></tr></table> Mars vs Venus: 12 Boys | 5 Girls

<font color="ff0000">Jan-08 MTB due this week!</font> <font color="0000ff">including me!!</font>
<table border=1><tr><td>NICK</TD><TD>EDD (2008)</TD><TD>GYNAE</TD><TD>HOSPITAL</TD><TD>Child #</TD><TD>Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>nexyanne (nexyanne)</TD><TD>14-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>AhCapp (ahcapp)</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Tracey Lim</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>mist28 (mist28)</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Superbee (Debbie)</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Quek Wei Lin</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lee Keen Whye</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yunbb (jaredmami)</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>MomMe (mommy2be)</TD><TD>19-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>babyling</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>icy (Eileen Lee)</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. SC Yeoh</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei (lu_meihua)</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pooh25 (pooh25)</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>prata_queen</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>QQ (qqing)</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Mei
You dun put those giving birth this week. Cos those over due are gone like me and Val. I think it is best to show ALL MTB in our jan thread, we can have an over view. Thanks.

Steph,
I agree with Babe and another gal. You need to express as often as baby demand. At this juncture, it is not advisable to express at interval of 5 hours.Besides , milk supply wouldn't stablised till 6 weeks or so. By leaving such a huge gap, it is like telling your body you don't need so much milk.

In a few weeks' time, when baby demands more milk like 90 ml per feed or 4 hourly. You will find that your body is unable to supply that much.

When I was doing total EBM, I expressed at 3 hourly interval. Then, increase to 4 hourly interval. However, my last expression is 11 pm and I would go to sleep. Next morning,wake up at 6 am to express. All in, 7 expressions a day.

<font color="aa00aa">QQ, u got details for prata_queen? think i din capture that.

mom2nat, hmm...or shall i dun put the EDD list? haha...cos' hor, think my list a bit luan now. haha.....think maybe i shld only put POP lIST to avoid confusion. haha...</font>

blackbatz...much better....at least feed n sleep 1-2h then feed again..but think i had too many visitors yesterday, never rest whole afternoon, n too much wind so headache...din know wind like direct fan overhead so power...nearly chill..

I just bought pjymas.. those button down kind... some 100 pecent cotton band fom OG.. Knee length and shot sleeved.... vey comfy.. and easy fo beast feeding too... Yepp.... now awaiting fo bb aivval.. edd: 24 Jan... all excited yet scaed lo... And also e confinment my mum aleady pepaed me...no bathing and blowing fan o ai con... just need wash up all with hebs and boiled wate only including washing eveypat of my body.. haz.. lei chei but must listen lo... since i got confinment lady... she can help pepae those things lo... she and my mum says the smae thing... faint lah! head many pple say cant touch unboiled wate and need keep legs wam by weaing bed oom silppe too lo.. and also sian lah.. hope i can tahan not blowing aicon and fan lo.. and hoping that my confinment peiod will not be that hot lah! As eally fea hea yet confinment so many estictions and need listen to old pple fo own gd.. haz.. the tot of it quite sian but i simply look fowad to nice and yummy confinment food men!!! hahaha

Day 16 after delivery... just wanna rant...

sigh... confinement is never fun. tho I have CL to help out but still whenever bb cries, u will naturally wake up and chk on him. Hb on the other hand can continue sleeping !

I'm tired of the confinement food le. Pork, fish, veg everyday ! so boring tho my CL is rather creative on her dishes but still boring boring boring !

Food must always eat while it's piping hot ! Results ? change of clothes cos I perspire like mad ! body wet hair wet... !

Sit too long in front of PC or TV, my CL will say go hv some rest dun sit too long cos if next time will hv backache... must rest more. so the rest of the time is spent lying on bed staring into space ? Boring !

Anybody here enjoy confinement ? I dun care le ! later I'm definitely gg out for a walk alone ! If not I will really go crazy cooked up at home !

Chaye,

Same here. My mum will insist that I eat my piping hot food immediately. She complains that I used the PC too often, will have backache next time. Must lie flat on the bed. I have ran out of things to read. Finished all my magazines liao. Luckily, she allows me to bathe with herbs everyday but can only wash hair every 3 to 4 days.

The other thing is online shopping..but how much can I shop?? Sassy can go out and buy new clothes liao.

I have delivered on 11 Jan 2008 at 1242. Baby Tricia weighs 2825g and is 48cm long at birth. Thanks for all your well wishes.

My birth story:-
4.40am: Waterbag burst. Just when I felt the gush of water coming out, I stood up and the fluid flowed onto the floor. Thankfully my bed didn't kenna
Went to the toilet and noticed tinges of blood in the fluid. I panicked (cos i thought its supposed to be clear yellow) and called gynae. Gynae said to admit to hospital immediately. The tinges of red is probably show. Silly me!

6.30am: Admitted to Eastshore Hospital. No contractions at all and so sat beside hubby at the admission counter while the paperwork was being done. Counter nurse kept asking if I wanted to go to the labor ward first but I told her no pain so I will wait for hubby to go with me after paperwork is completed.

After paperwork was completed, they wheeled me to labor ward in a wheelchair although I was capable of walking cos no contractions yet. Feels strange to be in the wheelchair.

Wheeled to 2rd floor where the labor wards are. Changed into hospital gown with opening at the back. VE was done - 1 cm dilated only (same as previous dilation during last checkup at clinic).

Enema was administered and I had the urge to poo almost immediately. (On hindsight, I should have tried to hold the enema inside longer so that more poo can be expelled cos half and hour later, after I was put on the drip and thus immobile, I had the urge to poo again - thus had to use bedpan).

Strep B antibiotics (augmentin) was administered. Had urge to poo so bedpan was brought to me. So embarassing to have to poo while lying down on cold metal bedpan. I'll never forget this experience.

9am: Dr Heng came to make her rounds. She did a VE - still 1cm dilated. Said she will give me up to 7.45pm to try for natural birth, else she will perform c-section at 7.45pm (before 8pm) to avoid surcharge.

She commented that the needle used for the drip was too small and asked me to point my hand downwards so flow is faster when aided by gravity. Once the antibiotics drip was empty, she put me on oxytoxin to start contractions. Within half an hour, I started to feel the REAL LABOR PAIN.

Once the contractions started, the contractions were at 2 min interval – fast and furious and intense. I started screaming each time I felt the contractions.

10.30am: Less than 10 contractions later, I gave in and asked for epidural. Epidural administered and wihin 15 min, the lower half of my body was numb.
Waiting game started – peace and quiet in the labor ward resumed. Midwives and nurses left the room; hubby started relaxing now that I wasn’t screaming in pain.

12pm: Had urges to poo and asked for bedpan. Midwife said it could be a sign of labor – baby’s head may be coming out, thus the poo-ing sensation. She did a VE (this time it was painless cos my lower half was numb). To her surprise (and my surprise), I was 10cm dilated already. She quickly told the other midwife/nurse, and they all started opening the sealed bags of hospital gowns, wore their gloves, arranged the instruments to prepare for delivery. I was stunned but very happy to hear that baby was coming as I lay down.and watched all the activity going on. I reminded them to inform Dr Heng asap!

12.15pm: Dr Heng came to do her lunch time rounds. Did a VE for me and confirmed that I was 10cm dilated. “Okay, get ready to push”, she said. She was quite “chop chop”. She put her bag down, put on her disposable gown, lowered the chair and positioned herself in front of my legs! After a few unsuccessful and half-hearted pushes, this particular midwife told me: “If you don’t push, baby’s head will remain high up there. If you push as if you are going to pass motion, baby will travel down the birth canal. We can already see baby’s head so you need to push hard once you feel the contractions come”. I forgot to add that they lowered the dosage of epidural so that I can feel some slight pain so that I know when to push.

12.42pm, After 1 hard long push, baby Tricia was born

Ya blackbatz must lie flat flat on bed ! sometimes I put my laptop on bed to read forum but so difficult to type also. Rather sit down do it properly.

I bathe everday wif herbs and wash my hair 3-4 days also leh. But after every bathe I start to perspire le.. like no bath at all

mei
I think you should put the Popped list and oso the MTB list. So we all can see how popped, who still ard. Or else I have to go back dunno how many days ago posts to check who are the ones still left ard. Hee... you always busy doing "inventory" updates.

qq

I love the nasi padang from glory and the sambal terasi. Simply yummy!!!

mei

you should still include mommies tat have popped during Dec in your list cos we are all "supposingly" to be the Jan MTBs. Thanks.

Mei
Tat day I came across the Dec 07 thread. The person who post the pop list and MTB list v organised... heee.. can get some tips there.

sassy
Still here lah... I so tempted to go cut hair leh. But scared waterbag burst! I can't imagine my pants wet in the middle of Orchard rd! Hahaha....
Your confinement over liao soon right

i give birth my twin on 4th january, boy 2.2kg (Savion)and girl(sylvia)2.035kg.at NUH, c sect with spinal injection.

heehee ... Dr Heng always use low on Epi kekek No pain No gain is the word she always use hahahaha

sassy nice hor ... i think i ate b4 their laksa oso nice

mom2nat

ai yo yo... you still wanna go orchard rd to cut hair??? better stay at home to play the waiting game la. my confinement should be over "officially" last sat when my girl celebrated her full month.

qq

I missed the food there... think i will visit glory during this weekend. its near your office too ya...

congrats baby26!!!

oh forgot to update... I bought the poh cheu ang ku kuehs on sat for my girl's full month and everybody commented yummy and delicious. Pls call to order first if not gotta be like me, queued for almost 30 mins. They have alot of flavours green bean, salty bean, peanut, coconut, durian, mango, green tea, yam and red bean. I ordered everything cos the color of the skins are all different. When placed together, they all looked like rainbow color palate.
1197017.jpg
1197018.jpg

icy

they dun only look nice, the taste is divine too. they are located at blk 127 bukit merah lane 1 #01-230 Tel: 6276 2287 and costs 50cents each.

Sassy,
Taste and look good then very worth it. Quite a distance from my place. They dun offer delivery hor. :p But if can call and collect then not so bad.

hi sassy,

thanks for sharing the info on the ang ku kuehs- looks so yummy!!

also, wanna thank you for the caterer's menu emailed to me- did you order from them for full month too?

itok,

The caterer contact which I emailed you is my usual one. Had been using them on many occasions liao. But the food portion last sat was just enough, maybe becos of the recent price hike for food...

sassy !
the ang ku kueh really look yummy ! can we eat during our confinement ? so envy you full mth soon le.. I'm only 2 weeks into the torturous confinement

chaye,

At least you 2 weeks more.. me? still waiting to deliver- CNY sure doing confinement. the thought of it makes me so sad man.

yeah, i envy you too sassy