(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

hi Steph *big wave*

Welcome home! =) So happy for u. Jia You and don't give up on BF ya. Think I will need support from friends like u too when it's my turn. ;)

Hiya mylife,

Your darling so cute! =) Show my hb your darling's pic and he said she is cute too. ;)

Sorry to know that u r feeling down. Must hang in there and r'ber we are always here if u need to rant about anything. About your CL, do u want to call up your agency to 'test water' first to see if they have any CL available for u to change? No harm trying.

hihi, mummies.

Back from my gynae check up but not very good today.

First of all, had to wait about 1 hour 15 mins before my turn. Only left KK at 8pm. Tapow from Macdonalds cos too tired to eat there liao. :p

Second, gynae said I got mild strep B infection so must take 1 week worth of antibiotics to clear it. During delivery, also need to be put on antibiotic drip.

Thirdly, BB is only 2.48kg based on today's scan. But she said it's not that BB shrunk but because there is 20-30% error in estimation, that's why she doesn't usually scan every week. I guess so lor, but still very sian cos I was hoping BB would have gained weight. :/

Anyway, asked gynae and she said BB has not moved down and head still not engaged, so I'm not likely to be early. Sigh, now wondering if I would be late and whether I should be wasting my leave if I start taking leave from 28 Jan. Will have to wait for next week's appt to be sure. :p

Mei, were you at TPS today? I saw someone who looks like you but not very sure cos I only saw you for a short while during the second gatehering. I looked closely at you but you don't seem to recognise me so I paiseh to call you. But when I came back and double check QQ's blog, looks like you leh.

Mylife, your BB gal really looks cute.
Sorry to hear about your CL, ya observe for another few days. Maybe you can hint to her and see if she improves. If still no good, then change lar.

Hi Fern,

Cervix check is ok. First time for u tmrw? My gynae is really gentle but I still feel a bit sore after the check. Otherwise, it's still bearable. =) Don't worry ya.

I will be going for my checkup this Fri. I will be 39.5 weeks approx liao. =) How time flies when we first met each other at TMC!? ;)

Hi kitsune,

I did read that towards the end of the pregnancy, the estimation of the baby's weight will not be accurate. This is due to various reasons like space constraint and difficulty in taking measurements. So don't worry ya. =)

Still have lots of time for your baby to engage lah. Give your baby some time ya. ;)

mylife

Re:Breastfeeding
Don't worry too much about milk supply. How many days since the birth of your baby? I think for me, it's the same. Initial supple also about 25ml only. After a week or so then it gets more. I also drank papaya with fish soup to assist in producing more milk. Usually morning can produces the most milk so you can pump out if you want. Morning, I can pump about 150ml but by noon will be lesser, around 100ml or lesser..

Ah Capp, thanks.
Yup, gynae did say that it's harder to scan now. Plus today BB not cooperative again, never turn to her side so tummy area got shadow, can't measure waist circumference well.

Ya, got to wait for her to move down at her own time. Guess I'm just feeling sian seeing the 4 packs of antibiotics that I need to finish. And the fact that I may have to work for another 3 weeks. :p

kitsune .... dun sian ..... must eat ok for ur good and bb good ...

mylife Hugzzzzz if u need someone to talk can call any of us ..... if u have our number .... if ryan fly back we are still ard with u
Jia you .... dun cry too much ... think of ur princess u will stay strong!

Thanks, QQ.
Actually, I ate a lot of good food recently leh, took chicken soup, pork rib soup, bird nest, drank milk, milo & horlicks etc. Last weekend, ate Carl Junior & Ah Lam seafood. But she also never got any bigger and I gained 0.6kg instead. :p

pai sei, i got confused between mylife and sassy.

blackbatz - haha, I hope baby gal will be much taller than me but shorter than papa :p

kitsune - dun worry too much abt the strep B infection. My rpt stated "Heavy growth"... yous is only mild. Impt thing is to finish your course of antibiotics.

wendy
actually i'm not the sort who would like to do everything leh...particularly during confinement time..i know i have to rest in order to produce more milk yet, with the useless CL, i cant!!! I'm in a bo pian situation then have to do, if i can have it my way, i'd like her to be more proactive and take care of baby at least for this 1st month so i can rest

blackbatz
after ur boy empty one of your breast, do u pump the other breast or u jus leave it be and let him latch at the next feed??

violetice
Today is Day7 for my baby liao. My mom got prep fish papaya soup for me too, she got the recipe from the TMC nurse. Wah...you can get 150ml from ONE breast in the morning? When is this? Jus a week after delivery??? For me i also morning produce the most milk, but even at my most highest production in the morning, i only get 30ml COMBINED from both breast. my fren say dats cos we produce most milk after sleep. Which explains why she also encourage me to sleep and rest more..but with this type of CL, how to rest? Vicious cycle lo!

Thanks QQ

Like jus now, even my hubby cannot stand my CL and actually raised his voice at her. My hubby is the sort of veyr good temperament one...for him to raise voice, dat means that person quite jialat liao. Hah. Case in point, jus now was time for CL to wash and wipe Rylee's face and change to her PJs. Hubby walked past and reminded CL to check Rylee's diapers. She said ok. But proceeded to wipe and clean up Rylee. Then hubby again asked, got pee or poo? Cos we're recording her peeing pattern ma. She said i dont know yet, havent check, later i check. Reminded of our previous incident on the diaper checking issue, i went up and check. Rylee was squirming and crying very loudly by now. True enuff, her diaper is all soiled by lots of poo and got pee also. How hard is it to check on diaper? Some more the Pampers Newborn diaper got indicative line. I got very angry. AGain, she defended herself say diff people do things diff way. She ALWAYS clean face first, she tot that's ok! I asked her, if u had poo yourself and your pants full of poo, would u still wake up and go brush teeth wash your face first with the poo in your pants? Comfy or not? She jus smiled and say ok la, ok la, i do it YOUR way next time..i was like..Auntie, this is not MY way lo..it's common sense wat...pls tell me i'm not going crazy...am i being fussy???

No one used the confinement nanny services from TMC Parentcraft before ah? Quite tempted cos supposedly trained by TMC.

mylife
You think I'm cow ar? Haha! 150ml from both breasts lah though my CL said she once worked for a lady who can pump 300ml from both breasts. Wah, like milking cow lor..

Mylife,
I just leave it. Didn't pump. Let him latch on at the next feed. I also wake up in the middle of the night to breastfeed my boy. Was sharing with Sassy that I woke up at 3 am, 4 am, 5 am and 6 am to feed him. Then he fell asleep at 7 am. That really killed me!!

The reason why you feel so tired is because you spend time pumping and is afraid that BB is not getting enough. Must relax. Even papaya soup also takes time to improve supply

I really feel that you should call TMC lactation consultant tomorrow to make sure you are on the right track.

mylife, your CL sounds quite brainless
I wouldn't be able to tahan if I were u. How many more wks to go?

I will also be engaging CL - hope she doesn't give me any of such nonsense. I can already imagine the conflicts / arguments / unhapiness if she doesn't do things my way.

For minor things I can give way, for impt matters like regarding baby's health and hygiene, I will flare up surely.

violetice
at which day u started having 150ml from both breast? since u're pumpg, can i chk how do u feed baby ur EBM? With bottle or recommended plastic spoon ah? If u're feedg with bottle, how soon did u start? Mrs Wong told me to avoid giving bottle to baby before they turn 1mth...thus I feel so guilty giving her the bottle cos everyone says she can get confused the bottle teats and my nipples.

mylife, does your Rylee have diaper rash? I heard some mothers from the Dec thread say that they wash baby's backside under a running tap (warm water).

But I was thinking, what if baby catches a cold.

Poo - eg 6 times a day => put under running water 6 times a day => catch a cold easily?

Sounds cleaner than using wet wipes which can be used when we are outside the house with baby.

prataqueen
actually hor...rylee's butt a bit on the red side liao..but i also not sure if it's classified as diaper rash liao..i apply desitin on her each time i change her diaper. My mom said starting to get rash liao.

Blackbatz
tom me going for Rylee's follow up checkup with PD at TMC. Will definitely make a trip down to Parentcraft to clarify my BF pattern to confirm if i'm on the right track. Are the lactation consultant based there in case i cant get hold of Mrs Wong?

kitsune,

I also feeling very sian at work too, especially when I have soo much to do. Like no end. But well, we just have to tahan a bit more =)

Going for my checkup this Fri. After that, will go buy some makeup to pamper myself. My mum said I have turned darker since I am pregnant! *LOL* N I don't even work under sun ok. ;P

prata queen
wash with warm water, keep toilet door closed in case windy, dry bb's butt immed - eg wrap with another towel.
washing bb's butt no need to strip her naked ma. Keep bb's chest warm. Shld be fine la.

mylife
tks for the info.
For my #1, when i had sore & cracked nipples, husband tried spoon feed but took VERY LONG eg 30min for 30ml... so for night feeds we resorted to using bottle. When my nipples dun hurt so much after few days or a week, i latched on again. Thankfully he didn't reject.

what time will u b @ TMC for bb checkup? I'll be there in the morning.. ACJ clinic. My appt 10.30am but likely i'll be there early to wait. Just look for the woman with the largest stomach.. that'll be me.

mylife,

It definately is tiring to go thru so much and yet with so little help from your CL. =( Still try to rest more ok. Everyone told me to lay on the bed as much as possible during my confinement. Or else with too little rest, our bodies won't recover properly.

I also showed my mother your darling's pic just now. The first comment is "wow, so ching ling" (ching ling = bright n alert) ^_^

wendy, if that is the case, I will just use warm tap water whenever washing baby at home. Cleaner + cheaper (save on wet wipes).

By the way, do we need to use soap on baby's backside when washing away the poo? If so, what brand is good? Thanks!

Mylife,
I'm sure you can always go bk to ur ward and approach nurses or nursing mgr for help. Take care, dun worry too much...Itx BF time now..

ahcapp
if it's c-sect, then hv to try to walk around the house as much as possible. It'll be v tempting just to lie in bed to rest, but the more walking, the faster the recovery.

prata queen
actually i dun do that ley... i use wipes
but from what my fren did the other time, she only used warm water, din use soap. Are u having CL? Let the CL do it, since we're not supposed to touch water during confinement time

wendy, yes I will be having CL. Will let her do most of the work except breastfeeding baby.

But also have to see if she is competent or the blur/lazy sort. If no good, have to everything ownself do.

Actually I tink I will sack her and order from natal essentials if I assess the situation and think I can handle it myself.

Regarding using ONLY water and no need soap, baby's poo for 1st 6 mths when on onli milk shouldn't be dirty like adult's poo. So it does make sense that soap is not necessary.

Washing bb's butt
Last time I will take a small basin of warm water, use those big roll of cotton wool, cut them up, then take piece by piece put into water, to clean bb's butt. So it is like taking v wet cotton wool, swipe the butt, then take another piece... like a gentle wash. But of cos end up the diaper can be v wet lah. heee...

mylife,

wah lau... ur CL really jia lat leh. reminds me of my maid, the SUPER "gei kiang" one. like to do things their way but in a very stupid manner. pls call the agancy to request for change if you cant tahan her anymore. why put yourself at the risk of getting post natal blues becos of a CL??? simply not worth it!!!

u can try to intro bottles and use the NUK teats. they are "so called" closest to our nipples. i agree tat direct latch on is very leh chey and tiring, furthermore we won't know how much she drinks too, actually, i prefer to ebm and feed her from the bottle. one, we can monitor her bm intake and second, they finish faster... so far, danelle had been drinking from the NUK teats and direct latched on... dun think she can differntiate bet. these 2. initially i was feeding her with the avent silicone teats and she doesn't like it.

prata queen

i dun have a CL to drive me crazy but a maid.

actually why r we not supp to touch water and if we do how ah??

wendy
my appt is 1215pm...so dont think can bump into u liao..unless ur there till late

mom2nat, can I start to prepare the cotton wool now?

I bought 4 large Tollyjoy cotton rolls but they are still in their packaging. Looks very compact and tight.

So you use hand to pull the cotton wool apart or clean scissors to cut? After that, you stuff them back into original packaging or use plastic tupperware to store? Thanks

mylife
the 'theory' is that whatever water that we come into contact with during confinement shld be warm, or at least boiled. O'wise nxt time hand joints ache lor. My neighbour fr china swears it happened to her.. on the last day of confinement, she got lazy and washed her hands with tap water instd of cool boiled water, now her hand joints ache. her daughter in sec 3 liao.

sassy, yep I got confused between you and mylife ... pai sei. Too many posts to reply :p

mylife, confinement time cannot touch water one mah... rhumetism?

Ah Capp, jia you jia you! Your EDD less than 1 week away liao, endure.

Mylife, agree with the rest. Your CL really no common sense, do wrong thing, still try to argue and downplay her mistake. She experienced CL or not ah? But don't let yourself be upset over her, if really can't tahan, then ask for a change. Agency supposed to do all this in the first place, that's why they charge commission anyway. :p

Heard that new mummies not supposed to touch water too. Don't know why but I heard warm water or boiled water is ok. Cos my cousin's CL will boil water for her and put in a bottle so that she can use it to wash her hands etc.

sassy
yeah that time she was in china. dunno was it winter or summer. Whatever la. My first confinement i also washed pump & bottles & teats etc. My MIL came to nag at me, but then i was thinking... if i dun wash who wash?! This kind of simple task i can do, not like asking me to hang heavy laundry with my c-sect wound.

mylife,
Do you want Mrs Wong's HP number? I can pm you. Hopefully it's still the same. I used to call her pretty frequently when I have bf problem and she would advise accordingly.

I had low supply then too and I took fenugreek. It helped me. You may want to give it a try.

Steph,
your labour process is such a quick and smooth one. i hope mine will be too...

Wendyg,
you don't intend to touch tap water? btw, did you specify any special requirement with newbaby?

fishia
no la. i will still hv to wash pump etc coz i dun hv CL that i can order around. I'm just stating the 'theory' for anyone that chooses to believe it.

mylife

I can't remember exactly which day onwards I have 150ml but it's definitely more than a week. I'm into my 2nd week now. But I can definitely see it increasing every morning or every alternate morning. That's how I monitor milk supply. Actually, I latched baby most of the time but morning I will pumped so as to know how much supply I have. Currently, my baby is having about 90ml-120ml per feed so the rest will store.
For EBM, I use Avent bottles. Think spooning will be quite challenging. Baby does not have much problems latching but of course, initially, he also finds it harder to latch as our nipples aren't as long as plastic teats. But after a few times of latching, they will get used to it.

i oso intend to use cotton wool at home to wipe bb butt ....... bought cotton wool liao heehee

mylife wow lau ur CL kns one leh ..... should have check for poo poo 1st mah .....

cannot touch water?? how to brush teeth and wash my face??? i dun care de ... hehehe and tell me dun bath cannot oso hahaha .... cos after delivery 7-10 days lata have to go see gynae so must bath mah if not so dirty!

prata_queen,
don't worry... with the combination of ur genes n ur hubby's ur bb will surely outgrown you. moreover, nowadays kids eat so well.. my mom is also 1.5m but i'm 1.6m, my younger sis is 1.65m n my bro is 1.7m plus... so u see, there's a life e.g...

i don't understand abt can't touching water... den when we go toilet pee, and change pad etc.. usually i'll use bidet spray my V area to clean it.. so if can't den mah v dirty and smelly lor... yucks!

bathe: I bathe 1-2 times a day. wash wounds everytime i pee for the 1st 2 wks. wash hair every 2 days.(warm water no herbs) did it for 1st child. Now 2nd confinement doing the same also. wash breast pump & hands very often with tap water. So far no prob.

bb poo/pee: i use wet wipes to clean. but more economical method is use cotton wool damp with water to clean. don need keep washing with soap & water.

My life: milk will come in ard 4-5 days after birth. BB tend to b very sleepy so will latch 1 side & doze off. s long s bb puting on wt, poo, pee don need worry. eg normally 7 days old bb poo 7 times. my bb jaundice so tend to be even more sleepy plus don drink much & nvr put on much wt. she don empty my breast. not even 1 side. so got to pump whenever feel engorged.I'm a lazy mum, hate to pump, prefer latch. But if u wanna increase supply best to latch as often s possible + pump to empty breast completely.

To boast supply u can try to latch 1 side & pump the other side. cos when latching easier to get "let down". For newborn, i prefer syringe feed cos wldnt waste milk. Don be stressed by how much u can pump. After latching still hv 25ml very good aledi. newborn drink abt 30 -90ml. bb gal tend to drink less. yr effort to latch & pump will definately be rewarded! Rest well & tik postive.

Violetice: haha I'm the "cow". feeding bb gal (TBF) + my 2 yrs old son.. (partial EBM).

Steph,
For engorged breast, try this...it worked for me. Put cold cabbage for 2 hrs, then apply hot hot towel and massage real hard to clear milk duct, then express...If the breasts still hard and pain after expressing, repeat the whole process again. Can only put cold cabbage maximum 3 times, if not milk supply will decrease. The hot towel must b really hot. As for me, I was using metal bottle filled with hot hot water, then roll n press the bottle ard my breasts.

Kitsune,
Some baby only engaged during labour...like my case. During 38th wk checkup still not yet engaged n cervix still close, but 3 days later 3cm dilated and engaged liao.

Mylife,
Me also using NUK teat to bottle feed my baby bcos she always like having not enough when direct latching on. So far she still ok with the teat and my nipple...I express every 3 to 4 hrs, for 20mins and each time can express ard 140ml-190ml from both breast. Right now day 19 after birth, total milk express out each day is ard 1100ml. My little gal drink ard 90-100ml/feed.

Sassy,
How much yr baby gal drink per feed right now? I also will do buffet lunch for baby full month celebration next Sunday. Also will order angku kueh and red eggs...

re: touch water
it's the same as avoiding breeze during confinement ie wear long sleeves, pants, socks etc.
same theory as not bathing. The older generation will say "U won't feel it now, next time when u get old don't regret!"

can touch water provided it's warm or boiled. ie use cool boiled water to wash hands. But it's really v troublesome unless u hv a helper or CL to ensure the water doesn't run out. It's like running out of tap water when u need to wash pump. And with my limited kitchen space & the ever present clutter, having another container lying around with cool boiled water just takes up space!

yen
fwah, always envy those who can produce more than 1 litre of ebm per day! Can donate liao...

RE: breast feeding
wen i try using e breast pump, only a few drops of milk come out but wen i latch on bb seems to b drinkin a lot..? i was curious so juz now i latch him on for 20mins then i removed his mouth and saw a lot of milk ard his mouth and my breast.. bb will fall asleep aft latching on for ard 40mins.. is it enuf for him?

Yen, Oic, so I may still deliver early. But since I'm taking antibiotics now, must also wait until I finish the course.

3rascals, your BB so cute. So young know how to pose liao.