(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

itok
i'm feeling good. started my ML ystrday to enjoy last few days before newborn. Anyway it's the final week, wun be 'wasting' much ML

wendyg,
u v "zai" man... if it's me, i sure everyday think and think is baby coming is baby coming.
then slight pain or what, i will think gg to give birth liao :p

no la. pull hair painful ley.

i'm past being impatient liao. A bit numb, a bit resigned... it's all out of my hands & God has everything planned out anyways... so no point to be kancheong lor.

Done whatever i could.. the walking, the squatting, the knees to chest blah blah blah.. so i can safely say the 100% human part is fulfilled. Now it's God's turn... 100% Jesus!

godsent,

we are about the same edd rtG? if i never remember wrongly..

is ur baby still v active? mine is- sometimes he turns/moves like v hard until it is painful. do u experience this too?

Superbee,
my EDD also 14 Jan and still around.

Just now i was so terrified. Tap and shake tummy for 30mins and bb didn't move at all. ate some crackers, lie on side, switch on music also no response. Called hb and wanting to rush down to hospital. Then my little one finally gave me a lazy movement. Gosh!

Mom2nat,
I also had tummyache last nite. Then I remembered Babe's experience and thought contractions will follow soon. But till now nothing. haha.

My confinement- No CL no MIL. Only maid and my #1 and catered confinement food. Hb will be at home for 2 weeks to help out if there's no urgent meeting. Will play by ears and see how. If #1 not cooperative, will send him to my mom's house. If really cannot cope when hb's going back to work, then may ask MIL to come over. but praying that such situation will not happen cos I don't like my MIL to be around. I'm a Christian and she's a Buddhist. She'll do or say some superstitious or religious ritual to bb. That's what she did to my #1 which I certainly hate it.

Back from Gynae. Doctor says can't induce me this week since I am not dilated and cervix is too tight. Since my GD still under control.. let's wait another week.. else my labour will take very very long... *sigh* dunno whether to be happy or continue to get bored.

My bb must be getting too cramp inside because hb was driving and give a e-brake and I can feel both BB feet also tapped right on my tummy. BTH. BB kicked my rib so hard for these past few days until tears also come out.

Joyce,
yes they have the 2 dishes in the harvest menu. :D

Hey,
Juz back fm my gynae visit. No sign of labour at all. Not engage yet. Gynae din even bother to check cervix this time round. Haha...BB still v comfy cos saw her yawning away. Gynae said placenta still healthy, water lever still good. So, no hurry to induce. Will wait till next wk. If no sign during the week, will induce. As I anticipated, she will induce at wk 41.

sorry have been MIA for so long...spent time reading all the backdated posts. So surprised Steph has popped too! <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">CONGRATS STEPH!!</font></font>

wendy
how u overdue your gynae never suggest induce leh?

icy
think ur turn coming soon since u'll be inducing next week rite? Jiayou! HOpe u have a smooth delivery

Babe
still feeling very apologetic i cant go down and visit u cos my mom the pantang kind.
Sorry!

Bebeyan
Wow wee...your darling has got such black-black eyes...so cute!!!!

Sassy
my wound also still painful...but finally milk flow is in albeit not that much.

Re: TMC delivery
I also brought my own sanitary pads. Those Pureen maternity type. But the 1st day, was wearing the Kotex loop ones provided by TMC cos i cant really move and change pads on my own. Have to rely on nurses to come change for me..literally like paralysed liao.

Actually, other than bath tubs, TMC provided for everything, even mittens for baby. But when discharged, i insisted for baby to wear the clothes we brought along.

angelsky,ahcapp
hahaha, actually before i delivered, i also kept opening the drawers of clothes i bought for baby and kept admiring them and smelling them kekeke

Re:Breastfeeding
How's the milk flow for mommies who have popped? I dunno mine is normal/ok or not. I also dunno when latched on if baby gets enuff. But after latching on, i still pumped again to "empty" the breast and stimulate more supplies..but i only get a pathetic 10-25ml combined both breast. Like very little leh.

I must complain about my CL now. Think she not very experienced but pretend to be. Also, i get very irritated by the way she does things. 1st day arrive only, kept saying ALL babies must drink AT LEAST 60ml PER FEED! My milk supply not very good and she jus stood around commenting on how low it is. Kept telling me i'd better top up with FM. When i retorted and ask her is she sure and based on wat she jus said she knows. Can even say babies who are newly born ie on Day 1 MUST drink 60ml liao! Mad or not? I said hospital say colostrum is sufficient liao she said diff people diff. WTF??? I had pumped out about 25ml of BM to be kept as reserves for midnite feeding in case i dont have supply, then during my 9-ish feeding, baby was feelign cranky, she psycho hubby say baby still feel hungry who also gong-gong agreed to use the reserves. She go and poured ALL 25ml which was kept in 3 diff bottles and reheat them. Wasted all my milk!!! COs heated up liao cannot put back ma..i said, i jus finished feeding baby, even if not enough, jus heat up one bottle can liao ma...so angry

Then next day, cleaning baby. Aft feeding baby, i checked baby's diaper, saw she pooped a bit so, handed her over to CL for changing. She peeped into diaper and can tell me dont have! I said got, asked her to remove and checked again. She removed and said "oh yah hor...got got, little bit only at the back? I was like..little bit no need to change ah..still poop wat! Then i asked her, got pee or not...she said got ah got ah...quite a lot...can u imagine, jus now if i had not see the poop myself, and simply jus asked her to check diaper, she would have said, nothing and not do anything???

Then when cleaning baby, cos baby gal clean front to back right? She did so, but simply jus scrunge the wet wipes up and clean the front again without making sure the wet wipes is clean! Even hubby who is not familiar with baby issues also was quite aghasted at her! So scary.

She also does things very very slowly, meddle about in kitchen for the longest time even aft cooking! Hardly checks on baby at all, all these days, i am the one consistently checking on baby's diapers and changing for her. I tot i'm supposed to be the one resting and she takes care of baby???? End up now, i feel so stressed, everytime hand baby to her, even hubby said, u dont get an assured feeling that baby is in safe hands...still gotta monitor her. Like dat how to rest? And i was hoping to rely on her for tips since i missed the childcare module of Mrs Wong's antenatal class. She really like a log of wood lo..buay zhi dong one...do anything also u have to ask her, do this do dat...felt like i got an overpaid maid instead of a professional CL!!

Now i dunno if i shud call the agency to change cos agent also one kind one, sure lots to say. PLus i also scared she will get scolded...she looks like my mom's age so also pity her if she loses this job but my fren say if she does something wrong, or if consistently like dat, i wont get enuff rest and i will suffer when i'm supposed to be resting..who's gonna pity me?
DUnno whether to change or not. Scared later change kena one worse one since i dun think agent will have a better one to give me at such late notice.

Here's a pic of my princess with 2 eyes opened liao!
1188723.jpg

hi mylife
i can't b induced.. either natural or c-sect. coz #1 was c-sect. Inducing may rupture stitches.

re: CL
argh, dun put CL &amp; PIL together, they will gang up against u re bfg &amp; give u lots of angst. Chase everyone away and hide in your room with bb. If u insecure abt leaving bb with CL, then maybe u shouldn't. Just have her cook &amp; clean.

mylife,
If you not happy with ur CL, just changed. You should be resting and not stressing on all these.. The pirority should be on your own needs now.. dun have to care so much about others already. You pay for their service.

Aiyo.. BB eyes so alert.. chubby chubby.. so cute.

itok,
yup, our edd is the same... and yes, u bet?! my gal oso kicks non-stop but of cos there are times when it's quiet, guess she's slpg. but once she's awake, i can feel her movements, be it kicks, punches, waves of movements, u name it... oh ya, her hiccups too...

hey mtbs,
i jus saw in Discovery Channel - birth in the pool... the bb seems much cleaner den normal delivery or c-sect and the mummy doesn't seems to suffer so much pain leh... too bad, in sin, we don't have this option!

mylife: your princess so adorable!!! I can understand your frustration and stress. Guess u hv to get ur hubby to feedback to the agent or else you cannot hv enuf rest. Pls take good care of yourself!!

any news from verene? have she pop?

valencia, how much have u gained?

Wendyg, we will count down with u...enjoy yr last few days before bb pop...

godsent
have.... there's 1 delivery ward in TMC with a birthing pool. But must pay extra &amp; depends on availability. But what i think is.. they will only allow the mom to labour in the pool.. when it's time for delivery, they will still trf mommy to the bed to puuuuuuush.

joyce
yeah sure. tks

mylife,
your CL sounds no good leh. It will be very tiring for you to take care of bb and monitor CL too.. Her job is to take care of you and bb. If she can't do the job well, I think you should just change it. Unless you can manage bb on your own without her help and you don't mind doing so...

mylife,
ur gal is so cute!!! very chubby cheeks... heehee

re ur CL... v cham leh u... i'm surprised why she says bb need 60ml of milk even when she's 1 day old!!! dat's definitely stuffing the bb's small little tummy... tink she's crazy... if i were u, i oso in dilemma.. in 1 hand wanna change CL, another hand scared get another worse one.. jus monitor her for a few more days n see how.. is it possible to hint to ur agency first? i remember when my cousin gave birth, had a CL who's v bad.. when she cooks for my cousin black chix soup, she (the CL) actually took the drumstick and left the head n useless parts for my cousin - who is supposed to eat the best part of the chix... can u imagine dat??? after her confinement period, my cousin doesn't look radiant at all!

wendy,
ya, when i went to do hospital visit, i saw the delivery suite with a pool.. but i remember the hospital staff saying it only used for the mummy to sit in to manage labour but still gotta get out of the pool to push on the bed.. guess sin is still not v advance in other modes of delivering... including home delivery... or hypnobirthing (all these saw in Discovery Channel) actually i learn alot from this channel... v enriching...

ya lor. actually we can hv our babies at home &amp; save a bunch of $$ &amp; heartache of unsupportive nurses commenting on lack of bm etc. in western countries, their monthly checkup only conducted by midwives, dun even need monthly ultrasound. Seldom see doc unless complications etc. Here, everyone scrambling for specialist (ie gynae), paying for all sorts of tests as tho it's 'routine' but actually no need one.

not as tho their infant/ maternal mortality rate is lower than Sgp's ?

angelsky,
My hb had eczema and I tried California Baby Calendula Cream on his skin. Work nicely. My 2 friends swear by it, used it for BB rashes also works well. I think since BB can used then preggy can use bah.. but take 2-3 weeks to deliver in join BP, so maybe too late for u.

You can order from BP organised in this forum. Ard $15 for 60g.

mylife your gal so cute wanna kiss kiss her!

Prata_queen hmmm I guess u are 1.56 correct mah?

Dr Heng never check for me leh just scan only ... and told me baby is big 3.3kg by next week still no sign of labour on 18 she will induce me liao ...... she ask me to walk more go shopping go park hahaha ......

btw, it says:

Adventurine green kuasa is concentrated at the tummy area, followed by a stress relief tummy massage plus tummy wrap. This wrap may be kept on for the next few hours. Also helps banish toxins and water retention, improves circulation, retaining heat and keeping inches at bay. (U.P. $120)

wendyg, heehee...mayb my CL quite young like 50 YO. I on aircon also...eat fruits too..

CL
erm..sterilising things need to tell her more n avtually in day coz bb upstairs with me, I tend more to him. Mine v sleepy...Zzzzz...At time she help me wif bf, like last night 12-3am bb kept crying n wan milk n she help me latch. Though did suggest fm but I said no n she also never say much...

How many times ur 4day old bb pee n poo..mine like for hrs no pee n poo n Zzzzzz....bf also like not drinking...headache...

Mylife, I understand..no worries...how long u bf ur gal each time? Finish liao got still make noise? Wat interval? I find I hardly got time to pump after..

Mylife,
Ur gal gal is so so cute le...

Re : CL - First week, bb dun drink 60 ml per feed. She trying to pull a fst one on you. You may need to latch on more frequently so that body will "produce" more milk.

You may need to be more hardworking at night cos introducing bottle so soon may confuse baby.

You may want to care more for the baby, just eat her food.

QQ,
I sterlised once to make sure that everything is working fine. But when BB born, before using, confirm have to sterilise again.

QQ, wow yr gynae still ask u to walk more go shopping and park... mine everytime see me asked me bedrest bedrest. no working and no shopping....

icy ok lata i go sterilise it .....

joyce ya she say will help in delivery wor .... and i think if wanna induce i sian liao wor

Joyce,
My gynae also like that before week 37, tell me dun walk.. Now like consider full term already, tell me to increase my activity.. walk more..

funny leh... i now full term liao but he still ask me bedrest bedrest.... i also thot more walking help in delivery leh.......

hai.....

now having slight cramp on and off.. dunno is it contraction.... now timing the cramp... but i'm wondering does bb still move when having the cramp? and i have passing motion feeling also....

hi mommies
thanks so much for your compliments for my bb...hehe...personally i think ALL our babies are cute-cute one la!

Re : My CL
Frankly, i have been feeling very emotional lately...think of CL problem oredi cry cry cry. Hubby's leave is ending on 20jan, so he's returning back to HK then. Now at least got hubby help me do sterilising and sometimes help monitor how she sterilise things. Can imagine hubby go back HK liao..it's gonna be worse..me crying every time i think about it leh...think i hit postnatal blues big time.

Wendy
If i just let her cook and clean and i do the caring of baby, i find myself so exhausted. My mom kept asking me to rest more, but i cant rest...maybe cos i'm 1st time mommy, gan cheong, but u would too if u see the way she does things.

Babe
My gal now 7day old. For poo and pee, starting 12midnite today, she pee and poo 6 times liao. Is dat normal? Cos i rem when i was in TMC, the nurses told me baby not peeing enuff indicates dehydration. Dats when they suggested to me giving water. Actually, i missed having the nurses to help me leh. Comparatively to this CL i'm having, i felt so much more relieved and safe when i finished BF my baby gal and hand her over to the nurse to care. For BF, back in TMC, the nurses advised me to latch 15-20mins for each breast. Back home now, i read in the BF book, dat it's best to let baby latch as long as she wans to on ONE breast and emptied that breast before moving her to another. So i will pump lo.But my gal also emptied one breast then fall asleep liao..i also blur and worry if she have enough or not. Usually, she'll latch for about 20mins. Then 2-3 hours later, wake up for more. Latch and pump, latch and pump...feel so tired
Like jus now, i changed her diaper at 5.20pm and then latched her on for 25mins. Then i pumped out both my breast for any balances for 5mins each from 6.10pm onwards. Only managed to get 25ml combined. Jus after i finished pumping at 6.20pm, she cries again for more...so i just took the bottle dat i pumped out and gave it to her 25ml. She finished the bottle so quickly!! Left me wondering if she's really dat hungry cos she just latched on for 25mins leh! Dats why i say i dunno when she's latching, how much does she drink. I did pay attention to her sucking, and she does appear to be sucking and swallowing... *puzzled* Then jus after finishing that bottle of 25ml EBM, at 6.50pm, she crying again..and i had to latch her on again till 7.20pm. So very tiring, latch and pump until my breast and nipple also feel so sore.

Blackbatz
I also know so young cannot intro bottle, but sometimes based on the above scenario i also bo pian. Need to rest also cos without rest, breast cannot produce milk leh. I also feel worried if she gets confused and reject my nipple next time. I rem before discharging, Mrs Wong also told me not to feed using bottle to baby less than a month old, ask me to use plastic spoon, but gabra cannot find.

hi all mommies, how are u all doing so far ?

Congrats to hammies!! So, her baby also pop on 7th Jan too ?

I've discharged today with baby Zander.
Now, i finally know the feeling of engorged breast!! So damn painful, hard like rock &amp; no matter how i pump, very little milk 5ml come out...so depressed

I call up TMC lactation service, the nurse ask me to use hot towel compress method &amp; massage breast &amp; then pump, keep repeating the process but till now only little improvement cos superb tired...especially for my hubby. He is very supporting &amp; encouraging, he help me with the breast massage otherwise i would not have done it cos my hands are superb "Suan" after trying total breast feeing in the hospital "XIONG" &amp; carrying baby plus massaging breast.
I must really salute those mummies who preservere &amp; successful in TBF.

To continue my birth story...
where was i?? Oh...talking abt...my contraction pain started at 5.30am
reached TMC for CTG at 8.30am &amp; nurse say i am 4cm dilated...can get changed &amp; wait at labour ward.
Hubby went for admission procedure while i was taken care of by the nurse, she inserted some liquid into my anus to clear bowels &amp; rest at labour ward.
About 10am, my gynae arrived &amp; burst my waterbag, contraction become more intense.
An hour later, i was 5cm dilated and this time, the pain was so intense i couldn't tahan with the help of the laughing gas so ask for epi.
At 1pm, i was about 7 or 8cm dilated &amp; have the urge to push but nurse ask me to wait for gynae to arrive and cervix must open to 10cm b4 any pushing can be done.
So, at 2.30pm, cervix finally open till 9.5cm but due to the epi, i can't feel any contraction coming and nurse ask me to try pushing for 10mins.
A while later, gynae arrived &amp; with the help of two other TMC midwives, they help me push my stomach when the contraction peak, with 2 hard pushes, baby Zander is finally OUT!

i can burst into tears anytime one. Think of CL cry. Think of hubby leaving in a week's time, cry. Think of how i ended up delivering baby via c-sect, cry. Think of my fatigue of latch and pump and coping with it all, cry. Think of baby also cry. Think of my father, cry. I missed the feeling of being pregnant with my princess wriggling inside me. But of cos i'm happy she's here with me now. I just find it all very overwhelming. Anyone feeling remotely the same way?

Mylife...I going thru same phase as u...bb sleeping so much..jaundice...not peeing n pooing since 10am or v little pee...now breast starting to feel engorged too on top of sore...so now i pump while he sleeps..prayfully he ok...I 2nd time mom also like that so jia you to success!!!! First mth is so tired if u wanna tbf unless u blessed with abundance...

Steph..so u still got tbf?

Flyn, I feel quite sad regarding baby’s slower growth. I did the CTG is Wk 37 and the results are fine. According to gynae, as long as baby’s heartbeat is ok and moves often enough, its fine. Your baby also engages in stages? Mine too. It took 1 wk to be so-called fully engaged. My edd also 20 Jan (Icy, QQ, you and me – same EDD).

Pinkstars, high-5! Your situation sounds exactly like mine. So weird that our small uterus is limiting our baby’s growth. Why can’t our uterus just grow and expand more? By the way, my tummy circumference at belly button is already 102-103cm since 3 wks ago. No change, tat’s why baby is feeling the crampiness inside and growth slowed down since then.

Sassy, wat an experience you are having with your CL. As of today, your confinement should be ending soon right? If you really bth her, just sack her and DIY the last week yourself, with hubby’s help? Feel so sad and indignant that we newbie mothers are at the mercy of CL who may not always have baby’s and our best interests at heart.

QQ: haha, you over-estimate my height liao :p actually me only 1.5m…haha… actually I was quite sensitive abt my height when I was a teenager and would refuse to tell ple… now I’m ok with letting ple know…petite petite lor… hahah.

So strange hor, why Dr Heng do VE for me but not for you? Maybe she see me very kan cheong and impatient for baby to come out, so she do VE to solve some of the question marks in my head.

prata queen
sassy has maid, no CL.

mylife
hey, happy cow produces more milk. If u feel like crying, cry hard 10mins, u'll feel better after that, then rest a bit &amp; continue to work hard pumping latching... initial days of bfg are like that one. Pump pump but little only.. &amp; u feel like u're feeding bb 24hr! Consider boosting your bm supply with Fenugreek, available at pharmacies, GNC etc. Someone suggested start off 6 capsules a day.
Re: Plastic Spoon
>>> Pls ask someone to go to GP to get some plastic spoons, those with 5ml/ 10ml standard size to measure syrup medicine etc. Dun use those disposable type from kopitiam coz the edges v sharp.
Yes u sound like the type of mother who wants to handle everything herself. So if u feel better about it, then everything DIY... better than getting angry &amp; bitter abt the CL/ agent but bottling it up. Can your mom help u a bit eg hand Rylee over to u for bfg, bring u hot drink, esp with your c-section wound u move a bit slower &amp; u dowan to c the CL's face?
When Rylee is napping, try to get some sleep also. Dun log into forum if u dun hv enuf rest.
Telephone someone to complain, i'm sure u hv the tel numbers of some of us here.

mylife,
It is natural to feel upset, it is in the hormones after delivery. But must vet it out someway, by writing here or telling ur Mum or HB. Hugs hugs.

pinkstar and prata queen,
Me only 1.55m. My bb at 2.8kg at 38 weeks. Perhaps bigger due to my GD. But the kicks are really harder and I can't sleep at night becos of the BB movements.

Mylife,
Maybe you should call the nurses at TMC for clarification. I think you sounded very stress. It's best that you talk to some professional expert for advice.

For my case, my boy could only empty 1 breast,so I would offer him the next breast only at the next feed.