(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

oh ya hor, i forgotton to ask my gynae whether bb is engage or not leh... me very forgetful lately...

how does ur company calculate the maternity leave? mine go by days... meaning 12wks x 7 days starting from the date of admission... so will lugi if give birth on weekend.... i now very sian to go ofc to work but take maternity leave & havent give birth must also work @ home so i might as well go ofc to work & save my maternity leave rite? everyone in ofc except boss treat me like a time-bomb that will 'explode' any time.... ;)

Just finished my milking session.

mei pls update for me, thank you!

Date of delivery: 04th Jan 2008 via C-sect with epi
Hospital: Mt Alvernia
Baby's weight: 3.15kg
Baby's Name: still thinking

Hammies,
the nurse shaved me off totally before the ops.

AhCapp,
I try to latch on every 3 hrs but cos of my inverted nipples, very difficult for baby to latch on, so end up i got to express it sometimes when she just simply refuse to latch on. The nurses don't supplement my baby with FM so far but i was totally knock out on the 1st day, so i gave the nurse green light to give FM for the 1st day only. The lactation consultant came to teach me yesterday about breastfeeding, she told me that even if baby doesn't want to latch on, i have to do expression to stimulate milk production. I brought my breast pump along but end up still renting from the hospital as they sterilised for me after each time i use, it's only $16.75 for unlimited number of uses.

So far, i only manage to get columstrum, milk production not in yet.

Mylife,
don't be discourage, learn to switch off your ears, just follow what the consultant teaches, ignore whatever people say. Mine is opposite of yours, my family didn't mention anything about baby being hungry as baby was only given such little columstrum. But some friends who have not given birth before will give comments like "oh she must be very hungry, so little milk how can she not be hungry" when she starts crying *faint*

Good morning Luvv,

Thanks so much for the info on BF at Mt A. I don't intend to bring my pump along. Goosh, too much things to handle with my hb alone. Think $16.75 for unlimited no. of uses is ok. =)

Don't think milk will come in so soon. Take time. But what u have right now is gold for your baby, so u r on the right track. Happy for u. =) Jia you!

Oh btw, I was re-reading my book on breastfeeding last night. For first few days, it is NORMAL for baby to take in very little columstrum, as little as half a teaspoon. Yes, that little and that's all the baby needs! So no worry Luvv and mylife. =)

I am going to throw my books into my hospital bag in case I need some no nonsense advice during my stay....

morning mummies... wow u all wake up so early .... i wanna go back to sleep hahah i woke up for toilet break ....

hi luvv,
you mean for your c-sect, the nurses shaved below for you as well?

ahcapp,
i was also thinking of throwing in my books into the hospital bag to read up and "protect" myself with insensitive remarks from people who think they know everything. :p

With so many mummies popping, i'm really feeling anxious. My due date still so long....

QQ,

I wish I can sleep more.. I have counted. I slept at 12, woke up at 2, 4 and 7. My body is getting me ready for my baby when he arrives. =S So I didn't bother to go back to sleep, hang out my laundry and continue on my silly passdown list for my office. yucks! =S

McFluffy,

When is your due date? =) Mine is 15 Jan. I am anxious too. =P

I tend to be forgetful and I am a newbie when it comes to breastfeeding. So if in doubts, I think refer to the books is the best. If anyone questions me, I will throw my books into his/her face! *LOL* Just kidding. =P

Morning all...

I woke up at 7.30am today. AhCapp, sama sama here. I also woke up around 2, 4, 7 am to pee and everytime, the "volume" is not a lot.. I think it is just because the baby is pressing against the bladder hence the need to go.

My right calf is painful again- 3 days liao. The pain feeling is something like when you have not ran for a long time, then you are asked to run 2.4km and the soreness you feel the day after. Hence, I am walking rather slowly now.

Re: TBF

I wanna try, anyone who stayed in TMC had bb roomed in with you? Supposedly I get bb to room in with me, success of BF is higher right? But then, will the nurses still come in to help me with the BF part, since I have zero experience in BF. Hubbie does not quite like the idea of having bb to room in, he wants to me get some rest and if bb stay in the nursery, he feels that at least the nurses will watch over her, whilst if she stay in with us, we may not know if something happens.

Must we pre inform the nurses when we go to the ward about wanting to do TBF, or they will ask?

AhCapp, kitsune, I also paid my CL 2.6 for CNY. But then this CL says she needs to go back during eve and first day and only works 26 days, subsequently she cant make it for my confinement and ask her friend to do instead. So my mum was like asking her friend CNY and eve you will be around hor, else no one to look after my daughter and grand daughter since all go house visiting, then she say ok, she will stay around and not go back. About the di lum, my mum also bought the sea horse di lum for her to sleep
the CL never say not ok le.

<font color="aa00aa">Congrats to Babe!!!

Her baby Boy Abel, arrived this morning at 7am, with a healthy weight of 3.19kg at TMC!!!</font>

Babe shared your birth story and baby boy pix when you are better, so fast leh.. she was just posting yesterday night.

Good morning....

All mummies here wake up so earli. I am having a bad lower backache! Feet also feels as if there are thorns have difficulty in walking! By the those wh have gave birth already, how does the mucous plug look like?

Babe,

Your long wait is over liao. Congrates!!!!

Mom2nat, my CL won’t make good the 1.5 days which she will be spending in M’sia over the CNY. But she stated this condition to allow her to return during payment of deposit and I agreed at that point in time. Now worried how to cope for that 1.5 days.

Hmm, seems like half the mommies in our Jan thread may deliver later than our respective EDDs.

Regarding milkbags, which ones did you all stock up on? I read Lasinoh are the best but quite pricey ($12 for a box of 25) whereas Playtex are much much cheaper.

Regarding glass bottles, the ones I have collected so far the chicken essence ones. Can the Kiddy Palace plastic caps fit? I’m totally clueless about glass bottles and the plastic caps.

Regarding cervix check, I seem to remember that the “What to expect when you are expecting” book says cervix check is normally Wk 38 and after.

Regarding CL sleeping arrangements, me too bought seahorse triple fold mattress for her. No bedframe even :p

AhCapp, good idea to bring along the “What to expect when you are expecting” book to the hospital!

prata queen,

If u are using plastic bottles for storage of BM, i would suggest glass one cos easier to clean. Cos some BM are quite oily. For Lasinoh milk bags, where can i get it?

hi Jacelyn,

for storage of BM, I have been collecting chicken essence glass bottles. But problem is I dunno how to find plastic caps that can fit.

For Lasinoh milk bags, u can take a look at overseas sprees or the WTS section. A lot of mommies have excesses which they are selling off.

I am more interested in the playtex ones though cos it seems to be much more economical, esp in the long-run.

Going out to enjoy the weekend now. Catch up on new postings tonight. Enjoy your Sundays gals!

TMC: I very dissapted with their svc this round too. Midwife didnt even measure my dilation when i was in labour ward. Keep requesting her to measure she keep saying u're not ready at least 4-6hrs. Then i went for epidural less than an hr, my gynae came in to deliver for me. waste my $$$. Passed instructions to so many nurses stating Total breast feeding. End up none of them recorded on my card. Got to keep reminding them. BB was sleepy sometime i didnt manged to latch on. nurses commented oh u cant latch har then must gv supplements. Not only 1 nurse, quite a few. some even tried squeeze my nipple into bb's mouth &amp; make bb cry. Ask abt bb's class (free) no one get bac to me. only on the day of discharge then tell me there a class which is after my discharge. after that bb warded for jaundice after 2 days, waited 1 hr b4 bb was pushed to nursery. provided supplies (diapers, tissue etc) but was charged in my bill. told them &amp; even show them i had my own supplies. they removed the extra charge but still charge for tissue ($3.60 1 box) so shitty.. Cant argue on that bcos i use the TMC tissue &amp; they argue that they use finish so open another box. Worse still the nurse didnt even wanna return me i ask for it. Lastly they lost the cord powder my PD prescibe. Got to make them search for it. Thats means they didnt even apply on my bb if not how can it go missing for 2 days w/o the nurse's knowing. SUPER LOUSY SERVICE... for mums who wanna b/f. INSIST on yr stand. the nurses cant make it..

Wow..so many of you are here so early...Superbee..we seem a bit similar..i also felt a bit like mensus cramp since 6am this morning...then in the morning, somehow I managed to poo poo a bit. But noticed there was a very slight tinge of blood or redness...quickly wore a pad. But till now, no other bleeding leh. Not sure if this is just a sign of the start!!!

I'm still trying to monitor if I feel any more of such cramps. It seems to come every now and then maybe an hour apart where suddenly, there is this feeling like I need to go poo....gosh...

Hope you deliver soon then! I also wondering if I will do so in this coming week...wanting to start my maternity leave soon too!

AhCapp and Luvv, thanks for your info on the shaving bit. Looks like I should ask my gynae too..but i guess if worse comes to worse..will just let the nurse shave if necessary. Haha..

Oh dear so many bad comments abt TMC, dont know i will be stress anot cos i wanted to tbf too.. haiz

any mommies know for epi c-sect, after the op mummy will be sleeping?

thanks to all mommies who gave me encouraging words.

I also wan to complain her..but hor hubby say she was jus trying to be helpful, dont wish to get her into trouble wor...

I am TRYING to learn how to switch off my ears but hor, not easy lo. Esp when wound still painful, see bb crying until lips tremble, heart really pain, tears jus flow naturally. Very hard...my gf also scared i kena post natal..but i will TRY very very hard for my bb's sake. Already damn depressed when some wives of hubby's frens came to visit and kept commenting, "oh u c-sect ah...easy la...u never went thru ACTUAL labour pain ah..." or similar comments. Wantd to scream "u think i wan c-sect ah?" cos u all know how badly i wantd natural rite?
They all say until like i opted for easy way out like dat.

Wendy
She's definitely a midwife, cos her name tag says so! I rem her cos she seems quite nice at first but when i asked for Mrs Wong cos i was her student, i rem she gave me a "not so nice" face. Ever since then, her daily visit to me also contradicting to my antenatal teachings one. I suspect she is like mrs wong's opposition party like dat. But yday's remarks was the most stinging one lo. Damn DL partially also due to my hormonal blues bah. Yes, tats the same ang mo woman, glasses hanging on nose one. Her name is Margaret.

Sassy
Thanks. My milk flow came in liao yday night!!! Massaging vigorously to prevent engorgement. Hubby went back home to get my breast pump. I dunno how to massage, jus anyhow hantam. But laughing when i read your "cows eat grass" theory.

Val
U also make me laugh with your breast-tummy-thighs positiong. Hahahahaha.

Angelsky
me initially also opt for baby rooming in. But aft some good advice from nurses in TMC, i opt for bb to be placed in nursery, at least we can get rest this way and bb will be monitored for her health, diapers needs, etc. U can stress to nurses u wan TOTAL bf. They WILL push bb to u when bb needs feeding. And yes, they WILL ask u whether u wan partial or total BF. So dont worry. Everything will get taken care of. But i will strongly suggest u let them place bb in nursery so dat u can rest. When u discharge and brings bb home, plenty of time for u to "room in" with bb and take care of her. In hospital, priority is to recover your health and get well.

Actually generally my encounters with all the nurses so far here in TMC is very nice. All of them very supportive and emphatizing, jus dat ONE midwife si beh DL with her only. Tats why was quite shock when i hear such contradicting remarks from her. If not for mom and PIL in the room, i would have asked her "ru sure u are a staff here in TMC?" jus dont wish to create a scene dats why bite my tongue to keep quiet and jus nod away.

Am supposed to get discharged today, but Baby Rylee got jaundice. PD said quite mild, but when blood test result came out, it's slightly over the discharge limit. So still gotta stay. Since i'm on TBF, opted to stay one more day as well.

So happy &amp; surprise to know Babe also given birth liao and here in TMC as well. Will go down to visit her if she feels better and ready for visitors. No pantang rite?

3rascals,
When I stayed in Mt. E, I avoided getting help from certain nurses, mainland ones and the almost retired types. They are not pro-breast feeding. The mainland nurses just stood there and watched me when the lactating consultant was helping me. It showed that she was inexperience.
Usually, I try to get help from the local nurses who are very experienced with BF.

Just before I discharged, I witnessed my gynae scolding the nursing manager. I was totally stunned. Some nurses taught her patients wrong nursing techniques. Patients upset, complained to gynae.

I was glad that my gynae was pro-BM. All nurses must follow her instructions. Let me BF right after I was out from OT. Subsequently, every 3 hr, bring baby to me for BF. Everyday, check on my milk supply.

Mylife,
Try to walk around the room more often. Will help you to forget the pain from C-sect pain and recover faster.

Hammies,

For c-sect, the nurse will shave the top part a bit while she prepares us to go for op. Mine uses powder and disposable shaving razor. Okay lah, thought will be embarassing but she was nonchalant about it and kept talking to me what to expect during c-sect.

Babe also give birth liao. Same edd as me and she was still complaining bb not engaged etc. When when when...when is my turn??? Everyone see me, first reaction is "ah...still ard ah?"

Hello, my name is Sari and I'm conducting a short poll regarding push presents.

There is a trend of husbands presenting expensive gifts like IT bags and jewelleries to their wives after they have delivered their babies. These gifts are known as 'push presents'.

1. Have you received a push present before? If so, how many and what were they?
2. Do you expect a push present? Why and why not?
3. What would be an ideal push present and why?

This poll is a part of an article regarding push presents which will be published in Urban sometime next week. Your response is greatly appreciated.

Could you state your name, age and profession as well? Thanks!

Sariwati AB Latif

wlml
i had epi c-sect. I didnt really sleep thru out aft op but was shivering a lot cos it's the side effects of epi. Jus very excited and kept asking for baby. Hubby also very excited and spent time talking to me. But i did sleep afterwards but i think more due to the lack of sleep i didnt had the previous nite.

hammies
for me, i went for brazilian wax. But when i went for epi c-sect, the nurse also check and shave more, cos i went brazilian a week earlier, and aft a week, of cos got a little bit of hair grown liao...so the nurse shave me as well.

Wow, I just went over to IMM for breakfast and some shopping, n so many messages ah. =)

Prata_queen,

I like the series of "what to expect when you are..." a lot! ^_^ I borrowed "What to expect when you are expecting" from the library and think it's very useful.

Now, I have "what to expect.. the first year" which has a chapter on breastfeeding. Will throw it into my hb's hospital bag for sure. =)

angelsky

I have reminded my hb to tell the nurses at the hospital that I am going for TBF. I myself will try to remind every nurse I see that I am going for TBF. I remember someone said the nurse still feeds her baby with formula even though she requested for TBF. =S So better be naggy than sorry I guess. =P

<font color="ff6000">i was just chatting to Babe few days ago over msn &amp; she has popped!! Congratulations!!</font>

mylife

Hang in there. I know that harsh remarks are awful and some people are just lousy and uncaring when they open their mouths. Don't let them upset u with their cruel remarks on natural birth or c-sec. U have already delivered. The most important thing is to move on and concentrate on your little sweet heart. =) U can just push the rest of the world out of the door once u reach home later.

I have already reminded my hb that I want peace and quietness during my confinement. The last I want is people coming over and comment here and that. Can u imagine that my SIL was all ready to invite everyone over to my house for CNY reunion dinner??? Crazy man. Already told my hb NO-GO. Will shove them out of my house for sure. *evil grin*

AhCapp &amp; angelsky

yeah, me too will insist on TBF. Will remind the nurses. Yes, i read b4 that someone said the nurse feed bb with FM even though she requested TBF cos the nurse blur &amp; confused with other bb that requested partial BF. Otherwise, some nurse act smart/blur, secretly feed bb with FM
However, i tell myself not to be too stubborn, if really no BM kicks in during first 2 days or so, i will let bb have FM via spoon/cup or syringe feeding.

angelsky &amp; prata_queen

Thanks for the feedback on the sleeping arrangement for CL. I want to make sure that I am not "ill-treating" my CL by letting her sleeping on the "di lum" ;P Will double check with her if she minds or not when she arrives.

steph

I just met up with a friend who delivered at TMC 2 months ago. She said Mrs Wong is pro-BF, but not her staff though.

For her #1 delivered at TMC, the nurse didn't give her the baby for immediate latch on after delivery. So she missed the 1st golden chance to breast feed. But this time round for #2, the nurse passed the baby to her, so she was able to try BF immediately.

Guess regardless of which hospital we are going for, we have to remind the nurses again and again lor.

since got some time now...might as well share my birth story here for those interested:

03 Jan 08
1015am
Left house to go TMC to check in

1045am
Arrived at TMC, waited until 1130am before we were attended to. Got queue number to admit, but counter very busy. A man came to ask if we're doing admission procedure and we said yes, he asked if natural or c-sect, and when we said c-sect, he said WAIT and gone off. I guess he know's no urgency there

1135am
Finally our turn. Brought us to our suite. Settled down. Nurse came in to ask questions for her check in forms. Shaved and asked me to change. All these lead up to about 1 hour

1230pm
Changed to surgery robe. A nurse came to "fetch" me to the OT. Was quite nervous. But taking deep breaths to calm myself down. Can see my mommy almost reduce to tears cos she also "sim tia" me undergoing major surgery to get baby out. Hubby was told to go another route and wait for him to be called to change and get into OT later to join me. I got wheeled into OT and pushed to a side to wait. Countless of nurses came to verify my name and other particulars with me like am i wearing lenses, have i had any surgeries before, etc. Finally, a senior looking nurse came to me and asked me again, and said she's in charge of me. Dunno wat dat means. Then a lady wearing thick metal balls as a necklace came to tell me she's my anaesthetist, Dr Joyce Choy. Was contemplating whether i shud ask her "arent u supp to remove everything when u scrub in?" Decided against it cos i think i watched too many episodes of Grey's Anatomy

1.00pm
Got wheeled into the actual OT. Looked around from my angle and was thinking to myself, not so rundown wat...(rem my gynae tried to discourage me from having this c-sect in TMC??) Dr Choy proceed to put the drip on me. Not painful so i was thinking, maybe she's not bad aft all for the epi later. Then she asked me to turn to my right side and curled up like a shrimp. True enough, i find it difficult due to my big tummy...hello? how to curl? A nurse came to hold me still. Dr Choy started to poke my spine. I told her i had an injury to my tailbone last time...the poking she did alone was quite forceful, and she kept asking me to keep still and not jerk away even when she pushed. She was trying to search for a right place to insert the tube. Then when she say, ok i'm gonna do it now, i took a deep breath and tell myself to hold still. After several painful, but still bearable pokes, I tot it's done, turns out, she mumbled something say not ready. I asked "done?" and the nurse said "almost.." The almost took forever. I started imagining Mom2nat's pic done back in france and visualizing i have several holes in my back now. Tell myself, this will come to pass, this will come to pass. I was afraid they'd tell me i'm not a candidate for epi and ask me go GA...so i braced myself more. Winced each time she tried. Asked how come hubby not in yet, in case they forget to bring him in, but was told he will only be brought in AFTER everything is done and i'm ready to be operated on. I was like "huh?" so epi time no hubby to hold my hand?? Finally after like 8pokes, she said she's gonna try up higher. She was talking to me thru out each time, but cant really hear her cos i was curled up and she was mumbling. My gynae walked in and said hi to me. I can recall smelling her nice perfume and again wanted to ask her "Arent u NOT supp to wear perfume while performing surgery??" Hehe. Meanwhile, the anaesthetist is still pushing my spine to find a slot and even my gynae can hear my wince everytime, so she also try to tell me to relax. I was thinking "i not relax meh??"

By now i lost track of time liao. Finally it's done and i heaved a breath of relief. They turned me back flat and started "dressing me up" in plastics. Can still feel pins and needles. And Dr Choy said it's normal before i completely go numb. Started shivering liao and asked for blankets. They raised a screen to block my view. Hubby was brought in, and i felt emotional already.

Dr Choy stood by my head and started giving me commentary that my gynae has started cutting me liao. I can feel some tugging and sensation but no pain. Hubby held my hands and again i told them i'd like to see my baby when she first got out. Yes, all bloody and stuffs. In a while, the PD (Dr EK Ong) came in and intro himself. When they said ready, both Dr Ong and Dr Choy stood over at my head started to help by pushing my baby out. I can feel the real hard pushing and pressure. My tears started to form liao cos frankly, i felt helpless and useless not participating. Hubby held my hands, then i heard the docs, said DONE and i knew she's out. Few miliseconds later, i heard her cries. Felt a relief she's alright. My gynae held her up and i can see she's pale and bloody, like a raw innard. They quickly brought her to a table and my gynae reminded the PD that my hubby would like to cut the cord if possible. I had to tilt my head to the right to keep BB in view. All thru this, i was crying my eyes out. Jus cant stop crying, cannot describe the feeling, happiness, relief, sadness , totally overwhelmed.

Hubby walked over to take pics and cut the cord. Then she was brought to me and they let me held her. The PD very nice, took our cam and took pics for our little family unit. Haha...he still rem to remind hubby to remove his surgical mask when taking pic.

STILL crying my eyes out when holding on to Baby Rylee. A nurse came and squat next to hubby and told him the exact time of birth. I was examining Baby Rylee's facial features, then before PD whisked her away for more tests, he let me kiss her cheeks. I remembered feeling sooo much love for her when i brushed her cheeks...

Hubby followed PD go out with Baby Rylee to check on her statistics. Dr Choy stayed behind and talked to me. I was shivering non-stop now. Gynae cleaning me up. At one point in time, towards the end, felt like as though gynae is reaching in and poking a blunt object at my heart...felt nauseous and bad case of heartburn. Then she said it's done and started cleaning me up and sewing me up liao..

Wwas wheeled back out aft dat and heard nurses telling me they're going to send me back to my room. Shivering non stop. When i got out of the lift, hubby was waiting there liao with my mom. Can see my mom crying and again, felt like crying upon seeing my mom.

The rest is history

Sorry for the long winded detailed story. Had to type it out before i forget..gonna copy and paste to my blog so dont have to retype...hehe

mylife,

JIA YOU wor...u have done well so far, just ignore the crude remarks these pple simply never think thru their brains, i guess some of them didn't even went thru childbirth!
Btw, i am glad u've given positive feedbacks on encounters with the nurses at TMC. U staying level 6, the new wings? How about their service/food so far? cos i will be delivering in TMC too &amp; staying single bedder. Can i know roughly the bill size aft u've discharge? thanks in advance

Ahcapp me slept at 4am thats why I can still go back to sleep heehee .... but woke up at 11+ cos my parents came over

blackbatz,

wah, 3 1/2 mths in nicu??? the bill size must be damm "chor", watz the damage? my ger's 1 week stay in nicu already was killing me.

prata queen,

im not sure if the chicken essence bottle can fit the kiddy palace's screw caps but one thing for sure the similac bottles fit. request for empty bottle at the hospital.

babe

CONGRATS!!! the wait is finally over...
pls update ur birth story and pics when free.

mylife

glad to know tat the cow is in action liao... thanks for sharing ur birth story with us. when are u going back to hk? are u still doing post-natal massage?

Sassy,
U're right. Wiped out all my 7 years of Medisave.
But I didn't stay at Mt. E, gynae told me the estimated stay for BB would be 12 weeks, so she can't imagine the bill size if BB stays at Mt. E.
At that time, it was $1K/day. Now, I heard it's about $2k/day.

My gynae didn't perform the op for me. Instead, she made arrangements for me to be admitted to SGH where I stayed in C class ward so that the bill is more manageable.

steph
must give credit where credit is due ma. There are several nice, supportive and empathizing nurses around. Me staying at level 5, one of the VIP suites, a bit extravagant, but cos hubby's company covered maternity benefits, and me going for c-sect ma...so hubby decided to go for the suites lo
So, the bill will come up to quite a high figure..but will still let u know the itemised breakdown if possible.

ahcapp
thanks..i really cry a lot ah...very very emotional when i saw the birth of my baby. If u read my story also cry, i tink during your delivery u will also...hehe. Forgot to add, i rem kept asking PD "Is everything ok with her? Her breathing? Her lungs, is everything normal?" Almost wanted to ask can u unwrap her so i can check her fingers, toes, hands and feet only...I guess this stems from my worries of reading c-sect babies may have difficulty breathing cos they didnt go thru the natural vagina birth passageway. Every morning in the hospital when the PD came to visit and update us on baby's health chkup like she passed the hearing test, and everything's normal etc, u can feel a surge of relief run thru me...dats how we will feel for 1st time mommies bah...

sassy
yah, cow in action! hehe. Me going back to HK after my confinement and after processing of baby's passports, HK visa is done. Shud be about 1-2 months bah. Definitely aft CNY. Will see also how well my csect wounds heal. Of cos hoping to do the post natal massage if my wounds heal nicely. Even my gynae said 2 weeks aft ops can do liao. See how lo. My water retention in the feet damn bad even when i walk around.

Baby went foto therapy. Was told needed to give water cos a bit dry. Finally called Mrs Wong to verify and she said if baby got jaundice and need to undergo foto therapy, best to give a bit water other than BF. Just for info for other mommies here who might not know this.