(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

valencia,
seems like transferring maid is a big hassle too, but in any case, will they be able to let you have a new maid before she's being transferred?

morning all

ahCapp;
some companies never even give paternity leave. thats what happening to my hb's company. they checked the MOM website. it is not compulsory but its recommended. so HR never give leh. so NGIAO!!
the boss say he will try to fight, cuz my hb and his colleague both becoming fathers in Jan 2008...but empty promises in the end also nothing materialising from the "fight for it".
KNS.

Oh yes, I was searching hi and lo for the paternity leave. Can't find it anywhere. Shucks, didn't know that it's not complusory to give paternity leave. Next time tell the big boss of the company to give birth. =S

My hb just joined the company a few days ago, where got leave ah. =S But thank goodness his boss will give him time-off. So will get him to take a few days off to stay with me in the hospital. Once my CL arrives, he can go back to work. But will make him promise to come back home as soon as he knocks off. No OT! =P

Luvv,

Oh yes, I think flash cards will be nice. I did thought about that one for my baby too. ;)

Good morning, mummies. Reporting too.

Ah Capp, my hubby has 3 days paternity and can't take leave. Must make him promise to come back early after work too. Don't know how I'll cope with a new BB though got CL.

Wa, sounds like a good deal then. Just hope shipping won't be too exp cos the ex rate quite high already. But I do want to have personal interaction time with BB. Just that by the time, she's ready to learn around 6 months, I'll already be back at work. Sian. :p

Ah Capp, Steph, who are you all using for massage? Does she do prenatal massage as well? My back/butt hurts so much, looking for prenatal massage but Grace is fully booked. :p

Ahcapp,
Me too very happy to cross the 2008 with baby in the tummy, lol. Told BB the rest is up to him already. But my feets suddenly get swollen over 2-3 hrs last night until very big and fat and painful, then this morning, the swelling is gone.. everyone said like.. it abt time.. it abt time.. make me so gan jiong..

Icy,

I think it's normal for fingers/ legs to swell at night. All my fingers on my right hand will swell at night. But by morning, much better. =)

Don't be gan jiong. We are almost there already. (Although I myself also very gan jiong!) Isn't it amazing that we leave our house with our darlings in our tummies, come back with them in our arms? Very sweet right? ;)

wendyg,

Was re-reading and found your post on the "signs" to look out for before checking myself into my "hotel". My gynae also told me to wait till contraction is every 5 min then go. But just wondering if every 5 min be a bit late?

Ahcapp,
I heard feets swollen and gone 3x means can delivered already. Yes, very amazing.. I can't wait to see my daring.. have been wondering how he would look like.. haha and of course the "nighmare" after that.

For my case, my gynae says wait till contraction every 10 mins then can go. Anyway cos me stay at pasir ris and have to go over Mt E. Now all the peak period is over, at least I dun have to worry about heavy traffic jam. :p

Happy 2008
. I am still around.

Cant really sleep well at night too, need to be extra careful when I am turning from side to side when I sleep. I also realised that when I am lying down to sleep, my pelvic and vaginal area feels very stretched and can be quite painful. Maybe its the body preparing for birth ba.

Going to get confinement herbs for bathing, the Da fong herbs that you gals were talking about, do I get from Fu Hua or Eu Yan Seng? What else do I need?

Swelling, my feet will swell some days and then another day will not swell. But I am sure my fingers are slightly more swollen, coz my wedding ring sometimes feel a little snug, however on the whole I am still ok. Only thing is when I stretch myself at night when sleeping, I do get slight leg cramps.

Contractions, if really come to only 5 minutes apart then we head to the hospital, wont it be like cutting a bit too short?

icy, but there is CNY coming round the corner, pple will be heading to town to shop still. Parking at Mt. E can be quite a nightmare also.

icy/ angelsky

I need to go from Jurong East to Mt Alvernia. Thank goodness the PIE entrance is just next to my house. But I also don't wait till last min like every 5 min. My hb was telling me he overhead an ex-colleague whose baby was born in the car while on the way to the hospital. The place of birth on the birth cert was written as "in the car on the way to the hospital" =P The least they can do is write in the car licence plate mah ;)

Confinement herbs

My inlaws went to Fu Hua I think and bought everything for me there. Here is the list my CL gave me (very similar to what my inlaws got for me from the herbal shop). For your reference:

Part I:

1.5kg hong zao (without seed)
1kg hei zao
200g bei qi
600g dang shen
500g qi zi
1 kg long yen ruo
2 liang tang que

Part 2:
massage (but nothing written here)

Part 3:
1 Eu Yan Sang Ginger liquer (700ml)/ red rice wine/ DOM

*My inlaw bought me 5 to 7 bottles of rice wine! I think I have enough to become an alcoholic! =P*

Part 4:

For bathing...
1) Ready packs (20 packets of Da Feng Cao)
2) White rice wine

Part 5:

For baby
1) Yu Yee Oil

*If in doubts, just ask the medical hall. I am sure they will have such a list too.*

angelsky,
Yah.. at least some crowds go Chinatown. heehee.. Divert a bit. They have free valet service at MT E if Preggy is delivering haha. But normally if I go for checkup, I park at Paragon.. easier and less queue.

ahcapp,
Ru Yi Oil hor, have 2 kind.. 1 more spicy for adult and 1 less spicy for babies.. Must check with medical hall properly.

Luvv
Yah lor, now i wan to take back some privileges not easy liao. Initially we scoop her food aside b4 we eat, then a few times we cant' finish the food on the table, tell her she can eat, she dun eat, she eat only her portion. I got fed up, now dun portion out liao. It is like they force us to be more mean. Heee...

Last night I woke up 5 times to pee... once evry hour I guess... NOw i got headache!!

re: Ru yi oil
My girl din use tat until she was ard 2 yr old. Cos she got sensitive skin when she was young. Whenever I use, her tummy gets rashes!! So hor, must be careful hor.

Thanks, Ah Capp. Just smsed Mdm Rokiah about prenatal massage, hope she replies me soon. I'm using my OSIM slimming belt to immobilise my butt area to minimise movement and pain.
Helps a bit lar but don't dare to bind for too long cos don't know whether BB engaged yet. :p

By the way, do you know if she is still available in Jan, was wondering whether to standby package with her as well cos Grace can only do for me from 19 Feb. If I deliver early in Jan, she can't do for me liao. :p

Icy, I also don't know got 2 types of ruyi oil. Mine is the one with a little reddish tin bottle, extra bottle from colleague. Is that for adults or children?

Kitsune,

The last time I check with Mdm Rokiah, she has 3 slots left for Jan 08. I think both me and Steph should have taken up 2 of the 3 slots already. But no harm checking with her right? Specially since your due date is crossing over from Jan to Feb. Just sms her, she'll reply you.

Btw, both Steph and I also have not used Mdm Rokiah before. Don't know good or not actually. Just praying that all feedback are for real lah. =)

ya, ah capp. Was reading her blogsite. Must pay $200 deposit but what if I deliver in Feb, don't know can get back the deposit or not? I already paid grace $50 deposit but she said she'll refund if I end up delivering in Jan instead. Also Mdm Rokiah, said if she's busy, she'll ask her staff to do it but if pay same price for her staff, not very good leh. Anyway, she still hasn't replied my sms. Will ask her more when she replies.

I am here oso reporting ...... hahah went countdown yesterday Kbox countdown hahaha

i bought the tin bottle one .... but my colleague say Got 2 kind i oso dunno one .... i oso use that on myself hahaha

Kitsune,

Thank I think u better stay with Grace since u have made the deposit. Don't pay 2 deposits. =)

QQ,

Wow, K-box queen! So cool! ^_^ I wish I have the energy to go sing my heart out. I can only sing in my hb's car while he drives. *LOL* Going to burst his ear-drums soon.

Oh ya, mummies who are still thinking of chinese names, one of the Feb MTBs posted a useful name analysis url. Can see how many "ji" or "xiong" but must key in Chinese characters. But if your comp can't type chinese character like mine, you can also use the second url (chinese dictionary) to find the character then copy and paste.

Chinese name analysis : http://www.poptool.net/history/myname/
To search for Chinese characters :
http://www.mandarintools.com/chardict.html

Looks like most mummies are out on New Year's Day. I'm only going to my mum's place to eat later. QQ, Ah Capp, never go out today? ;)

kitsune nope Not gg out ..... Gotta rest hahah yesterday cheong till morning then come home wor ..... just woke up Not long ago hubby went buy breakfast cum lunch now

Haha, I slept at 3:30am too but playing comp game. hee. Cos I slept until 10+pm after eating my bah kut teh so last night not tired.

I haven't had lunch yet but think won't eat liao cos mum want to have super early dinner at 4+pm cos my bro going out after that. :p

Ah Capp, true lar. But I scared, scarli end up with no post natal massage if I deliver early. Never mind lar, see what Mdm Rokiah says. Is she usually slow with sms? :p

Kitsune,
It is 万和堂(黄祥华)吉祥如意油。 The medical Hall people shown me the bottles, actually both look quite similar.

Oh no, just realised that i haven booked any post natal massage yet. Happened to see so many had booked madam Rokiah, can someone share with me how is here charges like.

Thanks....

Hi al Jan MTB,
I did a few post here before!!
My EDD is 17 Jan 08
I gave birth on 31.12.2007 @ 1212hrs @ TMC. Dr Kee W.H
My baby gal is 3.72KG, Natural with Epi & Vacuum assisted
Lucky she came out early to celebrate new year with us if not i may need to do c-section cos she will be too big or natural.

My birth story:
Water bag leak with bloody red discharge @ 0430hrs on 31.12.07.
Called up TMC 24hrs helpline to enquire, was then ask to take my time to admit to hospital
Admitted TMC at about 0545hrs
was checked and only 1cm dilate. Administered Epi and put to wait in labour ward at about 0730hrs
Gynae came at 0915hrs and confirmed i am 6-7cm dilate. Wow so fast!! Really glad. At this moment, i still did not feel any active contraction, possibly due to the epi. Confirmed i will deliver by noon
Came at about 1145hrs and say i am fully dilate and baby head is at the birth canal, but too big so need his assistance with vacuum to suck her out
Was told to push hard on my active contractions, and my baby gal was born at 1212 hrs!!!!
Good luck to all MTBs who are giving birth soon

Icy, mine everything the same except it says "shuang1 liao4" ru yi you. Is that the same as yours?

Congrats! Cherynn on your New Year baby. Wow, 3.7kg, your BB gal is big.

just came back from supermarket to stock up my groceries/household goods, didn't want hubby to go and get expensive ones during my confinement.

Mom2nat,
i'm still waiting to see her performance after my baby arrives. One thing about my helper, she told me that she prefers me to correct her when i don't like the way she do things and assures me that she'll be happy that i do that. hmm..

Congrats Cherynn!! 31st Dec 2007, what an easy date to remember! Every year celebrate together with so many people!

ahcapp
it's nesting instinct la. Nursing instinct... means u want to breastfeed?

re: 5min contractions
>> remember Yen.. she also had 5min contractions when she left for hosp @ 5am, sommore had to wait until (abt?) 6pm then only 7-8cm dilated. Not too late la. Unless u live 2hr away fr the hosp, then maybe la.

wa, people dilate so easily... that time i waited 14hr, dilation din go beyond 3cm. Smthg wrong with the door.. dowan to open. So bb gotto come out thru the window, which is the tummy *sob*

kitsune_sg,
yes, i have that word, if u worried, perhaps just bring to medical hall and ask when u buy the confinement items. :D

Congrats Cherynn! Show us ur ger pix. :D

Congrats Cherynn....

Seems like a like ez labour story... i wished my case will be similar to yours...

Share ur pix..

HAPPY 2008!!!

congrats chercher!!!

val,

damm "lugi" lei... one day $10. i scared i faced the same prob as u too, employers dun like her GL face. i dun meant to be MEAN also, hopefully she will be working for a big family, eat maggi noodles everyday and work till 12midnight everyday... LOL
i think we siao already.

Goosh, just woke up from my afternoon nap. A bit blur blur...

Congratulations Cherynn! ^_^ Yes, 31st Dec is a good date for a birthday. Your baby is big. Pls show us pics when you are ready. =)

Kitsune,

Mdm Rokiah will reply your sms. Don't worry. =) She might be carrying out massages for some mummies that's all.

Me at home today. Finishing up my passdown list for my work. =)

Wendyg,

Dear me, type error. Yes, NESTING instinct! *LOL* Hahahahaha... I did mentioned before my fingers don't belong to me ever since they are swollen right?

my gal prefers to be latched on than bottle-fed...
at times in the middle of the night when fed with ebm by my DH, she only drinks ard 20-30ml. but thereafter, she will cry and wants more. she just refused to drink from the bottle and prefers to be latched on. im not sure if its the teats problem, im using avent bottle teats. anyone can advise me how to deal with this problem and is she drinking too little?

Luvv,
No way to have a new maid if the existing one still not transfer out. Agent did explain the reason. But, I forgotten what is it already :p Pregnant woman memory not v gd.

sassy,
Unless I am like ur case then I can choose maid while the existing one still can hang ard and help up. Then, I can save my $10 per day. BUT, she having SERIOUS headache with FAINTING leh. I better pay the $$ than havng the fear. Dont know she will do anything to the family or not. My HB very "forgiving" type aka simply bo chap type also cannot take it.
Its normal for bb to prefer breast than bottle. Be gald she prefers u than "plastic". Hehe... Sometimes, she may even be comfort sucking. Bo bian one, thats the problem of latch on bf'g.

Tmr is the decision day. If bb still breech then gotta c-sect. Very sian if c-sect

Val hugz ..... dun be sad ... am gg to see gynae tmr oso .... wonder how heavy she is already ..... scare she too big I oso difficult to have natural oso ....

Sassy
Avent teats tends to be a little hard. Try NUK. But I can't guarantee sure work. My girl tried tons of bottles and teats, cos she oso drank v little. For a 5 month old, she can drink 350ml for a whole day!!! But PD explained the baby knows how to regulate their own milk intake. So hor, you just try try diff bottles, diff ways lor. V headache one.

Luvv
Your maid with you for how long liao?

Val
Last time was Randall early or late ah? Sounds scary, your edd 1 day b4 mine and you gg to pop... tat means my turn soon!!!

QQ
wah piang, you can still count down. There was a countdown at the field near my house yest, so so noisy!!! I think Lynn and Icy prob can hear oso ah.

Hi Mommies!!
Yup..me oso still here...glad that my baby gonna be a 2008 baby.

Val
No one can understand your predicament better than me lo...really sianz for c-sect but wat to do??? Bo pian. Just try to take it easy la...like mom2nat says, one of her frens baby turn at 39th week...if ur willing to take the risk..jus wait lo. Read about your maid...she like very clever hor...do fainting act, knowing u all cannot tahan, then go sit and maid agency office and take own sweet time to choose employer that she likes while u pay for her everything?? *faint*

Icy
Woo hoo...swell comes and go could mean it's really time liao wor...be prepared!!

Sassy
My fren also told me that altho Avent is known for its reduction in colic, it's known that their bottle teats are quite hard and some babies dont like. She jus told me yday if i find my baby "rejecting" the Avent teats to go out and buy the NUK brand teats, said to be softer and babies preferences. U can find it at Kiddy Palace...perhaps u wanna try?

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">BIG BIG CONGRATS TO CHERYNN!!!</font></font>
Seems like u had quite a relatively easy labour wor! Is it your 1st baby? Got time must post pictures ok? Me also same EDD as u and delivering at TMC too...so gan cheong now.

Today me, hubby and my mom went out to Tampines Central to buy more bb' stuffs. Jus realised i only have ONE bath towel for baby...when my fren reminded me yday dat while u towelling dry baby, she may pee and kena the towel..so better have 2-3 standby. Hahahaha. Also realised altho i did all the laundry, i STILL have not wash and sterilised all the milk bottles and breast pump!! Silly me...